Maytag Quiet Series 300 #MDBH955AWW

by Kevin
(Venice, Florida, USA)

I have owned several, but I "purchased" my first dishwasher which is a Maytag Quiet Series 300. At first, I was not too happy as I installed it myself and was not aware that the outlet you plug the appliance into cannot be a CGI outlet. After that experience, I am very pleased with this dishwasher despite some bad reviews I have found.


This dishwasher is quiet compared to previous ones that I have owned, yet we can hear it running in the kitchen and have to turn up the t.v. at times. As for its cleaning ability, so far it works great. I have had it for 6 months now and it is used almost daily. I do not scrape my dishes clean prior, and dishes may sit in the machine for a day before cleaning.

I use the "Normal" clean setting and my dishes come out cleaned and w/o spots. I do not use any special cleaners either. The space inside this unit is great for my family of 4 and I can fill it with a full 1-2 days of dishes just fine. Well, not with pots and pans too - just dishes - silverware, plates, bowls, etc.

As for water consumption, all I can say is that using this machine daily compared to hand washing with the water on the entire time that my water bill has not increased at all. I cannot say that it saves me money, but it does not appear to consume more. I would purchased this model again and/or recommend it to anyone.

Comments for Maytag Quiet Series 300 #MDBH955AWW

Average Rating starstar

Click here to add your own comments

Jan 18, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Works great!
by: Anonymous

We've had our dishwasher for over 4 years, & it works like new! I don't prewash dishes, & they come out gleaming. My only complaint, is the silverware basket is broke, & I can't find a replacement. Where do I look for one, I've tried several sites on the computer, & can't match it. HELP!!

Jun 17, 2012
Rating
star
Do not buy a Maytag dishwasher
by: Anonymous

I am absolutely disgusted with this dishwasher. Mine is not that old and the problems with the touchpad have been continuous. No recall! My last dishwasher lasted 17 years. Why is everything getting so much CHEAPER? Now I don't know whether to invest in a part to fix this piece of crap or just buy a new dishwasher.

I will never buy a Maytag again. I am also never going to buy a Whirlpool because of the association. They would rather lose all their customers than admit a wrong and make it right. It makes me sick.

Mar 24, 2012
Rating
star
IS THE WORST DISHWASHER/PRODUCT EVER!
by: Anonymous

We purchased 2 of these dishwashers - they both need constant care and repair - if you ever think to buy make sure you get an extended warranty else you will pay thru the nose to get fixed each time they break down - get use to washing your dishes by hand again - with paid for repairs I could have just junked these ones and gone on to buy 2 new ones of another brand ... I am surprised as Maytag was a brand name that I grew up with an thought the company had the integrity to stand behind their product - this is a lemon - period - DO NOT BUY!

Mar 01, 2012
Rating
star
Worst Dishwasher
by: Anonymous

I own a Maytag Quite Series 300 and it is the worst dishwasher I have ever owned. The heat stays on long after the dishwasher has finished it dry cycle. I have had several dishes break due to the extreme heat. I called Maytag and it is not part of the recall even though I am having issues with the heat element. I have burned my fingures a few times pulling out dishes that were extremely HOT! The latch for the door is also breaking. I would not recommend this dishwasher to anyone!!!

Jan 10, 2012
Rating
star
Control Panel/Board Problem
by: Anonymous

Same problems as everyone else - mine lasted 2 years and lights started failing on control panel. Not sure if board or panel problem but after dissassembling back of door and checking board for problems - would not start. Got so frustrated that I wrote Jeff Fettig (CEO of Whirlpool) last week complaining of this problem and which should be recalled..haven't heard yet but always went to the top to get some satisfaction and would advise others to do the same - maybe they will build a better dishwasher in the future getting a Whirlpool replacement in a few weeks thru Lowes and hoping for a better outcome & more durability. Why did they have to go to electronics. The old turn dial worked fine & no problems!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Jun 20, 2011
Rating
star
Problem with door latch
by: william bramlett

I have a maytag dishwasher the latch is broken, did some research and there is a 53% failure rate on this part.
I called and Maytag does not consided a 53% failure a problem, I guess it has to be 100%.
Worked in mfg for years this is a problem.

Jun 16, 2011
Rating
star
Bad & Noise Appliance
by: Anonymous

After 1 year start making noise, looks like loosing parts inside.

May 06, 2011
Rating
star
replacing touch pad panel
by: Anonymous

I have just been told the touch pad panel on my Maytag 300 series dishwasher will cost $300 to fix. This dishwasher is only about 3 years old. I have decided to replace the dishwasher because there is no guarantee that the replacement touch pad panel will not break again. I am hesitant to buy anything Maytag again because the name is no longer associated with quality.

Feb 07, 2011
Rating
starstar
control panel fried
by: Anonymous

I've had mine since 2007. The heating element was replaced under a recall. Now the Control panel needs replacing. Its a $150-$180 part if I do it myself or $300 plus for a repair guy. I'm disappointed.

Dec 14, 2010
Rating
star
Stay away from this unit
by: Anonymous

Maytag a name you could trust. Well, Times have changed. Now owned by Whrilpool Corp. They purchased Maytag 2006. The quilty has drop way below the name that stood for great products for years. We have had this unit for 3 years and About everthing that could be replaced has been. I should of got out sooner. I hope others the bought into the once great name "Maytag" Has better chances than us. If you looking to purchas a new dishwasher please look at all the reports on Maytag. Do not just go buy what I have said. You well be glad you did. To bad for Maytag!

Dec 03, 2010
Rating
star
Totally bad dishwasher
by: Anonymous

We bought this thing a Lowes, ad either it is some kind of second-class model, or it is just flat out poorly designed.

Stay away from it, if for no other reason than the sorry thing is so loud there is no living with it. And it was expensive.

For that kind of money I expect way more than this cheaply made mistake.

Noisy

Racks break and or rust easily

Is nearly unusable if you have soft water, even with an extra rinse

Nov 23, 2010
Rating
starstar
Don't waste your money on this one!
by: Anonymous

This is the worst dishwasher I have ever owned. The dishes do not come clean, it is not quiet like it claims and the door sticks when you try to open it. Buyer be ware!

Nov 03, 2010
Rating
star
Worst dishwasher I have ever owned
by: Anonymous

Since buying this dishwasher in July 2009, three repairmen have been out to do major repairs on it. First the water pump went out, then the front control panel, then the water pump again. My first choice was always Maytag, but that has now changed. I would not have believed it if someone had told me to avoid Maytag because I knew personally that their appliances were always so reliable, but now I am telling anyone who asks that Maytag is not the quality company it once was.

Sep 18, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
Was recalled
by: Anonymous

If you have this model, check Maytag. My serial number ended in NL and it has an electrical problem with the heating element for that series. They offer a in-home tech, or rebate for a new one. You have to get rid of the old one. Otherwise it is a very nice washer. Pass it on!

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Maytag Dishwashers.