Fisher and Paykel DD605SS Double Dish Drawer

by Jeremy
(Dayton, OH)

We’ve owned this dishwasher for almost two years and my feelings on it are decidedly mixed. For starters, it looks great! I can’t tell you how many people have commented on the appearance, how modern it looks, etc. The double drawer design is great for washing small loads since you can wash just one drawer. This is particularly effective when you use the “eco” cleaning option. The design also makes it very easy to load and unload the dishes. The flip down “wings” on either side of the drawer allow you to use the space more effectively and fit in items like ladles and long serving spoons that might not fit vertically in the cutlery basket.


One the down side though, I’ve gotten cleaner dishes out of much cheaper, traditional dishwashers. We’ve become used to having to rinse the dishes very well before placing them in this dishwasher, or they don’t come out clean. We can’t use the detergent tablets that we had come to like, as this dishwasher will only use traditional powder. For as much as it costs, I expected better performance.

But by far my biggest complaint is related to what I think is a fundamental design flaw. If for any reason the drawer doesn’t completely seal when you shut it, there’s a good chance a small amount of water will leak into the body of the dishwasher. We find this happens occasionally when you have a large item like a pizza tray or cutting board sitting on the top of the load. There are electronic components on the bottom if the dishwasher under the bottom drawer, and there is a moisture sensor there as well. As soon as it detects water near those electronics, it begins beeping and making a “whooshing” noise. At this point you two options: cut the power and wait a day (or two) for the moisture to dry up, or cut the power, remove the bottom drawer, and get down there with a paper towel and a blow dryer to make sure all the moisture has been removed. This first time this happened we had a service rep come out and even he took about an hour to return the washer to service. I’ve had to do it 3 or 4 times (over 2 years) since then and can usually do it in about 30 minutes.

Comments for Fisher and Paykel DD605SS Double Dish Drawer

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Oct 07, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
3 dishdrawers. No problems. NEW
by: DavidSydney

It really surprised me to read all the negative reviews. I have a single drawer dish drawer in my office, one at my home and a third in my elderly parents' home.

The drawer format is fantastic. I couldn't imagine going back to the old-fashioned style. It's especially good for my (86 year old) mother: she doesn't have to bend down and deal with the tilting doors of conventional dishwashers.

I'll agree that they can be fussy about how you load them, but I've found that's true of most dishwashers. I've been very happy with the wash quality. I have had a problem with cockroaches inhabiting our office machine, but I guess that could happen with any machine.

Maybe I have newer models than the ones that have caused problems for people (two were bought in 2007, one in 2010).

Feb 23, 2011
Rating
starstar
2 Drawers Great, Breaking Parts Not So Great
by: Anonymous

I have had my double drawer Fisher Paykel for 8 years and as noted by others, it will give signals that you need to have it repairs, water will come out of the drawers and wet your floor, this has caused damaged to our kitchen cabinet, gives grinding sounds (mostly the bottom drawer), basket is holding with crazy glue, otherwise it falls apart due to the warm water the plastic hooks become soft and release. Not a smart invention when you think about it, very hot water and plastic, what will happen. Pumps have been replaced.

Now on the good side, I do like the look, the 2 drawer deal, you can load one and start washing and then finish the clean up and use the other drawer.

Maybe Fisher Paykel has a new revamped style or maybe the have fixed the many problems since the one I purchased 8 years ago, but I am in the process of looking for another one and I'm not sure what I will go to.

Feb 22, 2011
Rating
star
Unreliable
by: Anonymous

In addition to the moisture problems and the unit pumping dirty water into the lower unit due to a failed check valve (twice in 6 years) the plastic parts fall apart and do not last. Replacements (basket etc are prohibitively expensive.

Stick with a cheaper and larger capacity conventional unit by a name brand manufacturer

Feb 05, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
OK but there are better options
by: Long Islander

We have a single drawer model which is actually our second dishwasher. We run it three or four times a week. A DD602 integrated model, about 10 years old. It's finicky, but believe it or not I've only needed a service call once or twice. Probably had 5 or 6 problems but was able to troubleshoot and solve myself the other times. Need to pre-rinse, stacking very important, detergent use has to be just right. I don't want to have to think so much when doing dishes. When we bought ours it was the only manufacturer making a dish drawer. I like the dish drawer design and it makes sense for us as a second washer but would not trust it for heavy use. A good midrange Whirlpool has always been our primary washer and it is much more durable at about half the price for a full sized model.

Dec 30, 2010
Rating
star
Unreliable, finicky product
by: Anonymous

We've had a F&P 2-drawer dishwasher for 3 years. After constant service calls, we've surrendered and will purchase something else. The F&P product looks great, but I can't afford to take time off for a service call every few months. The technicians who show up always have suggestions for things to fix or change, but they never seem to have a definite idea of what the real problem is. One of them even told us that he sees more problems with F&P for new washers than for any other brand. The drawers are a great concept, but (in my opinion) the design probably just introduces too many additional moving parts, leading to problems.

Dec 18, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Found Reliable
by: Anonymous

My wife and I remodeled our kitchen 7 years ago and decided on the Fisher Paykel dish drawers. They have functioned without flaw to this point and we really enjoy the flexibility and functionality. I'm definitely going the same route in any future homes.

Sep 02, 2010
Rating
star
pissed off
by: Anonymous

I sold appliances in the past and avoid F&P new products like the plague. I liked the look of the dish draw and thinking it had been around awhile they would have figured out the wrinkles, I was wrong big time. We had an asko product before and five years of quiet reliable and effective cleaning. All the comments are quite frightening.

I rang the F&P customer service free calling service and they told me the machine needs cleaning monthly. I haven't had the problems mentioned here except for the top dish draw not draining, but I suspect it is only a matter of time.

I have had a fridge, washing machine, dishwasher and oven Distributed/sold by F&P under another brand, you would think I would know better.

They look great but the reliability and durability are not there, and please, please shoot me, if I buy another F&P product.

Jul 29, 2010
Rating
starstar
Looks good, is bad
by: KMR

Basically a vanity product. Looks fantastic and sleek. Does a horrendous job. Money pit. I put up with ours for 4 years and finally came to my senses. New Zealand is not a country renowned for their technology, right? Buy a lambswool blanket insead.

Jul 20, 2010
Rating
star
Not again!
by: Anonymous

Hi. Have had a F&P DD603 for about 5 years. We have had a technician come out 4 times during this period (only once under warranty). At the moment I have (again) a F1 Fault. The last time we had a service guy come out, we paid $500 for a major service, however, now it is not working again. The next dishwasher will not be a F&P because I really hate how much money I have had to spend on it. For $1500 plus the extra money that I have had to spend on it, it is simply not worth it. Sorry F&P, I will be looking elsewhere next time. You need to make a better product!

Mar 29, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
great products
by: F&P FAN

fisher and payker are great!, i have my house filled with their products and i've never had a problem with any of them, i've had one service call in 4 years and service was prompt and very efficient! i know that the newer dish draws are a much better design than the 603 models and the new DD60 are just awesome!

Dec 12, 2009
Rating
star
Noisy long cycle
by: andy

No cancel cycle option, water migrates between units, noisy, unsanitary due to water standing in units, smells, long cycle, water detection beeps are often and loud, not a good idea to run untended, dishes must be very clean PRIOR to washing, replace ASAP.

Dec 09, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Trouble in Paradise
by: Anonymous

I've had my F&P double drawer for two years and three months and have had the repair tech out twice. The warranty ended in August 09 and now the top drawer stopped working. Like everyone else on this page, I am not impressed with F&P.

Dec 04, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Double Dish Drawer - Avoid it!
by: Anonymous

Our Double Dish Drawer unit is five years old and has had the same regular F1 water error and problem that every owner is going to have. Worse I think these are unhygenic machines - they slowly accumulate water in the base until the water sensor produces the F1 error. We have an additional problem in that if you use the bottom drawer some waste water will be pumped into and remain in the idle top drawer. If you use the top drawer some residual dirty water will end up in the bottom drawer - not nice if you have not unpacked it yet.
I have repaired this machine many times, replaced one motor - the plastic armiture cover fractured, let in water and the armiture corroded away.
They are too clever and comple technologically, not powerful enough to clean well, are not reliable and I dont think hygenic - this time it's off to Axial - I have had enough of it!
Buy an AEG or Bosch - quiet,efficient and reliable!

Dec 02, 2009
Rating
star
just junk ~ DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY
by: Anonymous

what a piece of JUNK, I have had this brand 2 drawer for 5 years, during that time I had to take it back twice to make them replace it for problems that could not be fixed, NOW a year after it was last repalaced its broke again, now the tp drawer wont work at all, other problems that were often was flooding of the system, you have to use a hair dryer to dry out the pipes so that it will even work at times. I am a very clean person, take care of my appliances and have an upscale home so I am not some low life that abuses things ...SO NOW I have a washer with no top drawer that I paid 1500.00 for. I am going to throw it out and buy a better machine for alot less money. DONT WASTE YOUR TIME, MONEY OR EFFORT ON THIS JUNK THEY ARE SELLING, DONT BELIEVE ALL THE HOOPLA ABOUT IT BEING THE BEST..

Nov 17, 2009
Rating
star
Another unhappy customer
by: Anonymous

My two dish-drawers (the top and bottom) couldn't be turned on at once, otherwise it gives flood errors the next time you use it. Problematic ...

The replacement parts are expensive. If you don't use it often, it gives a squeaky noise the next time you use it. The money spent in repair could buy a new one already. Not happy ...


Nov 09, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Ghost in the Dishdrawer
by: Peter

We've had a double dishdrawer for 5 years, it has cleaned great during that time, no problems at all with its performance, but there is a problem we have put up with all the time, and now I think I have had it, as the machine died last week.

Cockroaches love the machine. they can actually get into the machine and get to the dishes, We can't tell the amount of times we've opened a clean dishdrawer full of dishes after a wash cycle, and a big fat cockroach is in there running around, you try and grab it, but it scurries into one of the many nooks in the machine. They also run around in the machine, and turn it on in the middle of the night!!!! And we don't ever get cockroachs where we live!!!!!!!

Well the machine "magically" turned itself on again last week, with terrible consequences. The machine was off, but on at the power point, all of a sudden it switched itself on as it has done before, I thought great, another roach, well this time it was an error F3, very strange, and then the stench came, like a acrid burning smell. I raced to switch it off at the power point as the smell continued to get stronger.

The burning stopped once we cut the power, but we have kept the drawers closed because it still stinks in there.

This whole event scared the hell out of us, what if we were not home at the time, would the machine kept burning until it started a fire? The fumes would have surely killed our two birds.

So we can't recommend the dishdrawer because of the constant cockroach problem, and because when the machine breaks down it can lead to serious consequences!

Instead of getting it fixed we are rather putting that money to a Miele dishwasher!

Oct 30, 2009
Rating
star
not worth it
by: stevejamesw

I've had 2 dish drawers for a little while. One started leaking water. The repair technician came in and said that 2 motors and a circuit board needed to be replaced. $350. Now that he's installed those, it still doesn't work, it needs another main circuit board now. Another $135. He looks at the other dish drawer and sees the top seal isn't closing well. He says I should change the motors in that one as well. Another $300 (until he actually repairs it and possibly finds something else. At close to $800 in repairs, I could have bought a couple of new really nice dishwashers. This is ridiculous and if I had know the expense of the repairs, I would have told the guy to just rip them out. It's a shame, because when they work, they're great.

Oct 02, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Dissapointing
by: Julia

Now, while I understand that this is a delicate piece of machinery and must be treated with care, I am totally fed up with this and will never recommend to anyone.

Constant faults such as the power turning on and off and beeping and the like are driving me nuts and we have had F1 errors about 3 times since having this dishwasher for the last two years.

What a waste of money. Buy a traditional door model and save yourself the heartache.

Jul 31, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
fisher pykel
by: Anonymous

nightmare continuously alarming same problem water under the machine aaaagggghhhhh now trying to get drawer out to save service engineer. Will not buy this again

Feb 19, 2009
Rating
star
Prone to breakdowns and malfunctions.
by: Anonymous

I really wanted to love this dishwasher, but I'm afraid I can't recommend it.

A couple of years ago, I saw this dishwasher featured on an HGTV show, and I was smitten. Two drawers instead of one big washer -- I'd be able to do small loads in one drawer, or utilize two drawers for big loads. It seemed perfect. I went to Lowe's and picked one up.

Unfortunately, this ended up being a poorly engineered product that is prone to breakdowns and malfunctions.

At first, it worked fine. Everything operated as it was supposed to. Granted, the machine was nowhere near as quiet as some others I’ve heard, but I decided the trade off was worth it for a machine that looked cool and conserved energy and water.

After about a year and a half of use, the top drawer stopped working. It would start up, but then the LCD panel would start flashing and the unit would start beeping. The problem got worse and worse, to the point where the dishwasher couldn't get two minutes into the cycle before it died.

Fortunately, there are two drawers, so the bottom one still works. Unfortunately, I paid a lot of money to have two functioning dish drawers.

The machine is no longer under warranty (of course). I can't really afford to have someone come out and fix it.

But after the second drawer breaks, I'm seriously reconsidering whether or not to get it repaired. I may just bite the bullet and get a new, conventional dishwasher. It seems that Fisher Paykel doesn't know what they're doing.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Fisher and Paykel Dishwasher reviews.