LG LDS5811BB/01

by Donna
(Richmond area, VA)

This dishwasher was bought in May of 2007 from Home Depot. With a large family who runs a dishwasher 2-3 times per day and spends a great deal of time in the kitchen, I needed a dishwasher not only with a large capacity, but also one that was quiet. The LG dishwasher fit the bill.


Not only did it have twice the capacity of my old dishwasher, but a conversation could be had while it was running. The top rack is adjustable and has a fold down shelf allowing twice as many small glasses or other items to be placed on the rack.

The bottom rack is low to the ground allowing large pots and pans to be placed on top of the dishes. The dishwasher has a variety of settings depending upon how dirty the dishes are, but the wash time can be quite lengthy lasting up to three hours. Unfortunately, after one year, directly after the manufacturer’s warranty expired, the dishwasher stopped cleaning.

I noticed there was very little water in the washer and the top rack of dishes were especially dirty. The dishes were frequently dirty and had to be pre-washed by hand prior to placing in the washer. I live in a rural area, so finding repairmen who were able to diagnose and work on LG dishwashers was very difficult.

Finally, I found a repairman who was able to fix the dishwasher, but it took two weeks to receive the parts from the LG factory. Overall, if you want a quiet dishwasher with a variety of washing options, this one will provide those features.

Comments for LG LDS5811BB/01

Average Rating star

Click here to add your own comments

Oct 09, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Input
by: Mike K.

I am feeling somewhat better having read some of these comments. We purchased this dishwasher from Best Buy approximately 5 years ago. Within the past 3-4 months, we have had a problem with the dishes not being washed and the food from the plates ending up on the glasses which are on the upper rack. Of course, that food is then dried on to the glassware which required further clean up. Relative to other commenter's issues, I should count my self lucky.
I suspect it's due time to look for a replacement.

Aug 11, 2011
Rating
star
What Does LG Stand for?
by: Kathie

LOTS OF GARBAGE!


Do not buy this dishwasher or any other dishwasher from LG. This dishwasher started to have trouble a few month after we purchased it. It leaks, sometimes the dishwasher would work and other days it did not. Now it does not work at all. When I called to have it repaired by a LG repair person. They wanted over 100 dollars just to come to the house! They make inferior products which break down within a few years. I will never buy a LG product again.

Aug 11, 2011
Rating
star
A peice of JUNK
by: Anonymous

What every you do. DO NOT buy this dishwasher. It leaks, the dishes do not come clean, the electronic mother board is junk. This dishwasher should be recalled. Shame on LG. You have lost my bussiness and anyone else I can convince that LG is not worth the time nor the money.

Jul 07, 2011
Rating
star
Must stick together and fight LG on this defective item.
by: John

I am not sure if LG will put out a recall on this model. I have read many sites where the leaks have ruined the buyers floors. They said they would do something for me with a proof of purchase having bought it in 2006 and only realized that the leak was in fact the dishwasher after all these years not to mention the fact that the darn thing never cleaned a dish properly since I had it.

If you bought at Home depot (very professional) the bookeeping department can get a duplicate of
receipt they close before 2:00 PM.

contact LG at 1 800 243 0000 go straight to executive customer care and make you statement. They have attempted to give me the run around but I told them if I don't get remedy I will contact the state attourney general.

If I don't get remedy I will contact the state attorney general this is an outrage and the more who complain the more they will have be motivated to do something. Don't sit back and just get taken advantage of.

Jun 20, 2011
Rating
star
LG LDS5811BB dishwasher
by: MA PECHET

We bought this dishwasher in 2006 paying the big bucks ($1,300)and thinking this would be a sure way of getting the best. Oh what a waste of hard-earned money: Leaking, motor problems and the worst discovery was when the technician opened the front panel (after we reported smelling smoldering) to reveal a complete meltdown of wiring and black tar-like substance. I think that's the stuff house fires are made of. We earnestly warn you not to get this terribly dangerous appliance. All LG could offer was: sorry, it's out of warranty.

Mar 08, 2011
Rating
star
disaster
by: Anonymous

We have had it replaced once becasue it wouldn't get anything clean. We have to run it with the strongest spray or it won't get anythin clean. we have to inspect every dish as we take it out to make sure they are clean. We never have a complete load come out perfect. The stainless steel flat ware is a disaster. It comes out with rust stains and we have to hand wash it now. Hate the LG dishwasher.

Feb 21, 2011
Rating
star
would rate lower if I could
by: Anonymous

This is a pile of junk have had it repaired three times during warranty and not that it is out of warranty it has stopped working again OE is the error message that I am getting.

Feb 17, 2011
Rating
star
what a lemon
by: Brian

I purchased an LG Dishwasher in April 2007. It has been a complete lemon, to say the least. I have unfortunately had to have this repaired three times, and currently it has not worked since January 2010, while I had a technician try twice to repair it. I just found out today, LG Customer Service will not work with me as my warranty has run out. They did offer to cover a part, but the labor was again, on me. I am not happy about the result, and was only hoping that a giant company, like LG, would provide some extra assistance to a once "loyal" customer.

Feb 17, 2011
Rating
star
never lg again
by: Scott Campbell

OE - that is the trouble status that has made my LG dishwasher the bane of my existence. OE means that the unit is unable to pump water out - I end up bailing the accumulated water multiple times just to get through a single cycle. I owned a GE dishwasher previously, and while it was louder and didn't have all of LG's bells and whistles, IT WORKED!!! My LG has been serviced 4 times in 4 years, and I've finally had enough. I'll go back to GE or Kenmore, and I will NEVER purchase another LG appliance as long as I live.

Feb 03, 2011
Rating
star
Right On
by: Anonymous

I ditto your comments...and please, anyone who finds a great mechanical dishwasher, do post. Meanwhile we will keep using the one that never breaks down, is quiet, reliable, and does a stupendous job - my husband and me. At least we can visit while we wash; hmmm...maybe we are on to something.

Nov 10, 2010
Rating
star
previous post washing dishes 2-3 times per day!
by: Anonymous

This must be BS unless you have a family of 50! WTF people. I have an LG peice of junk! Stainless looks nice, but nice doesn't wash the dishes!

Mar 22, 2010
Rating
star
leaky dishwasher
by: bob


bought this dishwasher and have about 1 year of service from it. It started leaking water on our hardwood floor and caused some damage.I called lg and they said that there is nothing they will do about it. The warranty ran out on parts on feb 27. Reading all the bad reports on this dishwasher I probably just haul it to the junk pile. Never will i buy another LG product .

Nov 20, 2009
Rating
star
Poor design
by: Anonymous

Purchased unit from Best Buy in January 2007 for $665. Motor failed (LE error) in less than a week. Motor replaced under warantee - took nearly a month. Less than 3 years later, motor has failed again. Estimated $350 plus to repair. Not worth the money and effort. Unit was difficult to load efficiently; did not dry well (even with rinse aid); frequently did not clean dishes well. Based on experience with this and other LG appliances, I will NEVER buy LG again and recommend that nobody waste their money on LG appliances.

Aug 27, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Quiet
by: Anonymous

Any dishwasher can be made quieter by adding fiberglass insulation behind the kick plate. If you want to go crazy with the quiet, you can pull the dishwasher out and add a thin layer of insulation around the tub, also. Just be careful to not put it in contact with moving parts - hinges, motors, etc. Be sure to allow for servicing and/or leak detection.
Dishwasher manufacturers make you pay hundreds of dollars for that insulation.

Jul 16, 2009
Rating
star
doesn't wash dishes well
by: Melinda

I bought this dishwasher for $700 because 1) it was capacious 2) it was quiet. It is indeed both those things. Unfortunately, it doesn't wash dishes.

It doesn't dry dishes. And it takes two hours and seventeen minutes "normal" cycle trying to do both. I've found that if you wash your dishes first, this appliance will give you clean dishes.

Trying to get an LG appliance serviced is its own special nightmare. "Authorized" service repair centers don't return phone calls; don't have the parts; can't get the parts; and are reluctant to schedule an appointment as a result.

Having already gone the $$$ route on a Bosch, which did an excellent quiet and efficient job cleaning dishes but broke down routinely, I'm obliged to point out here that the cheap dishwashers that I've had--Whirlpool and Kitchen Aid for instance--do a REALLY good job (pot scrubber actually means clean pots) and do not break down, although they ARE noisy.

Anyone who finds a dishwasher that works reliably and efficiently and quietly, please post!

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to lg dishwasher reviews.