Bosch SHU5306UC/12

by Doug K
(Washington, DC)

I bought this Bosch dishwasher about 6 years ago because of their reputation for performance, energy efficiency and quiet operation. It has been a major disappointment and I would not be inclined to buy another.


For the first 4 years, it seemed to work just fine on the econo-wash setting, but for the last two years, dishes are usually left with a coating of dried food particles, even on the heavy-cleaning settings.

I thought that they were not receiving a proper final rinse. I've called in service people to have a look at it (and that's another problem: many appliance repair services in Washington,DC, will not service Bosch). No one can find any problem with it. Based upon recommendations from dishwasher repairmen, I prerinse all dishes, make sure bowls aren't nested, overfill the detergent tray and keep the incoming water supply very hot. I'm beginning to think that the only way I'm going to get clean dishes is wash them by hand and skip the dishwasher all together.

Comments for Bosch SHU5306UC/12

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Jan 04, 2011
Rating
star
Will Never buy Bosch again
by: Anonymous

We bought our Bosch dishwasher a year ago and almost from the beginning have had problems with lots of debris left on glasses and plates. Sometimes the dishes are dirtier coming out then they were going in. Since it is still under warranty, we have contacted Bosch several times and the repairmen they send out cannot find a problem. Now Bosch is blaming the new phosphate-free dish detergents but I know a lot of people whose dishwashers work just fine with them. I will never purchase a Bosch dishwasher again...

Nov 10, 2010
Rating
star
problems draining and food residue
by: Anonymous

same issues at 5 years.

Oct 23, 2010
Rating
star
soiled expectations
by: Anonymous

we have a bosch dishwasher that is four years old and has to go in the garbage. the service person just told me that the pump was in need of replacement. it was over $700

the service man, advised against replacing it with another bosch. He said that we would be much happier with a maytag or kichenaid.

there you go.,......

Aug 26, 2010
Rating
starstar
me too
by: nan

$$$ repairs and dirty dishes

Aug 15, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
Poor Draining
by: Anonymous

I have been perusing as many sites as possible and it seems that after some years, poor draining is a very common theme. We have done everything thrice over to try and fix the problem to no avail. On top of the poor draining, I have now noticed as others, that there are small particles of food left on dishes. The best I can do to get it to drain, is use the Cancel function. Downside is that you have to run the dishwasher while awake, unload it and complete the Cancel immediately. Otherwise, indeed you get standing and smelly water. One review did state that it was a design flaw and Bosch has done nothing about it. So, at first blush, we loved our Bosch (not a recall model), but now have become a member of that class looking at other brands.

Aug 14, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
Bosh
by: Anonymous

Well mine is 9 years old and the same thing happened. Replacing the board $250; installation $150 so it goes to the trash heap or maybe someone who refurbishes it will give me a few dollars for it which will go towards the next one. Not sold on great cleaing even before it died on me, quiet yes, but quiet doesn't clean. Don't care for it being made for European dishes when American dishea are much larger but it beats washing by hand which is what I've been doing the past 6 weeks!

May 21, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Works Good Here
by: Anonymous

We have had ours for about 5 years and have been very happy with the performance. The only problem we have experienced was the flash heater going out, resulting in the wash cycles running very long and the dishes not getting dry.

Feb 03, 2010
Rating
starstar
overpriced
by: steve

same here paid huge bucks and my wife washes the dishes b4 she puts them in

Nov 11, 2009
Rating
starstarstar
Mine Too
by: Michelle

Got a Bosch that is doing the same thing. Mine is only about 3 1/2 years old. A big disappointment.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Bosch Dishwasher Reviews.