Maytag Legacy - Quiet Series 200

by Chris Duke
(Guelph, Ontario, Canada)

The Maytag QuietSeries 200 was bought in June 2003. It was a low cost, but lowest cost dishwasher in the store. We were told by the sales lady that it would last about 5 years but we did not believe her, knowing it would likely last longer, especially since we had soft water.

Overall, the dishwasher cleans dishes quite well, It has a large volume, and the racks hold a large number of our dishes, glasses, etc. The dishwasher can be set to start in 2, 4, or 6 hours delay which is a nice feature. Actually, this is a very important feature since the machine is so loud that it makes conversation very difficult in the main floor of the house, so we set it to go on in the middle of the night when we are all in deep sleep. This also allows us to time-shift our electricity consumption.
There are a number of problems, besides the very loud noise.
1- The latch to open and close it broke after 1 month of use. I ordered a replacement part and it was very difficult to install. It was also relatively expensive for a small plastic latch. The replacement latch lasted about 4 months and also broke. Fortunately, you can open and close the door without the aid of the latch, so its use is uncertain.
2- The seal around the door does not leak, however, the seal leaves a rim around the door "shadowed" from the washing process. What happens is that scum builds up around the door seal on the inside of the machine. When you open the door you see an unsightly scum residue just inside the entire opening of the tub. This "scum rim" is about 1 centimetre wide around the whole opening.
3- The loud operation must be restated.
4- The wash cycle on "Automatic" is exceptionally long. It takes at least an hour to do a cycle and the loud noise makes it seem like a very long hour.
5- There are 9 different wash setting buttons, some of which can be used in combination. There is too many as we have never found need to use them all. The Auto Clean option works well. The machine has a Sanitize setting which is good for items you suspect may have dangerous pathogens.
6- We just ordered a new cutlery basket after 7 years as the bottom of the old one had small broken spots and cutlery would poke through the bottom. Both the original basket and the new one come with a very poorly designed attachment that can clip on the top, likely to stop small light items from flinging out. The holes on the attached "lid" are too small for cutlery to be inserted into. The lid does not logically hinge open and close, but must be physically clipped on and off. There is no place to leave the lids when not in use. It only illustrates an impractical and cheap design - serving as an example to other parts of the dishwasher design.
7- When repairing the broken door latch, i discovered the exceptionally poor, virtually non-existant thermal and acoustic insulation on the door. The door, of course is where much of the sound would emanate from, unfortunately two small very thin adhesive insulation pads covering about 20% of the inside of the door does not serve any effective sound and thermal insulation.
8- The two door hinges are very light duty and after a couple of years of use the fully open door hangs at a slight angle.
On the positive side, the dishwasher pump has not broken yet. The plastic interior avoids any rusting. I really like the large quantity of dishes and pots the racks can hold, and normally the dishes come out very clean. The "JetDry" dispenser is a nice feature. Since it has not died within the 5 years as promised by the sales lady, we have to live with it until we replace it with a much higher quality, quieter model from another company.



Comments for Maytag Legacy - Quiet Series 200

Average Rating starstar

Click here to add your own comments

Feb 11, 2015
Rating
starstar
CONTROL PANEL ISSUES
by: Nicole

We have had our dishwasher for 3.5 years and the start button won't work. From research online, there are MANY consumers experiencing this issue with the control panel. Worse, to get this repaired is the same price as a new dishwasher. I will not purchase a Maytag again!

Sep 17, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Redeposited dried on food
by: Anonymous

Very unhappy with this dishwasher's performance. Used to be able to scrape and lightly rinse dishes and they would come out clean. Now they come out cloudy and with redeposited food stuck on them, every time!

Have used many detergents and even cleaning agents in an empty washer with no improvement. If maytag whirlpool or anyone else knows of a solution, like something to take apart and clean, please post.

Really tired of wasting water, detergent, and my time. Also the spokes that separate the dishes are breaking off right and left!

Sep 02, 2013
Rating
starstarstar
Control Panel fine, racks deteriorated
by: Anonymous

After reading numerous complaints about the control panel, I now have something good to say about this dishwasher - we've never had a problem with the control panel! Dishwasher is getting old and we want to replace the racks. The racks began to deteriorate sooner than I thought. We could not replace them due to lack of $$ to spend on it. It is noisy, but there was a noisy-canceling panel on it that was pretty good until our contractor removed it in a kitchen repair and never replaced it.

Dec 02, 2012
Rating
starstarstar
Fixed the panel issue
by: Anonymous

There are many people having a problem with the control panel of this washer (the start/cancel button) but I found a solution on line for our problem. It is a matter of taking the cover off the door panel and pulling out the electrical tape/connector at the top of the door. Cleanng it will rubbing alcohol was all I needed to do. Hope it lasts a while longer.

Nov 01, 2012
Rating
star
Finally got rid of the Maytag series 200
by: Anonymous

My Maytag series 200 crapped out about a year after I had it. Contol panel just like everyone else. I did without a dishwasher for almost 2 years hoping they would issue a recall. I am sure they are just waiting everyone out in hopes when a recall is issued most of the dishwashers will be in the dump.

I finally bought a new dishwasher, NOT a Maytag. This time I am giving a Samsung model a try. Got my fingers crossed that this dishwasher lasts many years!

Oct 29, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Won't buy another Maytag
by: SBS

This quiet series dishwasher is the worst! It has not worked properly from the first day I had it installed. The company blamed it on my power supply. We finally figured out it was the door panel. I had the panel replaced and it worked for awhile, then problems again.

It takes forever to get the panel (keypad) to accept the cycle information. In the last few days, it won't come on at all. It is a horrible piece of crap! I hate it and would never recommend it to anyone.

Maytag should have recalled this disaster and repaired them all to satisfy their customers.

Sep 27, 2012
Rating
star
Quiet series 200 piece of crap!
by: Anonymous

Control panel already replaced, handle broke for the 4th time now and we are not replacing it again. About once every 2 to 3 months there is water standing in the bottom. I unhook the hose from the garbage disposal, shove it in the shop vac with my hands around it to make a tight seal and suck the heck out of it. It breaks loose whatever the issue is and sucks the water out of the bottom. Then it's good for a few more months.

When we replace it, I'm going to use it for target practice just to give it some payback for being such a piece of junk! I guess we're lucky it's lasted 9 years.

Sep 15, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Keypad doesn't wortk on this crappy DW - Fixed!
by: Frustrated in MN

Thanks to someone far down this comment list!!

How to reset the keypad - hold the start button down for about 20 seconds and release - the complete touchpad reset and we were able to start a cycle. We were about 10 minutes away from going out to buy a new DW! We have had our Series 300 for about 4 years and never been happy with quality of cleaning. When the keypad started acting up we figured time to get a new DW. Also, door latch broke awhile ago, but still catches enough to run a load of dishes. Now have learned about a recall for safety reasons. Wow what a quality product!

Sep 03, 2012
Rating
star
Piece of junk
by: Anonymous

Same as everyone else. Control panel shot after only three years. The dishwasher is also very loud (our dog is terrified of it), and leaves spots all over dishes. The cycle duration is also incredibly long--almost two hours from start to finish!

Jul 07, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
OMG!
by: Kayla

Well it is official, I am scared. I just moved into my new house yesterday and it has a maytag quiet series 200 dishwasher. I have been so excited to use it. I just started my first cycle and and curious to see the results. Hopefully I will get lucky. This dishwasher is not real old and has not been used much..... I will pray for the best and see what happens... Thanks everyone...

Apr 09, 2012
Rating
star
Junk!
by: Anonymous

We have had ours for five years. It was new when we got it. What a piece of crap. It has never worked. The dishes often come out worse than when they went in!

Apr 03, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Facebook
by: Anonymous

On the Maytag Page....Someone posted how much they disliked this same dishwasher. Time to get on their page and tell them what we think

Apr 03, 2012
Rating
star
Control Panel Fried after 2 year
by: Anonymous

Same problem with the start/cancel button..Someone needs to start a facebook page so we can rally all the troops.

Mar 19, 2012
Rating
star
From Christine S
by: Anonymous

I have hated this since day one! Haven't had mechanical issues, However my mother did within first year with the panel. She just got rid of it. It has always been loud and dishes have never seemed clean. It takes three flipping hours to get thru a cleaning, and impossible to load efficiently. I hate it. And give it zero stars. Thanks for letting me vent.

Feb 28, 2012
Rating
star
repair info
by: lindsey

Just wanted to share the link for where we bought our new touchpad. http://www.repairclinic.com/PartDetail/Touchpad-and-Control-Panel/6920244/1469761

We attempted to use the method described below using the conductivity pen, but found we didn't have a steady enough hand to re-draw the traces. However, those instructions were extremely helpful in understanding how to remove the old touchpad and scorched ribbon and replace it with the new one. We would've preferred to junk the whole thing and get something new, but since that's not always financially possible, I thought it might be helpful to share the link so others can repair theirs, as well. Ours is back to roaring and wooshing like new. We plan to have enough money saves to buy a new one by the time this new ribbon burns up! ;)

Feb 27, 2012
Rating
star
another one bites the dust
by: froggielamb

Just had to join the group and say at least I'm not alone! The control panel is shot after a year and a half! I would venture to say that it was problematic long before this because I've always had to fiddle with it..... This dishwasher was installed by the builder with new house. I will replace the dishwasher, but NOT with a Maytag!! Shame on them!

Feb 11, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Maytag Quiet Series 200 Dishwasher
by: Anonymous

We have had good luck with this product..got it in 1999 and only replaced the door latch and now I came here to see what I can do cause the dishes are not as clean as they used to be. Couldn't believe all of the complaints I am reading. I will agree it is not as quiet as we had hoped.

Feb 04, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstar
Maytag 200 Quiet Series
by: Anonymous

Yup, you are all right, it's quiet all right, because it's not working at all! We bought ours about two years ago. The panel stopped working on humid summer days, and the dishwasher was leaving a puddle on our kitchen floor. We had to just leave it off, and then magically, when the humidity dissipated, the dishwasher panel buttons would start working again. Now it is off again, and it is the beginning of February, so no humidity. From reading all of your comments, this is clearly a rip-off product. I agree we should do something, CBC Marketplace?

Media coverage would perhaps be effective....

Feb 01, 2012
Rating
star
Regarding Recall
by: Michelle

I suspect that if enough people file complaints, they would be forced to at least acknowledge there was a problem. The recall is only for the heating element, nothing about the control panel. After I contacted Maytag, they sent me a letter offering me an extended warranty for a discounted price. Not sure what to do at this point. Bottom line, they sold a defective product and should be responsible for repair or replacement!

Feb 01, 2012
Rating
star
Recall
by: Anonymous

Any way to get recall on this? or are we just stuck buying a new one? i'm not investing in parts if they will just break again.

Feb 01, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Same Problem - why isnt there a recall on this?
by: Anonymous

Same problem, dishwasher is about 1 1/2 yrs old and the start button will not work, it is loud and frustrating that Maytag/Whirlpool has done nothing about it.

Jan 29, 2012
Rating
star
Control Panel
by: Annoyed Jen

There is a re-call on this dishwahser, but not with the control panel. I am another disatisified customer who purchased this dishwasher in fall of 2009, and the control panel stopped working completely in Aug 2011.

Here is the link for the re-call for those of you who have one still working. They offer you a rebate if you chose not to have it repaired. Who wants a rebate on another Maytag appliance though? Not me!

https://repair.maytag.com/prjjck10/default.jsp?siteCd=RCU_EN_US&id=R173BV


If anyone does start a class action, I would like to know.

Jan 27, 2012
Rating
starstar
Worked for 3 Years....was a gift.
by: Raiderbeater

Can't complain as it was a gift. Control board died like all the rest....now looking for a new one. Won't be Maytag/Whirlpool.


Jan 20, 2012
Rating
star
burned like the rest
by: lindsey

So glad I am not alone in my dishwasher frustration! Like so many other posters here, got our Maytag Legacy Quiet Series 200 in the fall of 2009 from Home Depot. We immediately noticed it was ANYTHING BUT QUIET.

In addition to the wooshing and roaring, ours makes an odd whine or whistle sporadically. Weren't happy with how cloudy our glasses always came out...figured it was our city's very hard water. We started using the Finish Powerball Tabs which did help some but we ended up manually rinsing everything in hot water after each cycle.

With two toddlers in the house, I used the lock feature frequently. The first time the display acted up was summer 2011. I thought I must've left it locked but of course I was wrong. After I punched every button I could, I gave up in frustration. My husband started it that night with no problems, not knowing I had fought with it earlier.

Now it is Jan 2012 and the thing is messed up again. Only the lock light and the heavy cycle light will turn on (and just barely a flicker) no matter what I push. Going to try the suggestions here (thanks everyone!) but without a doubt I will never buy another Maytag appliance, especially after reading these posts.

Jan 18, 2012
Rating
star
I SHOULD HAVE RESEARCHED BEFORE BUYING
by: Anonymous

I'VE HAD THIS DISHWASHER FOR ONLY 4 YEARS AND I'M ALREADY LOOKING FOR A NEW UTENSIL BASKET. I'M ONLY LUCKY THAT THE KNIFE MISSED MY FOOT WHEN IT FELL STRAIGHT THROUGH THE BOTTOM AS I TOOK THE BASKET OUT TO PUT THE UTENSILS AWAY. IT STABBED THE FLOOR & NOT ME OR MY BABY!

THE BLACK TRIM AROUND THE INSIDE HAS ALREADY COME OFF, THE UPPER RACK CRACKED & THE LITTLE WHEELS THAT ROLL THE LOWER RACK OUT BROKE...THIS IS A PIECE OF CRAP & NOT WORTH A STAR OR A SINGLE PENNY..........DISAPPOINTMENT FOR MAYTAG.

Jan 13, 2012
Rating
star
Same person posting as below
by: Anonymous

Didn't adjust the Star rating before hitting submit. This dishwasher doesn't even deserve 1 star and certainly NOT 5 STARS!

Jan 13, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Maytag Quiet Series 200
by: Anonymous

I have one of these dishwashers in a rental property I acquired a couple of years ago. The control panel is now not working and thanks to the input of everyone on this site I will likely replace rather than repair it.

Wikipedia notes on December 22, 2005 Maytag stockholders agreed to sell Maytag to Whirlpool, ending Maytag's 112-year history as an independent company. By March 31, 2006 Whirlpool completed its acquisition of Maytag and began integrating the two appliance companies.

The Maytag name is now being put on Whirlpool manufactured appliances and if this dishwasher is any indication, I'd be wary of Whirlpool as well.

Jan 10, 2012
Rating
star
Broken control panel
by: Anonymous

We loved our dishwasher, right up until the control panel started having issues. It's less than 2 years old and already does not work. The "start" button doesn't function, nor do most of the other buttons on the panel.

Jan 10, 2012
Rating
star
piece of****!
by: Jill

Sounds like we all have the same problems! Mine has died-our local repairman called the part alone is $175! Not worth fixing! Yes it was very loud and had a ver long cycle!

Dec 20, 2011
Rating
star
Same problem, same runaround
by: Michelle

Have the Quiet Series 200. The control panel is dead. Contacted Maytag and got the same crap everyone else has. They say there is no known issue with this model which we purchased from home depot in 09. Tried to sell me a $250+ repair and extended warranty package. After going off on the idiot CSR, I will be filing a complaint with the BBB and contacting Home Depot.

Dec 13, 2011
Rating
star
Very Unhappy!
by: Anonymous

I'm not too sure on how old our dishwasher is because we have moved into an apartment that came with this dishwasher, and we were very excited that the place came with one to use. Unfortunately we were diasppointed when we went to use it for the first time, we couldn't even figure out how to use the control panel... my guess is now from this webpage, because it wasn't working properly. We had thought we were doing something wrong. The lights would light up for a split second when we were trying to figure out what cycles to wash the dishes on. We tried pressing all the different buttons, we tried holding the start button down, but nothing worked for us! Here we are thinking we're not doing it right, but this website has helped me to realize that it's the dishwasher's crappy quality. Needless to say, we'll be stuck washing dishes next to our lovely dishwasher for the next year, because I'm sure not replacing it.

Dec 13, 2011
Rating
star
Quiet Series 200 PUMP
by: Mom in California

Bought mine 2 yrs ago. I have had trouble with it cleaning the dishes. I actually wash them and then put into the dishwasher to finish cleaning. My recent problem is the pump. It goes through all the cycles but can't pump the water out. So, I now have dirty dishes and stinky water in the bottom of the dishwasher.
Anyone know if the pump can be replaced at low cost?

Dec 13, 2011
Rating
star
Maytag Legacy - Quiet Series 200
by: Anonymous

We purchased the Maytag Legacy Quiet Series 200 in May, 2009 -- If I had seen these comments prior to purchase, I absolutely would not have bought a Maytag. The lights on the panel started to dim approx. one month ago. Now the dishwasher won't start at all. Sounds like the same problem reported by everyone else on this site. I did contact the Executive Offices at Maytag/Whirlpool and so far haven't gotten a return call. I really don't expect them to stand behind their product, so the best I can do is make sure I don't purchase another Maytag product in the future and discourage others from purchasing Maytag since the Company does not stand behind their products. Extremely disappointed in this product.

Dec 03, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
Lasted us over 6 years
by: Anonymous

This dishwasher came brand new when we purchased our home in 2005. Overall, it has done a great job for us. After 6 years, it has now had the main pump motor fail. After reading the other posts, perhaps our older version has been more reliable and had fewer issues than the newer manufactured Maytag Quietseries dishwashers.

Nov 19, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Maytag dishwasher Quiet series 200
by: Anonymous

A few comments after reading the comments. I found the following website that cover the recall of our dishwasher : https://repair.maytag.com/prjjck10/default.jsp
I clicked on the link for US customers, filled the internet form and got a repairman the next day in the morning. He came and replaced the heater for free. Then he noticed that the control panel was not working perfectly (we knew that) and indicated that the repair + part will amount to $ 226 to fix it.
I looked on many websites parts and found the external control panel for $ 71 (including shipping + tax) on this website : www.SearsPartsDirect.com.
The part we ordered includes the control panel , the touchpad and the electronic ribbon that connect to the board so everything we need.

You can find the entire panel for more $ on other websites.

I am not the handy type but could unscrew the panel to see what we had to change. Looks easy enough when you have the entire control panel (+ touchpad + electronic ribbon).

Hopefully, this will help. We live in the Chicago area

Nov 18, 2011
Rating
star
There is a reset for the panel on this dishwasher!
by: SD Maintenance

The dishwasher itself is junk. A few days ago, someone pushed a button other than "start", and the whole thing died. I tried unplugging it for a while, but that didn't help. The appliance repairman messed with it for a couple minutes and it started working. He said that the panel is bad, and he will replace it under warranty. He said it should work while we wait for the replacement panel to arrive, but do not push any button other than start. When I asked him how he reset it, he looked very uncomfortable and insisted that it has no reset; and he only unplugged it. I already knew that wouldn't work, so I decided to mess with it today after it quite again because someone pushed the wrong button. I discovered that if you push and hold the "start" button it will reset the panel. I held it for about 10 seconds, but just push and hold until the lights flash and the cycle starts. You will have to let it run its full cycle though, so make sure that you have it already to go.

Nov 09, 2011
Rating
star
Add me to the list
by: Anonymous

Bought mine 3 years ago, It stopped working so repair man came and replaced the control board, (under warranty) then he came out to replace the heating element because of fire risks. then the buttons all did not work, then it died. A month later it worked 1 time and now is dead again. I hope there is a class action lawsuit. I'll join in.

Nov 09, 2011
Rating
star
Maytag Quiet Series 200 start button failure
by: Anonymous

We purchased our Maytag Quiet Series 200 a few years ago. The dishwasher has never cleaned the dishes completely. I practically have to wash them before putting them in the dishwasher. Now it will not start at all. The last several times it did start, I had to punch the start button with force to turn it on. This model takes forever to clean the dishes! My daughter can put extremely dirty dishes in her dishwasher and they come out sparkling clean. I'm sure it is NOT a Maytag! The Maytag repairmen do not have to worry about the high unemployment rate as far as they are concerned. I'm sure they are busy working on these dishwashers! I will not buy another Maytag!

Nov 06, 2011
Rating
star
Dishwasher and customer service are horrible
by: Anonymous

Soon after we purchased this unit, the dishwasher would go to "rinse only" and never wash the dishes. There is no way to override this and customer service said they would send a repairman out, but with the parts and labor, cost more than the dishwasher. It kills me to see all the water wasted on this piece of junk. DON'T BUY IT. We will never ever buy any junk maytag makes ever again!

Oct 30, 2011
Rating
star
I Fixed it! Part 2
by: Anonymous


1) Disconnect the power. (I didnt but for safety reasons you should).
2) Open the door and remove the interior panel. You will need a torks wrench (star shaped tool) to remove the screws.
3) Remove the screw from the black box cover for the controller board.
4) Unplug the 4 connects
5) Unplug the ribbon cable by pulling the connecter carefly back towards the cable. It doesnt come all the way off. It will move about an 1/8 of an inch and then you can pull the ribbon cable out of the connect.
6) Remove the remaining 2 screws, of the black box, holding the controller card and remove the box.
7) You should now be able to see the entire ribbon cable. If you see any dark spots on it then there is a good chance that is the problem.
8) Now you need to remove the touch pad. From the outside of the door take a tiny precision screwdriver or exacto blade and carefully pry the touch pad off. (http://screencast.com/t/QNf85aufkR77)
9) Now that you have the touchpad off, there is a blue film on the ribbon cable that you will probably need to peel back a little bit so you have enough of the wire trace exposed to repair. Carefully use the edge of an exacto blade to lift the blue film. You may also need tweezers to help pull it back. Once you have enough the wire exposed you are ready to repair it.
10) Clean the surface. Use a little nail polish remover to, on a paper towel, to remove any glue left from the blue film. Scrape off any brown trace that is burned up being careful not to damage any of the other traces.
11) Because the trace wires are very small, I found that it was very difficult to use the conductive pen directly on the ribbon cable. So I dabbed the pen on some scrap plastic and then used either the tip of my exacto blade or a pin to trace the new wire. If you make a mistake wipe it off and start over.
12) Let the new trace dry over night or what ever is recommended by the pen.
13) Using an ohm meter check the continuity on the traces before re-installing. If the continuity is bad you may need to do some more repair work.
14) Put your dishwasher back together and you should be good to go.

Hope this helps. I was very excited that I was able to fix my 2 year old dishwasher and not have to go buy a new one.

Oct 30, 2011
Rating
star
I Fixed it!
by: T-Man

I Fixed it! Read below.

I had the same problem as many of you with my Maytag Quiet Series 2000. I couldn't change the cycle, some lights were only partially lit, and I couldnt get it to start.

After reading this thread, one person mentioned that the ribbon cable was fried. Sure enough, I pull the controller board box all the way off to see the rest of the ribbon cable and mine was fried too.

Unfortunately I was not able to find anywhere where you can replace just the cable. Maytag was $130 to replace the touch pad. I wasnt about to do waste that much money on this piece of junk.

But after some research I found that you can repair ribbon cables by using a conductive pen (http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=3964901).

If this link works, here is a picture of my repaired cable. http://screencast.com/t/hzUmis0JyYb

Here are some steps I took to repair it:


Steps in next post.

Oct 17, 2011
Rating
star
My Maytag Quiet Series 200
by: Paul

Never Though that I would be joining this group.
Well on Friday Oct 7 2011 my Maytag joined the rest of the ones built for sale in April of 2009.

Unlike some of you I bought my diswasher at a after market sale for around $300. That makes it not worth fixing with a new control pannel.

After reading some of your responces I think I now know how to fix a newly purchased dishwasher from Home Depot before it ever gets used.

Thank You for all your post!!!!!

Oct 13, 2011
Rating
star
Mine too!
by: Susan

Ok so we were having trouble with the dishwasher control panel starting a few weeks ago but then it was fine. It looks like today it is totally dead....Full of dishes and full of frustration.
Can't afford a new one but sure am not going to spend money trying to fix it after reading what you folks have been thru. Thankful for this website.

Oct 10, 2011
Rating
star
Control Panel
by: Anonymous

Purchased this piece of crap in May of 2010. Now it won't start because of the same issue that everyone is having.

How there is not a recall on this dishwasher is beyond me.

Oct 04, 2011
Rating
starstar
Disappointment
by: Anonymous

There is a common thread among these posts. Most of these clunkers were bought at HD. I bought a quiet series 5 years ago at HD to replace a twenty year old Kenmore. the Kenmore was actually quieter than the so called "Quiet series" and cleaned dishes just as well at twenty years old. I wish I had never bought the Maytag. Tonight it sits full of dirty dishes and a start button that won't respond due to dead board. I wouldn't recommend this hunk of crap, rip off to my worst enemy.

Oct 02, 2011
Rating
star
Maytag applicances suck
by: trudy

Purchased new house 2 years ago with all maytag appliances, First the stove broke, needed new computer thing, then microwave, then dishwasher, needs new control panel , then the dryer needed new control panel. The Maytag repairman is not lonely any more. Terrible products. Did monkeys put them together. Also after viewing broken parts, they are made of cheapest materials.

Sep 25, 2011
Rating
star
Control panel failure - 5 times in 2-1/2 years
by: Anonymous

I've been researching to see if there's been a recall of this dishwasher and even called Maytag, with no success in any fix...except that we have to AGAIN buy the parts to fix it. If there is a class action suit, we'd like to be included. We thought Maytag was the best on the market, but we've discovered differently since we bought our house with all new Maytag appliances just 2-1/2 years ago. So far the fridge has been repaired once, dishwasher 5 times, washing machine once. Not too happy with Maytag and I'd never recommend their products to anyone.

Sep 25, 2011
Rating
star
Control Panel Failure
by: Anonymous

We bought our Maytag Quiet Series 200 in July 2009 and it is now inoperable. The control panel has failed and based on our research this is a known problem with a high number of Maytag customers experiencing the same problem for this model.

Sep 24, 2011
Rating
star
A design flaw burned the flat control cable; here is the fix!
by: I Fixed Control Panel

MAYTAG Quiet Series 200's control panel has a flat cable burned by the heat of the control processor unit next to it. To fixed it, run the cable *behind* the white insulation (use a scissor to cut a seam to allow the cable to run behind; you will know it when you are there) so it wouldn't come into contact with the control processor unit. My control panel cable was burned and after I put in a new one ($125 online)and re-route the cable, the issue is completely resolved. Yes, it is a DIY job but you need a "star" shaped drillbit to unscrew things apart and you need a small female hexagon tool to get the nuts out and back in. It took me 15 minutes for the whole job.

Sep 21, 2011
Rating
star
Control Panel dead after 2 years
by: Peter

Same control panel problem as everyone else experienced. Why everyone on this board is so nice - no one wants to call a class action lawsuit to get back at Maytag?

Sep 21, 2011
Rating
star
maytag dishwasher
by: Anonymous

ONLY 2 YEARS old and control panel shot. would not buy another one.

Sep 21, 2011
Rating
star
maytag dishwasher
by: Anonymous

ONLY 2 YEARS old and control panel shot. would not buy another one.

Sep 20, 2011
Rating
star
would leave o stars if it would let me
by: Anonymous

We bought our Maytag QS 200 in October 2009. We've had issues over the past couple months and yesterday it stopped for good. Would not recommend this dishwasher to ANYONE!!

Sep 19, 2011
Rating
star
Power in numbers class action for a recall!
by: Anonymous

There should be someone (lawyer) or consumer advocate that should, at the very least, make Maytag do a recall on this inferior product.

Sep 19, 2011
Rating
star
Hmmm....time for a lawsuit?
by: Barbara Lopez

Sounds to me like it's time to talk to an attorney...power in numbers? Or I guess it's just buyers beware with something like this?

Sep 18, 2011
Rating
star
control panel broken twice
by: Anonymous

I am contacting better business bureau, as no one in customer service seems to care that they ripped customers off with a shoddy control panel. I encourage you to also let your voice be heard! I won't be happy until they replace this (I believe) dangerous part.

Sep 18, 2011
Rating
star
control panel broken twice
by: Katie

AGAIN!! I am so frustrated!! We've already done the $400 thing for the repair man to totally replace the control panel. Can I do it myself? I watched him last time. I cannot afford a new dishwasher right now and once the stupid thing starts (something it will, sometimes it won't) the dishes clean fine. Recall? Did I read that somewhere?

Sep 05, 2011
Rating
star
Piece of garbage! Didn't last two years!
by: B Lopez

Oh my gosh- so glad I stumbled on this website!
You just saved me time, money and hassle.
Our 2009 Home Depot purchase ("quiet" series 200 Maytag)that was playing a "maybe I'll start when you try pressing the controls tonite, or maybe I won't" game with us has finally won. Thanks to your reviews, I see we're not alone and this is just wrong! At least now, thanks to you all, I won't waste money trying to get it looked at/ fixed.

Sep 05, 2011
Rating
star
Maytag Quiet Series 200 is not start
by: Anonymous

Hi All,

Do you know Whirlpool acquired Maytag about 7 to 10 years ago? All of the components inside of this Maytag dishwasher machine are belong to the Whirlpool, not Maytag parts. I believed, whirlpool is responsible for these defective problems.

Sep 05, 2011
Rating
star
Control Panel Issue
by: Anonymous

So I just had the same problem everyone else seems to have had with the control panel. One of my engineer friends pulled the panel off and took one look at the thin little wires that were completely fried on the ribbon and said "no wonder everyone has problems with this". Thanks Maytag for making a crappy product. At least you recalled the washer for a completely different reason so I am going to get some money to buy a new dishwasher!!! Thanks for everything.

Aug 24, 2011
Rating
star
Maytag series 200
by: Ron Leard

I appreciate all of these posts. I have the Maytag quiet series also and it has stopped drying the dishes. I was going to dive into it, but, now, in seeing these posts, I'm not sinking a dime into the unit.It is very loud; however, I never had a problem with the dishes coming out clean. 5 stars to this page, 1/2 star for Maytag products.

Aug 24, 2011
Rating
star
Bad Electronics
by: Gfarrell

Same deal. Bought mine 09/2010 and the control panel works 10% of the time. Have a few days left on warranty so I'm hurrying to get warranty service out here to replace the part.

Since this is such a widespread problem, it shows that Maytag did little or no product testing before putting this out on the market.

Aug 02, 2011
Rating
star
Same problem with control panel
by: Anonymous

We purchased our QS 200 from Home Depot in June 2009. Just like everyone else, the control panel no longer works and it is out of warranty. We've managed to get lucky the last few nights and gotten the washer to start, but no dice tonight. We'll be getting a new dishwasher instead of fixing this piece of junk.

Aug 02, 2011
Rating
star
Control Panel is DEFECTIVE
by: Anonymous

Sounds like Maytag is on the way to losing its Goodwill...I purchased the dishwasher in 2009 from Home depot. I experienced the same exact problem with the control panel this week and of course it is out of warranty. Maytag authorized service company came out today, charged $128 just to come out, and told me another $270 for the part. Called Maytag, but was told there is nothing they can do for me. It appears posts that many owners have experienced the same exact problem with this model dishwasher. HELLO, Obviously it is defective!!!...Congratulations Maytag for making a subpar product and sticking your customers with the bill! Plan on telling everyone I know to steer clear of Maytag products.

Aug 01, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Panel Failure
by: Anonymous

It's quiet. But I purchased March 2009 and the panel stopped working March 2011. Won't buy again.

Jul 16, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
we got ripped off too
by: Bomber

Yup, like you folks we were ripped off too by maytag and home depot quiet series 200 control panel died. This machine and maytag are lemons, terrible company.

DO NOT BUY MAYTAG you'll regret it!!

Jun 29, 2011
Rating
star
Maytag Legacy is not a good buy
by: Dishwater Hands

I purchased this Maytag dishwasher from Home Depot on 04/06/09 total price 438.50 There was some type of recall issued shortly after my purchase, and a local repair company came out and made the repair, as some dishwashers had started fires.

This dishwasher actually washed the dishes very well, with lots of room for pans and extras. No problems with the performance, I did not have to pre rinse as it has a built in disposal. It could be a bit quieter, but really not bad....

That is until it just quit in the beginning of June. There was a light flashing on the front panel, and it would not start. I did a little research, tried the fixes, (turn off the power, hold down the 1st and third buttons until the lights start flashing, etc.) Nothing worked, I ordered a new control panel, still nothing worked, same problem. Put the old control panel back on and called a repair person from Craig's List.

The repair person worked on the dishwasher for a couple of hours, could find no problems, and charged me only $25.00 because he could not fix it. After he left, I pushed the button again, and it is now working. I do not know what the repair person did, and neither does he, hopefully it will continue to work.

So I did not have a dishwasher for 2 weeks while I was fooling around trying to get it fixed, and I have no idea how long it will continue to run. I can honestly say that I do not recommend this dishwasher, as 2 years and 2 months is just not long enough for a $400.00 new appliance to last. You could buy an extended warranty, for 3 years for about $300, but if you do that you might as well buy a quality machine to start with!

Jun 05, 2011
Rating
star
Maytag MDBH949AWW1 Dishwasher
by: Thomas Lavigne

Dear Maytag.....

Same as everyone else here.... one day just a month or so out of warranty and it just stopped working. Like a time bomb. Do you really think I am going to buy one of these from you every 15 months? Piece of crap... Yes, I have checked everything, no sign of failed componets. It all looks new.... because it still is!!!! It just doesn't wash dishes. Thanks Maytag for producing such poor quality merchandise.

May 29, 2011
Rating
star
Quiet Series - wont start
by: Anonymous

I too have the 200 series and it's not 2 years old.

The start button is lit or flashing depending on the time of day. I tried to push it again to start the cycle but nothing happens.

There is a little lock light next to the dry button that is lit - cant find my book and have been trying to call Maytag for days

they say the wait is more than 10 minutes then after about 15 i get disconnected. Any help would be GREAT! eltfootball@gmail.com

Thanks

May 28, 2011
Rating
star
Junk
by: Anonymous

Easy to operate. Simply remove the front control panel after every use, wiggle all the connections and pray for the best. This is a picece of junk and you will be disappointed if you buy one.

May 20, 2011
Rating
star
who are these guys???
by: landon

these previous 2 comments are a JOKE!!! everyone here has the same problem....we bought a maytag dishwasher. I have a quiet series 200 and it is the exact opposite of quiet!!! Ive never heard a dishwasher make these noises ever!!! the control panel is not working properly, and the food and residue remaining on the dishes is maddening.

So we have a quiet series that is NOT QUIET!! and a dishwasher that doesnt wash dishes!!! Great purchase, huh? (very heavy sarcasm intended)

May 11, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
mine died early
by: Anonymous

We purchased ours in February 2008- it has recenly quit working- something in the touchpad. Wish I could find parts for it because it was good for the price, and I don't want it filling up the landfill. So if anyone knows a websie to look up and find out how to fix this I would deeply appreciate it. Thanks cynroxnix@aol.com

May 10, 2011
Rating
star
Control Panel Crapped Out
by: Georgia

I have the same problem as so many others who posted complaints. The control panel has gone bad on my Maytag Legacy-Quiet Series 200. Some of the lights still glow but the normal cycle light is very dim and nothing happens when I push the start button. I had a repairman out who charged me $65 and mis diagnosed the problem. I am so done with Maytag. I also have a Maytag stove and refrigerator. Just have to keep fingers crossed they don't crap out too. All three were purchased from Home Depot.

Apr 29, 2011
Rating
star
Complained-Maytag is paying part cost
by: Anonymous

After posting to this site recently, I sent Maytag a complaint via their website & referenced the posts here. The next day I had a call from Maytag. After disclaiming any actual problem with the model, they offered to pay the cost of replacement parts although the dishwasher is 6 mo. out of warranty. They would not cover cost of labor. The money is actually irrelevant to me; I'm a renter so my landlord pays for it. I'd rather they had sent a maid to do my dishes daily. Good luck to all!!!!

Apr 28, 2011
Rating
star
Maytag Quietseries 200 Dish Washer
by: Kim

Our Maytag Quite Series 200 is a real piece of junk. This dishwasher has "never" cleaned the dishes, especially glasses and cups. We bought this DW on the reputation of the Maytag brand name. This was a serious mistake that cost of family budget dearly. I will never purchase another Maytag product as long as I live.

Apr 26, 2011
Rating
star
Dont buy this, especially from Home Depot
by: Anonymous

**Home Depot sent shoddy installers who installed it but it wasn't level
**The same installers bungled the water connection so it looped in my sink "sprayer" - now I can only pull the sprayer up about 4 inches
**Home Depot refused to level the dishwasher until a letter was sent to HD president
**The control panel failed within the 1 year warranty period & was replaced
**Within another 9 months the control panel failed again - it is now out of warranty
**Within a year & a half, the dishwasher is not cleaning properly - the dishes have residue & even the part of the inside door isn't clean
**It is leaking somehow - there is mold/mildew

Apr 09, 2011
Rating
star
dont buy
by: Anonymous

Yes same problems once the warrantee goes so does the dishwasher have replaced the control panel 3x's the front top panel 2x now out again, replace the racks twice because of broke pieces but maytag was bought out....yeah they were terrible thats why on the commericals the maytag peeps were always on the couch couldnt fix it;)lol

Apr 08, 2011
Rating
star
Maytag sucks
by: Anonymous

Very disappointed does not work control panel. It lights up but does not work. Terrible disappointed. never again no maytag

Mar 15, 2011
Rating
star
Frustrating, have lost faith in the Maytag brand.
by: Anonymous

We have had our Maytag Legacy Series for just over 16 months. Control panel lights up except for the start button and won't do anything when you press it. Repairman coming out tomorrow. Really sad because we purchased it in the hopes of never having to see the Maytag repairman. Seems like from all of the posts on this website and others that they would have issued a recall. All I can hope for is that they have fixed the defect and the replacement part will last.

Mar 06, 2011
Rating
star
Run from this one...or you'll be kicking yourself
by: genny

Not happy with this dishwasher. This is not my first dishwasher. First of all with all the choices, why couldn't they put a temperature control so it doesn't melt everything. I think they drying cycle is set way to hot.

I have to wash the dishes before I put them in the dishwasher. I mean every crumb has to go. Now after two years of use. My husband went and bought a high powered disolvent because it wasn't draining. Let me tell you the dish film is even worse. I'm ready to kick it to the curb.

I will do research before I buy another one. It makes sense. Too much time wasted on this one.

Mar 03, 2011
Rating
star
Control Panel Won't Work
by: Anonymous

Same thing happened to us. We purchased the Maytag Legacy - Quiet Series 200 in November of 2009. As of this morning, Feb. 26th 2011 the control panel won't work. The lights work on the delayed timer but nothing else happens when you press the buttons. 1 year and 3 months, just like many of you stated. Called Maytag and of course the Customer Service is only open on weekdays. Called a repair service here in town. Cost to replace the control panel is $188 and labor will be over $100. We only paid $350 for the dishwasher. Husband is trying to dismantle it now, but I'm not holding out much hope. The whole reason we bought this machine in the first place is because we were told Maytag was the brand that rarely broke down. Really disappointed.

Feb 26, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Fixed for now... thank you 11/06 post
by: Anonymous

Update to my last post (2/26/11) ...
Thank you whoever posted instructions on Nov. 6th. My husband took the front door of the dishwasher apart per your instructions, disconnected and then reconnected all of the wires and then reassembled the door. As of now it is working fine. We'll see how long it continues to run, but for now I would recommend to anyone who owns a set of standard sockets, take it apart and make sure everything is plugged in securely. It's better than replacing it and if it buys us another few months then it's well worth the time. Thanks again.

Feb 17, 2011
Rating
star
Quietly getting rid of it
by: Wes

We bought this dishwasher because we thought Maytag had a good reputation but we found out that it wasn't deserved. It was noisy from the start and had a long cycle. It got the dishes clean at first but got worse over the period of a couple of years. Now we often have particles left on the dishes after the wash. I've cleaned out the bottom drain a few times and that seems to help for a while. Even though it is not that old, we are going to get rid of it.

Feb 13, 2011
Rating
star
Start button won't work
by: Sam I am

Same comment as everyone else that the start button won't work. I did notice in one of the comments below that there is a recall for this piece of junk. The recall isn't for the bum start button, but from the looks of the posts it should be.

Here's the link for the recall:

https://repair.maytag.com

You can get $150 or $250 towards a new dishwasher, but I'm not sure I want another Maytag after this disaster of a dishwasher...

Feb 11, 2011
Rating
star
Worst dishwasher I have ever owned
by: Jennifer

We purchased a new home that was built in late 2008. It had a MAYTAG 200 QUIET SERIES installed in the house purchased from Home Depot. This is the worst dishwasher I have ever owned. My dishes are always dirty after a cycle has ran, no matter what cycle, we have tried every type of dishwasher soap and agent if we try to use the dishwasher on high temp or sanitize it leaves an even worse film on everything. I would never recommend this dishwasher to anyone!!!! After reading all the comments below, I will not bother to have the heating element fixed and do not believe I will even send for a rebate because I do not want to purchase anything from maytag!!! It is sad that in this day and age of technology so many products are made so shabby and only have a one year warranty because of course they stop working two months after.

Jan 21, 2011
Rating
star
Tired of crapy products
by: Marri SC

I purchased my dishwasher from home depot 2009 control panel lights up but will not do anything I will never purchase maytag again any of there products

Jan 08, 2011
Rating
star
Absolute Piece of Crap
by: Anonymous

This dishwasher is so poorly made I can't believe they put it on the market. In the first year we had the control panel replaced twice. Our warranty expired September 1st and it's out again! It's correctly installed, no spray cleaners, nothing has been spilled on it! There's a serious design flaw here and Maytag ought to do the right thing and replace these defective dishwashers. After talking to one of their completely unhelpful, borderline unfriendly customer service reps I'm pretty sure that won't happen. I will never buy a Maytag again! Never. I'll also tell everyone for the rest of my life not to, as I'm sure everyone else who got ripped off with this product will too. That's going to cost you a lot more in the long run, Maytag. So suck on that.

Dec 22, 2010
Rating
star
Won't Start - other panel lights work
by: James

Everything on the panel seems to operation normally, except when I push Start, nothing happens. Unit was purchased from Home Depot less than 14 months ago. So far, I am very disappointed and will never buy a Maytag product again. Probably my fault for buying an inexpensive model (~$350 USD)

I called the Maytag support line, they claim there are o quality issues reported fro this model. I told them they might want to "google the internets" once in a while.

Per a suggestion on this board, I removed the inside panel and looked at the flat cable connector. I removed it, cleaned it and put it back. No changes. I have now unplugged it to see if after some time it magically works again (per another comment).

Unrelated, the unit was also whistling and making a lot more noise than it should … that went away on its own.

What a steaming pile of horse manure. Save your money, dont buy a Maytag.

Dec 14, 2010
Rating
star
Is this a joke?
by: Pissed off is my name

This dishwasher was purchased from Home Depot in August of 2009 making the purchase about 1 year and 4 months old. Sometimes the control panel works and sometimes it does not. For now, it has completely stopped working. I can cycle through the different cycles but 'normal' will not light up. When I press start / cancel nothing happens at all. Do not purchase this dishwasher. Stay away!....first time dishwasher owner.

Dec 09, 2010
Rating
star
pretty negative review this
by: Angela

Do not buy this dishwasher. I was enticed because it was a Maytag and it was pretty cheap compared to the other options we saw at Home Depot. However the saying you get what you pay for is true in this case.

We purchased the dishwasher about six months ago and have had nothing but problems. First off the 'Quiet Series' is very misleading. This is the noisiest dishwasher I have ever owned. That's not the worst thing though.

The worst started about 3 months after it was installed. The darn thing wouldn't drain. We had a service person out and they said there wasn't anything wrong with the dishwasher we must have hard water. Well we never had that problem with our old dishwasher.

Anyway my husband came to the conclusion that the drainage tube was clogged up. Apparently the drainage pump doesn't pump with enough force to push anything but water through. So, if there is even a little food on the dishes it gets clogged. Now about every two months my husband has to get out his air compressor and blow out the drainage tube.

Needless to say we are going to replace this piece of junk in the next few months with something better. We will absolutely not buy a Maytag again.

Dec 05, 2010
Rating
star
Do not buy
by: Brian

I will not buy another Maytag. Myself and a neighbor each had issues with this dishwasher leaking. The dishwasher is only 2 years old. Do not buy this.

Dec 03, 2010
Rating
star
Broken Door Handle
by: Anonymous

We have MAYTAG Quiet Series 200 dishwasher for about 2.5 yrs now. The plastic door handle broke with the door in the locked/closed position. What is the best way to open the door and what are the parts that I need to replace? HELP DESPERATE!

Nov 28, 2010
Rating
star
1yr. 5mo then R.I.P.
by: Jack

Don't buy this piece of junk. Less than a year and a half & it's dead. The control panel is non receptive. It's not worth fixing; I'm saving my money and will most likely go with a kenmore.

Nov 22, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
Well...so far so good
by: Anonymous

We got this dishwasher from our daughter who was replacing it with a new one at their new house, so free was a good price.
Its worked very well with cleaning, however we do rinse the dishes quite thoroughly before putting them in.
It is rather loud, but again, since it was free I'm not going to complain. The plastic handle is a problem, tends to stick at times.
2 years later...still runs, still works, which is fine by me.

Nov 20, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Panel quit working/ see recall
by: Anonymous

I have the same problem as most in that the front panel will not work. I used the link towards the bottom that sent me to a recall website. It appears that this dishwasher has a recall due to the fact the darn thing may catch on fire. Following the recall links I have scheduled a free reapair two days from now. November 23rd 2010

Here is the link that I followed.

Good luck

https://repair.maytag.com/prjjck10/default.jsp

Nov 18, 2010
Rating
star
WORST DISHWASHER EVER!!!
by: Pete

This Dishwasher is horrible. I would personally like to meet anyone who has had success or never had a problem with this dishwasher. I bought it in September from Home Depot and in January the lights stopped working and we had to get the control panel fixed. Then after 3 visits by the repairman because they brought the wrong control panel. They finally got it fixed but then 3 months later it broke again. Same problem. We have to wait around for another repairman to come out, assess the exact same problem. Then get a new control panel. This Dishwasher is the cheapest, worst, poorly made and manufactured dishwasher on the planet. DONT DONT DONT DONT DONT DONT DONT DONT DONT DONT DONT DONT DONT DONT DONT DONT BUY!!!!

Nov 18, 2010
Rating
star
never again
by: Anonymous

bought a maytag dishwasher from homedeopt 2 years ago and now it won't shut off unless i pop the braker......never again

Nov 18, 2010
Rating
star
Maytag Legacy?
by: Anonymous

I purchased the Maytag Legacy Series Quiet 200. This machine worked fine for about 8 months..then the panel on the front door, which has all the operating buttons on it just quit working. Called the "Maytag Man"..he told me that the part was going to cost $319. I only paid $350 for the dishwasher. I then called Maytag Corporate. AFter about 1 1/2 discussion on the phone, Maytag agreed to a one time replacement of the part at no cost to me.
Now..its been 6 months since we had the "Maytag legacy series Quiet 200" fixed...and now its begun to "not" drain completely. ITs not leaking and I don't have water all over the place..just about 1 inch of water laying in the bottom of the dishwasher. I've checked all the tubes going into and coming out of the Maytag Legacy Series Quiet 200. NO blockages and everything is connected like the Maytag Repairman left it.
AS I have read through the posts on this Dishwasher review page, I've seen that the majority of the comments are of the negative type..leading me to believe that the Maytag Dishwasher I bought was probably one of those that was made by one of the companies that Maytag outsourced their business too..probably in some remote island in the Pacific or in Mexico or somewhere.
My father was a Maytag repairman..and God rest his soul, he is probably rolling in his grave over this one. He never got the chance to work on my dishwasher..and he's the main reason I went with Maytag...not anymore Pop's...they've changed everything since you've been gone.

Anyway, I'll try what I read in another post before I throw this dishwasher away..but if and when it screws up again...I'm definately not buying another MAYTAG!!

Eric Croker

Nov 18, 2010
Rating
star
Regrets of buying Maytag Legacy
by: Anonymous

I bought this machine 1 year ago. Lights come on cycle select but will not start. I called May tag service and the Front panel needs to be changed. The part cost is aweful.They need to have a recall on this one.

Nov 13, 2010
Rating
starstar
stay away
by: Junk Dishwasher

We bought this Legacy dishwasher 200 series less than 2 years ago from Home Depot. Well it is a Piece of @$%^ just spent 3 hours working on it, only to find power to panel, no light , push button don't work, same as every one else. These posts of how good it is are bogus Maytag employees. If it was a good product, I wouldn't even be on this websight!

Nov 08, 2010
Rating
star
This Dishwasher Is A Piece Of Crap!
by: Anonymous

I bought this dishwasher 1 year and 3 months ago. The whole front panel went out and the dishwasher will not start. I contacted Maytag and they told me too bad, the warranty ended 3 months ago. They told me that it is my responsibility now. I think a major appliance should last longer than 1 year! What ever happened to customer service and standing behind your products. I thought Maytag was a good name brand but I found out that they make junk and their customer service sucks! I will never buy a Maytag again!

Nov 06, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Power Pannel not working
by: Anonymous

There is a thin control panel cable attached to the touch pad that connects to the power supply on the door. I found that the thin cable was partially hanging (not fully connected) from the power supply. This helped fix my problem.

Unplug or disengage the power source to the dishwasher. Unscrew the panel door and remove the plastic "inside" paneling and disconnect the power lines to the dispenser compartments. The Black box is the power supply. Looking down at the door, you'll see the thin flat panel cable to the left of the box. "Gently" push that back into the connector and put the door back together again.

Turn your power back on and test.

Nov 02, 2010
Rating
star
same problem
by: Angry dish washing guy

Same problem as the last two. Display panel does not light up. Seems like no power to machine. Lots of dishes to wash. 2 years old, sad. Anyone?

Oct 29, 2010
Rating
star
Quit Working
by: Doug Overholtzer

Just over a year and the control panel start button no longer works. No lights, no action. Part panel costs about as much as the dishwasher did? Laughing, just the headache I needed! Sorry, Maytag, as a mechanical engineer I would say you have an electrical problem and from all the posts a severe quality issue either in testing or manufacturing.

Oct 24, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
issue fixed itself.
by: Anonymous

Disconnected the power in the switch box and reset it the next morning. Everything looks to be working fine now.. Weird Gremlins.

Oct 23, 2010
Rating
star
I have a zillion dishes to wash by hand!
by: Anonymous

I guess I better start washing ALL of the dishes that have piled up waiting for this dishwasher to work. The panel won't even light up...glad I read this site now I know I can forget reading and get washing....note to self ... NEVER BUY A MAYTAG!!

Oct 21, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
Wash controls no longer working
by: GC

We have the MAYTAGE quite series 200, Modle MDB4651AWW3. Tonight we aren't able to get the touch controls to work. It won't move from "Heavy Wash" nor does the Start/Cancel button respond. We've only had the machine for about 2 years now and have been happy with it's performance up until now. Any suggestions?

Oct 13, 2010
Rating
starstar
Definitely Not Quiet
by: Anonymous

I have the same grinding noise problem as others. It truly is almost deafening. Its not just when the cycle starts either, it is a loud noise that gets even louder throughout the cycle. Was completely embarrassed when I started a load just before a dinner party. Had to go into the kitchen and turn off just so we could hear our guests. Maytag says I need a new motor, to the tune of $300. No thanks!

Sep 28, 2010
Rating
star
Fooled by Maytag name
by: Anonymous

Rinses with soapy water and dishes come out spotted with, and smelling of soap. Gross. Only solution I've found - Run with soap. Run again with no soap so the dishes get a fresh water rinse.

Sep 27, 2010
Rating
star
piece of junk
by: Anonymous

Same problem here. Bought the dishwasher 6 months ago and the start button and other buttons do not work. Lovely.

Sep 15, 2010
Rating
star
Joining the crowd unfortunately
by: Anonymous

Same problem as many here - suddenly over the labor day weekend the start button would not function. Then it suddenly worked & now dead again. Based on the comments I am reading, I am replacing it with a non-maytag product. Too bad they always had a pretty good rep.

Aug 26, 2010
Rating
star
recall
by: Anonymous

There is a recall on the Maytag Legacy Quiet Series 200 - ours will no longer turn on. The control panel is unresponsive. Apparently there is also a safety issue - electrical fires! The website to report your recall and request a free repair (or a rebate on a new machine)is https://repair.maytag.com/prjjck10/default.jsp

Hope that helps! Back to hand-washing my dishes until my repair appt tomorrow!

Aug 26, 2010
Rating
star
Junk
by: Anonymous

Owned it 6 months, but only been able to use it about 1 month. This will be the 3rd control panel when we finally get it in because it is always on back order. They can't make enough of them because they don't last but a few weeks.

Aug 26, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
Fixed it
by: Hillsboro, NH

Thanks for all the great comments below. Agreed its not the best machine out there. I took the front panel apart and cleaned the flexible ribbon cable. Put it all back together and lo and behold it worked.

Jul 31, 2010
Rating
star
Maytag is gone
by: Anonymous

The Maytag repairman is no longer bored. The dishwasher lasted me just 2 months after the warranty ran out and it will cost more to fix the control panel than it cost when I bought it.

Jul 16, 2010
Rating
star
Maytag Dishwasher & Service= Waste
by: UNHAPPY and UNSAFE

I purchased a Maytag legacy series 200 model in 2009. The dishes come out dirty (NOT CLEAN). The front control panel on/off has a mind of its own. It (DOES NOT COME ON) when pushed. Now, I find out after calling myself (NOT BEING INFORMED BY MAYTAG)that this dishwasher also has been(RECALLED) for heating element causing (FIRE).That might explain why the control panel does not work(MAYTAG NEEDS TO REPLACE THIS USSAFE DISHWASHER). Then, Maytag wants you to purchase a new dishwasher for $500.-$800. and they will rebate a small $150-$250. OR you can get new heating element replaced(UNSAFE/POOR QUALITY).The other problems has not been any interest to them =(OUTRAGOUS). (Calling) BBB, NEWS CREW, HARDWARE STORE,FRIENDS, FAMILY. MAYTAG NEEDS TO BE HELD ACCOUNTABLE FOR THIS DANGEROUS UNSAFE POOR QUALITY DISHWASHER.
PERSONNAL RATINGS WITH MAYTAG
POOR=CUSTOMER SERVICE
POOR= CUSTOMER PROBLEM SOLVING
POOR=WARRENTY POOR=PRODUCT
POOR=QUALITY

Jun 06, 2010
Rating
star
The dishwasher just died
by: Anonymous

We bought this dishwasher about 1 year ago and expected a good appliance because of the Maytag brand. All of a sudden it just stopped working, like other people have described. No lights on the control panel at all.
This sounds like a common problem and these should be recalled.
Will not buy another Maytag.

May 23, 2010
Rating
star
Ok if you plan on moving out of your house soon:)
by: Jolene

I've had my dishwasher for three years and had no problems
but out of the blue the start button stoped working I took off the back of the door and it looked like it was the top pannle
we looked on the computer and was able to find the part for 150.00 yuck I put it in myself and worked great but now it's doing the same thing so I don't know what to do I'm not sure
it's the same problem it seems to be worse and there's no way I'm calling the repair man.
I think I'm done

Apr 15, 2010
Rating
star
Don't Buy
by: Anonymous

It doesn't clean very well at all. Leaves my dishes with crumbs in them.

Apr 01, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
Disappointed
by: Anonymous

We Bought our 200 quiet series at Home Depot about 4 years ago. Grind it does do. We got it thinking we would be able to have peice when we had company and did not want to be in the kitchen doing dishes. I do not recomend it to any one. From what I am reading the noise is normal. Pay for what you get I guess. New one on the way in the near furture. DON"T BUY.

Feb 04, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
Good so far.
by: Anonymous

I've had the Maytag quietseries 200 for 3 years and have no problems(knock on wood)so far...It's not the quietest dishwasher but it's not the loudest either. Being on a tight budget at the time it was a good purchase and I've been pleased with it.

Dec 11, 2009
Rating
star
BAD DISHWASHER
by: Danny Dulgar

I bought this dishwasher from Home Depot a year ago and found it was nothing special. We never used many of the features on it, but now a year later it doesn't work and from what i've read, it sounds like there is problems with the main control panel. I now can't get it to do anything. It's just over a year old and not warranty.

Most of the remarks I have read are negative and it's odd to see that last two posts, be so lengthy and detailed, raving about this product. One must wonder if they don't work for Maytag?

Nov 11, 2009
Rating
starstar
Buyer beware!!
by: very disappointed

Maytag is no longer the great applicance that it used to be. I bought a dishwasher in MAY 09, the legacy and have yet to have a full load work. The motor was bad, and i am going through my third motor. The company will not replace the entire thing until i jump through several hoops and service calls. IT IS A LEMON. It makes grinding sounds, will not shut off, will not drain. Just junk. I am totally diappointed and bummed that I gave away my portable DW, as it ran circles around this DW. Then come to find out they do not make this model anymore. Really makes me not want it! Very bummed.

Oct 25, 2009
Rating
starstarstar
Bad Rust problen with racks
by: Shelly

We have owned our Maytag Quiet series 200 for 5 years now. We started hearing a loud grinding noise at the beginning of the cycle. I thought that something was caught in the disposer part. We tool out the baskets and discovered that one of the dishrack prongs broke off.It was in the bottom of the dishwasher. We then noticed all of the other broken, split, cracked places on the rack. They were rusted and had been flaking off into the grinder. I have been very careful with this machine and I now have to figure out how to get the rust flecks out of the disposer part. We have put some cauking on the exposed places. This will be a temporary fix until we can replace the baskets. We have also had some drainage issues. I have found that if you quickly start and stop the dishwasher it will drain fully.I probably won't buy this product again.

Oct 20, 2009
Rating
star
Maytag Legacy-Quiet Series 200
by: Evelyn

We have been very disappointed. We also made a Maytag purchase with the expectation of dependability and good performance; however It’s almost three years and now we need to replace the dishwasher. Our problems started with poor cleaning and now our control panel needs to be replaced. The service man shared that it's possible that the main control may also go.
We will be looking at another brand. I will do a little more homework this time and check reviews more thoroughly.

Sep 28, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Maytag Legacy
by: Anonymous

I have the 300 series and love it. Never had a bit of problems with it.

Apr 09, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Reliable and affordable
by: Devin Coughlin

I have owned my Maytag Quiet Series for just about a year now. I purchased it at Home Depot for some wears around 450 dollars I am not exactly sure it was some time ago. Home Depot delivered it and installed it about a week later. They also took the other one away for little to no coast. It saved me a ton of time and effort and also money. It is a great working dishwasher and a great value for what I paid.

It does not do anything special like some of the more expensive dishwashers but it gets the job done. It has a sanitation setting that cleans and sanitizes your dishes, I use this when cleaning bowls that my dog has used or I used for something besides food. I hardly rinse off plates before putting them in, but the come out looking perfect. It is very simple and is very easy to run. It only has a few cycles and anyone could figure out how to use it. Being young I do not want something that I have to mess with. I want to be able to hit the start button and head on my way. I am able to do that and I love it.

I would recommend this washer to anyone who is a budget. And in these economic conditions who is not budgeting. It comes in three colors white, black, and stainless. The stainless coast a little more, but looks great. I personally liked the black because all my other appliances are black and it fits right in.

It came with a one year warranty and I have never had a problem with it. It fit right in the spot where my old dishwasher was and works five times better. If anyone who is in need of a reliable, affordable, and easy dishwasher this is the machine for you.

Feb 11, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstar
Efficient entry level dishwasher
by: Curt

I have had the Quiet Series 200 dishwasher installed for just over two years. Originally, my wife would spend over an hour each evening in the kitchen, washing all of the dinner dishes. Ultimately, we decided that a dishwasher would be able to eliminate the need for her to clean about 90% of the dishes.

This is our first dishwasher, and overall, we have been pleased by its performance. We chose the Maytag Quiet Series 200 from Sears as we were on a tight budget, and this model offered the most important features in an inexpensive package.

So far, the Quiet Series machine has really lived up to its name. The operation is very smooth and nearly silent, and you only hear it when it changes cycles. It seems extremely quiet, especially compared to the dishwashers that I have seen installed in friends' homes.

What we like most about the dishwasher is that it offers a variety of features to choose from. There are several different washing cycles, ranging from a quick wash (which takes about 30 minutes) to a full wash and sanitizing cycle (which takes a couple of hours).

Our Maytag is very efficient, and has done a consistently good job of washing and drying our dishes. We have found it helpful to make sure that we rinse our dishes a bit beforehand, but the Quiet Series 200 is capable of getting stuck-on food off of dishes.

The overall access into the dishwasher is acceptable, with rolling racks that accommodate a wide variety of dishes. Space seems pretty standard, as this model can hold plenty of dishes.

We use a natural dish detergent in the Quiet Series 200, and do not use any rinse or drying aids. Even with this, we get consistently clean and streak free glassware, which I find to be very impressive.

The Quiet Series 200 dries dishes, offers food disposal, and is even Energy Star rated. My only real complaint is that the style of the dishwasher is very bland. It seems very plain and under styled, and I think Maytag would have had a better product if they put some more effort into the styling.

Our model is plain white, has lots of plastic, and offers little decoration or design cues. Fortunately, I have seen some of Maytag's newer economy models, and they look much more sophisticated. In short, if you want to get out of the kitchen for a little bit, you should definitely consider adding a dishwasher to your collection of appliances. It will save you a lot of time; all you have to do is load up the machine, choose your setting, and walk away.

Our Maytag Quiet Series 200 has not required any maintenance, and does a fine job of cleaning our plates, glasses, and silverware. It is a great model for the budget-conscious, and I would recommend it to anybody who is looking for an efficient entry level dishwasher.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Maytag Dishwashers.