GE Nautilus

by Marek
(Las Vegas, NV)

While dishwashers have never been something at the top of my mind, I have to admit part of the reason behind that is the GE Nautilus - I've never had to really think about it. I've had friends and family have broken down dishwashers, but in my fours years of using the one that came with my condo this thing hasn't have any mechanical breakdowns.


It washes things well for the most part, though if you load it with some pots and pans, regardless of how crowded or not it gets in there, they'll come out with some white rings around it.

Maybe it's the the hard water we have here, but I haven't seen that at my friends' homes and water softeners haven't done the trick.

So apart from the useless "Pots" option this one's done very well for me overall with it's large space for dishes and efficient energy use. Overall, a B+!

Comments for GE Nautilus

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Oct 09, 2013
Rating
star
piece of junk
by: JW

came with our new house it is noisy no it's NOISY!!!!! never gets dishes clean. It is just a place to store rinsed dishes until you have time to properly wash them.

Feb 06, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
GE Nautilus
by: DT

Came with our new home built in 2003. Still going strong after almost 10 years. Dishes are spotless, very efficient, plenty of room and most of all super quiet. Not one spot of rust and never called for any service even though we use it several times a day. Looking forward to more years of service.

Dec 27, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
My GE Nautilus
by: Ruth

We bought our Nautilus back in 2001 when we moved into this apartment. Maybe it was loud, but all dishwashers make noise. It served me well for almost 10 years. Now it doesn't pump out the water anymore, but I never had a complaint about it's cleaning. I do always pre rinse my dishes. I wish I knew who to call to get the pump fixed.
Well, I haven't used it for the last year, and I am not sure fixing it would be cost effective, but I have loved it, and am surprised by those who found fault with it.

Nov 23, 2011
Rating
star
Worst Dishwasher
by: Anonymous

The 1st load I washed was probably the only load that came out clean. This is the worst dishwasher I have ever used!!! Do NOT buy this....in fact....RUN!

Nov 14, 2011
Rating
star
Bad Dishwasher
by: Stacey

We bought our dishwasher when we bought our house in 2005, and now six years later we already need a new dishwasher. For the past couple of years, it started with the heated dry. The knob would stick and while running it one night over night almost burned the house down because we weren't awake to turn the dial ourselves so it sat stuck on heated dry. Now the dial sticks on the wash cycle and we have to manually move it after a little while of washing. Our shelves are completely rusted out and the tines are almost all missing. So little particles are stuck to all of the dishes and we have to rewash most dishes. At first I thought it was attributed to the fact that I do home daycare and use it more than the average person, but after reading all of the other reviews, I find that I'm not alone in the problems I have with the rusted out shelves and everything else wrong with it. I would recommend either going up in your price point when buying a dishwasher or looking at another brand if you are determined to stay in this price range. It's just not worth it to buy the GE Nautilus. So now I have to buy a brand new dishwasher, which I didn't want to have to do.

Nov 06, 2011
Rating
star
Lousy at Cleaning, Noisy and Racks Rust
by: Anonymous

This is the Yugo of dishwashers (for those of you old enough to remember the ill-fated Yugo junk car). It is about as loud as a jet plane taking off in your kitchen, only longer. If you want your dishes to come out clean, better wash them BEFORE you put them in the dishwasher. The racks rust and literally fall apart. The only purpose it serves is to fill a hole under your cabinet where you can store dishes waiting to be cleaned by hand.

Aug 02, 2011
Rating
star
dishwasher---ha-ha
by: Anonymous

if you want one of these models you can have mine its going to the curb! what a piece o junk-- leaks--never gets the dishes clean- loud as heck--came with the house is the nicest thing i can say about it!!and now its not working correctly if there was ever a good cleaning cycle about it!!!!

Jun 27, 2011
Rating
star
Don't ever buy one of these.
by: Anonymous

It is worse than not having one at all. You have to wash just about everything all over again. It is extremely noise. You can't even talk to someone in the same room while its running. Hard on the energy bill. Let's see is there one thing I like about it? Um Nope! Do yourself a favor if you have one get rid of it. If you rent an apartment and see it, think about other options. If you see it in a store on discount, dont walk run from it. You couldnt pay me to own another one.

May 29, 2011
Rating
star
GE Nautilus is worse than no dishwasher at all
by: Anonymous

Dishes must be thoroughly washed before running them in the Nautilus; it really only redistributes the food particles all over the dishes and then bakes it on. What's the point? And it's noisy. We have to wait until everyone goes to bed to run it. It's a top priority for replacement in our house.

Dec 02, 2010
Rating
starstar
Capacity is small for this dishwasher
by: Anonymous

Pros
– free to my apartment
- okay time of wash

Cons
– extremely inefficient
- very small compared to other dishwashers

This dishwasher came with my apartment as a free amenity or as most would consider it, and incentive. The dishwasher is about medium sized compared to most other dishwashers of it’s same shape, but I would consider it on the smaller end in regards to the capacity of dishes that can be washed successfully at one time. As I mentioned, the capacity is rather small for this particular dishwasher, and I think that is one reason that we are not charged extra for this in our rent scheme.

The dishwasher can probably hold about 5-6 bowls and plates, and a few pots and pans along with the average amount of kitchen utensils. When doing the dishes you have to make sure that you have EVERY piece of food off of the dish before you put it into the dishwasher if you expect it to come out anywhere near clean, especially if it is a pot or pan and not a cup or something of that nature.

All in all I have come to the conclusion that this dishwasher was not exactly meant to be used for cleaning of the dishes, but more along the lines of an extra rinse for the dishes to go through. By the time you have the dishes clean enough to be clean when they come out of the dishwasher, it is nearly pointless to use the dishwasher unless you feel the need to waste the extra water. If you are going to buy a dishwasher, make sure you realize you get what you pay for.

Jun 27, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
20,000 Leagues Under the Dishes
by: Anonymous

This dishwasher came with our house, which was built in 2005. I've never had an issue with it getting dishes clean (rinsed or not) nor has it ever melted plastic items, but it is the loudest dishwasher I have ever owned!! You cannot watch TV with it running. It's so loud, I can hear it running when I'm outside standing on the patio with the door closed.

Also, as some have mentioned, my racks are rusting out in a few places.

We have been looking at replacement dishwashers for the past month and decided to upgrade to a Bosch.

Jun 14, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Dishwasher racks are deteriorating
by: Anonymous

This dishwasher came with our new home purchased in 2004. The racks have rusted terribly and now the dishes come out with little pieces of stuff on them, I'm guessing it is pieces of rust and the white coating on the racks themselves. The dishwasher runs good, but what good is a dishwasher if the racks are deteriorating to pieces?

Jan 17, 2010
Rating
starstar
Nautil-RUST
by: Dman NC

Our new house came with the GE nautilus in 2004.
Now 6 years old...the racks are rusty the center telescopic wash arm is broke so the dishes and glasses on the top are not coming clean.

The cost of parts and labor i could buy a new one.

My kitchen has GE profile oven and refrigerator so it looks like it's time to upgrade to profile with a stainless steel interior..no rust.

Momma says you get what you pay for...

Nov 16, 2009
Rating
starstarstar
Reliable but has tendency to leak dishwasher suds if overfilled with soap
by: Anonymous

Pros
- Complete washing of items in both levels of dishwasher
- Quiet operating cycles

Cons
- Has tendency to leak dishwasher suds if overfilled with soap
- Excess water drips onto floor from seal of front door panel, which means that door seal always very tight

Our GE Nautilus Dishwasher has been a reliable model for several years now. Even with continuous use, the washer still operates smoothly and quietly, and the washer arm still performs effortlessly. When the washer is started, this washer arm rises from the bottom of the machine as water flows into it, and sprays all the items placed in the washer.

Keeping all items clear of this central area is critical for the proper performance of the washer arm, as the wash cycle is wasted if the arm if blocked by any item. The washer operates very quietly, but does have a tendency to overflow suds if just the slightest excess of soap is placed into the soap dish before the machine is started. Rather than drain any excess, the soapsuds will flow out below the front door seal onto the floor, creating an unnecessary mess for the owner.

We do not have a very large model dishwasher, about 36 inches wide, and have found the washer extremely packed with items to be washed at times. Inside the washer, the drain at the bottom must be monitored before every use, as this is another source of potential overflow problems. If the drain somehow becomes clogged with debris, the drain area at the bottom of the dishwasher will remain filled with water, even at the end of the wash cycle when all water is supposed to be drained. More than once we have opened the dishwasher to find a level of water at the bottom.

Sep 10, 2009
Rating
star
Do not buy this dishwasher
by: Eric

Well I bought this unit in 2001 from Lowes, I actually wanted the lower priced unit (less features) but they were out of stock so I got this model for the same price.

It worked fine, but we clean the dishes before they go in the washer (why I don't know) But after 3 or 4 years I started noticing the racks were rusting and the tines were breaking off clogging the unit. I priced the racks and they cost about as much as the unit.

So now I was thinking maybe it was the quality of our water was to blame, but on a recent visit to the neighbors house I asked to look at there 23 year old GE....it looked like new inside so there goes that theory right....This thing is a piece of crap.

Jun 14, 2009
Rating
starstar
Doesn't do what it should
by: Anonymous

Pros
- affordable
- doesn’t melt plastic kitchen-ware

Cons
- ability to clean (which is it’s whole purpose) - size

We bought our GE Nautilus about five years ago. I decided to buy it at first because it seemed to be a decent dishwasher for the money. I really liked it in the store and it seemed like a good buy. This ended up being a bad choice.

I don’t think I would recommend this dishwasher because you practically have to wash the dishes before you put them in the dishwasher or they will come out with bits of food all over them.

In the eighteen years of living in my parent’s house I’ve never had these problems with their Kitchen- Aid dishwasher throwing food all over the dishes; it actually cleans them.

Another negative of this dishwasher is the size. The top shelf is not adjustable and it’s hard to fit tall pans and bake-ware in it. I do like the fact that so far none of our plastic dishes have melted in this dishwasher.


Feb 07, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Rings here too
by: Anonymous

I throw my pots in with a regular load and have never tried the pots and pans setting. We have white rings too. We also have such hard water that we pay for bottled water. Our rings wipe out pretty easily though.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to ge dishwasher Review.