Kitchenaid Whisper Quiet Plus

by Alan Comfort
(Vancouver, BC)

This machine is without doubt the worst appliance that I have ever owned. It cost over $1000 and has not worked properly since the day it was installed. The digital control panel is buggy and has to be re-set on a regular basis.


The rollers in the sliding racks disintegrated after two months of use. The water heater is now non-functional and the repair estimate is $400. It sometimes takes two hours to complete the cycle (the buggy control panel again).

The warranty has run out so I will be taking it to the land fill and replacing it with something new that costs about the same as the needed repairs.
I strongly advise against buying a Kitchenaid dishwasher.

Comments for Kitchenaid Whisper Quiet Plus

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Sep 15, 2015
Rating
star
Worst. Dishwasher. Ever
by: Jeff J

We are living in a rental house and our landlord installed this D/W for us.
It is only a month old. It puts more food particles on a dish than were there in the first place!

We are only here for 8months and are already resigned to the fact that we will have to hand wash our dishes.

My only wish is that the dishwasher could be moved out so we could put something useful in that waste of a space.

Jun 11, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Just my 2 cents worth
by: Bernie W

This is the worst purchase I have ever made. The door would not stay closed after about 5 uses.

Warranty covered parts for the hinges but still cost over $200 for service and the door started popping open not long after the fix.

Started propping a shower curtain rod against the door to complete the cycle. Made sure all my friends and company saw this and heard about this great machine!

Control went out last October and I replaced it with a new one for $99.45. Estimate for service call and repair was around $400.

Looks like it went out again this morning. We'll be shopping for new one but it won't be a Whirlpool make of any kind!

Mar 30, 2012
Rating
star
Worst Customer Support Ever
by: Frank H Manhattan Beach

I've read the reviews on this product and can say I have had all the same problems but with one more. The Wisper Quiet just quit on me and now I have to find a new dishwasher to purchase after only 5 years. The biggest problem is the support. I went to the "highest level" seeking help on how to get this thing to function properly and all I got was solicitation for waranty every three months at a cost of $190. The company won't stand behind their product. Don't buy this product. I will never buy Kitchenaid again.

Jan 11, 2012
Rating
star
Kitchen Aid Whisper Plus
by: Anonymous

Our Kitchen Aid has NEVER worked right, either. Even if the dishes get rinsed thoroughly, there's always a film left. Everything apparently works, including the water supply being more than sufficient. Simply, the appliance is poor quality...well not even poor, it's junk.

Nov 07, 2011
Rating
star
This one is junk, sorry :(
by: Jacque

I have had nothing but trouble with this dishwasher since day one.
I've ran vinegar through it several times. I rinse the dishes completely before placing them in it. I've tried all different detergents (powered and liquid)the dishes come out every time with soap scum dried on. I use the rinsing agent. Doesn't help. I run the dishwasher when no other hot water has been used.
I've never ever had trouble like this with a dishwasher.
I'm going back to a Kenmore ultra wash.
I really don't think there are enough holes in the sprayer arms to get to all the dishes.
Much frustration from this particular model!!!

Aug 19, 2011
Rating
star
Whisper Quiet only cleans a whisper!
by: Anonymous

I echo many of the complaints here about this dishwasher. Trying everything! It leaves film, doesn't wash the any little particles of food off, no matter how many times I try to unclog the sprayer holes or running vingear or all the other tricks on how-to sites. Even if I scrub the dish first, it still leaves it as though it's not been cleaned. Now top rack isn't getting washed at all, and have to handwash. I bought it with other KitchenAid appliances only 3 years ago, the others are working fine. Worked for about 6 months, then the trouble began. Do not buy this dishwasher model, I wish I would have read the consumer reports before purchasing it.

Mar 12, 2011
Rating
star
Lemon
by: J & T

We bought the Quiet Plus about 15 months ago and it has never cleaned the dishes properly. We've tried everything and we have now given up. Dishes on the top rack are not getting cleaned - in fact they are dirtier than when they go in. Cost about $1000.00 at Sears and of course they can't help. We now have to buy a new dishwasher. Stove and washer and dryer need to be changed as well. WE WON'T BUY KITCHENAID BRAND FOR ANY NEW APPLIANCES.

Mar 02, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Works fine, but...
by: Anonymous

We bought a SS Kitchaid DW 7 years ago when we built a new house. The DW has worked well - VERY quiet and all, but has had one minor issue and now one major one. There is a "string" (cable, whatever) that closes the door and keeps it from just falling instead of lowering, and that has broken three times in the 7 years. It is a <$50 fix to repair, but is annoying. Yesterday, the pump made a very large noise, and we are told the motor needs replacement at ~$300. We will repair it, but 7 years for a DW that retailed at >$1000, when our old house had a cheap GE that worked for 18 years seems like not the way to go.

Jan 05, 2011
Rating
star
Top rack doesn't clean again
by: Linda Hill

Our builders supplied the Kitchen Aid Whisper Quiet Plus with our condo. At first I liked it because it was quiet but I soon discovered we needed to wash the dishes before putting them in. I don't see the point of that as all European dishwashers actually wash dirty dishes.

Then the top rack wouldn't wash at all. I paid for the repair which worked for a while but now it isn't working again. The dishes on the top rack are more dirty at the end of the wash than when they were put in. The machine has only been used for 3 years but I am wondering if it is worth paying for it to be repaired again.

Dec 27, 2010
Rating
star
third motor pump needed
by: Anonymous

I have had a Kitchenaid for 7 years and the motor pump has failed again. The first time it was under warranty. The second time I spent over $400 with parts and labor and now 18 months later it has failed again. I am now doing research on purchasing another brand. I also have replaced the coil on this machine. This was my first Kitchenaid and it will be my last.

Dec 05, 2010
Rating
starstar
Broken already!?
by: Efrain in Portland Oregon

I have had this dish washer for only 2 years and a plastic mechanism just broke from the pulley system that closes the door.

Now I am looking for parts! Might be time to repair this problem at the factory Kitchenaid.

Dec 02, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Excellent Dishwasher
by: TMac

I bought the Whisper Quiet Plus in the stainless steel finish in July 2007 when we remodeled our kitchen. We have not had any problems whatsoever in the three years. It is quiet, and cleans everything spotless. It has to be a quality product because my teenagers have kitchen duty at our house and if it wasn't tough I'm positive it would have broken by now!

Nov 26, 2010
Rating
star
Shear Disappointment
by: Cashcop58

Only after owning this appliance for nearly four years, with moderate use, the pump motor fails! This dishwasher cost over a grand, and they wanted over half that amount to replace the motor. We can't understand why something that worked so well - turned sour so quickly. Poor quality control, poor workmanship. Never again will Kitchenaid had the opportunity to pull cash out of my wallet.

V E R Y D E E P L Y D I S A P P O I N T E D !

Oct 26, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Another Satisfied Customer
by: Bill

My Whisper Quiet model is over 13 years old and never had a complaint or repair. I'm replaacing it because we are changing kitchen to stainless appliances. It will be another Kitchen Aid, made in USA not Germany or Japan. Buy USA if you want a future for your Children.

Oct 23, 2010
Rating
starstar
Problems galore
by: Anonymous

we've had the whisper quiet for 4 years now and have had numerous service calls on it...already had the motor replaced but now we're past the warranty days...that being said, we;re having same issues where the top rack doesnt get cleaned at all...anyone have ideas for what to do to fix that? we;re going to try the vinegar trick to see if that dissolves some of the buildup in the motor.

Oct 07, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Ours is great
by: Anonymous

This is our second Kitchenaid dishwasher ( the first one lasted 19 years). Three years on this one and never a problem.

Jul 29, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Something is so wrong here
by: Anonymous

No I do not work for Kitchenaid, That said I do own one and have installed more than 500 dish washers in remodel jobs, Kitchenaid has been by far the best of all and by comparison the next best could only rate a one or one and a half in comparison. In nearly twenty years the closest any dish washer made including the 15 hundred dollar modles out there will give but a fraction of the service of the kitchenaid's, AND NO ONE will stand behind their product as well. Bitch if you like, but from someone who has to reley on repeat customes we WILL ALWAYS RECOMED THESE MACHINES. If I wanted to make a quick buck I would install a Kenmore or such as the mark up on these is so much better, however we have good clients to satisfy and in all the years have never been asked to replace a Kitchenaid with anything but a newer modle

Jul 20, 2010
Rating
starstar
Problems with panel
by: Anonymous

I bought the Kitchenaid Whisper Quiet and also have trouble with the panel since it was installed.

Jul 20, 2010
Rating
star
whisper quiet plus
by: Anonymous

the douchebag who doubts the reviews here is clearly a kitchenaid employee. this washer sucks

May 17, 2010
Rating
star
speaking of disintegration
by: Anonymous

I bought this dishwasher as well. I don't know about rollers disintegrating, but after about 4 years, the short hose at the back of the dishwasher that conducts water to the sprayer for the upper rack did disintegrate. Literally, it came apart in pieces.

Apr 05, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Whisper Quiet
by: Anonymous

I also purchased the same dishwasher. It worked great for the first two years. Now it is taking 2 hours to run through a wash. It was leaving food particles on the dishes which I thought was probably a buildup of soap so I ran some Vinegar through it. That worked for a while but now the top rack is hardly getting clean.

Nov 15, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Doubt it
by: Anonymous

I can understand a bad panel, but a heater problem as well? And there is no way I would believe that rollers in sliding racks on even the cheapest dishwasher on earth would disintegrate after two months even if you washed dishes ten times a day.
The previous review sounds very fishy, and will not deter my from purchasing a kitchenaid dishwasher.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Kitchen Aid Dishwashers.