Maytag Jetclean II (MDB8600AWW)

by jojo
(Texarkana, AR)

I purchased the Maytag Jetclean II about 5 years ago because of the 3 rack system. It performed very well for about 2 years, then the latch broke. Simple repair I could do myself.


No big deal. Then six months later the filter screen at the bottom began to tear and food particles clogged the wash arms. Again, simple repair I could do myself.

The plastic tub has simple snap together parts that are easy to work on. Every few months thereafter, I need to check the wash arms to make sure they aren't clogged.

Food somehow keeps getting into them and blocks the jets. Fast forward to year 5. The top wash arm and top rack wash arm stopped working.

I've taken it apart enough times that the plastic snaps no longer hold the main water channel together.

The simple snap assembly is turning out to be a cheap and unreliable assembly method. I've removed the top rack completely to limp along until we can purchase a new washer.

The good news: since it had 3 racks, i'm only down to 2. The bad news: 5 years sure seems like a short life for a dishwaser. Oh, and the latch just broke again.

I would not recommend this dishwahser!

Comments for Maytag Jetclean II (MDB8600AWW)

Average Rating starstar

Click here to add your own comments

Feb 20, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Agree with the above comments
by: Anonymous

This dishwasher has been nothing but trouble from the start. It's flimsy, the internal parts that distribute the water are constantly falling apart, it never cleaned dishes very well... I could go on and on. I'd be very skeptical about ever buying another Maytag appliance.

Dec 27, 2011
Rating
star
Was trouble from the start
by: Frustrated

Purchased all Maytag applicances when we purchased our first home 13 years ago (stove/fridge, washer/dryer, dishwasher). All appliances worked GREAT and with no problems. When we moved seven years ago we took all EXCEPT the dishwasher, but purchased this Maytag as I really liked the brand and based on our good experience with them. Boy, what a mistake...! This dishwasher was a problem from the start - numerous repairs/recalls on the middle rack's track lift, door open latch broke/repaired three times (it's broken now, but I don't care to fix), the wash program panel only works for 'regular' wash cylcle and now a horrible noise that sounds like gears grinding as the water cycles through. Every time I have a repair person come in, they comment on this particular model "keeps them busy". I've kept this together now with rubber bands and scotch tape for the past two years, but am giving up and getting a Bosch this week for Christmas/Boxing day. Stay away from this and all Maytags! They've really dropped in quality since they were bought out by Whirpool AFTER I bought my original Maytags and their brand/quality was worth something.

May 03, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
SAME ISSUES
by: fREETYME

VERY CHEAPLY MADE, BUT VERY EXPENSIVE TO BUY. WILL NEVER PURCHASE ANY MORE MAYTAG APPS

Jan 21, 2011
Rating
star
never again will I buy Maytag
by: Denise

Same thing, very disappointing, I imagine the Maytag repair guy is busier then in the good old days.Paid over 1000.00$$ dollars for this model 5 years ago and I need to replace it, simply falling apart. Will be looking for a different company!!!!

Nov 18, 2010
Rating
star
not happy
by: Anonymous

I have the same model. It's only 2 years old and most of the the pastic clips in the interior are broken. The latch also broke on mine. I've had 3 dishwashers (1 in the exact same location as this one)and none of them except this one has turned all my glasses (some of them brand new) cloudy - I wouldn't serve a beverage to a guest in one of them now. I would not recommend this model.

Apr 03, 2010
Rating
starstar
Wouldn't buy it again
by: Anonymous

This dishwasher has been a bit of a problem. It worked great for a year or so. Then all those little plastic parts inside started breaking. The flatware holder broke at the bottom, so it doesn't hold much flatware. We replaced a latch after about 2 years, which cost a bit, as it's connected with the panel. Now the top rack of dishes doesn't get clean EVER, and sometimes they are dirtier when I run the dishwasher, than they were before. The third rack idea is a good one, but if I want to use all three racks at once, it doesn't do well. If I put the middle rack up higher, then my dinner plates won't fit on it. If I put it down lower, than the water spinner thing catches on the bottom rack and causes all kinds of problems. I would never buy this one again.

Mar 17, 2010
Rating
starstar
only lasted 6 years
by: Chris

After only 6 years the water pump went out on this unit. Will not ever buy Maytag again. I always thought they were the best but not anymore. Replace with a Kitchenaid. Hope I have better luck.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Maytag Dishwashers.