GE Quiet Power 3

by Mandy
(Boise, ID)

Our GE Quiet Power 3 came with the house we are currently renting. One of the things that I'm very happy with is, true to it's name, it's extremely quiet.


There are times when I actually put my ear up to the dishwasher to see if it is running because I can't hear it at all. This allows us to watch tv or have conversations without the dishwasher humming loudly in the background.

I also like the look of the dishwasher. Although it's not stainless, as I would like, it has a very sleek look and blends nicely with our other appliances.

The only real problem I have with our dishwasher is an issue that many GE's seem to have (according to friends). It's a little over two years old and it seems to be losing it's cleaning touch.

This might be a problem that's easily resolved, as I haven't really researched it much. But it seems to not clean as well as it used to.

I often find food and a little residue in the glasses and on some of the dishes. But this could be an issue with the drain trap or something.

Overall, I've been really happy with my dishwasher and would definitely recommend it to others!

Comments for GE Quiet Power 3

Average Rating starstar

Click here to add your own comments

Mar 05, 2015
Rating
star
Fire Hazard!!!!!
by: Hates expensive junk!

Dishwasher died today with a horrible burnt plastic smell. Wires were melted! Apparently there was a recall on this model-referring to the serial number. We never received information so I would like to find out who was responsible for telling us, the store we bought it from, GE? Thanking God the house didn't catch on fire! I will be calling GE and fighting for either a new one or full refund!!!!

Jul 23, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
PURE AND UTTER ....
by: Canadian Miffed

Same as all the posts here; dishes come out dirtier than they went in; wasted time hand washing dishes afterwards because still filthy. And I often remove the wands (water jets) to clean them and remove the bottom filter and sometimes the machine will work for a few days then back to clogged wands and wet dirty dishes. And here's the kicker ...

You know the top little wand? Take your 1/4 inch wrench and take it off. Notice all the supposed holes that you thought water was to come jetting out? That's right, they are fed with nothing. They are "make believe". No water feeds these so-called jets at all. The only jet is on the one end of the wand. The other holes are an illusion.

Never again ...

Dec 11, 2012
Rating
star
Deserves ZERO Stars
by: Good Will

After yelling at the kids and wife for not pre-rinsing, loading the dishwasher right, etc., I read the comments here. My bad. They deserve an apology.

We have the same problem everyone else has. Dishes come out DIRTIER than when we put them in! (We PRE-WASH the dishes...and they STILL come out FILTHY! Even the inside of the dishwasher is dirty!) Top rack cups and bowls filled with grit and scum as if there were no "rinse" cycle. (We use a high-quality liquid detergent.)

I pulled out the filter from below, shop-vac'ed the pump intake (romoving any food inside), removed both spinning arms (no debris evident in either)...and the unit worked fine for a few weeks.

Then the dirty dishes returned. FILTHY dishes.

I will NEVER intentionally buy another GE product.

Feb 26, 2012
Rating
star
only lasted 4 years.
by: Anonymous

Well I have the same problem. I thought it was my detergent. I have completely stopped using my dishwasher because I have to rewash everything. dishes come out dirtier than when I put them in. I will not buy another GE dishwasher.

Jan 29, 2012
Rating
star
GE QUIET POWER 3 POS
by: ELISA E

i LIKE MOST OF THE OTHER PURCHASERS ON HERE HAVE HAD WAY TO MANY HEADACHES CAUSED BY THIS MACHINE. tHE DISHES DO NOT COME OUT CLEAN. THEY HAVE A GRIT ON THEM AND THEY ARE NEVER DRY AND IT IS NOT AT ALL A QUIET MACHINE.

WE SPENT MANY HOURS ONE DAY CLEANING WITH TOOTHPICKS THE HOLES ON THE ARMS BECAUSE THEY WERE CLOGGED UP AND ALSO THE REST OF THE MACHINE. WHEN WE WERE DONE DOING THAT WE RAN A LOAD OF CUPS AND THEY WERE STILL GRITTY AND GROSE. NOW THE NEWEST IN THE LINE OF ISSUES THAT WE ARE HAVING WITH ARE LESS THAN 3 YR OLD MACHINE IS THE FACT THAT THE HEAT ELEMENT INT HE BOTTOM IS ALL THE SUDDEN AN ALMOST BRIGHT WHITE COLOR LIKE IT IS ABOUT TO BURN UP.

HUM ISNT THIS THE ISSUE THAT THEY HAD WITH THE MODEL JUST BEFORE THIS ONE. WONT BE USING MY MACHINE ANYMORE AND WILL NOT BUY ANOTHER GE PRODUCT.


Jan 10, 2012
Rating
starstarstar
Fixed mine!
by: Michelle in MT

My dishwasher (GE POWER QUIET 3)GLDA690MBB had the same issues. I discovered that the top wasn't washing at all and the soap wasn't getting disolved. So I took my wet dry vac and sucked out the pump area, cleaned the filter and put it back together and ran it through a the light cycle with CLR.

My dishes were still not getting clean on the top rack. ;( So I took the arm off and noticed the holes were blocked with debris and the little gasket/washer was broken and the water was just pour out the bottom and not fanning.

So we got the new gasket in cleaned all areas of the machine and it works great now.

Jan 03, 2012
Rating
star
Worst dishwasher EVER
by: Dave

We bought this POS from home depot as part of a "3 pack" with a refrigerator and oven. It has never, ever cleaned the dishes. More to the point, it makes them dirtier. I often hand wash the dishes before putting them into the dishwasher so that I know every dish in there is clean. The dishes still come out with food particles all over them. We have had the GE guy out here to the tune of $160. He blamed hard water for everything. It's not the hard water, it's the fact that this is the worst dishwasher in the history of horrid dishwashers.

If I sound pissed, I am. Living with this thing for a year has caused arguments between my wife and I and is a source of high anxiety in an otherwise peaceful home.

AVOID THE GE QUIET POWER LIKE THE PLAGUE!

Jan 02, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
have you checked your water?
by: Anonymous

cleans great in my opinion so I was wondering if people on here have water softeners (which we do) and whether that could help?

Oct 18, 2011
Rating
star
Quiet Yes Power No Washes No
by: Anonymous

My wife & I recently moved into a new home with GE Triton QuietPower 3 pre-installed. Despite the machine being just a few years old, it's a source of great frustration and time-wasting - we routinely spend as much time re-cleaning and hand-washing our dishes as the machine does. It looks quite nice, and indeed it does run quietly, but I suspect that the quietness relates to the lack of action going on inside the thing (who knows what goes on in there, but I suspect the jets are probably more aptly described as 'spurts'). Certainly the word 'power' doesn't come to mind when I'm removing all the dishes, plates and glasses covered in residue and flecks of food.

This problem occurs despite using an excellent brand of dishwasher fluid, and the machine clearly completes its proper cycle - so that's not an issue. My old dishwasher, which was left behind in my old home, was at least 7 years old, and worked perfectly every time.

Another problem with the GE machine is its shelf configuration - I can only get around two thirds what I used to put in my old dishwasher. My sister has a Bosch - which is admittedly a lot more expensive, but she can pack a huge bunch of dishes & plates in there (she's not a pre-rinser either), and everything comes out gleaming.

In summary, if GE's new dishwasher models continue the same designs as this one, I'd strongly advise buyers to avoid the brand altogether.

I've had very good experiences with Bosh and KitchenAid, but none I've used have been as bad as this piece of nonsense.

Thanks for reading, and good luck with your next dishwasher purchase!

Oct 05, 2011
Rating
star
GE crappy 3
by: Rancon

We purchased a dishwasher from Home Depot and from day one the dishwasher has never worked. I have never been more disappointed. I have to wash the dishes before I put them in and have to use the pot and pan cycle or the dishes are dirtier then before. Once I left a tomatoe seed on a plate and it was still there when the cycle was complete. Never again will I buy a GE.

Oct 05, 2011
Rating
star
GE quietpower 3 is a POS
by: James

The same problems as everyone else here, the dishes never come out clean especially glasses. It's constantly getting clogged nozzles and I have to take the top arm off and blow out the crap from inside the arm, big chunks of food, mostly corn kernels, that I don't know how they possibly get inside the arm and clog the nozzles in the first place cause they're bigger than the jet holes. Tonight I blew out a piece of garlic that was about the size of a dime. How does that possibly get inside the arm??? We've had this one 3.5 years and are totally dissatisfied with this piece of garbage. I can't even blow the crap out of the bottom arm so the holes are still semi clogged. Digging in the jet holes doesn't do much to get the stuff out.

Aug 17, 2011
Rating
star
ge dishwasher
by: rita

I hate this QueitPower3 dishwasher. For one thing it is far from quiet. It never dries my dishes,I have to shake my glasses so they dry. My dishes come out with sandy grit on them. I have looked at my manual but there is nothing stating how to prevent the sandy grit. I have tried all different brands of detergent with no luck.This thing is only 4 years old.

Aug 14, 2011
Rating
star
Same as most of the others
by: Anonymous

We are having all the same problems as other folks on this page- poor wash quality, noise, not washing soap off door, etc. I can't wait to junk this dishwasher & get a Bosch or a Kenmore.

May 28, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
GE QP3 - poor choice
by: Michael

We purchased a GE QP3 a few years ago. It was fine for a time, but has not cleaned well in 6 months. I am getting ready to buy a new dishwasher and will steer clear of anything GE brands. We also have a GE refridgerator and feel the same about that.

Apr 29, 2011
Rating
star
BROKEN QP3
by: Anonymous

I'm having the same run ins like everybody else. The dishes come out soapy & dirty. Now when you push the start button the lights just flash for a few min. than nothing.

Apr 20, 2011
Rating
star
GARBAGE - QUIET POWER 3
by: Craig

This is the biggest piece of garbage I've ever been suckered into buying. We only selected it because the last GE Dishwasher had a problem with something to do with the rinse agent causing a fire or something like that. Thus we had a rebate to spend. Be careful. The old adage - you get what you pay for is certainly true.

Anyway, quiet...NOT. Yeah, when filling and then the thing is only resetting itself - even though you didn't select reset! This thing SUCKS!

Today (4/18/11) I thought it would be a good idea to put it through the rinse only cycle and it did that. Now the damn thing won't start at all and won't allow me to select any options. I honestly don't know how to avoid any of the conglomerate products (GE/RCA/Whirlpool, etc.) but I can't afford one of those freaking European products. So, what should I do? Wash by hand? Oh, wait...I thought that is what I bought a dishwasher for, didn't I.

AT ALL COST TO THOSE CONSIDERING PURCHASING ANYTHING US MADE (SAD) PUT YOUR MONEY INTO A SUPPLY OF RUBBER GLOVES. BE CAREFUL THOUGH AS THE US RUBBER PROBABLY GIVES OUT AFTER 1/2 OF A WASH ANYWAY.

Sad, our good old 'made in the USA' products are waaaaaaaaaay worse than the old 'made in Japan' ever were. Yeah, right, buy American. I may as well go back to the cave, clonk my wife on the head with a club, grunt and point to what I want. American products aren't worth the landfill plastic they are made from.

Again...BEWARE! Don't run from this product...FLEE!

Mar 01, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
KENMORE APPLIANCES
by: Anonymous

JUST BECAUSE IT SAYS KENMORE DOESN'T MEAN ITS MADE BY SEARS. SEARS DOES NOT MAKE ANY OF THEIR APPLIANCES. MOST OF THE LAUNDRY IS MADE BY WHIRLPOOL AND NOW SOME BY LG. REFRIG IS MADE BY GE WHIRLPOOL FRIGIDAIRE LG. DISHWASHER THE SAME IT ALL DEPENDS ON THE MODEL. RANGES & OVENS MOST MADE BY GE. SO CHOOSE YOUR MODEL IF IT LOOKS ALOT LIKE THE GE D/W OR OTHER APPLIANCE YOU HAVE NOW CHANCES ARE IT IS THE SAME.

Feb 19, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Not Good
by: bountyhntr

I bought this dishwasher almost 3 years ago, and I am very dissatisified with it. The dishes always come out with residue all over them. You cannot use about 1/3 of the lower rack because if you do, you block the sprayers to the soap dispenser and then the soap is all over the door. I have to clean the sprayer arms every week because they get full of food and residue. If I had a choice I would of went with a Kenmore. I still may do that if the dishwasher keeps performing at a crappy level. GE= GARBAGE!!!

Feb 15, 2011
Rating
star
"Ge the horrible"
by: Anonymous

bought the GE Quiet lack of power 3 before I read all the comments on this sight, and now here I am posting on it! I can honestly say that the dishes come out dirtier than when they went in, soap scum caked on the inside of the glasses, food still on utensiles, leaks all over the floor. I would'nt give this thing to my worst enemy!

Feb 13, 2011
Rating
star
doesn't deserve a star
by: Anonymous

quiet.......NOT.........This is a piece of junk dishwasher. I can't wait to get rid of it. It sounds like a have a train going through my great room. Can't say enough bad things about this dishwasher. Stay away!

Feb 04, 2011
Rating
star
GE Quiet Power 2
by: HateGEProducts

Have a four year old GE Quiet Power 2 and also experienced dishes coming out dirtier than when they went in. Especially on top rack...glasses are absolutely disgusting! Middle arm no longer spins (even after repeated attempts to clean out jet holes). DO NOT PURCHASE GE PRODUCTS!!! Kitchen stove is also a GE product and bottom drawer falls to the floor. Not worth paying someone to come look at their products...just throw them out and replace with Kenmore!

Jan 26, 2011
Rating
star
Who is
by: Anonymous

I personaly think Anonymous on Dec 26, 2008 is a GE employee or a GE big shot!!!

Jan 26, 2011
Rating
star
I dont think this deserves even 1 star!!!
by: Amy Bell

I thought it was my kids or my imagination!!! They take turns filling the dishwasher and when the kids are not available, I fill it. We have tried all the cycles trying to figure out why the dishes come out dirtier than before they went in. My husband cleaned the jets to no avail. We even used the Dishwasher Cleaner that is at the store. We scolded the kids and told them to scrub the dishes better... but that didnt help. We have the same GE Quiet Power 3 that everyone is talking about!!! The soap stays on the door and even on the pans if the pans are too close. Im glad the door hasnt gotten stuck yet!!! (knock on wood)I am going to contact GE to let them know of the problems but I really dont want another GE!

Jan 08, 2011
Rating
star
GE QuietPower 3
by: SG

It's going out the door. We bought our new construction home a little over two years ago and it came with the GE QP3. Loved it in the beginning because we have an open floor plan and it was very quiet for our space. BUT over the past year I thought we were going nuts - the dishes were neve clean. We had to basically was dishes before they went in - learned to never leave dishes with food on them in the kitchen for over 10 minutes - it will not come over in the dishwasher. Even washing dishes with HOT Water, HOT dry, and Heavy load....crappy dishwasher. This morning spent over 45 minutes cleaning dishes that we had washed in the dishwasher 2x's - what a waste of water and time!

Jan 05, 2011
Rating
star
G.E. Junk Yard Dog Quiet Power 3
by: Psycho

Have had this unit for a short period of time & it's never been right. From day one the unit had a problem as far as starting. The control panel lights up in multiple areas like a Christmas tree at the same time ( For Instance Hot Water & Cold Water at the same time )! Then it went and tested my own temper by having me reach under the sink, unplugging & replugging it in & out nonstop. Now can't get unit to even show control lights. Finally it appears that the unit has established itself into the dishwasher hall of shame with the control panel finally locked in cold dry hot wash & died never to run again. I feel in the health of the public safety don't buy one. You want to hear the worst part!! I happen to have a substantial amount of G.E. stock & I wouldn't get within 100 yards of this unit. Appears that they have constructed mine yellow & round like a lemon instead of square & stainless steel! Oh by the way I have checked the door switch!!! It's fine!

Dec 03, 2010
Rating
star
Worst Dishwasher
by: Anonymous

We are constantly re-running the cycle to see, by chance, if it would clean the dishes 2nd time around. It doesn't! Our dishes come out with the same scum as when they first went in...only now it is baked on after the heated dry cycle. This is a terrible dishwasher. It is quiet though.

Nov 30, 2010
Rating
star
ahhhhhhhhhhh!
by: frustrated

My "quiet power" 3 is in my new home, 3 years old. About 6 months ago, it started rattling terribly during the wash cycle. GE service came out ... Cleaned some debris from the washing arms ... Charged me half the price of a new unit ... And it was quiet for nearly 2 weeks.

I tried adding water per the post, but didn't work.

Unbelievable!

Nov 26, 2010
Rating
star
Door stuck closed
by: Anonymous

Seems lots of people have dishwashers with stuck closed doors but I havent seen any solutions. Why not? My door is stuck also

Nov 26, 2010
Rating
star
fluttering
by: Anonymous

1 have a ge quite power 3 that is 3 years old i am having a problem with a fluttering noise when it starts washing if you hit the door on the right side it stops help.

Oct 19, 2010
Rating
star
GE QP3 does not dry dishes.
by: John in Columbia

We have had our Quiet Power 3 for about three years. It has never been able to dry our top rack. We have had to resort to a scheme of opening the door and shaking the top rack as soon as the drying finishes, then leaving the door open for a few hours so that everything evaporates. Otherwise, we hand dry everything.

We want to get rid of it and get something that dries our dishes.

Jul 06, 2010
Rating
star
Worst dishwasher I've ever used
by: Kristen

PROBLEM:

This dishwasher became a problem in the first 60 days of ownership. I guess that's how long it took for the wash arms to become fully clogged with bits of food, which makes them stop turning, which then makes the dishes come out dirtier than they went in and the detergent cup not empty completely. The glasses especially will come out with stuff caked on inside them, which is a royal pain to scrub out by hand.

SOLUTION:

The G.E. repairman replaced the arms, and the dishes got clean again for a little while. The repairman told me to clean out the jet holes of the middle and lower arms (the lower arm lifts right out if you pull up and turn it a little) each time they get clogged. This is happening after EVERY load! And if the arms get really clogged during a wash, then the dishes come out atrocious. So this method is just not working for me anymore.

I suppose if G.E. were to give me a monthly supply of wash arms for my dishwasher I could be satisfied with its cleaning performance. Shouldn't there be some kind of mesh screen to prevent food particles from getting inside the jets to begin with?

And this dishwasher is NOT quiet. I can't believe G.E. has the nerve to call this dishwasher "QuietPower". Even the first week I owned it I was disappointed at the noise level compared to my old dishwasher (an awesome Kenmore). What a scam.

Apr 04, 2010
Rating
star
don't buy this product
by: Anonymous

frequently doesn't wash the dishes--soap still in the dispenser. leaks water all over the floor. doesn't start half the time. dishes are dirty and the machine is about 16 months new :-)

Dec 19, 2009
Rating
star
Dirty Dishes
by: Anonymous

We built our home two years ago and we UPGRADED to the Quiet Power 6. True it is quiet, but I would trade that today for clean dishes. It has never done a good job of cleaning. We have also had GE out to fix the dish washer because the heating element did not turn off and it melted everything in the washer. We are lucky we were here and it did not burn down the house. The granite right above where the washer is was so hot you could not touch it. Would not recommend this washer.

Dec 03, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Fixed the non spinning arm and loud noise
by: Anonymous

Problem solved... almost.
My dishes were remaining dirty and the middle arm wasn't spinning. My research revealed that I should have about 2 inches of water when in full cycle. I had about a half an inch. I manually added water from a pitcher until it was 2 inches deep, turned the washer back on and it worked. The middle arm is now spinning, it is much QUIETER. It used to make a loud vibrating noise that I now think is because it was trying to suck up water that was NOT there. Dishes are clean!! Now I just need to figure out why it isn't filling up with water.

Nov 08, 2009
Rating
star
Dishwasher Won't Open
by: Anonymous

My GE Quiet Power 3 is 2 years old and will not open, as of today. Funny thing is, there is no troubleshooting for this issue in the manual or on GE's website. Does anyone know how to get the door open?

Nov 03, 2009
Rating
starstar
Door won't open
by: Anonymous

Yet another stuck door on my dishwasher. I was going to remove the screws in the bottom of the door to see if I can get it opened, but they used Torx screws and there isn't enough clearance to get the screwdriver in there. Also, I have had problems with gunk getting all over the dishes in the top rack. Cleaning out the jets on the sprayer arm with a toothpick seems to have helped that problem though.

Oct 02, 2009
Rating
star
Middle arm doesn't spin
by: Pat

Have GE Quietpower (8months old) and dishes come out dirtier than when I put them in. This has been happening since the unit was new, now know why. The middle spin arm DOES NOT TURN.(Probably has never worked) Has anyone else noticed this problem? Thanks!

Aug 28, 2009
Rating
star
Door won't open
by: Anonymous

We just moved into our new home, after running our dishwasher for the first time, I cannot open the door. All my dishes are stuck in the dishwasher. Does anyone know how to get this open?

Aug 20, 2009
Rating
star
DON'T BUY GE quiet power!
by: Anonymous

It doesn't wash your dishes! They come out with spots and you end up having to do the dishes yourself. Stay AWAY!

Aug 14, 2009
Rating
star
Renting
by: Anonymous

Just moved into this new apartment with a brand new GE Quiet Power 3 dishwasher and it is just a P.O.S. No way around it. I have to completely hand wash all the dishes and I simply use the dish "washer" as a dish rinser.

Jul 01, 2009
Rating
star
Horrible product
by: Laura228

My GE Quiet Power 3 is only a few months old and already it's doing a horrible job cleaning the dishes. Specks of food are almost always stuck inside the glasses on the top rack. Often, it doesn't even rinse liquid soap off the door of the dishwasher. This is the worst dishwasher I've ever had! If you are thinking about buying one, avoid GE and especially this model!

Jun 14, 2009
Rating
star
GE need to recall all their dishwashers
by: Doug Klast

This is the second GE dishwasher I've owned. The first one I had, I got GE to exchange it for a new one. This new one is no better.

After talking to dozens of people who own GE dishwashers, I've found that everyone hates them; from the cheapest model to the most expensive Monogram model.

My advise to GE would be to recall all their dishwashers and either give people their money back, or, a decent dishwasher. I'm sure their stock prices would be a lot higher if their dishwashers weren't the worst, by far, on the market.

They're so bad that they don't remove milk scum from glasses or cereal bowls. My older Whirlpool would clean dishes 1000 times better.

Dec 26, 2008
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Not had any problems
by: Anonymous

I have had my dishwasher for ten years and have not had any problems with it. It is very quiet and gratefully, the glasses never come out with any spots. It dries the dishes completely. I have on occasion put in my pots and they come out clean. Lately I have even taken advantage of the china setting. I have good china which I used to wash by hand, not any more.

My kitchen is completely white so is my dishwasher. I am not aware if it comes in stainless. If I have the opportunity to redo my kitchen I would definitely buy the same dishwasher. In these times, it also has an energy saving cycle! I have been quite fortunate with all GE products that I have bought over the years.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to ge dishwasher Review.