GE Quietpower 2

by Melissa
(MN)

We were in need of a new dishwasher as the old one was very noisy and the dishes were just as dirty when it finished as they were when it started. We did some comparison shopping and settled on the GE Quietpower 2, which we purchased at Menards. I have been very pleased with this purchase.


It has a very nice layout and I especially like that the silverware baskets are on the side rather than down the middle. This allows for better usage of the rest of the rack area. It has both and upper and lower sprayer arm which gets all the dishes on both racks clean.

I am very surprised at how quiet it is. Even though my husband forgot to put the insulation around it when he installed it, you can hardly hear it when it's running.

It does a great job of cleaning the dishes and the glassware comes out spot free. It does the same great job even when fully loaded, both top and bottom. It also washes cookware very well.

I always rinse my dishes and cookware well before loading into the dishwasher so I don't know how well it would do with unrinsed dishes.

The controls are straightforward and easy to use. I usually use the normal wash cycle with hot start. All in all, this was a great choice and I would highly recommend it. It was a mid priced dishwasher with most of the features of those that were much higher priced.

Comments for GE Quietpower 2

Average Rating starstar

Click here to add your own comments

Sep 04, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
happy second hand customer
by: BilliDawn (West) Lahey

Well let me start off by telling you that the dishwasher was used my my mother for years and it has held up great, money well spent for someone, by by my great fortune it was passed down from my mother to me. I was so happy to finally get it installed by my husband, and was very skeptical, i didn't think it could do the job i done. I just couldn't see then getting clean with all the hard work of standing over those sinks for who knows how many years. I STAND CORRECTED, BECAUSE EVEN THOUGH IT WAS USED AND A LITTLE OUTDATED, IT FREAKING ROCKS ! I LOVE IT AND AM DAMN PROUD TO OUW IT. I USUALLY DON'T LEAVE REVIEWS BUT I SEEN ALL THE BAD REVIEWS AND I JUST CAN'T BELIEVE ALL THESE HARSH PEOPLE! MY G.E. QUIETPOWER2, STILL WORKS GREAT TO THIS DAY! SO DON'T LET A FEW SOUR PUSSES GIVE GE QUIETPOWER2 OR THIS G.E. A BAD NAME CAUSE I WOULD RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE LOOKING FOR A GOOD DISHWASHER. A LOT OF CLEAN FOR THE BUCK AND QUIET!

BY:
BILLIDAWN LAHEY
St. Albans , WV

Sep 18, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
worst ever
by: Anonymous

It is amazing that dishes can come out dirtier, but they do. Will never buy ge again.

Jan 16, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
A Cats Intuition
by: Anonymous

Before I go on let me say this because there's a connection. I just stopped feeding my cats SCIENCE DIET (horrible reviews)...DON'T feed your pets this food. So, I changed back to Royal Canine..so far, so good!

Sorry, getting to the point. I fed them some food this morning. My one cat who usually likes her food (can be greedy) turned up her nose..actually, both did. Figured mm..no, not the food because they have liked it these past 2 weeks and have kept it down. So, I figured it HAS to be their dishes.

Knelt down, took a whiff...nope! but, their dishes had this funny odor. A bit like stale baking soda. I have been noticing (for a while now) that AFTER the dish cycle has stopped the dishes feel powdery, scummy and the inside of the dishwasher has the same feeling. The black rubber seal around the opening has turned white and the small round Jet Dry stopper melted off. We never did replace it...maybe their wasn't any point! Actually, it feels like dried in baking soda or salt crystals.

The washer kind of rumbles, far from being quiet. Even on high heat, when we open the door, the dishes are still wet. Tried using the pot cycle a few times thinking it would wash everything better. Yes, of course, I know we have hard water..but, this is ridiculous CRAP. The washer came with the house 2006...along with freezer, built in microwave/oven and a flat top range on top of the island (WHICH I HATE BECAUSE IT'S HELL TO CLEAN).

We were not the original first owners but due to them not being able to sell their home it fell into our hands. Maybe it was just as well. They most definitely never lost out...that's for sure! Pity I didn't know about these stupid-ass appliances beforehand or maybe we could have chosen our own appliances. Now, along with fixing ALL the problems with this house because the builder built it like CRAP we will probably have to replace...whatever. Hubby's already a unhappy camper. Oh boy!...a unhappy camper, ANGRY SCOTT Grrrr

Sep 09, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
GE GLD5800L00WW Dishwasher
by: Anonymous

This machine is simply the worst machine ever made. This thing doesnt clean the dishes, runs for hours, doesnt dry anything. NEVER BUY GE AGAIN!

Sep 07, 2012
Rating
star
Finished with G.E.
by: Anonymous

It's true the wheels fall off. The plastic coating wore off the baskets and first turned to rust,staining any dish that rests on it during wash cycle. The rusty sections eventually deteriorate. The cost to replace the baskets cost nearly as much as a new one.

Jun 14, 2012
Rating
star
poor operation
by: Frank

We have had nothing but problems with our GLD5800L00WW (Quite 2 GE Dishwasher) and would never buy another one. Pump is going up, jet dry function does not work, rollers on drawers keep hanging up and drawer will not roll in or out. We are finished with GE products.

Apr 21, 2012
Rating
star
Crap
by: Bud

This is a terrible piece of junk. no part of the dishwasher is any good. We have to wash the dishes every time by hand afterward. Sounds like a freight train. The GE profile fridge is also crap ,circuit board went out under warranty but was not covered. I am a home remolder and always tell my customers buy anything but GE.

Mar 31, 2012
Rating
star
DO NOT BUY!!!!!!
by: Anonymous

WORSE MACHINE EVER!! I have purchased Hotpoint appliances in the past (made by GE) & have been very pleased. But this GE dishwasher is the worse. DISHES DO COME OUT MORE DIRTY THAN THEY WENT IN, CYCLE TAKES LONG, LOUD, DIGITAL PAD WORKS WHEN IT WANTS TO AND WHEELS FALL OFF & GET MELTED BY THE ELEMENT, ETC.

<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<>>>>>>>>>>>>

Mar 29, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Excellent so far
by: Anonymous

I just purchased this dishwasher, used from craigs list, and I love the looks, and cannot believe how quiet it is. So far, the dishes are spotless. Even the glasses. And This is with exceptionally hard water, and no rinsing agents used. I am very impressed.

Mar 14, 2012
Rating
starstarstar
GE Dishwasher
by: Blah

very pleased, GE did a good job with this one! All my dishes are completely warm and clean, and I barely every have to wash dishes by hand, unless they can't go into the washer. Super happy thanks GE!!!!

Mar 09, 2012
Rating
star
WORST DISHWASHER EVER
by: Anonymous

We have had nothing but problems from the start with this dishwasher. It's by far the WORST dishwasher I have ever used. As usual I just unloaded and had to fill a soapy sink and dump 90% of the dishes in because they are so dirty. From now on we will just use it as a huge drying rack until we can afford to buy a new dishwasher. Oh yeah we also have a GE microwave and the HANDLE broke off. To replace it cost 55.00 for a plastic handle. Never again will I buy GE!

Feb 15, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
stupid dishwasher
by: Anonymous

I hate this thing. More problems than last 3 dishwashers combined. Not maintenance friendly at all. It is quiet though, probably because it doesn't work.

Jan 29, 2012
Rating
starstar
Garbage
by: Anonymous

The builder put it in about 5 yrs ago. It looks good but that is it. There is not enough clearence under it and the floor so the drain hose rattles against the floor when it drains. I called an service tech the only thing he did or could do was to put carboard under the drain hose to soften the sound. Periodically there was rumbling from the inside we tryied to adjust dishes, ect. but have no idea what was causing the sound.

We would open the door, restart it, sound would go away 5 min later it was back. Now it rumbles very loud and we can't get it to stop. We have even tried without dishes

Could wait for it to break completely and maybe fix but will probably kick it to the curb and replace it with something other than ge.

Jan 27, 2012
Rating
star
the worst
by: Anonymous

I've had a lot of dishwashers in my long life. This is the worst one ever.

Dried on food stays dried on.

The rollers on bottom tray come off.

It takes forever to do a lousy job.

The controls are not user friendly.

My Sears dishwasher was the best ever. Wish I didn't leave it with the house when I moved.

Jan 06, 2012
Rating
star
GE QUIET 2 IS A PIECE OF CRAP
by: Anonymous

THIS DISHWASHER SUCKS BIG TIME

YES, IT IS QUIET (NOW I AM WONDERING IF IT IS EVEN ON) BECAUSE ALMOST ALWAYS DISHES AND GLASSES COME BACK OUR DIRTY SOMETIMES DIRTIER THAN THEY WENT IN???

WHEELS ON BOTTOM RACK ALWAYS FALLING OFF
SOME SPINDLES ON BOTTOM ALREADY BROKEN OFF

HAD A SERVICE RIGHT IN THE BEGINNING BECAUSE TOP RACK WAS HARD TO SLIDE IN HE SAID IT WAS JUST ME NOT PUSHING HARD ENOUGH

HAD A REPAIRMAN (NOT GE SERVICE) IN THE OTHER DAY BECAUSE I AM JUST SOOOOOOOOOO TIRED OF HAVING DIRTY DISHES AND GLASSES - HE THOUGHT IT WAS SOME KIND OF VALVE THAT WAS NOT LETTING IN ENOUGH WATER TO WASH - PUT IN A NEW ONE - GUESS WHAT DISHES AND GLASSES STILL DIRTY.

THIS DISHWASHER IS ONLY A LITTLE OVER 2 YEARS OLD.

WE ONLY HAVE 3 ADULTS IN THE HOUSE AND IT DOES NOT GET HEAVY USE AND I WOULD EXPECT A DISHWASHER TO LAST A LOT LONGER THAN THIS.

OF COURSE, WE WILL HAVE TO BUY ANOTHER DISHWASHER,
BUT YOU CAN BE SURE IT WILL NOT BE GENERAL ELECTRIC.

THIS DISHWASHER MUST HAVE BEEN A PROBLEM FROM DAY ONE AND THEY MUST HAVE GOTTEN SO MANY COMPLAINTS, MY UNDERSTANDING IS THEY DON'T EVEN MAKE THIS ANYMORE.

I THINK THEY SHOULD GIVE THOSE OF US THAT HAVE HAD THIS TERRIBLE MODEL OF DISHWASHER A NEW ONE FREE OF CHARGE. LOL LOL


LIKE THAT WOULD HAPPEN.


Nov 22, 2011
Rating
starstar
Disappointing
by: JJR

Need to re-wash 20-40% of each load, even when using pots & pans setting and pre-washing every dish that goes in. Sad.

Not quiet at all! Lots of grumbling sounds.

2004 model. Will replace next year.

Oct 07, 2011
Rating
star
GE Pitiful quality
by: Anonymous

We upgraded our kitchen appliances to GE and I wished I saved my old dishwasher. Like the others are saying, our dishes come out dirtier than when they go in. We clean the holes in the arms and it does no good. GE fridge is also falling apart before our eyes. It doesn't even stay shut. Just plain terrible quality.

Oct 06, 2011
Rating
star
Absolute Joke
by: Anonymous

I cannot begin to tell you what a waste of hard earned money this has been. I will never buy another GE durable good. My wife and I are at times baffled at how dishes can come out dirtier then they went in. Must admit we had a great laugh tonight reading the earlier post about the airplane engines. Looks like another staycation

Sep 03, 2011
Rating
star
Quiet power name change
by: Anonymous

Can we ask GE to change the name to GE "S#!T"power 2. Nuff said!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Apr 13, 2011
Rating
star
does not clean
by: debby

purchased it 4 years ago and it did not clean from the day it was installed. called ge and they sent a service tech to my house. he said your water isnt hot enough. we turned up the water heater and the dishes still didnt come clean.reparman came again replaced pump and said this was allhe could do. dishes were still dirty called ge they gave me an extended warranty. so for 4 years i have been rewashing dishes. this morning when i took a coffee cup out and the coffee was still on the bottom after 127 minutes of cleaning i went out and bought a kitchen aid dishwasher. hope this one works

Jan 23, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Works great
by: Jonathan

I've had mine for almost 2 years and it had already been installed when we bought the house, so i'm not sure how long it was here before that. We've had no problems with it. Very pleased!

Jan 07, 2011
Rating
star
Quietpower 2
by: Anonymous

Have a GE quietpower 2. came with our home. quiet for about 1 year. Rattles, rumbles, constantly rewashing. also have ge profile microwave... spacemaker XL1800. Cant microwave anything for more than around 3 minutes, then it crashes only to reset after sometime. GE fridge too. circuit board blew up on us after only 3 years. GE is crap. They make airplane engines too....thats scary.

Dec 27, 2010
Rating
starstar
poor product
by: Anonymous

it gets 2 stars for being quiet but same problems and other users

clogs all the time
rewashing more than half the time
soap residue left on dishes
spinning parts no longer spin just barely shoot water

Oct 28, 2010
Rating
star
Sprinkler arms not rotating.
by: Charlie.

The dishwasher worked well for a while, but then both sprinklers, top and bottom stoped rotating. Water comes out of the sprinkles but it is not distributed to the dishes. Any body has any idea of what it is causing this? Thanks.

Jun 19, 2010
Rating
star
Never clean
by: Anonymous

This dishwadsher for lack of better words simply sucks. We constantly have to rewash dishes. I should not have to wash my dishes before dishwashing them but that is what I find myself doing....wasting water wasting energy and wasting nothing but time. A simple rinse of large food particles should be ewnough but it never is. My glasses ALWAYS have crud in them after washed...I shouldnt always see flecks of junk on something that originally just had a beverage in them. TOTAL DISSAPPOINTMENT

May 15, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
Clogging problems
by: Tim

My Quietpower 2 has performed poorly since shortly after I got it. Dishes often need to be re-washed -- and I always use it on "potscrubber" setting, which is supposed to be a better wash than the standard one. I can see that the holes in the rotating arm under the top tray get clogged with tiny seeds etc. (I go in with tweezers to pull them out once a week or more). But there are other arms that I can't so easily get to, and I guess they clog too. I think I know why. The perforated mat at the bottom is supposed to act as a filter to stop food particles getting in the water recycler. But this mat has warped a bit, turned up at the corners, so there's a gap that bits of food go through. It's impossible to bend the corners down. I am going to try wedging them down with some bits of ceramic that I will cut to the right size (the wedges must press against the heater bar to do their job, so must withstand heat without being a fire risk). You don't need this trouble.

Nov 09, 2009
Rating
star
Total dispappointment
by: Anonymous

We purchased the GE Quietpowere 2 when we built our house in 2006, it gave us about 1 good year.
The dishes never come out clean, we are constantly rewashing approx 50% of the load by hand after the wash cycle is complete. It leaves a soapy residue on glassware that takes a brillo pad to get off. We would never recommend this model to anyone. We are currently saving to by a better brand/model such as a Maytag or Bosch.

Oct 23, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstar
I have enjoyed the dishwasher
by: Anonymous

Pros
- Quiet Cycles
- Energy Efficient Cycle Choices

Cons
- Loud completion beeps
- Clogs easily

Ratings
3 out of 5


We purchased the GE QuietPower 2 from Home Depot about 2 years ago. I chose the GE QuietPower 2 because of the fact that it is a quiet dishwasher, and indeed, it is quiet. The only part that is not quiet, is the 3 beeps that it gives you when the cycle is complete.

The dishwasher has a start delay, which I really enjoy, as I can load it, but then run it after we've gone to bed to help save energy. We can also choose whether to run hot or cold, which again, saves energy; a huge plus for us in these hard economic times. For the most part I have enjoyed the dishwasher.

Recently, however, the dishwasher has been clogging very easily. The load will run in it's entirety, but then a large pool of water is left, which has to be manually drained out. I always pre-rinse my dishes very well, so this has become a bit of a mystery and is leading to frustration.

May 18, 2009
Rating
star
This is the worst product I have ever purchased
by: Anonymous

This is the worst product I have ever purchased. I will NEVER BUY ANYTHING FROM GE AGAIN!
I got this from my builder, GE came in and replaced three units because they did not work. The last GE repairman that came to our house said that we should never put anything in the dishwasher thicker that ketchup into our dishwasher or it will clog and not clean.

After the Warranty ran out I attempted to fix it myself. It is now leaking and it is not worth trying to fix it. GE will not stand behind a bad product, they replaced this unit three times and would never just give me my money back.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to ge dishwasher Review.