LG LDS5811

by Patty
(Calgary, Alberta, Canada)

It is very quiet... especially now, because after five months we are replacing the pump and motor, so it isn't working at all! I haven't been overly impressed with how clean it gets my dishes, and don't like the placement or the style of the cutlery rack. We removed the tops off of the rack, and the centre rack, that is supposed to be for smaller objects, is totally useless.


When I asked the repairman why the motor was going after only five months, he told me that "dishwashers are like lightbulbs.... they burn out...". I need a new washer and dryer soon... it won't be LG. This dishwasher is going to be replaced by a less expensive model before the warranty is up.

Comments for LG LDS5811

Average Rating starstar

Click here to add your own comments

Jan 05, 2014
Rating
star
Wost Dishwassher I have ever owned
by: Anonymous

This dishwasher is a piece of junk.
It is whisper quiet - but that doesn't do much good when nothing gets clean.
Besides the early problem of leaking on the floor - which I later learned was a consistent problem, everything from the rack rusting out, the rollers breaking off, poor rack design, and things not getting clean and plastic articles not getting dry.
For the money, buy a Bosch or KitchenAide and save yourself the hassles, headache and aggravation.

Apr 02, 2012
Rating
star
What a piece of junk
by: Anonymous

I purchased the LG dishwasher two years ago in March. I kept hearing a loud whistling noise and my kitchen floor was flooded.

I contacted LG themselves and they told me that they couldn't do anything about it and I needed to contact Sears. I did and it took over a week for them to come and look at it. Fist it cost 80.00 for a service call and after diagnosing the problem of the motor, and something to do with the drainage it would have cost me 400.00.
I told him I wanted to think about it and call him back to order the parts. He said "no" someone else would have to come out re diagnose the problem and order the parts for another service call.

I went back to Sears and spoke to someone in the appliance area. He told me NOT to buy another LG because they are a piece of junk.

Why didn't they tell me that two years ago....
NEVER EVER BUY AN LG PRODUCT!!!!

Feb 24, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Worst Product in the World
by: Anonymous

Be warned. You buy this product, you will be upset beyond belief. In 5 years I've had to change the pump, the main wires and, recently, the whole (@#%$#!!) main board. The wires melted and the main board burnt beyond recognition. Amazingly, the 110volts from the outlet WAS STILL LIVE!. Had ANY of these wires touched the metal door, I COULD HAVE BEEN ELECTROCUTED!!! Biggest piece of crap I've seen. Had this been a car, the it would have been recalled. LG should not be permitted to sell ANYTHING in this country. PERIOD!

Jan 25, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
BURNT WIRES, FRIED CIRCUT BOARD
by: Terri

All has been well up to this point. Dishwasher would run, but not cycle. Repair called, opened compartment to see burnt wires melted to circut board, black "protective" liner also burnt. Told it would be a $350 repair...looks like we're buying a new unit :o(

Jan 10, 2012
Rating
star
Bad main pump bearings
by: Anonymous

Original main recirculating pump bearings started screaming after about 15 months. Bought new total pump assy and installed--lg would not warranty unless 'certified' repairman did it. I worked my way thru school doing appliance repairs....
Pump assy bearing going bad again on new unit after about a shear.

Will soon become a boat anchor -- will not consider any lg product as reps on phone were full of attitude and must think all customers are idiots.

No more lg anything.

Oct 24, 2011
Rating
star
Burnt wires - melted computer - due to black stuff
by: Brian ( NE OHIO)

LDS5811WW - 27 months service - door seal is cut by bottom tray because bottom tray wheels brake easily from the heat / cool cycle. When seal is cut, copious amounts of water spill out. Most designs do not have a door seal in the frame but rather the door - why? so that the tray does not cut the seal.

IE code then burnt smell then no power.

Found wire harness melted computer board (as described by many) at the lower left corner. The harness connections are melted to the board so that you can not remove them. The main power ground is severed. Found the black crap all over the harnesses everywhere. One can clearly see the traces of the harnesses in the black coating where the harnesses ran. Requires new CPU, new harness and some type of barrier between the black crap and the harness. I have decided , the fix is not worth it based on such poor reliability. LG has not been helpful - I do not expect them to help.

If the harness would have arced to the stainless steel tub, then 8 to 15 amps of jot would hit whoever touched the tub at the wrong moment. ( I say 8 -15 based ona 20 amp service and some power losses). In my case, there was power to the cpu around all buttons ( as indicated by a voltage tester pen) - yet the power button was unresponsive and the light display was out.

LG should be held accountable. Pictures and video to youtube forthcoming.

Oct 05, 2011
Rating
star
LG junk !
by: Anonymous

Purchased all LG appliances (fridge, stove ,dishwasher, washer-dryer) new in 2008, and have had nothing but problems with them, biggest pieces of junk i have purchased in years and will definitely never buy one of thier products again ! Have had the most problems with the dishwasher, on it's third motor and now the door is broken. Hard to believe in the 21st century that a manufacturer can produce such unreliable products. To top it off my wifes LG cell phone has been a piece if s!!! as well.

Total Frustration !

May 10, 2011
Rating
star
LG LDS5811
by: Chicago-Indiana Region

Numerous repairs.

Motor
Wiring Harness
PCB Board

Still not working and the repairman couldn't fix it. I finally cut him off paid the 150 bucks and went out to buy a new one. LG Refrigerator Broken Door closer latch, LG dryer doesn't cycle properly, LG Washing machine OK so far, LG Microwave loud...

Moving on with LG!!! LIFE IS FAR FROM GOOD!!!!

Apr 20, 2011
Rating
star
Complete waste of money
by: Montreal, Canada

It's our 4th motor and this time we are not paying $300 to replace it. We'll never buy an LG product again. The 4 people I know who have LG dishwashers have had many problems with them too.
Loud abnormal noises, repair guy several times a year, etc.
I have prevented at least 10 people so far from making the mistake of getting an LG diswasher. I think it's the only thing we can do. Spread the word. Now with twitter, facebook, youtube, etc, companies like LG will have to consider another approach when they make a crappy product because the game has changed. When they make a bad product, we can get the word out there really fast and do some serious damage.

Mar 09, 2011
Rating
star
LG DISHWASHER PROBLEMS
by: Anonymous

WE BOUGHT OUR LG DISHWASHER 6 YEARS AGO AND I'M IN THE PROCESS OF REPLACING THE THIRD MOTOR. LG TELLS ME THAT THIS IS VERY RARE THAT FEW PROBLEMS HAVE BEEN REPORTED. THE NET AND THE SERVICEMAN TELL US THAT THIS IS PAR FOR THE COURSE FO LG.
BYE BYE LG I'LL NEVER BUY ANOTHER LG PRODUCT.

Jan 05, 2011
Rating
star
DO NOT BUY LG DISHWASHERS !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
by: Tim Stratton

Bought the first lg in 07. It worked for a year always leaking and not drying. We had a repairman out 10 times in a year. Nobody wants to work on them. Finally got it replaced because of a so-call recall. They just couldn't find the leak so they put a new one in mid 08. Still leaks, doesn't dry the dishes, doesn't clean the dishes, customer service is a joke. This is the worst appliance I have ever had or installed. I was a master plumber and installed hundreds of dishwashers before LG was around. It is extreemly quiet which is the only good thing about it. I would rather have a little louder unit that works. It has damaged my floor and ceiling below. Never assume the most expensive dishwasher will be the best because this was the most money and the worst investment. I will now have to buy another DW, 3 in 4 years.

DO NOT BUY LG DISHWASHERS PERIOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Dec 17, 2010
Rating
star
Design Flaws - Poor Quality
by: Bill

Design flaws that you can read about all over the web. The main one is insufficient insulation for the wires in the door. They end up melting and shorting to the door. That happened to me and LG would not make the repair since it was 4 months out of warranty. owever, it was a known design flaw. The other has to do with the motor.

Obviously they don't clearly understand what Quality means.

Dec 03, 2010
Rating
star
LE Error on LG
by: Anonymous

My LG is 1 year and THREE days past purchase date and I was just given an LE error. After reading everyone's comments, I'm not sure I can justify a repairmen to fix the unit given the likelihood of future failure. I also found these attorneys who are looking into LG dishwahers for anyone who may be interested...

http://www.lieffcabraser.com/cases.php?CaseID=231

Lesson Learned Today: Don't buy an LG.
2nd Lesson: Consumer Reports is outdated.

Nov 02, 2010
Rating
star
Wiring harness broke twice
by: Tom Mills

We bought this model from home depot in Jan-2006, it has broken twice, wiring harness in both cases, first time repair bill $94.00, 2nd time I fixed it myself, the broken wires are easy to find, caused a IE error code... when I fixed it I placed a sheet of cardboard between the black tar and the wiring harness, which was melted into the tar (causing the wire to break). Hoping this prevents further wires from breaking... We also bought a washer and dryer made by LG, both have also had problems... never again will we buy LG products.

Nov 02, 2010
Rating
star
a cheating lying corporation
by: Anonymous

In Australia they have been busted for the third time cheating on the savings rating system:how efficient in terms of power use and environment.
They installed a device that would deliberately give a false reading when tested.
They are a cheating ,lying ,corp.
We will not be buying anything from them and the same sentiment is growing through out Australia.
Pass this on.

Nov 02, 2010
Rating
star
LG CUSTOMER SERVICE SUCKS!!!!!
by: Rubalina

LG dishwasher is the worst diswasher I have ever owned. Would not wash one day, and the finised cycle chimes kept ringing. Husband removed the door panel, insulation and white plastic guard at the bottom of the door just to find 3 wires broken. Apparently, all the black tar stuff that is supposed to help the machine operate quietly, heats up and breaks the wires!!! Techs said it needed a new motor and that it would cost quite a bit! Alot they know!

Hubby repaired wires and it is working just fine! You need to put some insulation between the black tar stuff and the wires to protect them from melting and breaking. LG should have known this problem existed. How many people went out and bought new machines or were without for months and it is a simple solution to fix! Shame on LG and all Technicians who couldn't figure this out! Hope this info is helpful too all dissatisfied LG customers. If you still have a dishwasher hanging around, you may want to check all the wires! :>}

Oct 28, 2010
Rating
star
Piece of Junk!
by: Anonymous

I don't think it matters what brand of appliance you buy you MUST purchase the extended warranty offered (from the store your purchase it from) or you will NOT get any help from anyone after the factory warranty expires. I have now had this happen twice with higher-end, expensive appliance and both times the company ignored the major defects Maytag the first time, and now LG. Reading reviews on-line makes it appear that every manufacturer treats their customers this way. Sad to think the only way to get proper customer service on appliances is to pay extra for an extended warranty.

I purchased a LG LDS5811 after looking at many different brands including Bosch, Miele, and some other higher-end brands. The LG appearance and rack layout seemed to fit what I was looking for, and the price was not bad with the rebate and 10% off the store was offering. For about Two years the dishwasher worked perfectly fine except the dishes weren't totally dry, the cycle times were excessively long, but boy was it ever quiet.

Then we got an error code and called for repair only to find that no repair company within wants to work on LG products, I wondered why. We finally called LG and they referred me to a company that was over 75 miles away (we had to pay a travel fee), he the only person we could get to come and look at the dishwasher. It was the wiring problem which was easily fixed at a cost of $125.00.

A few months later we heard a loud moaning sound during the wash cycle. Researching the internet showed a pump problem with this particular model that LG was ignoring. So we either had to pay $300 to have it fixed or toss it out and buy a new one. We let it sit for about a month, using it as a dish drying rack - it worked really well for that purpose (we refused to purchase a new unit after only a little over two years), and when we turned it on again it worked fine for about another six months but the dishes were really wet at the end of the cycle so clearly something else had failed. Finally gave up and bought a new Bosch - what a dream that has been. The unit size and rack configuration take some getting use to but the Bosch cleans way better than the LG in a shorter amount of time, and the dishes are actually dry!

The worse part for me was having a conversation with LG customer service and basically being told tough crap when referring to the pump, wiring and motor problems that thousands of people were having with the same LG dishwasher. LG does not believe in customer service so don't buy one of their products believing they will stand behind it, they simply do not.

Oct 06, 2010
Rating
star
DOES ANYONE KNOW HOW TO START A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT?
by: Anonymous

WE PAID AN ENORMOUS AMOUNT OF MONEY FOR THIS PRODUCT AND ARE VERY DISAPPOINTED. IT IS QUIET WHEN NOT HAVING PROBLEMS WITH THE MOTOR. THIS IS THE SECOND TIME IT BROKE. I PAID TO HAVE IT FIXED LAST TIME DUE TO THE BURNT WIRES THAT LG KNOWS ARE DEFECTIVE. SHOULDN'T THEY BE RESPONSIBLE FOR A RECALL OR PAY FOR REPAIRS. AFTER IT BROKE AGAIN THIS MORNING I READ ALL OF YOUR REVIEWS. THEY KNOW ABOUT THIS FLAW BUT REFUSE TO FIX IT. HOW CAN THIS BE TURNED IN A LAWSUIT THAT REQUIRES THEM TO RECTIFY THIS SITUATION?

Jul 22, 2010
Rating
star
Junk
by: Anonymous

Okay, so it was missing wheels on the bottom racks. No big deal. But, after replacing the control panel 2 times in one year, and it broke down a third time, we swallowed hard, junked it and bought a cheap Frigidaire. That was 2 years ago, and the Frigidaire works great!

Jul 03, 2010
Rating
star
Don't waste your money
by: Anonymous

The only positive thing I have to say about this dishwasher is that it is super quiet.
Negatives are plentiful.

Our brand new unit never cleaned the dishes. We tried everything. All brands and types of soap, all brands of rinse agents, running the hot water prior to cycle, rinsing and even washing the dishes prior to loading, every different loading configuration we could think of, but the dishes always come out dirtier than they went in. We don't know where all these food bits are coming from. The spray arms are thoroughly clean. And this dishwasher has been like this since it was brand new!

It doesn't dry the dishes so it is always necessary to towel dry them too.
We use the strongest spray setting and the heavy clean cycle (which takes 3 hours!) but still have the same problem.

We had the repair guy out but he said it is working the way it is supposed to. HA!
The design of the racks in this dishwasher SUCKS! Whoever designed them has obviously never seen a dish.

Overall, we have never, ever been so disappointed in an appliance.

Our old, cheap dishwasher was a million times better than this fancy looking LG is. I guess LG thinks that if the unit looks good, it doesn't have to actually work.

We would never recommend LG appliances after fighting with this horrible POS.

Apr 09, 2010
Rating
star
bad product
by: Anonymous

Pros:
-beautiful style
-easy to operate initially

Cons:
-never worked well
-no help from manufacturer

The LG LDS5811ST Dishwasher Review I purchased this particular model for its beautiful design and how well it worked into the other decor of my kitchen, and boy do I wish that I hadn't. It began like any other endeavor to upgrade appliances would; I searched various stores in the area to find exactly what I was looking for appearance-wise.

When I came across the LG, I fell in love! It was perfect! Until I saw the price tag. Nearly $1000 for a dishwasher? It took at least an hour for me to convince my husband to pass out the cash. My logic: LG products generally receive great reviews online, it was our match made in heaven, maybe for once I would actually do the dishes if I had this, etc.

We had it professionally installed two days later, and I was ecstatic! That night I made a huge meal, placing all of the dirty pots, pans, plates, and silverware right in! The function buttons were easy to figure out, and I allowed it to run its full course.

The next morning I woke up to empty it, only to find the dishes weren't fully dried, had food still stuck on them, and had severe spotting. I chalked it up to being new and ran the dishes again. A little better this time, but not what I had expected.

Well two years later, my dishwasher stopped working completely, (Yes, I put up with its foul play for two whole years because we travel so much). I contacted the manufacturer only to find out that my warranty had expired! I had to replace the whole machine, but this time I chose GE. No more LG for me, and if you're smart, none for you either!

Apr 08, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
not well built
by: Glen

We bought this dishwasher just over 2 years ago. We bought because it had nice features (liked the stainless steel tub!), and was QUIET. Installing was a bit difficult, because the hoses were different than other models, and the water intake was on the front. I had to modify our cabinet in the back, but that wasn't a big deal to me.

We were amazed at how quiet this thing runs - it's rated at 48 dBA - you can stand right in front of it and hold a conversation without raising your voice. It also cleaned well without prerinsing. Other LG reviews complain that it doesn't dry well, but my expectations there are pretty low - I've never encountered a dishwasher that did, and I have no complaints with how dry the dishes were.

This would be a great dishwasher -IF- it were well built. Unfortunately, it isn't. We have had three separate leak incidents with the machine. And they weren't the "lots-of-water-on-the-floor-we-know-there's-a-problem" kind; the leaks stayed underneath the machine and soaked into the cabinet and the floor, and you don't know there's a problem until the cabinet is damaged and the flooring is coming up. Two of the leaks were with the water inlet, and one was the impaler, where the blade wore through the plastic housing. This dishwasher has caused more damage to my house than we paid for it.

Worse, the motor has gone bad - twice. The first time was just after the one-year warranty had expired. LG offers a parts-only warranty for the second year (part is free, you pay the labor); after several calls and three weeks without our dishwasher, we got a new motor. The new motor lasted just over a year, and went out again.

Some folks have suggested that we just got a lemon, but reading the reviews on this page shows a pretty consistent problem. I'll be avoiding LG for my next purchase, and hoping I'm not doing this again in 24 months.

Nov 14, 2009
Rating
starstar
Melted Circuit Board
by: Anonymous

Same as many of the others here. Dishwasher worked nice and quiet for six months, then it started to groan and evenly spread the stuff it should have been washing around to all the dish. Drying system does work worth a darn, open the door after the 'ding' or you will have wet dishes. Today it stopped dead, bottom corner of the circuit board is melted. Last LG I will buy.

Nov 12, 2009
Rating
star
Will never buy another LG appliance
by: Anonymous

This dishwasher worked great for a couple of months. Then, it started making an awful noise, like there wasn't enough water in the dishwasher to keep the pump happy. After the local LG service center came out three times to fix the problem, it was never fixed. Since then, the rack has broken in many places, and it's really not cleaning dishes very well anymore. I will be replacing this dishwasher soon with another brand.

Nov 07, 2009
Rating
star
Don't buy an LG dishwasher
by: Anonymous

Never ever ever gets anything on the top shelf clean. How difficult can it be to design a dishwasher that washes and rinses the dishes? These things have been around for years and yet...I'm washing all my glasses and mugs by hand.
This thing is a worthless piece of junk.
Don't buy this...

Oct 14, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstar
Cleans well - very quiet
by: Anonymous

I am very pleased with this dishwasher. It is very quiet which is important with the open floor plan of my kitchen/family room. I am able to use Quick Wash for most of my loads and it cleans well on this setting because of the three spray arms. Plasticware is not totally dry at the end of the cycle but I am okay with this. I like the option for half loads. I would definitely recommend this model.

Oct 14, 2009
Rating
starstar
Drying system does not work
by: Anonymous

Very quiet. Hybrid drying system does not work. You must jump up and open the dishwasher when the chime rings (very annoying) indicating that the wash cycle is ended. If you don't do this you will have to hand dry your dishes later. If you like to start the dishwasher before you go to bed at night (like I do) and empty it in the morning, then this dishwasher is not for you.

Sep 05, 2009
Rating
starstar
Not Happy
by: Michael

Not happy. Dishwasher leaves 1/3 of dishes dirty, or worse distributes dirt into (previously) clean glasses.

I know I will have to try detergent powder I'm currently using tabs but for a 1200$ dishwasher I expected more and better performance.

Also realised after purchase that LG dishwashers use double the water and electricity if compared to Bosch models.

Very quiet however. 48db. Inaudible. Great.

Sep 05, 2009
Rating
star
A big disappointment
by: Anonymous

I just had my 2nd service call with this dishwasher. I paid $934 for it at Home Depot and it has NEVER worked. I then paid $143 to have the pump replaced so now the dishes are clean but it is now leaking water because there is pressure now and the condensation from the vent makes it leak! What a big disappointment. It looks good but doesn't work (kinda like my last boyfriend).

Aug 02, 2009
Rating
star
Does Cash for Clunkers extend to dishwashers?
by: Anonymous

This dishwasher is garbage.
The ONLY thing that seemed to temporarily fix the dishwasher was when (after 2 engine changes), my repair man (who generally refuses to work on LG) took off the front of the dishwasher and separated the wires from each other. He said that there are internal heat sensors that send our LG into hysterics when the wires get too close.
Whatever.
This dishwaster still sucks and we're getting a new one this week.

Jul 16, 2009
Rating
star
Won't buy another LG product
by: Connie

I bought this dishwasher 4 years ago and it has not done a decent job from day one. I had a repairman come out before the warranty expired and he couldn't find anything wrong with it, even though I told him some plastic pieces had fallen off of it. Now it won't drain and it has a strange sound in it, so another repairman came out yesterday and he said that he's sure the motor is shot, which would cost about $450 to replace. Needless to say I'm not going to do that, neither will I buy another LG product.

Jul 16, 2009
Rating
starstar
broken again
by: Steve

I have owned this LG dishwasher for 2 years. It is broken again. This time it needs a new control board. LG takes no responsibility for this inferior product. I am throwing it out and buying a whirlpool.

Jul 16, 2009
Rating
star
Poor customer service
by: Stephanie

I bought a brand new LDS5811WW in May 06. It has ran great up until just the other night. Just three years post purchase date, the dishwasher started making a loud noise while it was in the wash cycle.

Then, it just stopped running and the "LE" error code came up on the monitor, and an alarm sounded. Long story short, the next day after a call to LG and finding a local service guy to come out, was informed that it was the motor and it would need replaced. WHAT? I put very well-rinsed dishes into this dishwasher.

It cost $649 + tax and it's DEAD?? You've got to be kidding me! DO NOT BUY ANY LG PRODUCTS AS THE CUSTOMER SERVICE AT LG IS TERRIBLE!! Both my husband and I tried calling and they won't do anything; very unhelpful. "You're out of warranty." It's going to cost us $305 to repair it - so then in another three years we can do this again? I don't think so. We will not be buying any more LG products.

Our service guy also said that they stopped carrying LG products in their store BECAUSE the CUSTOMER SERVICE IS SOOO TERRIBLE. So, we're now buying another new dishwasher.

Mar 15, 2009
Rating
star
junk
by: Anonymous

This dishwasher is junk. same as other comments

Mar 08, 2009
Rating
star
Throw it out
by: Phil Zerr

High end LG dishwasher. Paid about $1500. We were renovating so didn't get installed for about 3 months after purchase. Work a few days then started making noises. Not cleaning well. Could not get service repairman as the local contractor refused to work for LG. LG would not rectify and telling them that the local rep no longer worked for them had no effect. Future shop refused to take it back. Finally after 6 months of fighting, LG gets repairman to location. Says motor is not working and replaces.

Problem persists. Repairman says discharge hose too low. We repair at our own cost and problem still not fixed. Third trip and now at end of warranty repairman notices fully burnt wires bundle inside door. We want new unit but LG says no. Fixes with cheap crimp connecters you would use on your car. Works about a month but cleaning marginal. Starts making noises again and cleaning very poor. Suspect wires burnt again. Past warrantee no longer calling LG.

This thing has worked maybe 3 months out of the last 18 properly. Only consolation is to make reviews every chance I get.
Phil Zerr 780-840-4060

Jan 27, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstar
LG should recall unit LDS5811st
by: Anonymous

I bought the unit in april of 2007. Six months later it quit cleaning the dishes and they were completely saturated after the cycle. It took 2 weeks to get a serviceman to take a look at it and low and behold they had to replace the motor, then the wiring then the motor again then they eventually sent out a new or refurbished dishwasher, same model 6 months later. Here I am 6 months after the new one and the same thing is happening and Lg will not stand behind their crappy model, they keep forwarding me to someone else. Fortunatley I bought the extended warranty, but it doesn't really help when you have a dishwasher that doesn't wash dishes. I have had Lg for 2 years with barely 1 year of a working dishwasher. The low end ge model dishwasher i had previously did a much better job.

Dec 13, 2008
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Breaksdown
by: Anonymous

Yes it's pretty & quite but it's so unreliable. I wish I read peoples reviews before buying. I purchased new in 2006 and have had to replace pumps, wires (circuit board issues) etc. Which so far have been covered by LG. It has been a battle each time to get serviced.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to lg dishwasher reviews.