DMR78 Samsung

by Janet R.
(Mesa, AZ)

This GE made model under the Samsung name SUCKS! I bought it at the Signal Butte Best Buy in Mesa, AZ and it was installed on 4/20/09. On 9/12/09 it died. The repair man said on 9/14 that it needed a new motor and PCB - everything, in fact, and that the parts would not be available for 3-5 weeks; he recommended replacement of the machine. Samsung agreed to a replacement.


Samsung has given us a total runaround. We spoke with at least 15 different persons at Samsung, and everyone said it would take 3-5 days to process a return authorization number, which they agreed to issue, whereby we could get a refund or exchange from Best Buy. We have been dealing with this since 9/14/09. No one at Samsung seems to know what to do.

They made errors (which they admit to) in submitting the original request for return, but they still can't get a Return Authorization number for us. Best Buy sent out a Geek Squad repairman on 10/16/09 who agreed that the motor and PCB are dead. The repair parts as still not available as of this date of 10/18/09. WE HAVE BEEN WAITING FOR THESE REPAIR PARTS SINCE 9/14/09. Best Buy says they cannot accept a return of this machine since they would have to take a loss on it - but it's OK for us to take the $800+ loss, despite the fact that Best Buy acknowledges that we have been good customers in the past 10 years.

I never knew that GE made the Samsung dishwasher, or I never would have purchased it! All I want is for Best Buy to remove this "lemon" from my home and credit my Best Buy card for the cost of this machine, plus tax. THEY REFUSE TO DO THIS.

DO NOT BUY A GE-MADE SAMSUNG DISHWASHER and DO NOT BUY ANYTHING FROM BEST BUY, because they DO NOT STAND BEHIND THEIR PRODUCT. By the way, I bought a Samsung fridge in 2004 and I love it, so that's why I bought their microwave and dishwasher. SAMSUNG SUCKS!

Comments for DMR78 Samsung

Average Rating star

Click here to add your own comments

Apr 16, 2011
Rating
star
samsung dishwashers dont work
by: Anonymous

samsung dishwashers DO NOT wash dishes. save your money and get something else. no matter what cycle I use or what type of soap or how its loaded the dishwasher doesnt wash the darn dishes!!! DONT BY A SAMSUNG DISHWASHER

Mar 29, 2011
Rating
star
Do Not Buy Samsung
by: Anonymous

I don't want to waste anymore of my time as I already have spend hours with techs and on the phone with Samsung. The dishwasher does not clean they are too concerned about energy efficency so you get dirty dishes.

PLease trust me Samsung is awful to deal with and they do not back their products.

Nov 11, 2010
Rating
star
DMR 77
by: Anonymous

My dishwasher won't release the soap. Rerun stupid thing over and over. It doesn't dry the dishes. Plastic clips on top shelf broke off within 6 months. I can wash dishes by hand quicker.

Nov 11, 2010
Rating
star
don't buy a samsung dishwasher
by: Anonymous

Boy oh boy - I have had nothing but problems with my Samsung too. The soap wouldn't drop or even disolve sometimes and it wouldn't dry at the end but was going into another wash cycle. Now it is leaking but only sometimes and no warning light comes on. The volume of water with the 2nd leak is higher than from the lst leak. Sears wants me to use less soap. I am going in to request a replacement.
Not happy with this Samsung machine.

Jul 24, 2010
Rating
star
Don't Judge a Book By its Cover
by: Anonymous

We bought this dishwasher at Lowes along with the matching fridge and range. Its a beautiful and modern design. The fridge and range are great - but the dishwasher only lasted a month and 2 days before displaying an "LE" error (internal leakage). I called Samsung for service and they quickly sent out a local repair tech. He told us this was the second time in 3 mos. that the same model had the same problem. He would have to replace the tub - which meant waiting until it was ordered and delivered from overseas, then rebuilding the dishwasher around it. With this info, we went back to Lowes, where the salesman, after hearing our problem, told us that sounds just like a Samsung - and that there was nothing Lowes could do. Fortunately, his manager disagreed and gave us a free upgrade with free delivery and pick-up. Reading the other reviews, I have to agree about the drying issues as well as leaving bits of food. It was moderately quiet, and the wheels on the bottom rack would pop off when the drawer was loaded and not pushed back in from dead center front.

I was willing to assume that this was an isolated incident, however, the more reviews I read (post facto) the more I'm seeing a pattern. Hopefully this review will aid others in making a decision in buying a new dishwasher.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Less common dishwasher consumer reviews.