Maytag 24" Built in Tall Tub Dishwasher, Model#MDBH955AWS

My wife and I got this Maytag 24 inch dishwasher about four months ago and have been really impressed. We have had a few dishwashers over the years and most have not been very quiet and many have been so damn loud that I often think that it would be better to just wash the dishes by hand and be done with it but at last I have found a GREAT dishwasher.


The last dishwasher was an old Kenmore dishwasher that did not exactly clean so well and was very loud but this one is unbelievably quit. I had heard great things about Maytag dishwasher and am happy I took the jump to them and I now know why. This was at a great price when I bought it and is truly worth every penny. That can be hard to come by these days.

I hear people talk about "whisper quit" to only usually be let down by something that is much louder than expected but this dishwasher is truly whisper quiet. It cleans the dishes perfectly every time. There is plenty of room in the unit and is actually quite creatively designed inside so that dishes can remain close together but not be so close that they bang into each other. I can also tell that this was built to last.

The door feels solid and the buttons are not going to break or need to be replaced. I have even tried putting in some dishes with food that had got really stuck on the bottom of a glass and it was no problem because it came out sparkling clean... Seriously!! I would highly recommend this unit without a doubt.

Comments for Maytag 24" Built in Tall Tub Dishwasher, Model#MDBH955AWS

Average Rating starstar

Click here to add your own comments

Jan 10, 2012
Rating
star
Maytag dishwasher burned up
by: Anonymous

My wife had just turned on our 6 year old Maytag when smoke started to billow out of door, control unit obviously has burned up, can smell wires fried inside. Being and auto tech I will take it apart tomorrow, can't wait to see what's inside. Not impressive to say the least, what if we weren't home, would I still have my house. Have a simple turn dial dw in summer home that has literally kicked this expensive Maytag's %$$ as far as cleaning goes with about same amount of noise.

Sep 29, 2011
Rating
star
Control Panel Keeps breaking
by: Thomas

I have replaced the control panel once at 2.5 years into the operation of this dishwasher. It has just gone bad again 1.5 years after 1st replacement. The dishwasher also stopped being quiet about 2 years ago. The wire ribbon to the control panel apparently has too much current flowing through it and it burns out. This is a common problem for this dishwasher. I'll never buy anything again made from Whirlpool. This item should have been recalled.

May 12, 2011
Rating
star
Hard learned lesson
by: Cathy

I too have had this washer for 2 1/2 years and the control panel-motherboard went. It would be almost as much to repair as it would be to buy a new NON-MAYTAG washer.

Also found out that maytag and kitchenaid are now owned by Whirlpool and we all know what to do with a Whirlpool.

My prior Maytag lasted over 10 years and so I am very disappointed now. Also found out that these appliances are now built to last no more than 5 years. Very Sad.

Feb 15, 2011
Rating
star
Horrible experience
by: Anonymous

I bought this type of dishwasher. It started smoking and I turned it off. Afterwards, it would no longer work. I called maytag and they said because I had it for 1 1/2 years it was no longer under warranty. Two months later, a huge recall on maytag dishwasher occured that result in same issue that I had. I had the same serial number but different model number. They said it wasn't included but all the others were. I reported this life threatening incident but no attention to my knowledge was brought to include it on the recall. I guess enough people with my model number did not report it. I will not be buying any maytag products if they do not take the safety of one person to be of importance.

Dec 05, 2010
Rating
starstar
Maytag Problems
by: Anonymous

I have owned this washer for 18 months at my second home and use it about once a week. It does a great job cleaning. It has gotten louder, but the major complaint about this is the control panel went out in 14 months. I called Maytag and they offered me 75% off on the parts. I ended up paying a little over $100. If it goes out again I will buy a new one and I doubt it will be a Maytag.

Nov 22, 2010
Rating
star
Lousy
by: Jerry

After 2 yrs the motherboard shorted out, cost of
replacement $304...........so not worth fixing!
Never buy another Maytag produce.

Sep 03, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstar
Cleans well and is QUIET!!
by: Anonymous

I agree totally! This is an economical dishwasher, very quiet, and it really cleans. I don't rinse dishes, just scrape off any large bits of food, everything comes out sparkling. Perhaps the only con is the soap dispenser that is sometimes difficult to close.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Maytag Dishwashers.