Maytag Jetclean EQ Plus

by Sue
(Annville, PA USA)

My dishwasher is a Maytag Jetclean EQ Plus. It is quite a few years old, and is the second dishwasher that I have owned. When I bought my house I had a “contractor” type GE dishwasher with no special bells and whistles, but it did a good job.


I decided to get new appliances after living in the home for 15 years. So, I researched brands, and after reading tons of material about dishwashers, I decided on this Maytag. After all, the Maytag repair man is always bored.

The dishwasher had tons of settings, a delay wash, a touch panel rather than dials, and everything that seemed would keep me dishwasher happy for years to come. Well…..was I wrong. This dishwasher does not clean. It does do “rinse and hold” well, but in order to get mildy dirty dishes clean, you have to use the “Power Scrub” function which is the setting that uses the most water, electric and soap.

Forget being able to put un-scrapped dishes in the washer, as the ad said could be done, since the washer had a soft food chopper or some such thing. I have been disappointed with this washer since the day I got it.

I would never recommend this machine, or even any other Maytag product. I think they spend a lot on marketing and nothing on product improvement. I have friends who have a GE dishwasher just like the one I used to have, and 22 years later it is still operating with no problem. I got caught up in the bells and whistles of the Maytag and have regretted it ever since.

Comments for Maytag Jetclean EQ Plus

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Feb 16, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Maytag Jetclen EQ Plus dishwasher
by: Anonymous

I bought my Maytag Jetclen EQ Plus dishwasher 10 years ago and I never had any kind of service what-so-ever. It still works perfectly. I would recommend it to others for sure.

Sep 17, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Maytag Jetclean-eq plus
by: Anonymous

I guess the dishwashers that people are complaining about were made on a monday,lol. I have the Maytag Jetclean and would recommend it again and again. This dishwasher is over 9 years old and I have yet to have to service it. Best dishwasher Ive ever owned.

Nov 23, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Maytag did the right thing by me- FOLLOW UP
by: Mad in Miami

After three motherboards, etc., Maytag finally sent me a brand new (better model) DW, and it is workign just fine now. I have to commentd them for standing up to their faulty product. Be persistent if you think you have a lemon.

Nov 18, 2010
Rating
star
Dishwasher
by: Anonymous

This machine is 6 years old and immediately most of the prongs on the trays broke in half. There is rust on some of them. Recently, it isn't cleaning like it once did and for the money I spent on this machine $500, I will never own another Maytag product. They do not make them like they used too. Pure garbage.

Nov 18, 2010
Rating
star
Why are my dishes coming out dirty?
by: Anonymous

My dishwasher is about 4 years old and recently the dishes come out dirty and not squeaky clean like they used to. Pots and Pans feel like a film is left on them and I have to rewash by hand.

What can I do to alleviate this problem?

Nov 18, 2010
Rating
star
The Maytag Repairman Isn't Bored He Just Doesn't Care
by: Sam

We have this dishwasher and have replaced the wheels on both the top and bottm tray. The flexible racks in the bottom tray have all broken off. And know the motherboard is gone. We bought this at the same time that we bought other Maytag appliances - a refrigerator that we got them to take back because water from the freezer defrost cycle collected in the vegtable bins, and a washer and dryer that we replaced sooner than we had replaced our older Whirlpools because we were tired of the repair calls. No more Maytag appliances for us.

Apr 29, 2010
Rating
star
three motherboards in 6 months and counting
by: Mad in Miami

I bought this Dishwaher in June 09 and since have had Maytag's warranty replace THREE (3) motherboards and a control panel. I've asked repeatedly for a replacement machine but Maytag refuses. Also- they are asserting that somehow I am mis-using the appliance. perhaps, they say, I clean it too often and the sprayer somehow gets inside and burns out the notherboard.

I have friend with the same Maytag DW going thru the SAME motherboard issues.

I will never ever buy another Maytag product. I suspect they have a product liability suit comign their way when these things catch on fire.

May 18, 2009
Rating
star
I'll never buy a Maytag again
by: Michael Asbill

The interior of this black, built-in dishwasher may be stainless steel, but the working parts are cheap plastic. Shame on you. The small endpieces at the back of each stainless steel slide on which the upper rack slides are plastic and keep falling out, necessitating removal of the lower rack and thrusting the upper part of my body into the dishwasher to regularly put them back.

Also, the plastic roller wheels along the right side of the upper rack have both broken and the upper rack is very unstable and frequently collapses.

I spent several hundred dollars to buy this dishwasher and have it installed. I have spent more than that on a number of service calls in the three years I've been cursed with this machine. All I can say is, this dishwasher and, by the way, wall oven/microwave (another story altogether!) believe the Maytag television commercials I remember from my youth. Your service/repair people certainly have not been idle thanks to these appliances. I promise you, I will studiously avoid buying another Maytag or Whirlpool appliance again.

Apr 09, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
The quietest and easiest dishwasher
by: Gwen

We bought our Maytag 3 years ago to replace another dishwasher that had quit working. The previous dishwasher was older and a different brand. This is a built in model and was the first one we got that was easy to install. The first couple of times I used it, I kept going back into the kitchen to see if it was running. It was so much quieter than our other dishwashers that I thought it wasn't working. My previous dishwasher was so loud that we had trouble doing anything else when it was running.

I have been very pleased with this dishwasher. There are enough different cycles to cover everything from dishes for just the 2 of us to family dinners for 16 and more people. And I don't have to pre-wash the dishes. That is something to get used to. I do scrape the dishes but that is a personal preference, not a requirement. The energy star rating and the small amount of water used has really helped. We live in a desert and water usage really makes a difference here.

We haven't had any problems at all and the only service we have had was because of a national recall on dishwashers. My Maytag has done everything it was advertised to do and more. I use it to sterilize and preheat jars for canning which really cuts down on my work and frees up time for actually canning food. Oh, and uses less water than doing it by hand. And the way the baskets are set up, I can use it for pots and pans without any problems.

This is the quietest and easiest dishwasher I have ever had and I have had dishwashers for the last 25 years. I don't expect to have to replace my dishwasher for years to come but when I do, my first choice will be this brand.

Mar 12, 2009
Rating
star
i agree
by: Teresa

This is the worse product that I have owned. We built our house and we decided to put in all matching Maytag products. (because the Maytag man is bored...) Much to our chagrin, within 2 months the motherboard went out...within 6 months, the trays were beginning to rust, within one year another motherboard, within 2 years both trays are showing signs of rusting.

Within 5 years replaced both trays top and bottom because the water sprayer thingy in the middle would disconnect and fly around the dishwasher during a cycle. And now of course, no jet dry dispenser because the dishwasher may catch on fire... hahaha We wont talk about the refrigerator here..... that response is worse

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Maytag Dishwashers.