GE Profile

by Karen
(Florida)

I absolutely abhor this dishwasher. All the appliances in my house came as a package deal from the builder but only have problems with the dishwasher. I have owned and operated it since January 2006 and ever since day one it has done a horrible job of cleaning.


I have tried almost all the different brands of dishwashing detergent sold but none have made a bit of difference. In comparison to the old model (Whirlpool) I had in my prior apartment, I would take the old one over this new GE Profile. The Whirlpool model was distinctively quieter and did a much better job on cleaning dishes, glasses and silverware.

For a dishwasher which is only 2 years old, this GE Profile ranks far below any other brand on the market, especially when a model which is 6 years old out performs it.

I definitely will not recommend this product to anyone and have written to my builder to request that they change companies when outfitting any further new homes. I have been in contact with other new homeowners who have the GE appliance package which was included in their purchase and 97% have agreed with my findings. If the economy were not so bad, I would trash it and purchase a new one immediately.

However, my finances at the moment do not allow for this so I have resorted to hand washing my dishes unless I have a large number of dinner guests which is when I do actually utilize the Profile dishwasher but inevitably have to run it at least twice to accomplish getting the dishes clean.

Comments for GE Profile

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Aug 24, 2014
Rating
star
I hate the ge profile series dw
by: Anonymous

I too purchased the whole profile set. The refrigerator ice/water dispenser leaked all the time. Door was replaced three times. Machine worked for about six months then the leaking started again.

Complained about the dishwasher from first load, it doesn't clean! Store we purchased it from said it was because we were using one of the all in one gel packs (and needed to use liquid) it doesn't make any difference at all!

The dw we replaced was a maytag and was 10 years old, other then being loud it was a great dw. I hate this dw!

Jul 11, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Don't buy GE Profile App.
by: Anonymous

Like you I bought the whole matching set side by side refrid. Over the stove micro wave n dishwasher . They worked great for the first year, microwave was fixed three times by GE repair at great cost to me and now it doesn't work again, I'd like to throw them out but I don't have that kind of money to waste.

Ice machine quit working in fridge but I was able to replace it myself thank goodness, because you don't get a break from GE. So I will never buy GE again , all of them keep breaking n it cost too much for repairs when you make junk n then you have to keep repairing it OMG

Jan 15, 2012
Rating
starstarstar
G E Profile Dishwasher a poor choice
by: Anonymous

We remodeled the kitchen/house with Profile products,all top of the line. The dishwasher has been a problem almost from day one.

Dishes are ALWAYS wet, and not always clean even though I rinse almost clean. Now all of the wheels on the bottom rack fall off ALL the time. Because of this it has caused a section of the rack to end up being bent. It is louder than my old dishwasher with any hardwater build up.

I have to clean it weekly with citric acid to prevent the noise. Will NEVER buy GE anything ever again. Every GE appliance we own, all under 5 years old have major issues, all 8 of them! Bosch here I come!

None of the GE were cheap but the quality was. I want to buy American, but not if it is worthless!!!

Jan 03, 2012
Rating
star
Do Not Purchase GE Profile
by: Anonymous

These GE Profile appliances are horrible. The dishwasher is quiet, but the glasses are all etched and the dishes are never dry. You end up with more water on the floor than in the sink. Any rim or indention facing up is completly full of water when the cycle is over, even on the hottest setting. The dishes are so hot you can't touch them when the drying cycle is running, but they are wet by the time the cycle is finished. Ventilation problem maybe. Since this is for dishwashers, I will hold comments on the fridge, and stove.

Aug 18, 2011
Rating
star
Hate it (PDW9280LSS)
by: Jenny K

This is the worst dishwasher ever...has always left a film on dishes, I've tried every type of detergent, cycles, etc. to no avail.

You have to wash every dish before you put it in the dishwasher or it won't come clean & heaven forbid you miss a spot...it will get baked on forever.

Space is very limited because every dish has to be in its own space...if two dishes are too close together, they won't come clean (relatively speaking.)

Now the rubber lining comes off every time I open the door to the dishwasher & I've already super-glued it back on once already.

It also appears that the electrical side is failing. The buttons change settings on their own. Trying to reset them is no easy task & requires the patience of a saint...on a good day.

I am so disappointed. I just went through the same type of thing with the GE Profile Washing Machine (for clothes)...it was ridiculously bad as well & that cost me about $300 to change out.

The gas range & convection microwave are awesome though.


Jul 27, 2011
Rating
star
GE Profile dishwasher bad performance still
by: Anonymous

June 29th. 2011 I purchased a GE Profile dishwasher to match my new frig....big mistake. I should have read this site before. It leaves residue on dishes and silverware. Forget about cleaning glasses. The interior stainless is always streaked no matter how much or how little of soap and jet dry I allow. It is slow and now I am afraid of using it after reading everyone's comments regarding leaks and fire. And we keep letting China build our products. I am calling Home Depot and GE and telling them to come and get this junk. Since they obviously have known about the problems

Jun 06, 2011
Rating
star
Pdw9980n20ss profile quiet 7 worst dishwasher ever!
by: Anonymous

Unfortunately I am also a member of the wasted $1000 on a piece of crap ge dishwasher club. We replaced a $300 maytag dishwasher that worked fine for this nice looking stainless steel dishwasher that leaves the dishes and glasses dirtier than when we loaded them. We also were told to run the hot water before each time we ran it. Ha! What a joke. Hopefully someone will read these posts before they waste $1000 like the rest of us did.

Do not buy a ge dishwasher!

Apr 18, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
GE Profile Dishwasher
by: Anonymous

I too was not happy with my GE Profile that came with the model townhome we purchased from a builder. I was seriously considering purchasing another brand. After trying many dishwasher detergents, my sister who was also having issues with her new dishwasher (not GE) getting the dishes spotless, she tried the mfg. recommended dishwashing detergent.....Cascade Complete and it has solved my problem and hers.

Mar 22, 2011
Rating
star
Kitchen full of crap!
by: Julie

All the appliances in my kitchen were bought by builder, I am the original owner and they are all GE PROFILE series. My fridge/freezer went from defrosting everything recently, to now, everything in my fridge and freezer are frozen, the computer chip that reads the temp is clearly garbage, my dishwasher gets nothing clean, my mircowave works for 2 second intervals (literally) and stops, having to be unplugged and replugged in for the next 2 seconds!! These are the worst appliances I have EVER used and I will never ever buy GE or any home that has them in it already!!! These are all less than 4 years old!!

Mar 21, 2011
Rating
star
Don't buy GE Profile
by: Anonymous

I remodeled my kitchen about 5 years ago with GE profile appliances and these are my problems so far:
*the handle on the freezer falls of daily
*the ice machine overflows
*the microwave tray cracked in half
*most of the wheels have all fallen off the lower rack of the dishwasher
*I have to clean my dishes before I put them into the dishwasher
*Most infuriating, the stovetop cracked for no reason at all.

I will never buy GE again.

Mar 15, 2011
Rating
star
GE PROFILE DISHWASHER
by: Gus

I have a kitchen full of GE Profile SS appliances. They are 2 1/2 years old.

I am happy with them except for the dishwasher. It is totally worthless. My child does a better job. The dishes have to be spotless when you load it, otherwise they are still dirty when the machine is done. What a piece of junk. I would never buy or recommend another GE appliance.

Mar 10, 2011
Rating
star
GE Profile - JUNK!!!
by: Leslie Davis

DON'T BUY THIS PRODUCT!!!! We have a kitchen full of GE Profile appliances - all are a problem. Especially the dishwasher. Barely 5 years old - leaves baked on detergent which has to be scrubbed off everything. Dishes, cookware, cutlery - all ruined. We'll never buy GE products again.

Mar 07, 2011
Rating
star
Dishwasher hell
by: tom

Nightmare......,Had a Stainless Steel Profile four years now and it has been an absolute nightmare. Conrol strip went on top of the door. They changed that, Then it began to overheat and almost burned the cabinets. Fixed that in a recall. Now the pump leaks and the drain leaks I have puddles on the floor. Out of a GE Profile Kitchen only the micro has worked well. First Fridge went back and was replaced. The Stove has igniters out and the DW is the pits. This is a result of being made in China. G E.... never again. Not under any circumstance.

Mar 05, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
The dishes get very clean though and we are very happy with this machine.
by: Anonymous

When we decided to upgrade, we knew we needed something quiet. Our kitchen is in the middle of our open floor plan and our old dishwasher was so loud, we couldn't watch T.V. when it was running. Our old machine was a Maytag, supposed to be the best but we had nothing but problems. It was only 8 years old and we had to replace the motor twice.

I was looking for a GE and really like the Profile series. We went to Sears and to Home Depot. Home Depot was running a better sale and we already had a credit account to take advantage of their 1 year same as cash financing. We were told that the Q4 was the quietest model in our price range and it is exactly what we had hoped for.

We have had the dishwasher for just over a year now and have had no mechanical problems or anything go wrong. It is so quiet that sometimes I have to check the timer to make sure it is running. The baskets hold a lot of dishes and the silverware basket comes in three parts so you can remove what you don’t need, for even more room.

The top rack is easily moved between three positions so bigger items can be loaded on the top too. The ONLY thing I don’t like is most of the time there is detergent left in the little pocket.

We have tried different brands of soap and it still happens.

Mar 05, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
It has been very reliable and I am pleased with my GE Profile dishwasher
by: Anonymous

My dishwasher was purchased from Home Depot as part of a major kitchen upgrade. I bought it as part of a package deal from GE, in order to receive a rebate. It was purchased in December, 2004. I have owned this dishwasher for three and a half years and plan to use it until it stops working.

I primarily bought it because I liked the GE Profile refrigerator and range and wanted to match the set. It has several cycle options and came in black. I like the fact that you can use heated or air dry as an energy saving option. My favorite feature is the delay start option as I can set it to run at a time of my choosing. The panel display is very easy to read and simple to operate.

It has been a very good dishwasher and I would buy the same model again. It takes about an hour to run through a cycle and it is very quiet. My previous dishwasher was a Hotpoint and I hated it. It was so loud and did a terrible job cleaning dishes. I would never purchase a Hotpoint dishwasher again.

It does an exceptionally good job on everyday plates, glasses and flatware. I don't use it for pots and pans, though, as I prefer to do those by hand.. We have a large family and i often run two loads per day.

Mar 05, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
positive experiences with GE.
by:

The Dishwasher I currently have is a GE Profile. It came with the house that I bought which was built within the last six years. At first I found the dishwasher complicated to use.

There are several buttons on it and it confused me because every time you open it and shut it, the dishwasher lights up as if it were to about to run.

I would often think "oh no I don't want to run a wash now!" but it wasn't turning on at all, it was just the way the machine works...lights up when it is shut, in case you were ready to run a wash. Furthermore after a few times of use I understood exactly how to use it. It is a great dishwasher and I have never had any problems with it.

All of my dishware and glassware comes out consistantly as clean as can be.

I highly recommend anybody to purchase the GE profile. It becomes easy to use, works great, and looks nice in any kitchen.

GE is a reliable company and you know their products are good because so is their company.

I would feel skeptical about buying appliances from any other company.

Mar 05, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
I highly recommend a GE Profile (any style).
by: Christina

When I purchased my house back in 2001 the one thing that wasn't there was a dishwasher. I did a lot of research on different dishwashers and finally decided on the Black GE Profile 24 inch Built in Dishwasher at Sears. I had them install it as well.

This is probably one of the best dishwasher I have ever used. I have had it 7 years and I have not had one problem with it and it still cleans as well as it did on day 1.

It is very quiet and you wouldn't know it was running unless you are right next to it and also see the lights lit up.

I really like the design of it, very simple and has the touch pad buttons, so it goes well with any decor in your kitchen. The thoroughness of how it cleans is top notch.

You can let a plate of spaghetti sauce sit for a couple days, not rinse it and throw it in there and it will come out sparkly clean.

Trust me, having boys that sneak up to their rooms with food and leave plates in their rooms is the ultimate test! I have had a couple of occasions where the silverware didn't come totally clean and that was mostly user error.

Sometimes if you over load the flatware holder, it wont get them all clean but that's our fault not the dishwashers. My glasses all come out clean and with no spots. The one thing I don't use is the "heated dry" setting.

I did a couple of times and I wasn't paying attention and had a plastic lid in there and it was only gladware but it melted it, I did that once and I don't use that setting anymore.

Really, you don't need to and Im not sure why you would have to. I did it to try it out and when that happened, I decided that setting wasn't for me.

I have a few friends that have other brands of dishwashers and they may not have paid as much but their biggest gripe is the dishes don't come out clean and they have to wash their dishes before putting them in the dishwasher! that's crazy! I would never stand for that.

This dishwasher by far surpasses all others and I have been happy with this purchase for several years.

Mar 05, 2011
Rating
star
wouldn't recommend to friends
by: Audrey

I have a GE Profile stainless steel dishwasher. It is a very nice looking dishwasher and the stainless steel matches well with my other kitchen appliances.

I have found it hard to clean like any other stainless steel appliance out there. You can only use ammonia based cleaners or mild soap and water and a paper towel or very soft rag otherwise it will leave scratch marks.

The dishwasher works really well has many settings to choose from and is very quick at cleaning the dishes but I dislike the layout on the inside.

I find it is very hard to figure out where the dishes,especially the bowls go and it is even more difficult to make them all fit.

I feel like I can't get as many dishes in one load as I have been able to with previous dishwashers I have owned.

One plus side is you can adjust the racks as needed to accommodate much larger items and to rearrange things a bit.

I don't know if I would recommend this particular dishwasher to anyone I know because of the fact that it is very difficult to keep clean and also it doesn't hold as many dishes as other dishwashers out there do.

Mar 05, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
quiet
by: Anonymous

Around 5 years ago I decided to finally get a dishwasher. The funny thing about it is that I waited until all my sons left home. My oldest son is a appliance repair man and I asked him for his advise. He recommended a GE.

After looking at what was out their I decided to purchase a GE Profile.

After checking with my son I went out and got one. I have to say it was one of the best buys I ever made.

I like the idea of how quiet it is. If you didn't know it was on, you didn't know I was washing dishes!! The style fit into my kitchen and I like the touch pad which is easy to use. If I knew how clean the dishes came out I would have brought one years ago,it even gets off dry egg which I hate to clean and dried on sauce. I have to let you know I am still using it today.

I would recommend this dishwasher to anyone who is looking for a good dependable and long lasting one. And I thank my son for his great advise.

Mar 05, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
just love it
by: Anonymous

After much research I purchased this dishwasher about 4 months ago from Best Buy and love it. My last dishwasher was a kenmore and only about 5 years old but just wasn't doing the job I thought it should do.

I never thought I would get so excited about a dishwasher, but I love doing dishes now. I just put the dishes in without rinsing them first and they come out spotless.

There is no food residue, no soap residue and the dishes are completely dry as soon as the cycle is over (compared to my old dishwasher where the dishes would still have drops of water on them.)

The layout of this dishwasher is very spacially efficient and allows you to put in more dishes than you think you can. The rack on top is adjustable for the different heights of my glasses. And the best part is, the dishwasher is practically silent.

This dishwasher makes almost no noise. My mother recently bought new appliances and I recommended the GE profile dishwasher to her and she is just as pleased as I am with the performance of the dishwasher.

I bought this dishwasher for $1300 on sale, but I think you can get even better deals.

Mar 05, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
good cleaning ability
by: Juan

I purchased this Profile Series dish washer in 2003 from a local hardware and housing supply company. It is a stainless front washer with black trim.

The overall look is very nice and I purchased the matching refrigerator, oven, and microwave.

The cleaning ability of this machine is very good. My wife and I have been very pleased with it. We used to have to basically wash the dishes before we could put them in our old machine.

Now we dump the large stuff in the compost and stick the plate in the machine. It has some kind of small grinder device in the bottom that we were told helped dispose of washed off food waste.

It has been run at least twice a week for the past 5 years and has never had a glitch. It is not as quiet as I had been led to believe it

Mar 05, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
GE Profile - JUNK!!!
by: Leslie Davis

DON'T BUY THIS PRODUCT!!!! We have a kitchen full of GE Profile appliances - all are a problem. Especially the dishwasher. Barely 5 years old - leaves baked on detergent which has to be scrubbed off everything. Dishes, cookware, cutlery - all ruined. We'll never buy GE products again.

Mar 03, 2011
Rating
star
GE Profile Dish Washer
by: Patric Howley

My wife and I have selected some GE appliances for our new home. We have the GE Profile Dishwasher in our kitchen. It is terrible!!!! We have tried to secure help with no results. I reccommend that you do not buy appliances from big box stores. Try to find a family owned smaller retailer in your area. The sales personal in family stores are the owners in most cases. They care and want you to come back, And they know which manufacture is the best by appliance type. Bid store employees do not and do not care what you buy and could care less in regard to helping you or if you come back.

Feb 12, 2011
Rating
star
Dead Out of the Box
by: Frustrated in Oklahoma

Bought a brand new GE Profile dishwasher today. Obviously not the least expensive dishwasher available, but it looked nice and had lots of room inside.
Loaded it up and took it home. Spent the afternoon removing the old dishwasher and installing the new one.
Filled the dishwasher wish dishes, selected Normal Wash and Heated Dry and pressed start.
Heard a long beep and then nothing happened.
Found the customer service number and found that they only work weekday business hours.
Finally found another number and talked to someone at GE. Was told to add about a quart of water to the bottom of the dishwasher, reset the power and try again. That was the extent of the advice that this Customer Service person could give. They recommended waiting until Monday and calling the main number.
After adding the water, Nothing!! It appears that the START/RESET button is actually only resetting the dishwasher. I think the button is defective.
Of course the dealer is now closed until Monday, GE is closed until Monday and I have a dishwasher full of dirty dishes.
I should have know better. My old dishwasher was a GE Profile and I was replacing it because the control panel failed. Now I get a new GE Profile dishwasher with a defective control panel.
Maybe I should have went with the $199.00 Whirlpool. At least I wouldn't be so upset if it failed instead of sinking $700.00+ into a non-working model.
Hopefully GE will stand behind this model and make good on the repair, but it is distressing to purchase something only to find I bought a lemon.

Frustrated in Oklahoma.

Feb 11, 2011
Rating
star
Junk Dishwasher.
by: Jim & Lori

This GE Profile dishwasher has given us many frustrated moments. It does not clean dishes well at all, leaves a film and all the plastics are warping. The wheels on the lower rack have broken and/or fallen off (all of them)! It's so bad my wife asked for wheels for Valentines day, haha. Why doesn't GE step up to the plate and realize the problems people are having with these things. Profile is suppose to be quality. This thing is anything but. Techs had to come out twice for this thing and it's still inferior. I wish we took our 10 year old unit from our old house. STEP UP G.E.

Feb 11, 2011
Rating
star
GE DISHWASHER
by: JAMES

GE #PDW9980N20SS Dishwasher. Horrible since we bought this dishwasher (2008 'ish). Did not clean dishes, left residue, chunks of food clogged water nozzles. Sped much time re-cleaning dishes and the dishwasher itself. Had a tech come out to look it over and suggested running the hot water before we ran the dishwasher. Not much help.

However, I have since replaced the plastic "coarse filter" (Part # WD22X10038) that came with the dishwasher with a GE replacement metal filter (Part # WD22X10076). If you look at the older style filter it looks like it has warped with the heat and food gets through this filter on the sides which clogs the nozzles and gets on the dishes. The new filter has helped a lot! It is made of metal and has a rubber gasket surrounding the entire filter edge. Strange, but the GE tech never mentioned or noticed that this was a problem......

This dishwasher was flawed from the start. GE replaced the part to fix the problem but never informed techs or purchasers. VERY frustrating experience.

Feb 05, 2011
Rating
star
GE Appliances - Not Our Best Decision
by: Tommy T

We remodeled our ketchen years ago and chose GE appliances.
GE Refrigerator: the drain inside the freezer routinely cloggs, causing ice build-up inside freezer that eventualy ends up dripping on floor in front of door. Plastic part on bottom of refrigerator side door broke off so door does not close by itself
GE Microwave: died shortly after warranty period expired and had to be replaced
Dishwasher: bottom rack wheel retainers failed causing wheels to fall off bottom rack and cauting much difficulty moving bottom rack in and out. One time bottom rack jarred, causing damage to china plates and much complaining from wife. Had to replace wheel retainers. Will call GE customer service when the open Monday. GE Part department was more than willing to take my order for replacement parts. Dishwasher was quite when new, now very noisy.
NO MORE GE APPLIANCES IN OUR HOUSE!! I CANNOT RECOMMEND GE APPLIANCES TO OTHERS.

Jan 21, 2011
Rating
star
frustrated
by: Anonymous

It hasn't been a year since we purchased our GE Profile and today water was leaking out of the tub all over my hard woods! I called the service center and they are going to take a week to come service. I am very disappointed in the dishwasher and the customer service. I also couldn't take to a real person and kept getting rerouted to automated systems. When I finally got a hold of a customer service rep...she got all the facts wrong and told me my year was up and I would have to pay for the service call. Grrrr.

Jan 11, 2011
Rating
starstar
Not a good washer
by: Anonymous

We got this ge profile "dishwasher" almost 4 years ago with matching oven, micro and refrigerator. The dishwasher just doesn't clean and never has. I double wash the dishes all the time. I have to clean out this residue that builds up around the door seals. My glasses slowly get worse over time (hazy). My other dishwashers didn't do this. I shouldn't have bought this but I was going for the matching kitchen upgrade. Funny I found this sight as I was searching for a solution to this nightmare.

Jan 09, 2011
Rating
star
Simply the worst dishwasher
by: Anonymous

I will never buy a GE brand ever again

Jan 07, 2011
Rating
star
Hate this Dishwasher!
by: Anonymous

We just bought a GE Profile and wish I had seen this web site first. It's the worst dishwasher I've ever owned. Nothing comes out clean and we end up hand washing everything even after pre-rinsing so we are essentially wasting twice as much water.

Oct 01, 2010
Rating
star
Never buy GE again
by: Anonymous

I bought a Maytag dishwasher in 2004 it neer worked properly. In 2006 my GE extended warranty replaced the dishwasher with a GE Profile dishwasher. It was good until the front plastic covering fell off the control pannel. I have tried for 6 weeks to get repairs. The dishwasher is no longer under warranty except for parts. I must use a GE certified repairman, can't find one in my area. Called GE repeatedly finally they sent me to a nationwide repair service that said they will come look at the dishwasher for 129.00 plus any labor and parts if they determine it is not still under warranty. No one can tell me for sure that it is still under warranty for parts but my booklet that came with the dishwasher says it is for 5 years. Why can't GE assure me that it is before they send a repairman that could even charge me more than I can buy a new dishwasher for.
GE is on my list of products to never buy again. They need to wake up and treat customers right. We need to report them to the BBB.

Sep 29, 2010
Rating
starstar
I agree!
by: Tamra

I love some features about this appliance, and I love the "idea" of it. that it is quiet, buttons hidden so kids can't play with them, can store detergent.....

But It has never cleaned well since the first year. Loved it at first. Now it leaves more dirt on the dishes then was there before. I have had to use the "dishwasher magic" cleaner like 6 times a year to get it to work properly. And my latest pet-peve is the wheels! they have almost all fallen off. then melted and I can't find any replacements!

Tamra :(

Sep 26, 2010
Rating
star
GE Profile Quiet Power 7 = Junk
by: Anonymous

Utter junk. Bough a full matching set of GE Profile appliances 3-4 years ago. The dish not-washer is useless. My wife is constantly reminding me how I threw out the 10 year old which actually cleaned the dishes for this new piece of junk... Sad.. Was hoping to find someone with a solution - but it appears not.

Aug 13, 2010
Rating
star
Terrible
by: Disappointed Consumer

I have had the GE Profile replaced by GE and the second is no better than the first. This machine doesn't wash dishes. I have tried every detergent and had no luck. The machine doesn't even clean itself. There is a greyish film on everything and streaks of this on the stainless steal interior tub.

I will probably end up washing the dishes by hand.

Jun 20, 2010
Rating
starstar
GE Profile 2 years old
by: Rob

Hi everyone,

Same problems here with my GE Dishwasher, I have had it for about 2 years now, the cleaning is not bad but the wheels have all fallen off the bottom rack and the second spray arm does not spin, I have cleaned it out but will not work.

GE has been good with service and replaced all four wheels at no charge but will not buy another GE dishwasher

hope others have had better luck

Rob V.
Canada

Jun 05, 2010
Rating
star
Disappointed
by: Mad in MV

I purchased a GE Profile refrigerator 1 year ago and decided this year to remodel my kitchen and stick with the same line of appliances. I purchased the diswasher, microwave and ceramic top slide in convection oven. The diswasher is AWEFUL!! The glasses come out cloudy everytime, the dinnerware is spotted and food is left on the plates and bowl. I have tried every thing possible thinking maybe it was the way i loaded the dishes, then i switched from Cascade soap and tried other brands...No it wasn't any of those. It's that the dishwasher sucks! Do not buy this dishwasher.

May 24, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Quiet 7 is a piece of Junk
by: Anonymous

Nothing but problems from the get go and it has gotten worse over the years.

Problems with it draining, the top rack does not line up with the water valve that feeds the top spray arm and now all the wheels are falling off the bottom track.

I would not recommend this product to anyone.

May 10, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Agreed, piece of junk.
by: Anonymous

I feel all your pain. Not cleaning properly from day one, gunk build-up all along the seal and ALL the wheels on the bottom rack falling off every time I pull the rack out. I can't tell you how frustrating this is. We too bought ours at Home Depot figuring it was expensive so had to be good. Man were we ever wrong. We have the GE Profile gas stove and french door fridge both of those are fine, pretty and working well. The dishwasher is the biggest disappointment. Our last dishwasher was a bottom of the line Kenmore from Sears that cost us less than half of what we paid for the GE Profile and it was a star compared to GE. Never once had a problem with it. Don't even consider this dishwasher unless you want to say good bye to $1000 +.

Apr 30, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
With you on this one!
by: Anonymous

I started a big reno three years ago and bought all used appliances with the exception of a new GE Profile dishwasher. The used appliances were great. I had the repairman out three times for the dishwasher as it just does not wash the dishes. Each time he said there was nothing wrong with it but to try X dishwasher powder X sheeting liquid, running the hot water first before doing the dishes, etc. I do all of this AND rinse the dishes and they don't look hardly any better than when they went in. Just more wet. Pans are a joke. My previous 15-year old GE dishwasher did a much better job than this one. It is embarrassing. GE should fess up that they made a very bad product and offer some kind of reimbursement.

Apr 26, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
RIP GE Profile Dishwasher
by: Anonymous

Well, I'm glad to hear that I'm not the only one who bought this dishwasher because it's beautiful, a piece of crap, but beautiful. Mine's a bit older than the others listed hear. The motor is apparantly poorly placed and mists water onto the pump. (and on the floor under the dishwasher in very small amounts that are not usually noticed) Eventually, the motor and pump fail and it leaks all over(in my case wood)floor. This happened yesterday. The appliance repairmen stated that this is a common problem. Be aware of this if your appliance motor seems to be getting louder. A puddle of water sat on my floor ovrenight. I am not happy!

Apr 18, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
wheels off solution
by: Anonymous

I had two wheels that were constantly coming off. Fixed by using small tie wraps and putting around the small clip that is part of the wheel assembly and fastening it to the rack. Has worked great so far.

Apr 06, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Worst dishwasher ever!
by: Anonymous

I bought this dishwasher three months ago to match the rest of my appliances in my kitchen. It is horrible. It has never cleaned my dishes. I basically have to wash my dishes before they go in the dishwasher. I have tried various detergents, rinse agents etc. I swear the dishes come out dirtier than when they went in. I am going to have to replace this dishwasher after only three months and almost $1,000. It frustrates me too much every time I have to unload the dishwasher and it is embarrasing when I have guests and the dishes are dirty.

Mar 19, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Ditto
by: Mike

This page gets 5 stars, but the dishwasher is a lame 1 star. If that were possible. It is a beautiful piece of junk, so it gets one star for its looks. However, this thing can't clean dishes to save its life, the door gasket is constantly falling off, and there is gunk all inside that has to be cleaned out on a regular basis. Luckily, my wheels are still on but it's only a year old.

The most annoying, and the most dangerous, thing is that the unit hummmmmmmms after the cycle is complete...overnight if we want to start a cycle before bed. I believe that the heater just doesn't shut off. At first we'd just fun a rinse every night (to save energy). The thing was humming all night, every night! Can we say $400 electric bill?? Suffice to say we don't run a rinse any more to "save energy".

Ugh, I hope GE monitors this. Get your act together. I want a new dishwasher.

Dec 13, 2009
Rating
star
The Worst Dishwasher Ever!
by: Joe

Prior to our GE Profile dishwaher we had a Miele for 14 years. Dishes came out amazingly clean everytime. We moved and inhereted a GE Profile Quiet Power 7 dishwasher and are totally disappointed. It appears you get all the bells and whistles with this model but GE forgot one thing....the purpose of the dishwasher is to get the dishes clean! Would never buy a GE dishwasher and am looking to replace this piece of junk as soon as possible.

Dec 13, 2009
Rating
star
The Worst Dishwasher Ever!
by: Anonymous

Prior to our GE Profile dishwaher we had a Miele for 14 years. Dishes came out amazingly clean everytime. We moved and inhereted a GE Profile Quiet Power 7 dishwasher and are totally disappointed. It appears you get all the bells and whistles with this model but GE forgot one thing....the purpose of the dishwasher is to get the dishes clean! Would never buy a GE dishwasher and am looking to replace this piece of junk as soon as possible.

Dec 12, 2009
Rating
starstar
There are better choices out there
by: Janean

This dishwasher ran fairly quiet when it was brand new but after a few months it got louder. It also does not wash the dishes as well as some other dishwashers I've had. I've every kind of dishwasher soap on the market and this dishwasher is just not a very good one.

I have to wash my dishes before puting them in the dishwasher. I am not pleased with this dishwasher and now an looking for a new one when this one is only 2 1/2 years old.

Dec 12, 2009
Rating
star
have to rewash dishes
by: Sheila

I am very dissatisfied with this machine. I have a water softener and use the recommended detergent and drying agent.I soak my cutlery in the sink until I am ready to start the dishwasher, and it still NEVER comes out clean.

I have to check each item before I can put it on the shelf, and usually have to rewash 25% of dishes and 100% of tea mugs, as well as the cutlery. This unit is 2.5 years old and the rubber gasket on the bottom of the door has a six inch split. This unit is being replaced shortly.

Nov 29, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
NEVER BUY GE APPLIANCES and here's why!
by: Unhappy GE Owner in Ontario

CRAP! This was the most expensive dishwasher at the Home Depot therefore I expected it to be the best. Boy was I wrong!!! I have had it for about 2 years now and I am terribly disappointed. It does not clean my dishes! Gunk gets caught up inside the water "propellers" somehow, especially the center one, and prevents the water from properly spraying out. The center one in particular has a gel coming out of the little holes. I have often found myself pulling stuff out of the holes with tweezers and toothpicks. The wheels constantly pop off, and the end caps for the top rack broke off ages ago and I've had to be creative with waterproof tape to prevent the drawer rack from smashing on the floor when you pull it out. How disappointing! I will say that my GE washer and dryer suck too! I had a washer problem that took 9 WEEKS and $250 TO FIX because each time the repair guy came out he'd have to order another part!!!!! And my dryer, although it works, it rips the zippers off of everything!!!!!!!! NEVER BUY GE!!!! NEVER BUY GE!!!

Nov 25, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Not a fan
by: John Schulte

We installed a GE Profile Performance Quite Power III and when it worked, we got clean dishes and it was quiet. This was really cool, until it stopped working (it would not pump out the water). We called for repair ($99 SERVICE CALL) and after maybe 20 minutes and tring a couple of inexpensive fixes, the technician concluded that the electronics panel was shot. Ballpark, this is a $300 repair (probably more).

The guy was cool and rather than pay to install a new panel, he suggested buying a new dishwasher. He mentioned something about steam/moisture and electronic panels being incompatible, and suggested we look at a basic unit with a turn dial if we can find one. The technician waived the $99 service fee...very cool. I can't bring myself to buy another GE.

Nov 10, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Glad I'm not the only one....
by: Anonymous

To have trouble with this piece of crap dishwasher. We bought it at a scratch-n-dent store and thought it was a good deal. With a name like GE it had to be good, right? Wrong! The major complaint I have is about the wheels constantly falling off! It's not really loud and if I rinse my dishes off they come clean. Every once in a while I have to clean and scrub the dishwasher itself where the door matches up with the compartment(go check your dishwasher around that seal, you may find goopy black stuff). Shame on GE!!

Oct 26, 2009
Rating
star
absolute junk
by: po'd in Denver

Thanks to this site and the previous comments I know that the product is all junk and its not just my dishwasher. Mine also doesn't clean and leaves dishes dirty and the wheels are constantly falling off. It only 2 years old and came with the house when we bought it new.

Aug 08, 2009
Rating
star
BROKEN WHEELS!
by: Anonymous

AGREED...THIS IS A PIECE OF JUNK. I'VE OWNED A 10 YR. OLD WHIRLPOOL THAT CLEANED DISHES BETTER THAN THIS MODEL WHEN NEW. I HAVE HAD IT FOR FOUR YEARS NOW AS IT WAS A BUILDER KITCHEN PACKAGE IN MY THEN NEWLY BUILT HOME. THE WHEELS HAVE BEEN BROKEN FOR OVER SIX MONTHS! I HAVE TO REPOSITION THEM BEFORE RUNNING TO ALLOW THE BOTTOM CLEANING PROPELLER TO ROTATE. I WILL BE REPLACING THE WHEELS TO GET BY FOR NOW, BUT I CAN NOT WAIT TO GET RID OF THIS PIECE OF JUNK! DO NOT BUY ANY OF THIS LINE. THE FAN HAS ALSO RECENTLY BROKEN ON MY CONVECTION OVEN!!!!

Jul 28, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
bad bad design
by: Anonymous

We have had this dishwasher for two and a half years. It's quiet but you have to pre- rinse the dishes very well in order to get clean dishes in the end. One of the biggest complaints I have is---what's up with the plastic wheels on the bottom rack-half of them have broken which makes the bottom rack lean on the agitator element and it won't go around. I am having a hard time finding replacement wheels for this. Right now I can only use the upper portion of the dishwasher which is a total waste of energy for that little bit of area. Along with their really bad GE Profile microwave-which blew in less that a year and a half-I will never, ever buy GE again.

Jul 15, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Hear Ya!
by: Anonymous

We hate this dishwasher..... shame on Ge for making a beautiful product that is nothing but junk. Do your research next time, this dishwasher is horrible. My 3 year old can wash better than this!

Jul 15, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Oh Please
by: Anonymous

Rinse agent? Ive never seen a dishwasher this crappy.One of my favorite reviews for this dishwasher was.." It would be better if I let my dog climb inside and lick everything clean." GE should be ashamed of themselves for the Profile :(

Jun 07, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
GE PROFILE DISHWASHER
by: Anonymous

I share most of your pains on GE dishwashers. BUT I have found a solution for the wheels falling off. Go to your local Reliable appliance centre or similar and give them your model number. There is a replacement set of wheels for GE profile series and a complete set was less than 20 dollars. Still not satified with GE, but I'm not putting wheels back on everyday or finding melted wheels in the bottom anymore. I don't know why GE doesn't replace free of charge.

May 11, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Cheap, Junk!
by: Anonymous

I too have a GE Profile and purchased this brand to go in my new home. It is too loud, does not clean like the others do, and the wheels are constantly falling off. I should have looked this up before i purchased this piece of junk. GE must be having them made over seas and this is what happens when you cut cost

Mar 06, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
GE PROFILE
by: Anonymous

I AGREE THIS DISHWASHER SUCKS. I CANT BELIEVE WE SPENT NEARLY $1000 DOLLARS ON THIS PEICE OF JUNK THAT WE ARE GOING TO HAVE TO REPLACE. IT HAS NEVER CLEANED PROPERLY.AND NOW EVERY TIME I PULL THE BOTTOM RACK OUT ALL THE WHEELS FALL OFF. THE BOTTOM RACK DOSN'T FIT IN AND LINE UP RIGHT. IT IS A BAD DISIGN. AND A WASTE OF MONEY. I AM NOW WASHING ALL DISHES BY HAND. THERE IS NO WAY TO FIX THIS PROBLEM. IT IS ONLY ONE YEAR OLD AND WE NEED A NEW ONE.

Nov 25, 2008
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
GE Profile Dishwasher? Don't Waste Your Money!
by: Anonymous

We have a GE Profile Dishwasher Model PDW9980N20SS. It was more money than the Bosch sitting next to it at the store, but we had decided to purchase all GE Profile appliances for the new kitchen..MISTAKE!!

This dishwasher has not cleaned from day one, and after trying all of GE's suggestions, we called for service. Now, 7 service calls later, it still doesn't clean and the service tech has no idea why. He contacted GE technical assistance and they were not just totally unhelpful, but plainly rude. We've had several parts changed out, upped the water temperature, ran it on longer cycles, added heat cycle, etc. etc. all to no avail. Then I checked online and found we're not the only ones experiencing this problem with this model. We want a dishwasher that cleans...no more,no less...that's what we paid for. Stop the RUNAROUND, GE--replace this worthless piece of stainless steel!

Aug 22, 2008
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Rinse agent
by: Anonymous

Is your rise agent full? Many cleaning issue can be resolved with adding this. Make sure you use the liquid and keep it full it helps the soil and water slide right off of the dishes.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to ge dishwasher Review.