LG Tall Tub 24" LDS4821ST

by Ashley
(Fall River, MA, USA)

In July 2013, the LG dishwasher LDS821ST got another vote of confidence when it was listed as one of the top five dishwashers on www.wisebread.com.


It's previously been rated as 'best budget buy' by Good Housekeeping too. So if you're interested in this model, read the feedback on this page by readers of dishwasher-review.com.



Looking for a dishwasher that's perfect for your needs? Then the LG LDS4821ST is one machine worth checking out. This dishwasher offers a variety of features that will make your chores easy and hassle-free. Some of the features offered by this dishwasher include a sleek and stylish design, controls that are semi-integrated, and the LoDecibel Quiet Operation feature.

Key features

- The dishwasher has a LoDecibel Quiet Operation that offers an almost noise-free dishwashing.
- The machine has a 16-place setting capacity so it can accommodate a variety of dishware.
- This model uses a Hybrid Condensing Drying System for faster drying and spotless dishes.
- This dishwasher is Energy Star-rated, allowing you to enjoy 41% more water efficiency and 12% more energy efficiency.
- The machine comes with sleek-looking controls that are easy to use.
- The machine is made of durable materials, making it a top choice for large families that deal with large dishwashing loads every week.
- The machine has a built-in food disposer so you won't have to scrape off food from the plates before placing them inside the dishwasher.
- This product includes a stainless steel tub.
- This model of dishwasher from LG features a Child Lock system.

Advantages

This machine is a durable dishwasher, especially because the tub is made of stainless steel. For homeowners looking for a classic yet stylish addition to their kitchen, the stainless steel finish offered by the LDS4821ST is perfect. And because this machine is Energy Star rated, you can definitely save a lot on energy and water consumption.

The control panel is semi-integrated, making it easier for you to understand and use the various features of your dishwasher. For a completely quiet operation, the machine's LoDecibel feature offers a peaceful dishwashing session. You can also clean a bigger load because of the machine's 16-place setting capacity. You also don't need to pre-wash the dishes before placing them inside the machine because this model from LG includes a built-in food disposer.

This machine also features five wash cycles, a SenseClean™ washing system, a Design-A-Rack™ system, adjustable holder for your stemware, 3 cutlery baskets that are detachable, and a Child Lock system. As for the warranty, the labor is covered for one year. The basic parts of the dishwasher are covered by a two-year warranty, the rack parts and control board are covered by a five-year limited warranty, and the door liner and stainless steel tub are covered by a lifetime warranty.

Disadvantages

Some consumers have complained that the water line for the LDS4821ST leaks, and it's quite difficult to stop the dripping or leaking. Other consumers have complained that the rack doesn't provide enough support for small Tupperware items.

Consumer likes and dislikes

Pros

- Energy Star rated
- Has a 16-place setting capacity
- Offers semi-integrated controls
- The machine is easy to use
- Offers quiet operation
- Is a good value for your money
- Has a Child Lock system

Cons

- The water line can sometimes leak or drip in some instances
- No enough support for small, Tupperware items

Comments for LG Tall Tub 24" LDS4821ST

Average Rating starstar

Click here to add your own comments

Sep 01, 2011
Rating
star
LG terrible service, never buy again
by: Olga Kogan

NEVER buy from LG - their service is terrible. We bought this dishwasher and it works ok although missing some major features. mBut 4 months after buying it, the pain on one of the control buttons is coming off. Went back and forth with LG (and we bought the extra warranty) but they refused to do anything about it. THe quality IS CRAPPY, do NOT waste your money on this company.
I bought a fridge from them as well and that has problems already.
STAY AWAY FROM LG. They will NOT help you.

Apr 16, 2011
Rating
star
LG - shame on you!
by: Anonymous

This dishwasher is a piece of junk. We were "talked" into buying it by a salesperson who waxed supreme about its benefits and how LG strives constantly to improve their products and keep their customers happy. She was so adamant that it was the best dishwasher on the market we were sold. Sold down the river that is! It has never completely cleaned anything since we've owned it. We are always having to wash dishes by hand and the dishes are always wet when they come out. We are in the process of renovating our kitchen and this dishwasher is the first thing to go and I can hardly wait to get rid of it. LG should be ashamed to put a product like this out on the market. NEVER BUY LG!! We suspect that LG offers financial incentives to sales reps because we had a similar experience when we were looking at TVs. Another brand was far superior in the way it displayed but the sales rep kept pushing the LG. When I told him anyone with eyes could see that it was inferior to the other model he finally shut up. NO MORE LF FOR ME!

Feb 24, 2011
Rating
star
can't use it
by: Janelle

I am so disappointed in this machine. We first got it, hooked it up and ran it - the dishes didn't come clean. We made some adjustments and kept trying it, the dishes never came clean and it was NOISY. We had the LG rep service guy out and he changed a part and told us we needed to redo the plumbing under the sink (brand new house). We have asked 3 plumbers, including the one that works for the company we bought it from and none of them know what he is talking about. We talked to LG's customer service and they were BRUTAL - not willing to help at all. We don't know how this will turn out, but know that there is a special way to plumb this machine that NO OTHER requires - RIDICULOUS!

Feb 17, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
working great
by: Anonymous

I purchased this dishwasher last week from Best Buy and once I got it home I realized it was the best appliance I had ever gotten.

The benefits of this dishwasher are that I don't have to prewash any dishes, the dishes are spotless when they come out, the dishwasher is quiet, it has a timer on the outside so you know how long the wash will take and it holds a large capacity.

The only downside I can say is that I wish there were a few more options for cleaning. My old dishwasher allowed me to turn on or off the spot free drying.

I would highly recommend this dishwasher especially to anyone with a family.

Feb 17, 2011
Rating
star
piece of junk!
by: Arthur Ward

This dishwasher is a piece of junk! It will not drain. bought it at Home Depot. After a huge hassle and argument with LG THEY FINALLY HONORED THIER WARRANTY AND HAD A REPAIR GUY COE OUT. THREE MONTHS LATER IT STOPPED DRAINING AGAIN. WE USE THE SHOP VAC TO GET THE WATER OUT. The Lg customer service is a joke! Try to talk to someone that speaks clear cogent english! NO chance! LG sucks and I will tell every one I know of my experience, too much money for cheap crappy product!

Feb 16, 2011
Rating
star
Bacteria anyone?????
by: Anonymous

What a peice of crap!!! We spent good money on this noisy whistling, food slinging, peice of junk. Pre-wash my dishes?? What the heck's the point of it all?. Perhaps I could go back to hand washing my clothes in the river too!!!
I have used almost every type of rinse aide available, used countless detergents, liquid, powder etc to no avail.
If you value time with your family do not but this unit.
As well it has etched my dinnerware, glasses and ruined most of my utensils. Not a cheap replacement you can bet.

Jan 09, 2011
Rating
star
Dirty
by: Joe

This dishwasher sucks! It never cleans the dishes properly and takes way too long. I am going to guess the anonymous rater on August 9, 2009 works for LG!

Jan 06, 2011
Rating
star
Disappointing
by: Alice

Dishes are not cleaned. Poorly designed racks and silverware basket. Cycles are too long: more than an hour for "quick rinse." Pot scrubber takes nearly 3 hours. You couldn't clean up breakfast, wash the dishes and prepare lunch!
I'm trading it in for store credit so that I can pick out something else.

Dec 09, 2010
Rating
star
Horrible Screeching, Whistling Noise
by: SFred

We bought a home with this dishwasher installed 11 months ago. It makes a high pitched screeching sound for HOURS during the washing. Tech says it is just water moving around or poor insulation. Very few options (no time delay) --- water barely warmer than cool during the wash. I hate this dishwasher and would not recommend it to anyone. I don't understand other posts saying it is so quiet.

Apr 13, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
High pitched noise
by: Anonymous

Not happy with this supposedly quiet dishwasher. Looks Good (LG) but Loud Gorilla. I will be calling tomorrow to see if there is anything I can do. Only owned this a year and half.

Apr 07, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
not as appears
by: Sharon

My LG dishwasher looks great, has good capacity for large items (that is why I bought it), but it does not clean well and the dishes are soaking wet no matter how long I let the washer sit to dry, even overnight. I would not buy this product again.

Nov 09, 2009
Rating
star
don't do it!
by: PM

don't bother with this machine. It is noisy, it makes a high pitched whistling noise, and it doesn't clean. We have had the technician out 2 times to no avail, they have changed the motor twice... still doesn't clean and squeals its way through the cycle, it is obviously just badly designed. Our bottom of the line Kenmore was better than this!!! buyer beware.

Sep 28, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Worst Dishwasher Ever
by: Doug S.

Tried to talk to support on line, they are as bad as their dishwasher.

I have made the decision to never buy anything LG.


Sep 04, 2009
Rating
starstar
Disappointed
by: Christine

I'm disappointed with the dishwasher. The glasses come out spotted, sometimes still wet and the knives have to be rewashed by hand because of food particle stuck to them. I have tried different detergents, added finish jet dry to no avail.

I have checked the water temp and it is the correct temp, tried power scrub but it seems not to make any difference. I practically have to rinse all the dishes before I place them in the dishwasher. So much for making life easier...

Jul 16, 2009
Rating
star
leaks
by: Doug

My suggestion: NEVER purchase this or any other LG dishwasher. The unit leaks and their support is horrible. Simple as that.

Jul 11, 2009
Rating
star
I hate it !!!
by: Anonymous

I TOTALLY regret buying this useless dishwasher!!!

I used to have a $300 Maytag dishwasher in my old home and it got dishes CLEAN in ONE hour.

Now, I spent twice as much on this LG dishwasher and not only do I have to scrub clean each dish and fork before I put it in the dishwasher, I have to run it for 2hr 15min or for over 3 hours in the Power Scrub cycle! It's absolutely ridiculous!!

If I scrub each dish and fork clean before I put it in the dishwasher (which totally negates the reason of having a dishwasher), then at minimum I will have 1 streaky bowl or glass at the end of the cycle. (Yes, I do use Rinse Aid.) If there is ANY residue at all on the plates, then it will NOT come off, even in the Power Scrub, Sanitary, Extra Rinse cycle that takes over 3 HOURS. What a waste of time, money and effort for this machine. I am really upset with it but I cannot afford to replace it so soon. I will try to get Home Depot to make it work better somehow, as I believe I did buy the extended warranty.

I wish I had bought the Maytag!!! :-(

May 07, 2009
Rating
star
DO NOT BUY LG DISHWASHERS/APPLIANCES!!!! YOU'LL BE SORRY!!
by: Tim

Absolutely the worst machine that I have EVER purchased. We bought this LG dishwasher, along with a new LG Range on 12-21-2008. Combined, we spent just about $2,000.00 for both. Purchased them at "Nebraska Furniture Mart" here in the Kansas City area. (I am a huge fan of NFM...)

The dishwasher didn't impress me at all from the very beginning. I liked the rack layout, tall tub, sleek exterior design, etc. However, it has NEVER cleaned all that well. I am traditionally a KitchenAid/Maytag fan, but decided to try LG this time. BIG MISTAKE!!!!

LG customer service is a joke from the word go. They hung up on me twice, and had only offered to send a tech out to "repair" it. I advised them that this WASN'T the problem, as it was working fine mechanically, but that it simply wasn't designed to CLEAN the way that other dishwashers were.

I DO NOT PRE-RINSE. WHY PRE-RINSE??? THAT's WHAT THE MACHINE IS FOR!!!! Never had a problem before... Anyway, I am still working with the store to take this piece of junk BACK, so that I can exchange it for a KitchenAid dishwasher.

As for the range, 4.5 months of use (only 2-3 times a week) and the glass cooktop coating is already starting to chip off. DO NOT BUY LG DISHWASHERS/APPLIANCES!!!! YOU'LL BE SORRY!!

Apr 09, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
The best dishwasher I’ve ever used
by: Anonymous

Dishwashing used to be a pain in the back and hands. Not only did your hands get wrinkled or singed from the heat of the water, but the constant scrubbing of baked in foods is really hard on your joints. I have 5 people living in my house, so hand washing dishes used to be my responsibility, and my hands are still paying for it.

I’m also very tall, so I have to bend over the sink to wash making it very awkward. I was thankful when I bought my first dishwasher, but it didn’t get the job done, at least not anywhere near the one I have now. One of my greatest investments was buying the LG LDS4821ST.

Never before have I seen dishes so clean and spotlessly dry than before I got the LG LDS4821ST. It has a stainless steel tub to keep dishes firmly in place without having to worry about rusting over time or breaking. It uses a Hybrid Condensing Drying System which is a unique drying system that makes dishes dry faster and reduces spotting. It’s great when I’m running low on dishes.

LG products use a cleaning system called SenseClean which measures the water’s turbulence and adjusts water and cycle length for more precise cleaning and energy efficiency. This dishwasher is complete with four wash cycles and three spray arms for a more complete clean.
This dishwasher has been a miracle for me especially with a small child; I don’t have much time on my hands, so anything that conserves time is a great convenience to me.

LG has always made great time saving products, and this one is no exception. The LG LDS4821ST is the best dishwasher I’ve ever used and I bet you’d think the same if you were to use it.

Aug 20, 2008
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
THANK YOU!
by: Mia

Thank you for that review. I was on my way out to purchase this unit today and searched a while to find a review on it. Finally found yours and one other on Home Depot's website. Thanks again for helping me make my decision. I hope I am just as pleased with it. :0)

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to lg dishwasher reviews.