Maytag MDBH940AWS Built in Dishwasher

by Sarah Edwards
(Plymouth, Massachusetts)

I bought this dishwasher in Feb 05 I have had to have the panel replaced once already about a year ago, and now it is gone again, at a cost of over $250. this dishwasher is a piece of crap!!! I paid $460 dollars for it 4 years ago, it wasnt cheap money in my mind thought it would last longer than it did!!! Same story with my Maytag stove and fridge had to have them worked on at least once. Maytag in my mind is JUNK dont buy it!!!!!

Comments for Maytag MDBH940AWS Built in Dishwasher

Average Rating star

Click here to add your own comments

Dec 07, 2010
Rating
star
Absolute Junk
by: BobG

I bought 2 of these dishwashers to install in my new home 4 years ago. The first one died 4 months after it was installed but because I bought it a year before I finished my house it was no longer under warranty. The second on lasted for 3 years of service, from what I have read that is almost a record for these pieces of S@#t. No more Maytag's for me. Keep in mind that many of these appliances are made by the same company (Whirlpool)when you buy a new one. Many Jenn-Air, Maytag and Whirlpools are the same.

Nov 18, 2010
Rating
star
Maytag Surprise!
by: Bob in Toronto

When we renovated our 100 year old house in 89/90, we went top drawer on the appliances. The Maytag dishwasher crapped out the day it was installed and the second day the repair man showed up to replace the control panel on the door. Over the years there were minor problems, one of which was the leaking jet dry reservoir. The Maytag Man told us it wasn't worth repairing because of the expense, so we did without the rinse. New Year's Day '06, I loaded & started the dishwasher only to have it catch fire & have smoke come out of the top. This was in the middle of the day & I quickly turned off the water & pulled the breaker. It has been my custom for many years to start the dishwater as I headed to bed on the third floor. Even with smoke detectors, there was no guarantee the family could have escaped a main floor fire at night. This was when Maytag had a recall on their machines for this exact problem, but my machine was too old to qualify! No more Maytags for this family.

Nov 18, 2010
Rating
star
Maytag Dishwasher
by: Anonymous

My 3 year old dishwasher's front panel and ribbon just went out. I have been quoted twice for $300. I can by a new one for a little more and it will not be a Maytag.

Nov 18, 2010
Rating
star
Agreed
by: Anonymous

My Maytag dishwasher is less than 3 years old and it just died. The control panel and the ribbon cable are toast. Junk. I'll never buy another Maytag product.

Nov 18, 2010
Rating
star
Agreed
by: Anonymous

No argument from me. No more Maytag's will ever again cross our threshold.

Aug 04, 2010
Rating
star
Rubbish
by: Angry in NJ

Purchased this piece of junk on 8-17-09,on12-16-09 the front control touch pad went just in time for the Holidays.It was replaced a week later.Now on 8-1-10 the control panel is out AGAIN! I had tp pony up $149.93 for an extended warranty on this piece of rubbish because every 200 or so pushes of the start button causes it to expire like a Bick lighter!Never again will i purchase any Maytag applinance.Maytag should give me the 3yr warranty for free,hell i could install the front panel myself they should mail me several so i have a back up one.I knew i should have bought a Samsung!

Jun 30, 2010
Rating
star
Garbage
by: Tina

No more Maytag anything in our house! We got the dishwasher 3 years ago and we've always had problems with the panel. Most of the time we'd press heavy wash and it would flip to light wash. But we could still press Start. Well now we can't even press start. What a piece of garbage!

Jun 01, 2010
Rating
star
Diddo
by: Anonymous

I also have major issues with Maytag (my model is MDBH965AWB). We are about to have the front panel replaced for the third time. Very glad I purchased the extended warrenty from Home Depot on this one. They would probably be better off just replacing our dishwasher.

Dec 10, 2009
Rating
star
Maytag MDBH965AWB
by: Cathy Martino

Bought dishwasher 3 yrs. ago and now the motherboard and panel are gone - to the tune of a $300 repair. Unbelievable! Guess the Maytag repairman's no longer sitting by the phone waiting for a call. LAST Maytag appliance for us!

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Maytag Dishwashers.