GE Profile Quiet Power 7 Dishwasher

by Tana
(Illinois)

This appliance is a huge disappointment. It wasn't cheap and I was hoping for better performance. I was told by the sales person "You'll never have to rinse a dish and they'llcome out perfectly clean." What a joke! I have to wash the dishes by hand prior to loading or else, if there's any food left on them, the dishwasher bakes it on and leaves a brown residue that has to be scraped off. I would NEVER buy this one again, folks!

Comments for GE Profile Quiet Power 7 Dishwasher

Average Rating starstar

Click here to add your own comments

Dec 22, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Worst dishwasher ever in history
by: Anonymous

this dishwasher has melted everything in it twice. We had it fixed the first time, replacing everything in it (including the melted racks).

I am so happy we were home both times, or it would have burned our house down. The heating unit would not turn off.

I emailed GE but got no answer. We are tossing this POS out and replacing it with a non GE product. All that and it NEVER CLEANED A DISH that wasn't clean to begin with. I cannot wait to get rid of it.

Dec 07, 2014
Rating
star
GE Quiet Power Dishwasher is a piece of junk
by: Filsone, Anthony

We bought a complete GE profile kitchen and the first dishwasher was defective and replaced by a court order recall so we took the 300 off offer so we put it towards a 1200 Quiet Power 7.

We received the Quiet Power 7 and it has always had problems. What a piece of junk. It does not clean. The soap gets stuck. The motor went. It's sprung a leak. At one point it sounded like a jet aircraft.

Needless to say. When we redo out kitchen we will NOT be buying the same brand.

Nov 17, 2014
Rating
star
Horrible!
by: Anonymous

This is the worst dishwasher ever! My dishes are still dirty after washing them. I thought it must be broken. I paid $264.00 to have it fixed and it still doesn't clean the dishes. I am purchasing a new dishwasher soon and it definitely will not be a GE.

Apr 30, 2013
Rating
star
ALL THESE REVIEWS ARE ACCURATE
by: Annoyed in Cincinnati

In my experience, all the things said below are true! Especially annoying to me is that the bottom rack wheels pop off EVERY TIME I pull the rack out. This is the worst dishwasher I have ever had. As an aside, our GE Profile stove is a piece of junk, too. Our GE Profile french door fridge died less than 3 years after we'd purchased it too. Nuff said.

Mar 21, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Ge Profile Quiet Power...HORRIBLE
by: lisamarie

Wheels constantly come off, several melted! Drain doesnt drain, dishes dont come clean....OH the pain this dishwasher has been....


DO NOT BUY ONE~!~!~

Dec 10, 2012
Rating
star
Awful!
by: Anonymous

I have to soak my dishes before I load. At that point why put them in the dishwasher at all. The dishes and utensils do not come clean. This is the most awful dishwasher I have ever used.

Aug 25, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
A Pain in the REAR!
by: Anonymous

We replaced an older model Profile for this one 3 years ago. WHAT A MISTAKE! I HATE this dishwasher. It never seems to clean properly even after running it on the sanitized mode. It has a lingering smell of semi-cleaned food dishes. The biggest annoyance has been a continuous problem with the lower rack wheels falling off. It is CONSTANT and a real pain in the rear. Two have been permanently damaged because they fell against the heat coil. The clip on a third wheel snapped off. DO NOT PURCHASE THIS DISHWASHER! It will make you want to go on Zanax!

Aug 05, 2012
Rating
star
DO NOT PURCHASE
by: Anonymous

Purchased in 2008 and it worked like a charm. Hubby is handy, so didn't take the extended warranty. So wish I had. Have had several repairs - my husband and repair guy. Purchased new parts. Dispenser is broken. Spray is broken. $1200 down the drain.

Looking at purchasing new dishwasher - just not willing to keep throwing money away. DO NOT PURCHASE!!! Also have the Profile convection oven - not great either.

Jun 25, 2012
Rating
star
Big disappointment
by: Anonymous

We have owned a few GE dishwashers and have been very happy with them , until this hideous piece of garbage.

It is quiet, only because it doesn't have enough water pressure to clean a dish. This should be called a dishwetter.

Do not buy this dishwasher!!

Jan 18, 2012
Rating
star
I had to redesign this to make it wash better.
by: applianceguy

I installed this dishwasher for my mother, while upgrading to stainless steel appliances for the kitchen. The refrigerator is nice (G.E. also) but the dishwasher is quiet only because of the lack of spray power. No Pressure!! After numerous complaints from my mother I decided to look into it.

Well at first I thought it.., Operator error!!Maybe she is not rinsing the dishes well enough, or maybe she was not loading the dishes with open face towards the spray arm. Maybe she is letting utensils protrude through the bottom of the utensil rack so the spray arm is obstructed and not able to rotate. She insisted that she was not guilty of these common errors.

So I wash with it, and sure enough..,, what a P.O.S!! After I studied it, I tried reducing the size of the tube leading up into the lower spray arm to see if this would increase pressure. No! So I go the other way with it, and get out my step drill bit and increase the size of the lower spray arm tube and of the pump outlet housing to increase water flow.

I enlarge both of these to the maximum amount allowable, without cutting all of the way through the outer wall of the tube.

This helped!! More water flow! Now you can actually hear water spraying.., and you can hear the spray arm rotating. Wash performance is better, but not a drastic improvement..,, only noticeable.

It is better..,, but it is still a fancy looking P.O.S!!

Nov 09, 2011
Rating
star
Don't Buy GE !!
by: Anonymous

Horrible dishwasher. I complained to GE Canada head office they finally replaced it with a second one ( I'm sure just to get me off their back) same pile of junk. Computer stopped working to choose load type, dispenser stopped working again after 5 months, grit all over my top rack, I constantly have to take the sprayer off and take our compressor to clean out the jets !!
Leaks when I put a big pot on bottom rack don't ask me why. Sensor is not working. Not enough water. . food depris always collects under the door, Seal pulls off from time to time, top screws on top part of door rusted, I could go on and on. Phoned GE again they say to bad so sad basically. I am so done with GE crap. My fridge is no better, spent so much money on repairs. My GE profile Convection range is junk as well, the fan has been replaced and the new one started vibrating, so noisey, can't use convection . So Done !!!When someone is happy they tell 10 people when someone is unhappy they tell 100 !! Don't buy GE !! especially the dishwashers

Nov 09, 2011
Rating
star
Waste of money!!
by: Anonymous

I can't believe I spent so much money on this worthless thing!! I have to wash my dishes before I put them in, the wheels have all fallen of - one thing after the other with this thing.

Oct 10, 2011
Rating
star
Will not be buying GE any time soon
by: Jay from Boston

wheels fall off, spent hundreds in repairs, now drain does not fully drain. Hate this product

Oct 05, 2011
Rating
star
Very quiet - because it doesn't clean
by: David Mourick

This is the quietest dishwasher we have ever owned. However, don't buy this model unless you are one of those people who wash your dishes before you put them in the dishwasher. We have owned it for just over two years and have never been pleased with its performance. It is now to the point where the least little bit of food left on a plate, bowl, or silverware is not only not cleaned, it's cooked on and has to be soaked and scrubbed off. The problem appears to be a gross lack of spray pressure. Hence its quietness. Next time I'll opt for the louder dishwasher that actually cleans the dishes.

Sep 19, 2011
Rating
star
Junk
by: Anonymous

Very quiet as advertized but a piece of junk otherwise. I've spent over $500.00 on repairs, the detergent dispenser quit 6 months ago and noe everything in the top rack comes out with some kind of grit on it. A waste of money.

Jul 27, 2011
Rating
star
This gives you more work
by: Kay

I hate this dishwasher.

1. The top basket keeps slide out so I have to hold it with roading dishes lower.

2. Wheels comes off every time when I pull lower basket. So I have to duck and seek missing wheels often. One of wheel melt on the heater and completely gone.

3. Detergent stays in the holder. I tried some different but still same.

Ireally hate this dishwasher.

Jan 13, 2011
Rating
star
Horrible dishwasher!!
by: Reston VA

I've had this dishwasher for 3 years now. It worked well for the first year. Exactly after the warranty ended...things started to go wrong. I just had to replace the entire electronic control board. After the first year it stopped cleaning my dishes. It leaves a filmy residue on all my glasses--even when I use Jetdry with each wash. It seems now the auto-deterdegent dispenser is no longer working, so I have to put cascade in each time. I HATE this dishwasher and I'm shopping around for a replacment--after only 3 years!! I'm not even willing to give this away to any of my friends for fear they would curse me. Do not buy!! Come on GE-- your reputation is QUICKLY going down hill.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to ge dishwasher Review.