Kenmore Precision Wash Quiet Guard Standard

by Jessica Simmons
(Pittsburgh, PA)

We got this dishwasher from our insurance company as a replacement for our old Maytag dishwasher, so the only thing we got to choose about it was the color - bisque.


At first, it was great - you could barely hear it working. Then it began intermitantly buzzing/whining during the washing cycles. This began after only two week's use. We had to have a technician come in to look at and adjust the latch on the door, because it was giving us problems closing. He fixed it, but it has since started being difficult again when we close it - it takes excessive force and multiple tries to get it closed.

We were told it would become easier after the gasket on the door becomes broken in, so I'm hopeful. One of my biggest issues with the design is that the latch to open it is not designed for a person's fingers - there's no way to grab the handle, so your fingers slip and you have to pull it open using the hard edge next to the handle, and that pinches a bit. On the plus side, it really does clean well.

We use the normal cycle, and it effectively removes lipstick from the edges of glasses, which was an issue with our old machine. The liquid Cascade soap works really well. I've always used the powder soaps, but in this model, sometimes the dry soap wouldn't dissolve all the way and get stuck in the soap compartment.

Another positive is that it is quite roomy inside for lots of dishes, though I cannot fit my really big cookie sheets like I could on our old model.

Over all, I would not recommend this model. It just seems cheaply made. It works, which is better than what I can say for our old model, which leaked all over the floor, but if you're looking to get a new dishwasher, it may be prudent to spend a bit more on a more reliable, better quality model.

Comments for Kenmore Precision Wash Quiet Guard Standard

Average Rating starstar

Click here to add your own comments

May 10, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Draining issues
by: Anonymous

My Kenmore Quiet Guard Standard does not drain , any ideas?

Aug 12, 2012
Rating
star
Worse dishwasher ever!
by: Anonymous

We have had this for three years and it has been nothing but a headache! We have had this serviced four times. Twice the year we bought it for loud noises, once last year to replace the motor, and once this year to replace leaking parts. Well yesterday it leaked again and I had to rip up my new floor because it warped it. Kenmore (electrolux) will not help you out with this, they say their parts are not faulty. I have two claims on this because of the damages it has done to my floor and basement ceiling. Never again will I buy kenmore!

Feb 01, 2012
Rating
star
Kenmore Sucks
by: Anonymous

This was the biggest appliance blunder known to man. I will probably never buy a Kenmore anything ever again. Will not clean dishes and loud as hell. Very disapointed. Those are the nicest things I have to say about it.

Oct 24, 2011
Rating
star
totally frustrated
by: frustrated owner

we have had this dishwasher for almost two years now and i am so sick of it. i just hate to have to spend the money for another one when this should be a good machine. when people say it dosn't clean very well they are 100% right. it leaves stains in your cups and soap residue on everything, even with the use of rinse aid. i thought it was just out hard water but, i see i'm not alone with my judgement. stay away from this machine!

Aug 28, 2011
Rating
star
Terrible Kenmore dishwasher - do not buy!
by: Anonymous

I agree with everything said. We've had ours for about 2 years and are beyond frustrated. The door is extremely difficult to open and close - surely a pretty basic design concept for a dishwasher? And it does a terrible job of cleaning dishes - another fundamental concept! We have tried everything, and are now forced to cut our losses and buy another dishwasher. Kenmore, please do the decent thing and give the customers who purchased this lemon a coupon towards another, functional, model.

Jun 04, 2011
Rating
star
Can I rate it a zero instead!!!!
by: Anonymous

This is by far the worst dishwasher I've had the displeasure of coming into contact with! My previous dishwasher, which was 20 years old, cleaned more thoroughly than this one.

We have to wash the dishes before, and after the cycle. If we don't muck sticks to the dishes, and soap particles also stick. We have used powders, liquids,tablets and rinses...all to no avail.

It is not quiet by any means, in fact we can hear it from the other room so choose to run it while we are out of the house if possible.

Please, do not purchase this model, and if it's offered to you for free run away!

Mar 07, 2011
Rating
star
HORRIBLE!
by: Anonymous

This dishwasher sucks! It says quiet guard, but it is the loudest dishwasher I've ever heard!! And the soap is always left in the door after use. Do not buy this darn thing, it is awful!

Jun 25, 2010
Rating
star
I would give it 0 stars if I could!
by: Anonymous

This is by far the worst dishwasher I have ever owned. The list of problems is long, but the worst problem is that IT DOES NOT CLEAN THE DISHES AT ALL. PERIOD!!!As a matter of fact, the dishes actually come out of the machine dirtier than they went in!!! And the soap cakes in the dispenser. I had a Sears technician come out and he had the nerve to tell me I'm not using the machine properly, so its my fault. I'm 50 years old and have owned at least 5 dishwashers. Ive loaded a dishwasher every day for the last 30 years. never had one that couldn't clean the dishes. DO NOT buy this dishwasher unless you like to wash your dishes BEFORE you load them AND when you take them out.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Kenmore Dishwasher Reviews.