LG 14AT2

Cons: Possibly good for scrap metal.


Pros: Broke down within the first week. Was difficult to get a service representative. When one finally arrived (6 weeks later) he told us that it was a common problem with LG and they were well aware of the fault. The parts arrived and the machine was repaired approximately 10 weeks after breaking down.

It broke down again just before it was out of warranty and the service was no better. Now, the machine constantly gives error messages although nothing is amiss.

Does not clean the dishes so you have to wash them prior to loading them into the machine. Dishes are still saturated after the drying cycle. It matters not if the door is left closed or open afterward - the dishes are still wet.

I have now lived with this dishwasher for a couple of years and to be honest it is VERY rarely used. Probably 30 times, because frankly, it is just not worth the bother. The machine has been a worthless piece of garbage right from day one.

I really wish there was someone I didn't like...I would give it to them.

I will never ever buy a LG Product again. They are over priced, their service is absolutely appalling and their products simply do not work. Don't start me on their vacuum cleaners. :(

Comments for LG 14AT2

Average Rating starstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

May 07, 2011
Rating
star
extremely disapointed
by: Anonymous

ABout 5 years ago I went into an appliance store looking to replace our appliances that came with our house,they were the standard low cost appliances builders put in,and we had been there more then 15 years and done well ,but over time and a large family, they were faultering. Upon the advice of the salesman who said the LG dishwasher was very good ,and recommended it highly,the price was high, but it looked to be very nice and Durable,I assumed it last a good long time, LOOKS CAN Be DECIEVING...
I'VE had continouse problems,broke down after a year ,I called where I bought it,they said they only sold them and stopped repairing them ,too many problems they said. What???? They recommended them highly.UH.. SO I call LG they give me a tech in the area,(one) who came out 3 times to fix the problem(sump Pump) ok,now the dishwasher timer thing is off,it takes more then 3 hours to run a normal wash,the Quick Wash is an 1 1/2 hours, some of the other washes (buttons ) don't work at all, after these problems , it started not drying at all, we had went away a couple days and came back to find the dishes still wet from the load I put in before I left,so I again deal, and use lots of paper towels, THIS WEEK, the dishwasher has been having water left in the bottom, AND THEN...
it started tripping the breaker in the electrical box,4 times,THIS MORNING, I went to reset the breaker again and THE DISHWASHER IS NOT WORKING AT ALL. CAllED LG ,gave me 2 repairshops for LG
the 1st ,same as before,2nd,I called started talking about the LG (the call dropped??) I assumed he had caller ID,but didn't call back. I called back,voice mail,Maybe this repair shop is as frustated as I am with LG and doesn't want to deal? I was so proud to be able to afford the higher priced appliances this time around,so not worth it, some times, I think it would have been better to have my smaller, cheaper dishwasher, I would get the dishes done quicker,even if I had to load them more often,at least they would be dry ,With this one I wash them before I put them in ,I dry them by hand when they come out, I've had to drain the water with a cup,wait for repair man,pay repairman, on top of the high cost of the dishwasher,Aggrivation ,so I bought this dishwasher WHY?,.........
AT the time I also bought ab LG big expensive refrigerator/freezer ,the ice maker broke 1st year.(two expensive to fix) What the #%*&# is it with these appliances? I also bought a new stove different brand because the Lg didnt fit in my kitchen, THANK GOODNESS!! IT is fine!!
My advice go for the other cheaper brand it will last longer ,even if you have to replace it every 10 years i will be cheaper in the long run and DEFINITLY LESS AGGRIVATION!

Apr 08, 2011
Rating
star
Bad dishwashers
by: Dave

I wish I researched more before buying my LG dishwasher. In two years it has broken twice and the second time was from serious leaks onto my hardwood floor! It is not as quiet as advertised, the top rack is flimsy, and dishes need to be rinsed otherwise they come out dirty (even when I used the scrub cycle with high spray).

Sep 30, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Unsatisfied
by: Melina

I am disappointed with this dishwasher. The whole point was for it to clean the dishes right? The dishes do not dry.I paid lots of money for the upgrade to this brand and stainless steel style. I do not feel that I got what I paid for. I will not buy this brand again.

Aug 01, 2008
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
yay
by: Brenda - original poster

This is great. We need to keep this forum in our favourites to see how others fair with products.
Wouldn't it be wonderful if everyone gave a full review of items bought?

Thanks so much to the anon's that have contributed although one I think may have been from the manufacturer :P LOL

You are right.....Let's stand up for our rights; 'bout time aussies did that.

Aug 01, 2008
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
I agree....scrap metal
by: Anonymous

Thankyou anonymous, I thought I was the only one out there. Goodonya mate.

Aug 01, 2008
Rating
starstarstar
I know what you are going through
by: Anonymous

Yip good on ya mate for giving them stick.

i have dramas with my whirlpool dishwasher that is only good for scrap as well after a short 4 years of use. if only they made products that last now adays instead of all the chinese made rubbish. no customer service anymore, repair men that think they are qualified enough to charge like surgeons i was quoted 3 hours labor to pull out a pump and put in a new one, i took the pump out in front of him in less than 3 minutes...

that shut him up, 2 hose clamps and a power wire. whoopie doo..and what about the whole hastle of having to revert back to doing the damn dishes by hand.? frustrating i tell ya.

i did rinse my dishes though before use every time and it still broke. but still even if i didn't what the hell is the filter there for, it has a filter mesh smaller than fly wire so how does the crap get inside the machine in the first place, must mean the filter is not filtering... and why not be an appliance cop if enough people read honest comments like yours they might think twice about buying the rubbbish being sold. right behind ya buddy the other negative comments from your blog must be from people who don't have kids, only live with a partner by themselves and use theirs once a week. either that or they are on the pay roll of the manufacturer.. browning points.

not every machine is tested before it leaves the factory and problems do occur, and in Australia we have freedom of speech. let it be heard to all the shonky manufacturers out there, that we will not take any more of this asian crap,we have had enough of being ripped off. buy Australian like i will next time where parts are readily available at a fraction of the price.

Monty
Perth

Jul 01, 2008
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Excuses for inferior product?
by: Anonymous

Oh dear.....Dish Washer police, are we?

One would have to be a complete moron not to rinse the dishes before placing them in the washer. I can assure you that was not the issue.
This is not the first DW I have used, although the first and last LG. I have never encountered such problems with any I have ever used before. It is NOT clogged. There is NO food floating around the machine. The machine itself is clean as a whistle. Pity I can't say the same for the dishes. Perhaps now you could come up with another excuse for this inferior product? And can you please stop being so patronising? I wrote an honest review....MY OPINION. If yours differs, that's fine, but please don't treat others as if they are stupid just because you do not like what they think.

Jun 30, 2008
Rating
star
Bad Rating
by: Anonymous

Dishes still dirty? Not drying? Is there water setting in the bottom of the washer, probably so. That means you tried washing food or other small items that have clogged the drain.
I dont care what brand you buy, NO dishwasher will clean food and continue to run without problems. Food even small amounts will leave residue which will build in time to clog the best of the best machines.

EVEN if your machine comes with a garbage disposal installed, RINSE your dishes before putting them into the washer please.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to lg dishwasher reviews.