Maytag Quiet Series 100

by Gloria Bond
(Snoqualmie, WA, USA)

I now have a black, Maytag Quiet Series 100 dishwasher. I have had it since August 2004, when we moved into our brand new home. I am very, very pleased with it.


When our present house was being built, we were given the option of choosing between a white or black Maytag dishwasher; or we could choose a stainless steel one. At that time, I had just sold a home that I had remodeled myself, for which I had purchased a Maytag Jetclean dishwasher. We used this dishwasher for two years, before we sold our home. It ran quietly, cleaned dishes extremely well, and required no pre-rinsing. It was amazingly superior to the dishwasher we had replaced.

So when we moved into our present townhouse, I was pleased that we would have another Maytag. I chose black appliances, because they went well with the finish on our cabinets.

What I really like about the Maytag Quiet Series 100 dishwasher in our present home is that unlike my past dishwashers -- even my previous, older Maytag -- both its bottom and top drawers have plenty of space above them, so I can load dishes of considerable height on both drawers. With most dishwashers, the top drawers have very little space above them, so you can only put items that are no higher than tall cups and glasses on them. But I can even place colanders and pitchers on my top drawer. Further, my present dishwasher has fold down shelves in its top drawer, so I can put two levels of glasses on it. This feature greatly increases the loading capacity of my dishwasher, and thus, saves on energy costs.

Just as my previous Maytag, my Quiet Series 100 runs extremely quietly. Even when I'm in the kitchen, I often must go right up to it when it is running, to hear it. However, I think that my past Jetclean model cleans dishes better, and now, I must sometimes do a little pre-rinsing, which I do not mind, because I no longer have children at home with me, so I have more time to do these minor chores. I like my dishwasher's Delay action feature, which enables me to set my dishwasher to start in two, four or six hours. Since I am energy conscious, I always choose the "sanitize" dry to the "heated dry." And I would much prefer doing a little extra pre-rinsing to avoid the slightly extra energy costs that the "tougher scrub" feature would entail.

I feel that Maytag dishwashers run extremely quietly and are very well engineered and designed. Besides being among the top of the line dishwashers on the market, their prices are much less than a Jenn Air or a Kitchen Aid. Thus far, I had never needed to call a repairman for my Maytag dishwashers. They have the durability and reliability that all dishwashers should be made to have!

Comments for Maytag Quiet Series 100

Average Rating starstar

Click here to add your own comments

Apr 12, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
dishwashers shouldn't even be this good.
by: Anonymous

I don't see my other comment here, might have messed up the 'post' instructions, but thought I'd add that the handle broke inside the opening right after We first bought it, se it aside, and never needed it again in the 3-washes-per-week
12 years that it gave us excellent, very quiet service with no repairs. Was informed later during conversation with technician familiar with the machine that it worked as a "dummy" latch handle, and had no function...which had already for years, turned out to be true. Repeat: a dishwasher should not be made better than this one.

Apr 12, 2016
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Good to the last wash for 12 years...
by: Anonymous

Best recommendation I can give. MDBH950AWB 'Quiet Series 100' - Our family ran this thing every two or three days for twelve years. The dishes have been clean and seemingly 'sterile' throughout that time. Very quiet until last year it started making a horrendous noise. We used two-rounds of 'dishwasher cleaner' which brought back it's extremely quiet operation. The other day, the noise came back, and before we could buy more cleaner, there was water on the floor. We intended to buy another similar Maytag, but because our local Lowes didn't have this brand. We bought a Bosch. Saw these reviews and had to give this machine it's due...almost wish we had put more effort into buying another Maytag. Dishwashers shouldn't be made better than this one was.

Oct 01, 2014
Rating
star
scrapt
by: Anonymous

Dishes come out dirtier :-(

Jul 09, 2014
Rating
star
A total Piece of Junk
by: Anonymous

I don't even know where to begin, dishes come out dirtier that they were before I load them, noisy, leaking water…can't wait to get rid of it

Jun 17, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
washes for HOURS
by: Anonymous

Aside from the typical broken handle, is anyone else's machine running for several HOURS for a normal wash? Right now I'm doing a "quick wash" and we are on the 2nd hour. RIDICULOUS!!!

May 08, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
If Only I'd seen this page 10 years ago...
by: Anonymous

We too bought a Maytag Quiet 100. Loved all the features: multi depth racks, lots of spray nozzles, silverware tray with nifty cover (to keep all the light baby bottle items in place rather than stuck to the heating element on the bottom when they blow out of position during the cycle).

Smart design we thought, boy were we wrong. We are on the 3rd or 4th door handle and have now broken the plastic over the handle so will have to replace the whole door to make it really work again. The good thing, if you yank it open and slam it shut it still works (if you do it wrong it washes the kitchen floor for you too).

Our dishes were clean for the first 2-3 years and have gotten progressively worse since and now have red dots on them from the rack tips wearing through. That is getting better from year 5-6 on though as now most of the vertical rack pieces have just fallen off. So much for holding the dishes up.

Wow, extremely poor quality. Maytag, if your going to pay the money for a decent engineer don't throw it away with junk parts. There will be no more Maytags in my house, you've lost my business for good. I work hard for my money, and try to spend it wisely. You fooled me once, I won't be fooled again. Mike

Dec 07, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Guess I didn't have the same experience
by: Anonymous

I just used this dishwasher for 10+ years. Came with the house. Used and abused. Couldn't even screw it into the corian countertops and it fell forward on a regular basis, banging on the tile, the entire weight shifted forward. Worked and worked. Yah, there was crap on the glasses for the last two years. Whatever. Sterile, hot outta the dishwasher. Yup, I sprayed 'em off. Yep, they came out of the dishwasher too hot to touch. I'm buying another Maytag, most likely.

Mar 31, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
doesnt clean
by: fedup_in_sunnyvale

bought it in 2004.
For the past year, tried several cleaners/rinser/
empty pre-wash cycles no loads, other things found
on forums.
It doesn't clean- small dirt particle keep
coming up and the dishes/cups are filled with them.
Isn't any easy way to get to the filters, tried
it nonetheless, no better results..
wont buy this one again.

Jan 10, 2012
Rating
star
$385 repair??!
by: Anonymous

That's insane...a quality dishwasher would cost $385 brand new! I think part of this whole issue is the repairmen, themselves. We had a GE repairman come to our house to repair an old, value-series washing machine. He charged $200, and only did 5 minutes of work that needed no parts!!! We were so busy at the time, we didn't have time to go shopping for a new washer, so we choked it down. That was G.E. My aunt is going round & round with Samsung who was going to charge $180 to fix a door on their faulty microwave that was fixed before. She was able to pressure them to eat the labor portion, since it was JUST off warranty. I replaced this handle, myself, for about $20, with my mechanic brother's help. I could have done it myself, and am sure I will probably have to do it, again, based on what I've read here. We've had it for 6 years, and it's still running. The new handle is working out well. It's the loudest dishwasher we've ever had!

Jan 06, 2012
Rating
star
Broken handle costs $385?!
by: Anonymous

I'm sitting here with the Maytag repair man speaking to my husband in the kitchen, telling us we need a whole new panel (which, by the way, they just repaired not 4 months ago) because the handle on the machine is broken.

Cost? Nearly $400.

Never, ever again. Maytag, whom I formerly liked, will not be getting my $$$ again. I'll be buying a new dishwasher rather than replacing the front panel on this one, and it won't be a Maytag.

Extremely disappointed that an otherwise good product is built to break.

Dec 13, 2011
Rating
star
Another Handle Bits the Dust
by: Anonymous

Wow. I am searching online for Maytag parts because our handle just broke. I came across this blog. It seems like everyone is having this problem. It is sad that you pay $400 dollars for a dishwasher and they aren't made to last more than 3 years. Cheap plastic parts. Why would you have a plastic piece pivoting in another plastic piece. They couldn't spend a few more cents and make the handle piece metal. I just find it appalling that they would rather save a few cents by making cheap parts knowing they won't last instead of a quality product. Is there any company out there that is willing to make a quality product.

Nov 13, 2011
Rating
star
Nothing quiet about it
by: Anonymous

Was brand new and came with our new home purchase in 2005. The dishwasher is loud - we can hear it clearly in every room when it runs and does not clean the dishes well. (Multiple runs often needed or hand washing) It also seems to run for many hours when it does actually run but still does not clean the dishes. Nothing has broken off yet, but pushing the start button does not guarantee it will run. Often we start it 3-4 or more times before it runs. terrible dishwasher, do not buy this one.

Nov 06, 2011
Rating
star
Should Be RECALLED- coil melting bottom rack
by: Anonymous

We have had our Maytag for about 5 years, no problems with the handle, however, we are noticing burn and melting areas on our lower rack in the dishwasher. When we took out the rack and turned it over, the the plastic encasing on the rack itself, is melted , burned and pieces of the rack are breaking off. Soon, I will not have the pieces of the rack to hold the plates, etc. in place.
This also, seems to be a HUGE FIRE HAZZARD!!!This should be recalled in my opinion!!!!
My dishes, too, do not usually get cleaned with just one wash....rediculous.

Sep 17, 2011
Rating
star
Handle Break
by: Anonymous

My handle broke after the warranty ran out. I too am stuck with the $150 replacement. I think the unit ran about $400 new in 2003. The unit is very loud, the racks are rusted out. All in all this is at best suited for a rental unit. Junk.....

Sep 16, 2011
Rating
star
Junk Dishwasher for Our New House
by: Anonymous

We built a new home and the Maytag Quiet Series 100 was our choice in dishwashers. It turned out to be the biggest disappointment. Of course the latch was the first thing to break. Then the circit board. Now it is trash and I am searching the web, trying not to get ripped off again! The dishes come out diriter than when they went in!!!!

Aug 12, 2011
Rating
star
This machine sucks
by: Jamie in Algonac

I had this Maytag professionally installed when I put an addition on my house in 2003. It worked okay for about a year or two. I had, unfortunately, been spoiled rotten by my little "half-sized" no brand dishwasher I picked up in 1997 at ABC Warehouse, which used to get even the most disgusting dishes bright and sparkling clean--no additives, or rinse agents, or anything else. Just load, add soap, push start. With the Maytag, we read the stupid manual, put in the rinsing agent, used the recommended amount of soap, we rinsed all food off the dishes, prewashed anything dried on--basically, the dishes went in mostly clean. They still only came out moderately clean. After two years, I found myself rewashing about 1/3 of the stuff that went in. Then, the handle broke. Then it broke again. Then, I started getting dirt, grit, and brown stains all over my dishes. I was told to "use less soap," followed by the guy running some type of cleaner through the dishwasher. I got moderate results, usually had to rinse off 1/2 the dishes that came out after that. Then it happened again. He blamed the drawer--said it was rusting, so he put some silicone on it. Problem kept getting worse, got it looked at again. Same guy, same line of BS. This thing is garbage. The Maytag commercials are fraudulent. I will never buy one of these POS Maytags again!

Aug 03, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Maytag Quiet Series 100
by: Anonymous

I also thought my dishwasher was loud. That was until I finished installing it. To make this, and probably any other dishwasher quiet, you need to install insulation under the machine. If it has been loud, most likely the installer never put insulation under the machine. You have to do so without letting it touch the motor. Best to use a kraft faced type with the kraft paper facing up and against the motor. To do, remove the kick panel underneath the door and slid it as far back as possible. 6" x 23" fiberglass is good. Sound deadening type is even better, but not readily available. Make sure to 'roll' some excess up in front where the kick panel goes before putting back. Once I installed the insulation, it made a HUGE difference in sound.

Jul 20, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Cheaper handles
by: Tori Kelly

We bought a replacement handle online for about $20...just dig around...very easy to replace.

Jul 20, 2011
Rating
starstar
No service
by: Mark Hoehn

Handle broke they want 36 for a new one. Faceplate broke plastic part on front. New face plate cost 70.00 wait sorry YOU CANT EVEN GET IT WITHOUT BUYING ALL OF THE ELECTRONICS $150.00. I understand that somethings are molded together but this is clearly not!!! company used to sell it separately even gave me a price. Then the customer service guy said they no longer sell it separately would have cost me 70.00, but now i have to buy a new one. Honestly it is a real shame. I will never again purchase Maytag/Whirlpool again. i understand things break but atleast make it reasonable it replace parts. the handle they want 36 for is 3 inches of plastic, but you can no longer buy the handle you have to get the new designed one because the other one broke so so many times!!! Bought in 2004. Maytag would rather make a quick buck than have a customer for life. I hope they enjoy their quick buck1

Jul 16, 2011
Rating
starstar
Glasses Dirty
by: Anonymous

This dishwasher has a problem with drainage and consistently sprays dirt particles on clean items. Glasses consistently come out dirtier than when they went in.

Jun 07, 2011
Rating
star
Garbage
by: Anonymous

Piece of junk,repair two times, cost a lot of money, never never buy Maytag again.

Mar 08, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
All in all, I made a good purchase.
by: Virginia A.

I’ve had three dishwashers in my life. The first two were GE’s and I can’t say I was dissatisfied with them, but when it came time to purchase one for my kitchen in a newly remodeled home, I was living in a small city far from easy access to stores with a large selection of machines. So I went to the local appliance store, Kolhage’s by name, and there I had to select what they had in stock or on the floor.

My new kitchen was decorated in a neutral shade of beige or bone, with wall tiles of the same color, so any appliances needed to be “bone”, not another color. The store had a dishwasher in my price range that happened to be a Maytag Quiet Series 100, so I purchased it. That was two years ago and I am very happy with it. The other dishwashers I had were so loud that if I turned them on after a late dinner party, I couldn’t get to sleep until the machine stopped washing and was on the dry cycle.

So when I used the Maytag for the first time, it was so quiet that I had to get up off the couch and go into the kitchen to check on it because I thought that it was not working! I actually had not thought of the noise when I was purchasing it but it turned out to be a blessing.

Also, I have never had to re-wash anything, even small pots and pans that are put into it. It has a “rinse only” cycle, which comes in very handy, as I live alone and do not fill the dishwasher daily. If there are sticky dishes or pans in it, that cycle is convenient.

Feb 09, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Not Quiet...Broken handle
by: Tori K

I'm am so enlightened. This dishwasher was in our 20yo home when we purchased in 2005...so we were never quite sure when it was installed, but now we've narrowed it to 2003-2004. Could have been newer when we bought it. It's certainly not "quiet". We've laughed about that. Which is said, b/c our home has an "open flow" and the Kitchen & Living Room (w/TV) flow together, so w try to only run the dishwasher overnight, but boy that makes me nervous. If it flooded, we wouldn't know until morning. There's some subfloor damage around the dishwasher, which we image happened when the previous dishwasher died. It's just a matter of time. I am surprised to hear all the broken handle comments. Wow. I, too, continue to just use it. I'm not sure how/why it still latches, since it's not properly squeezing together, but I don't want to mess with it. It'll die soon enough, and then like the other commentor, we'll check db levels of other models and stay away from cheapo plastic dishwashers! I practically clean everything before it goes in. That's a usual procedure: to prerinse.

Jan 21, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Not 'quiet' at all
by: Anonymous

We have had our Maytag Quiet Series 100 for about eight years now. The door latch, just like so many other's, broke about five years ago. Although, I have to say, I don't miss it and it doesn't interfere with the operation. I just pull it open.

Recently it started making a terrible grinding noise. I torn it apart and found a little black pebble in the chopper blade area. (Have no idea where the pebble came from; it looks unlike any rocks/pebbles we have around here.) But, I'm happy that I solved it without having to pay for a repairman to come out.

"Quiet"... absolutely NOT! It is extremely noisy and I'm very disappointed with Maytag for calling it 'quiet'. Next dishwasher will more than likely be a Kitchen Aid -- and I will make sure I look at the dBA noise rating. Although, we do delay start and run it while we sleep normally, but I hate when I have to run it when I'm in the kitchen.

Jan 04, 2011
Rating
star
Dish washer lasted 6 years
by: Anonymous

According to web reports, if properly maintained, a dishwasher should last on average 15 years. Our dishwasher lasted 6 years, handle broke after 3 years, fixed and broke again after another 3 years. We kepy it clean and maintained but obviously this did not help. In addition to a broken handle the dishwasher was loud. We have purchased a Kitchen Aid dishwasher and are very impressed with its quality. I would not recommend a Maytag dishwasher to anyone.

Dec 06, 2010
Rating
star
more of same
by: schmuzikcups

Broken handle, dishes that don't get clean, etc. Avoid these dishwashers like a Biblical plague.

Nov 14, 2010
Rating
star
Terrible Awful
by: Anonymous

The dishwasher was here when we bought the house in 2004 - but had been recently installed. Things were ok for a few years, but about a year ago the handle broke, and the computer board went on the fritz and had to be replaced. Then the thing began flooding into our kitchen and ruined our laminate flooring. And the thing doesn't seem to wash the dishes anymore - as with other comments here, we too see more grit and dried on food on the "clean" dishes than on the dirty dishes that we religiously rinse clean before loading. Bowls, glasses and mugs are the worst - they are dirty and must be washed again when they come out of the dishwasher.

Oct 30, 2010
Rating
star
Mean Dishwasher
by: Stephane Russell

This really is a mean, and I do mean MEAN, Dishwasher. I too exepected the best from Maytag. Also, we we're attracted by it's "Quiet" claim.

Just to begin with a short story, I replaced four times the handle. The last one had metal peaces on it, exactly where it breaks. Finally!

At the beginning, it was washing perfectly. Than something falled into the bottom and made a strange noise. Than it starded to make a really bad washing. It was under garanty, so the famous Maytag repairman came and replaced a few peaces, a rotor and some plastic plates in the bottom. That didn't improve nothing, and the garanty went off.

So, I got tired and didn't want to hire a repairman who would charge me the maximum without repairing a thing. I unmounted the whole thing from bottom up, everything, and finally found a cheap plastic pin that was rotating a wheel. It wasn't fitting anymore on the wheel, so the water pressure was very low, explaining the fact that it didn't wash well. I got a replacement part, this one was in metal: Maytag knew the problem! I mean, I know this dishwasher by heart now, since nothing was left unmounted! And I did a way better job than those Maytag repairmans, since I solved the problem. For a while, because the whole is in constant degradation. Like Freikenstein!

Even if I was registered, Maytag never advised me of anything, even if they obviously knew they was a problem. I concluded that this dishwasher was a new series of dishwasher made with plastic peaces to lower it's price. But the result is worst than cheap, since the cheap dishwasher we had before was doing a way better job.

Still today, I have to unmount it regullarly to fix the dishwasher. I decided to wait as much as possible before replacing it, because I won't spend for a new dishwasher every two years. Especcially that we had to replace our washer machine and dryer last year, plus thounsands of $ of renovations.

In short, this is 5 or 6 years of constant frustrations. We wanted a Whirlpool for an evantual replacement, but this company bought Maytag. Should I trust them? Well, this time I won't buy before doing some serious research. But I concluded that I should never buy the first model of a new series.

Oct 23, 2010
Rating
star
Plastic Junk
by: Chrisp

All plastic makes for crappy product. Screws are striped, handle broke 3 times during normail/extended warrentee.
Needs to be recalled. +

Oct 08, 2010
Rating
star
What a disapointment!!!
by: John R.

We replaced a Whirlpool that had served us well for at least 10 years before we decided our kitchen needed some updating. Naturally, what could be a better choice than a Maytag?! What an awful choice that turned out to be. In the 7 years we've had it, the plastic handle has broken more than once, but more importantly the dishes come out dirtier, film covered, and gritty ... even after using the hard water products recommended by the Maytag sevrice guy to help with the problem. I hate to say it but my confidence is Maytag is forever gone!!!

Sep 28, 2010
Rating
star
Yuk!!!
by: Anonymous

I concur with the majority...this thing does not clean! I've always had to rinse the dishes first, oftentimes having to double wash. I'm on my way to buy a new dishwasher...I thought these things were supposed to last more than 5 years. I was quite disappointed that this model was not recalled. It smells like something is burning, but can't find the source of the smell. Not only are the dishes still dirty after a full heavy wash, but there are food particles on the inside of the dishwasher door and there is still detergent throughout!

Sep 13, 2010
Rating
star
Worse than worthless!
by: Anonymous

Bought the dishwasher in 2006. Since day 1, the dishes have never come out clean - in fact often they come out dirtier than when they went in (e.g., food particles stuck to water glasses). Maytag came out twice and assured us it was installed and working correctly. Told us to do the usual things (water temp, rinse agent, periodic cleaning, etc.) Maytag also blamed us for the handle breaking repeatedly. We finally gave up and just kept trying to make it work. This week the handle broke *again* and while trying to fix it we discovered the cycle would run without the door being latched, so we put a storm window over the front and watched they cycle run. The top arm was barely rotating and water was dribbling out, the middle arm wasn't working at all, the the bottom arm sprayed initially, then water dribbled out like a water fountain and didn't rotate. The machine sounded like it was "running" but nothing at all was happening inside other than water occasionally dribbling out of the bottom arm! The cycle generally runs for 2-3 hours but apparently doesn't really do anything. Will never buy a Maytag again!

Aug 22, 2010
Rating
star
The death of the Maytag name meaning quality
by: Peter

Before Maytag went under and was bought out by Whirlpool it was known the world over for quality products. Yes the handle broke on us as well and the sprayer arms get clogged up and falls off the back of the dishwasher from time to time. Now there is a recall on these for the heating element catching fire. Oh Joy!

Behind the sceen Maytag was a publicly traded company and Wall Street puts a lot of pressure on these companies to return higher and higher dividens. As a results the CEO who dosen't want to loose his job puts extream pressure on the purchasing dept. to buy the cheapest parts they can and seldom does any reliability testing occurs. The end result the Purchasing manager gets his end year bonus for saving the company over $500,000 in buying cheaper parts. The CEO gets his $1,000.000 bouns and he keeps his job for another year. The sad part of this story is that people like us stop buying these brand name products and the company gets sold like Maytag did or they disappear completly. If you really want a quality product you need to buy it from a private comapny today. Until the through away society mentality changes this will continue over and over again.

Jul 19, 2010
Rating
star
POS
by: Anonymous

This is a Piece of Sh@#! Like others, the door handle broke within a year or so. The cycle lasts for HOURS. I don't think I have ever unloaded it and had everything clean. Now I unload it and NOTHING is clean. We bought it because you could fit a lot in it. What good is it if you load a lot into it and NOTHING is clean???

Jul 19, 2010
Rating
star
Recall the Quiet series Model RE: release handle
by: Anonymous

Mayday!For what's its worth--I will never purchase a "Maytag Dishwasher"! ABS Plastic Release Handle needs to be recalled, on the quiet series models..many consumers have noted it was not engineered to last beyond an average years use, and Get this! the cost of this part from Maytag is $36.74, about $ 1/6 the price a New Dishwasher, on sale! Letters of complaint to the Maytag Corp, are being procured!

Jul 19, 2010
Rating
starstar
Noisy !!!
by: Anonymous

We've had the Maytage Quiet Series 100 model since we remodeled our kitchen 6 years ago. So after seeing the reviews about the latch issues I guess this machine is doing great. My problem is, it is the loudest dishwasher I have ever used. Does an average job of cleaning but can't stand the noise level of this model.

Apr 03, 2010
Rating
star
JUNK JUNK JUNK!!!!!! AVOID LIKE the PLAGUE
by: John in Oregon

Like all the others on here, purchased this from Best Buy on a decent sale (I forget the exact price we paid) and it worked BEAUTIFULLY for about 1 year, the dishes started coming out with ICK on them, especially the inside bottoms of cups and glasses!! The spray arm holes plug up constantly and it is a ROYAL PAIN to clean them out and only works half the time, this doesn't get the dishes any cleaner but gets them back to pathetic instead of shocking filthy. The latch just broke a couple days ago. Maytag USED to be a brand name, but it is now nothing but cheap plastic JUNK that leaves your dishes dirtier than before they went in, I am not joking about that either, Gods truth!! PLEASE save yourself the despair and buy ANYTHING else!!

Nov 08, 2009
Rating
star
junk - pile of worthless metal (you could sell junk)
by: Anonymous

the pile of crap they call a dishwasher broke o excuse me crapped out after 2 and a half years! a first it worked alright not great then the heavy wash and extra rinse stopped working a few months later everything but light and normal wash stopped working and now i cant get the stupid thing to start on light wash because the normal wash doesn't work.

Oct 29, 2009
Rating
star
Junk
by: Andy

A piece of junk, just two years ,done.

Oct 23, 2009
Rating
star
Junk
by: Anonymous

I have had it a few years now and I still can't get it to work properly.The handle sticks and it doesn't clean the dishes very good. I would never get another.

Sep 27, 2009
Rating
star
everything breaks
by: Anonymous

Machine wont seal and start cycle. Fills up with water and onto kitchen floor. Cycle wont start. Piece of ....

Sep 22, 2009
Rating
star
Junk
by: Anonymous

Sorry, you bought a bad machine, just like me! Only that i got it a few years now, all flimsy plastic handle brakes in about 1 year and every year thereafter, the whole construction is made very cheaply. i will never by any Maytag product again, since i had the same negative experience with maytag AC units. There is really no reason for this company to be in business.

Sep 04, 2009
Rating
starstar
Don't make them like they used to
by: Anonymous

Bought this, my second Maytag dishwasher, in 2004. Very pleased with it UNTIL the door latch became very hard to open a year ago. Today - it broke totally.

Also lost the Rinse cycle on the touch pad 6 months ago.

$600-700 is a lot of money for a new one especially after reading these reviews about faulty door latches. I can get parts to do a repair for around $200. But will it work after?

My first Maytag lasted 25 years with only belts and seal replacements. Too bad they don't make appliances like they used too!

Aug 23, 2009
Rating
star
doesn't clean the dishes
by: Anonymous

We purchased this dishwasher relying on the Maytag name a few years ago. What a disappointment! It worked alright for about a year. Now I don't even use it because my dishes come out dirtier then they went in! I am in the process of looking for a new dishwasher and Maytag will not be one of the brands I look at.

May 07, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Reliable and gets dishes clean!
by: Kim

Maytag QuietSeries 100 model MDBH950AWB is a standard-size, installed dishwasher. The people who upgraded the kitchen in our condo bought it new about four years ago. It is very reliable - we have had absolutely no problems with it. Ours is black with electronic (not raised) buttons

It has a few extra bells and whistles, such as different length cycles, optional extra rinse, a delay feature (2, 4 or 6 hours) and a button lock to keep the kids from running it. It also has an area of the bottom rack that can fold up to hold plates or down for pots, a removable silverware rack with a handle and a lid over one section to keep light items from hopping out, and a fold-down area on the top rack to keep stemmed glasses in place.

The machine is not whisper-quiet when running, but we don't have to scream over to be heard, either. Typically, we delay the cycle and run it in the middle of the night or when we leave the house, so the volume is not a big deal for us.

The machine cleans dishes well. We rinse them and loosen up very sticky foods like dried egg, but we don't have to wash them before putting them in the dishwasher, like some machines.

My only quibble with the machine is the child button lock-out. We use it regularly, because we have small children, but I have some trouble turning it off myself! You have to press a key and hold it for three seconds to turn the lock on or off. I often find myself staring at the little light, counting seconds and waiting for it to blink, and then oops! I've missed the window and have to try again.

Overall, I would recommend this machine, as cleaning and reliability are most important to me. I hand-washed all my dishes for years, and am still enjoying the luxury of having a dishwasher!

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Maytag Dishwashers.