GE PDW9000 Dishwasher

by Connie
(Connecticut)

Not happy at all. It is a year old. The automatic detergent dispenser has been replaced once...still doesn't work. The dishes just don't come out clean. If I wash them first, then they are ok. But if I put them in with even a little bit of smeared food left on them, they come back out dirty. I basically use it for a sterilizer. I wash the dishes first then run them thru the dishwasher to sterilize them. Very expensive sterilizer!

Comments for GE PDW9000 Dishwasher

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Jun 25, 2012
Rating
star
if only 0 stars were available
by: RH

This model came highly recommended by the salesperson... he must have been highly commissioned to get rid of these pieces of junk. As stated previously it does not clean dishes very well. But that is only part of the problem.

Just over a year ago we received notice that there was an electrical problem with the dishwasher and that it needed updating. Work was done in 15 minutes with little information about what the actual problem was. Since then it worked sporadically when it wasn't clogged up from one piece of rice or a miniscule lump of hardened ketchup.

Last week we left the dishwasher running while stepping out and we came back to our kitchen full of smoke and a wretched smell coming from the machine. We have a call in to GE, or whoever manages the recall notices on this, of course we have yet to hear back from them.

My advice: Avoid GE dishwashers. If this is the high end of their product I would hate to see how the low end performs.

Feb 18, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Finally got the dishwasher to work better
by: Connie in Connecticut

I have finally realized that if you use the expensive dishwasher tablets that include the rinse agent in the packet, the dishes come out much better. Actually.....the dishwasher works really well then. You also must separate the dishes on the bottom rack....don't let them get too close together so the water can get between the dishes easily. (Which means you can't overload the dishwasher!) Don't use the automatic dispenser....it gets clogged easily and the repairman will tell you it is fixed...but it just doesn't work. I only used one kind of dishwasher soap (as it said in the instructions) ...but the automatic dispenser really never worked properly.

Feb 18, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
gepdw9000
by: Anonymous

doesn't wash well at all. we have tried everything our old kenmore was much better. This was not cheap!We have a service call in but normally these people don't have a clue Thought you may have some ideas

Dec 17, 2010
Rating
star
Worst dishwasher ever
by: Anonymous

Moved from another house where I was spoiled by my Bosch dishwasher. The current house I'm at came with a GE Profile dishwasher which is, in a word, despicable. It does not "wash" dishes, it simply sterilizes what's on them. I mean, wipe knives clean or they will come out with the same stuff on them, just hardened. I just tried to load some mugs (pre-washed, of course) into the washer and the entire top rack fell out, breaking 4 cups/mugs. This is the last straw. This washer is only 3 years old but it is going to the dump. No more GE for me!

Aug 27, 2010
Rating
star
GE Profile PDW9880
by: Anonymous

I've owned 6 dishwashers, including my Ge Profile PDW9880. This is hands-down the worst dish washer I've ever owned. Its worse than the one included by the builder of my previous home that I sold to a friend for $20. It just plain doesn't work well. It gets clogged in a matter of weeks, even when the dishes go in almost spotless-clean. The plastic wheel assemblies on the bottom tray fell apart because they were poorly designed and had to be replaced. It is three years old now, and as soon as we can afford to buy a real dish washer, we will remove this piece of garbage and replace it with something that works.

May 25, 2010
Rating
star
Not Happy with PDW Profile
by: anlnymous

My PDW Profile dishwasher is 5 years young now. (1) Since the first say we got it the top arm never rotated, so the upper rack dishes always had a film on the top of them. (2) Like Connie, we had to replace the detergent dispenser about 1 year after we bought it (about $60 to do it ourselves) because it would no longer close. (3) Early on also the upper rack clips which hold the rack onto the sliding bar, disintegrated and the top rack fell on my daughter's foot while she was doing the dishes, I mean it literally BROKE AND FELL.

We ordered new clips to solve that problem; replaced them ourselves. (4) The design of the arms is horrible because they are one piece and you cannot clean all the gook that gets stuck in the water holes, and I always rinse my dishes well (product literature says you really don't have to rinse the dishes). I can't believe I have had to dis-assemble this thing several times a year to clean all the gook out- what do normal people do? (5) The latest issue is that it now leaks, so we replaced a rubber strip along the bottom (that was fun getting to), and it did not help, still leaks, and has ruined part of my hardwood floors. (6) The only detergent that has ever worked in this dishwasher is the really expensive tablet kind. The powders, liquids, and gels make the dishes worse after the wash- nothing is ever rinsed well.

After 5 years, we're opting out of the GE Dishwasher and getting another brand. Ge should focus more on quality than fancy options. I just want my dishes CLEAN....

Apr 23, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Dishwasher help
by: Anonymous

Hello this is Adam from GE. I am sorry to hear about the issues you are having with your dishwasher. We would love to try and help. If you could please send the model#, serial# and the issues you are having to eresponse@ge.com, we will see what we can do to help. Thanks. Hopefully we can help find a solution.

Adam @ GE, e-response team

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to ge dishwasher Review.