Frigidaire 4000 Series Aquasurge Technology

by Christine
(Graham, NC)

We bought our house 8 yrs ago and it came with a Kenmore Dishwasher that barely washed dishes for us. We used it for 8 yrs and often had to do a double cycle to wash our dishes. In the last year it was so bad that we had to rig it so it would work. The buttons had gone bad and it was time to purchase a new one.


We needed one that did not have any buttons on the front of it because our nephew loved turning the dishwasher on when he was in the house. When looking at various brands we found the Frigidaire dishwasher and the buttons were hidden at the top of the door. We immediately loved this because of the hidden features. It even has a feature that will lock the buttons for little fingers who turn it on when not needed. We purchased the dishwasher in January of 2008 from Sears. They contracted a cute couple who worked as a husband and wife team to come and install it.

It was so cute how they worked, they had the installation completed in little time and even stuck around to show how to properly work the machine. It has multiple functions that are extremely easy to use. Our dishes are finally washed in one cycle and even dried upon completion. This purchase has made our lives much easier and of course with the area we live in, it even saves on water usage. The size is good for large bowls or utensils and you can even change the trays functions.

The top shelf is washed as thoroughly as the bottom shelf because of the spraying system built in to the dishwasher. There is even a speed cycle for you to use if you have company coming over and need a bunch washed immediately.

We are please with the dishwasher and use it daily. We could have chosen a more expensive brand, but with our budget we got everything we needed for an affordable price. We would recommend this appliance to anyone looking for a new dishwasher.

Comments for Frigidaire 4000 Series Aquasurge Technology

Average Rating starstar

Click here to add your own comments

Dec 31, 2013
Rating
star
friends don't let friends buy fridgedare
by: thomas

Bought mine at Lowes and I worked there,never worked from day one,did not get dishes clean,started flashing codes then went blank,service came out got it to work,next day same thing.

I agree with every comment above,fRIGEDARE SERIES 4000 AQUA SURGE/WITH SPEED CLEAN, junk junk junk junk junk, am about to throw it out get kenmoore like my old one 14 years no problems ?

Mar 03, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Frigidaire 4000 Series Aquasurge
by: Pat B

We also bought this model when we moved into our new house. Started having problems within the first year. Luckily we have the extended warranty, but still what a hassle! I'm very disappointed with the product. So far we have replaced circult boards, the motor and the pump. We are still getting the error code "HO" and guess will have call the repair guy back out. It's difficult because the screetching sounds were intermitten and natuarlly wouldn't make the sound when the repair guy was here. I finally video taped and call them back. That's when they replaced the motor and pump.

The touch pads/start button is suppose to hold your last setting so that all you have to do is press start and it brings up the settings you used last time. That stopped after about 6 month. It was fixed for a little while after they replaced the circuit board, but then stopped working again.

Nothing but small issues with this one. Guess I should count my blessing after reading some of the other horror stories here. I figure once my extended warranty runs out, we'll have to buy a new dishwasher....but not another Frigidaire.

Feb 06, 2012
Rating
star
Frigidaire 4000 Series AquaSurge
by: Robin

We bought the Frigidaire 4000 Series AquaSurge dishwasher model #FDB4315LFC1 at Lowe's in March or April 2008 after moving into a new house. Worse dishwasher we've ever used. Glasses in the top rack never get cleaned from day one; we've given up washing glasses in the top rack since it just bakes food particles into the bottom of the glasses and is difficult to loosen the gunk to wash them. It is just easier to hand wash the glasses. The bottom rack dishes never truly seem clean either.

Every once in a while the dishwasher decides to empty dirty water out of the air gap, spewing water all over the kitchen countertop and onto the floor. We place all countertop appliances (coffee maker, toaster oven) on trivets to keep them out of the water.

Yes, we've run hot water through the tap before starting the dishwasher. Yes, we've had the water pressure tested to see if it is within the recommended psi. Yes, we've used fresh recommended brands of detergent. Yes, we've added the rinsing agent. No, we won't be buying this brand ever again. And no, we won't run the dishwasher without being present due to reports of overheating and fires.

Definitely look at reviews before purchasing major appliances. Frigidaire and Electrolux are off our list as reliable manufacturers.

Nov 20, 2011
Rating
star
STAINLESS STEEL JUNK!!
by: ABINGTON

I brought mine in 2007 so 4 years old had a home warranty repair guy said a piece of junk motor is going not worth fixing so off to the store i go my last dishwasher (kenmore) had for 9 years why is that ( me to had to have stainless steel a piece of junk DO NOT BUY"!! when i run it it sounds like a train very loud noise!!!!

Aug 14, 2011
Rating
star
error, error, error, error, error, error,error,error
by: Anonymous

I was swept up in the stainless steel craze and now I am just plain crazy. I am back to hand washing as the machine constantly has an error code and like the other customers all the company will do if refer to a technician. My last repair quote was $ 229.00. This will be my third repair.
What an awful appliance.

Jan 21, 2011
Rating
star
A Disappointed consumer
by: Anonymous

I normally would not suggest such a thing because of the over litigation in this day and age but maybe a class action law suit would be in order for a problem like this. I Too have this diswasher and ours started having problems after the first year . All I Can Say Is DITTO To All Of The Above ! This dishwasher is a true disappointment and this type of business should not be allowed .

Jan 17, 2011
Rating
star
Beware
by: Anonymous

We had the same problem. Dishwasher was only 3 years old at the time. Never did wash dishes very well anyway. Repair was not an issue since I was too afraid to use again. One fire was enough. After filing a complaint with Fridigaire about the safety issue, there was never ANY response from them. NEVER again for Frigidaire!!!!

Jan 06, 2011
Rating
star
Fire
by: Anonymous

This model started on fire today. Good thing I was home or it could have burned my house down. I usually start it and leave for work good thing I was home today! we were talking about getting a new one anyways because it never cleaned well anyways, even after rinsing dishes it would still leave food dried on the dishes. Who know where the food came om but any ways I will never buy a Fridgidaire appliance ever again. What a piece if junk...I paid over $800 for it and it only
A ted 4 years and could have burned my house down!

Oct 12, 2010
Rating
star
not a good machine
by: Anonymous

Bought 4000 series dishwasher 15 months ago. It is giving error code and customer service will do nothing beside give me number of local repairmen, no help determining error codes meaning. Their customer service obviously does not know their product nor care. Not worth buying again.

Jul 29, 2010
Rating
star
what junk
by: Anonymous

our Frididaire dishwasher is less than 3 years old - just two of us so we do not use if very often. It has never washed very well and now has the error code and will cost to repair. When you call the 800# the auto system only gives you a repair location - you can't even get a manuf. tech. The last Frigidaire we will ever buy.

May 27, 2010
Rating
star
FIRE FIRE FIRE FIRE FIRE FIRE FIRE FIRE
by: Anonymous

I got rid of mine it caught fire good thing I was home.

Nov 27, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
fdb2410ldso
by: Anonymous

i bought a frigidaire dishwasher it lasted about a year and a 1/2 before i started getting error codes.the repairs are costly and the coustmer service is the worst. don't buy anything with the name frigidaire. the whole company is a scam. they sell you junk take your money and leave you hanging. the american way of doing business these days. good luck to you

Jun 22, 2009
Rating
star
Figidaire Builds Lousy Products
by: FedUpWithFrigidaire

I agree with Jerry. I have model FDB4315LFCO. What a disappointment! It is slightly older than 1 year and no longer works. Parts to repair it will cost about 30% of the original purchase price. I have electrical background so I am doing the repair myself. Paying a technician to service it would make the repair so expensive that it would make more sense to replace it. Truly pitiful. A company that produces junk like this.

Had a Kenmore for 7 years before this. Wife wanted upgrade to stainless. Decided on this nightmare. Also bought a Frigidaire range at the same time. One of the double burner elements went out after six months. Had it replaced under warranty but it should have never happened in the first place. Take my advice and save yourself future aggravation...

DO NOT BY FRIGIDAIRE... period. Remember this motto: "Friends don't let friends by Frigidaire!"

Mar 22, 2009
Rating
star
don't buy this machine
by: jerryepower

I've owned this dishwasher for only less than 5 months. Within a month of purchase the whisper quiet pump because just as noisy as the old faithful Kenmore that was 10+ years old. Now it misfunctions on several levels. The float has the pump turning off/on/off/on there are several error codes that the manual gives no meaning to. It just stops mid cycle leaving the dishes partially washed. Now I faces with a repair bill that is half the original cost of the appliance. I've got one word LEMON. Save your money and buy something else!

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Frigidaire Dishwasher Reviews.