GE Quietpower3

by nandy
(seattle)

I have been using this machine for the past 2 months and really its very quiet, I have to look for the lights then only I will know that its finished working, normally I also overload the machine always even then it works fine but the only thing is done load the vessels facing the door because the water doesn't reach the inside of the vessels so it wont clean that side its always better to keep the vessels facing other side of the door. The space between the first rack and second rack is big enough to load bigger vessels.


I don't feel like the jet is really so good, so its better to soak the dishes before putting them in dishwasher. I would recommend using liquid soap in this machine I found that it cleans better than other products like dish cleaning powder, soaps I tried all these things and finally ended up with liquid soap.

The doors are very flexible and racks are so easy and flexible to pull out. Its a stainless steel model so I like the outer part it looks really very shiny.

Comments for GE Quietpower3

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Jun 14, 2012
Rating
starstarstar
BEEPING DISHWASHER GE
by: Anonymous

Cleans okay with the power packs. I absolutely hate the beeping sound and still not sure why it beeps when you open the door. It won't let you open the door I think until the clean light comes on even if it's "technically" finished washing.

It's the same with the danby microwave beeping ever 30 sec after it's finished to remind you, as if you're a moron that you left something in the microwave. HIGHLY annoying and would rather use my old microwave if i had it, just not to hear that beeping sound for 5 min if you happen to get busy doing something else.

Mar 25, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
parts form changes causing problems
by: Harry

I hsve problems with the black plastic parts that hold the door switch. It malforms after a few months usage if you use the sanitizing cycle (heat). I had to make a slightly larger plunger (white) that activates the door switch because the heat caused the black plastic parts that hold the switch and plunger move further away from the door and hold the switch in a slightly convex position and not parallel to the door. The black plastic parts is the box and lid the switch mount to. I have solved it by making a custom plunger with my dremel kit, but it took awhile to figure out and fix.

Dec 07, 2010
Rating
star
simply put...I hate it!
by: Anonymous

Purchased a new home and had the option to choose all appliances...from the builder's "list" of options (all GE). This was the "top of the line," on his list, so we expected it to do a really good job. PRO: it is very quiet. No other PRO's. ALL CONS: Buttons are much too easy to double-click...resets the cycle which should be instantaneous...but NO! Reset takes several minutes of standing around waiting...waiting...waiting. Soap dispenser frequently doesn't open and is filled with dried-on, nasty soap residue. The top shelf dishes are never clean...small food items seem to splash up and then remain, to be dried on to a nasty crust. Ugh! We spend more time rinsing, pre-washing everything by hand before running the machine. I HATE this dishwasher and will NEVER again purchase a GE product.

Oct 23, 2010
Rating
star
NOT HAPPY
by: Anonymous

WE HAVE HAD OUR GE QUIETPOWER 3 FOR ABOUT 6 MONTHS AND NOW IT KICKS OF EVERY TIME LEAVING DETERGENT IN DISPENSER NEVER OPENING UNTIL I RESTART CYCLE ABOUT 3 TIMES.

Oct 23, 2010
Rating
star
pos
by: Anonymous

just moved into an apartment with a new dishwasher- no manual. it won't shut off, touchpad doesn't work, can't stop it from beeping. hunk of junk

Oct 23, 2010
Rating
star
GE Should Sell Vacuum's Because They Suck
by: Anonymous

I am even more angry after learning from others how terribly GE mfg's dishwashers. My Quite Power 3 has not washed the dishes thoroughly since shortly after purchasing it some 2 years ago. I'll avoid giving GE my money ever again and will research my appliance purchases from now on. GE must know of these problems however still sells them. Wonder why, maybe they don't care? Hmmm

Oct 23, 2010
Rating
star
Dishwasher door won't open
by: Anonymous

As someone else wrote, the door on the dishwasher won't open. All of my dishes are being held hostage. Dishwasher also will not turn on now or wash.

Sep 04, 2010
Rating
star
Poor cleaning, poor quality, poor poor terrible
by: Anonymous

Bought all new ge appliances 3 years ago, and this dishwasher is the worst. It does not clean, even on San settings and with rinsing dishes before. The wheels of the bottom tray always fall off, the utensil basket is broken for the second time.
Disaster.

Oct 23, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great Machine
by: Anonymous

Pros
- The washer is very quiet
- Has lids for the silverware tray

Cons
- The stainless steel surface does pick up every little print and mark
- It is hard to fit larger items in the dishwasher


I love my GE Quiet Power 3 dishwasher. I have always been a by hand washer of dishes, believing that I could do a better job myself. I was hesitant at first to use the dishwasher but with enough teasing from my husband I gave in. It was love at first wash.

This dishwasher is awesome. It makes the dishes sparkle and shine. I have never pulled a dirty dish that needs a redo from this dishwasher. It even removes the stains from coffee mugs and tea cups. It does an equally good job on my pots and pans. I love the stainless steel look of the dishwasher.

It looks great in my kitchen. A couple of pros for the GE Quiet. It is quiet. And I do mean really quiet. My kitchen opens directly into the living area where our TV is. I can run this dishwasher and never have to raise the volume on the TV if we have it on. It is so quiet you can barely hear it running.

That is the best feature of the GE Quiet Power. They certainly named it right. Another pro, something else I love about the GE Quiet Power 3 are the lids for the silverware tray. The silverware tray has three separate lids that each have holes to fit an piece of silverware.

This great to keep your silverware separated. You know each piece is getting fully cleaned. You can also place small items in the basket and close the lid to hold them in. There are also lids for two area of the upper rack. This is my favorite feature and a great idea. With the pros you must also have the cons.

The biggest con for me I think is that the stainless steel surface does pick up every little print and mark. It is quick and easy to clean, but is still an annoyance. Another con is that it is hard to fit larger items in the dishwasher.

Like a large size cookie baking sheet or a large pasta pot. They do fit, but it is a tight squeeze. The GE Quiet Power 3 is a great machine. The cons I think are only minor annoyances. Over all I would give it a rating of a 5.

Oct 23, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
This is a decent dishwasher
by: Anonymous

Pros
- it does a great job of cleaning of the lower shelf of the dishwasher
- its delay timer
- its pots and pans cycle
- its hot start function

Cons
- the top shelf of the dishwasher it does not seem to get clean anymore
- the drain basket grate was clogged up and it would not drain

It works pretty well, but a few things do not work as well as I would like. The pros are it does a great job of cleaning of the lower shelf of the dishwasher; however a con is the top shelf of the dishwasher it does not seem to get clean anymore. I believe the problem with the top is the upper spray arm no longer seems to turn the way it should.

Water will squirt out, it just won’t go around which causes a lot of dishes not to get clean. Another great feature of this dishwasher is the delay timer that can be selected on the front control panel. It has the four and two hour delays which work out really nice in evening so the kids can get there baths and then have the dishwasher start in the middle of the night.

One other problem that I ran into with this dishwasher was the drain basket grate was clogged up and it would not drain all of the water from the dishwasher. The pump to drain would cycle through, but there was still about an inch of water in the bottom. I had to disassemble it and clean it out really good as there was some soap deposits on it and that fixed the problem.

Another good feature that my wife likes is the pots and pans cycle, along with the hot start function. These cycles do a really good job of cleaning on the bottom shelf, however it seems like they take a couple of hours to run. I suppose for the price this is a decent dishwasher.

Sep 04, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
What an excellent appliance!
by: Joanne

When I first installed it I did not have rinse aid and used the machine a couple of times without it and I was so impressed with how clean my dishes were.

I am thrilled to see my dishes so clean and I don't need to rinse them off before putting them in. I have not used the pots&pans cycle yet so will wait to see what that is like.

Apr 09, 2009
Rating
starstarstar
The dishes are usually clean
by: Josh

My wife and I purchased a new house in 2007 and this washer was already installed. This is our first G.E. Washer.

Looking at the washer, the quality seems very nice. The fit and finish on the outside really leaves nothing to be desired. It looks nice with simple touch controls.

On the inside, the same basic idea is assumed. The quality looks simple but nice.

At first, this washer worked great. But, as the months went by, my complaints stacked up. First of all, the 2 roll out wire shelves constantly get hung up or one of the cheap clip on wheels comes off. That means you have to stop what you are doing, reach all around to try and get the wheel, try and stick in back on, and reset the shelf back on the track. This constantly happens.

My second complaint is the buttons. Occasionally, you will accidently push the start button twice. You would think this is no big deal, but what ends up happening is the washer seems to go through some start up cycle, only to cut off and give no indication that it has not gone on with the washing. The "reset" cycle seems to last for several minutes, and at first, we wondered why our washer was doing such a horrible job. I would start it, you would hear it washing, you would leave for some errands, and come home to dirty dishes. After having a service tech come out, we realized that the button was being pushed twice sometimes.

Overall, the dishes are usually clean. I do seem to have to pre-rinse more than I have before though. That on top of the real cheap shelves and the buttons, makes me think I will never have a G.E. washer again.

--Josh M

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to ge dishwasher Review.