Maytag Quiet Series 300 Model MDB8551AWW

We purchased a Maytag Quiet Series 300 Model MDB8551AWW dishwasher to replace another Maytag dishwasher that we had had for more than ten years. It still worked perfectly but the racks had started to rust through in many places, depositing rust stains on some of our dishes. The cost to replace racks is very high so we felt, given the age of the dishwasher, that we should replace it rather than invest money in the racks.


This new dishwasher works well and there are many things I like about it; however, it has two major drawbacks that make it not quite as good as our old one. The dishes do not load as easily; the spacing of the tines does not fit our pots and pans as well as the old dishwasher, despite the adjustable racks. The top rack is especially unhandy for some of our glassware; some glasses will fall over in the top rack, even though they fit in the spaces, due to bumpiness of some areas of the upper rack.

The other feature that is not as good is the drying results. I seldom use the Heated Dry feature, but for certain times, such as holidays, it can be handy.


However, with this model, the dishes seem to still be pretty wet at the end of the heated dry cycle. If you do not select Heated Dry, you should be prepared to leave the door open at the end of the cycle for a couple of hours to let items air dry. The things that are great about the dishwasher are the good choices of cycles; there are selections for every kind of load. If you do a lot of cooking, it is good to know that there are not many pans that won’t come clean on the ToughScrub Plus cycle!

The stainless steel tub is a good feature and maintains a clean interior. All cycles take much longer than older models but the dishes do come very clean, which is the most important thing in a dishwasher. We have had no problems with leaking and it is relatively quiet during all cycles.

Comments for Maytag Quiet Series 300 Model MDB8551AWW

Average Rating star

Click here to add your own comments

Nov 03, 2013
Rating
star
Poor dishwashing and repeated repairs
by: Tyler P

I'll never buy another maytag appliance! We have to pre-clean all the dishes as this "dishwasher won't clean any dried or partially dried food off, even with the long time it takes to wash.

Ours malfunctioned right after the 1 year warranty expired. Repair estimate was the better part of a new dishwasher, so I said "no thanks". I looked on-line and found people had been having problems with the control panel or the controller board. I opened up the front inside and found arcs across the traces of the flexible connector between the front control panel and the controller board. In its infinite wisdom (cheapness), Maytag had not sealed these traces against moisture. Inside a dishwasher! Duhh! I cleaned the traces and it worked again. Now after 3 years of this beast, I've done the same thing a total of 4 times.

So, poor dishwashing and repeated repairs. Another quality product from corporate america.

Jul 08, 2012
Rating
star
don't buy maytag dishwashers
by: Joel B

Although this model is no longer sold, I post this negative review because the problems with this model were endemic and I see no indication that Maytag has fixed the problems with newer models.

We bought a Maytag because its predecessor from 12 years ago in a New York City apartment was quiet and did a good job. What I didn't realize is that in the time between those two purchases the production had been sent to China and there was little resemblance in the products after the move.

The seal material deteriorated into black gum within the first year of operation. Although this didn't stop the seals from working on our machine, any contact with the seals resulted in a black goo on your skin and clothes that was nearly impossible to get off without a strong non-polar solvent.

We live in a hardwater area. After 5 years' use, the area by the impeller was plugged with a thick layer of chalk that my appliance repairman said was "the worst he had ever seen". This is because of a poor design that creates a lot of turbulence and causes scale to be deposited. This was fatal to the dishwasher, and I was glad to see it gone.

The plastic wheels that the tray glides on broke after about 2 years' use, making it hard to move the tray in and out.

The soap dispenser was difficult to close and unreliable in opening after 4 years' use.

The overall impression is that the dishwasher rapidly deteriorated from every aspect: noise, ease of use, cleaning quality. I will never buy another Maytag again, a conclusion heartily endorsed by my appliance repairman.

Jun 26, 2012
Rating
star
Worst dishwasher ever!
by: R. Nowack

We hate this dishwasher! We used to live in an apartment and it came with a cheap cruddy dishwasher-yet worked just great... so when we bought our first house we wanted a dishwasher that was a good quality!

We have had the repairman here 3 times in the first year. We have had it for 5 years now and it is just a pile of junk! We just hate it! DO NOT BUY IT! Under any circumstances!

This machine leaves crud on all of our dishes. Every time I run it I have to rinse out every dish and glass so that it is clean. The board broke again, but after the lemon law deadline and we can't afford to repace it-nor would we since it broke 3 times in the first year! So, now we ONLY have Quick wash and we have had ONLY Quick Wash for the past 4 years. JUNK!

Jun 19, 2012
Rating
star
Faulty control panel
by: Anonymous

Dishwasher works when it feels like it. control panel seems to be the problem -basically the same as everyone else out there. there definitely should be a recall on this. don't buy Maytag Quiet Series 300 unless you are willing to sink $400 bucks into the repair!

May 18, 2012
Rating
star
Absolutely the WORST!
by: Ron

We have experienced nothing but problems, broken parts, leaks you name it. Not only will I not buy another maytag dish washer I'll never buy another Maytag anything!

Apr 14, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
QUESTION
by: Anonymous

Our dishwasher has been good to us.....7 years young....I just noticed a little water from the bottom tonight.....we pulled it out and cannot seem to find the 'wet' spot!! Anyone else have this happen? It seems like it is coming from the left side of the washer! Don't wanna pay the service call fee for them to tell me I have a leak and then charge me more than the actual washer cost!
I DO LUV this machine!

Apr 02, 2012
Rating
star
Lousy Dishwasher
by: Daniel

I am going to celebrate this Thursday because I will finally be rid of this dishwasher. Over the last eight years, I have worked on it time and again to keep it running.

It has never washed dishes on the top shelf properly. My control panel acted up again on the weekend, and I repaired it somewhat by using electrical contact cleaner on the control board ribbon connections. But this time, I told the wife that this was the last straw.

No more Maytag products for us EVER again!

Mar 08, 2012
Rating
star
cheap diswasher
by: unsatified customer jill

I have only had this for a few years and the open/close latch is broken and the control panel doesn't want to work right. When you put in the wash cycle that you want to use it wants to click back to rinse and thats all it does is rinse. After seeing all these bad reviews. It makes me sick that I purchased this thinking I was getting a good dishwasher. I don't want to spend the money on this that some of the others have so I think I will cut my losses and get a new one of another brand. Jill

Mar 04, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
horrible dishwasher
by: Anonymous

this is the worst dishwashe r we have ever had the dishes are never clean and the handle has broekn 3 times would never recommend this to anyone.

Feb 29, 2012
Rating
star
on my third control panel
by: Anonymous

do not buy this dishwasher unless you have a relative who fixes them and you do not like them.

Jan 30, 2012
Rating
star
dishwaster disaster
by: Anonymous

Four months ago we had to replace the control panel to our dishwasher. Now the new control panel won't work at all and Maytag refuses to send a new one, citing a 90 day warranty. So, basically Maytag is saying that their products can't be trusted to last more than 90 days. Maytag has proven to be rude and refuses to replace the control panel. Never again will I buy a Maytag appliance nor should anyone who wants more than a 90 day dishwasher.


Jan 22, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
hunk of junk came with our house
by: Anonymous

This dishwasher came with the older house we just bought. We hate it. We can handle that it doesn't load as well as the top of the line one in our old home. What we hate the most is that taking 2 hours or 82 minutes is not an acceptable amount of time to wash dishes. We always seem to resort to handwashing, which is so much quicker and then makes us question even having a dishwasher at all.

We've hosted dinner twice with over 14 people and the first load that went in the dish washer was still running when our guests left. The remaining dishes are always done by hand!
Will be replacing it soon!

Jan 18, 2012
Rating
star
Quiet ???
by: Anonymous

Can't understand how they could actually call this the Quiet 300. It's loud and the dishes don't come out clean?? What happened to Maytag...they use to have a good product. Do yourself a favour and go with another company.

Dec 13, 2011
Rating
star
Handle Sticking and Stuck
by: George

We also have a Maytag Quiet Series 300 and although it appears I should be counting my blessings that our control panel still works (knocking on wood here) our door handle is now broken and is sticking up inside the unit. This unit was purchased new when we built our home in 2007....our new Maytag front load washer is also a piece of beautiful junk as well, so again I guess I shouldn't be shocked....why has there been ZERO assist from Maytag in the form of some recall/replacement.

I've heard nothing but GREAT things about LG so I guess I'll be replacing all of our Maytag appliances one be one as we can afford it with LG!

Dec 04, 2011
Rating
star
300 seriously bad
by: Anonymous

Door handle just broke, rack wheels have all broken. Making grinding noises loudly. Seems to redeposit bits of whitish chunks on glasses, (AND I RINSE EVERYTHING).
DON'T buy this machine.

Aug 17, 2011
Rating
star
Recall details?
by: Anonymous

I can't get any information on the recall of the may tag quiet series 300. Called the customer service line and all I get us some slick attempt to renew my maytage service contract

Please email me at bc154@scn.org

Aug 15, 2011
Rating
star
The worst!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
by: Anonymous

Glasses come out dirtier than going in. Makes horrible grinding noises and the stainless steel exterior doesn't clean well at all! All products in my kitchen are higher end Maytag products and they all SUCK!!!!

Aug 13, 2011
Rating
star
I HAVE TO WASH MY DISHES AFTER THEY WERE IN THE DISHWASHER!!!!
by: Gary Krauss

The Maytag Quiet Series 300 Dishwasher is a good looking dishwasher, mine is in stainless steel. This is the only feature of the dishwasher I can still say something polite about.

The upper and lower racks seem to be rusting apart in certain spots. The lower rack plastic wheels have broken off. The outside door handle broke. The dishwasher does not clean, leaving bits of food all over anything that has been washed. It seems like the dishwasher does not fully drain out the wash water before going into rinse cycle.

I have used vinegar, and even those dishwasher cleaner products. Nothing worked. Seems like the only way I get clean dishes is after I wash them in the dishwasher is to wash them again by hand.

My whole kitchen was remodeled with Maytag products, and with the exception of the microwave, everything else stinks!!!! I will never buy any Maytag product again (Whirlpool is also a part of Maytag).

Jun 20, 2011
Rating
star
Don't buy Maytag
by: Anonymous

Advise is to not buy Maytag products, based on following.

We have Maytag Quiet Series 300, MDBTT70AWW which is two years old and has been used perhaps 3 dozen times [used only in summer months].

Controls do not function. Tehcnican is focusing on faulty control board and/or control panel and/or ribbon wiring. Internet research has established that above issues are endemic to this Maytag dishwater.

Internet comments from consumers suggest that moisture gets into the parts and corrodes them.

To repair, parts and labour of technican come to around $400-$500. One has to seriously consider looking at a new machine.


May 31, 2011
Rating
star
Dishwasher won't Clean Dishes
by: Lisa Hensley

We bought our Maytag Quiet Series Model 300 new & had it installed 11-24-2010. It was purchased to replace our previous Maytag Dishwasher that was 21 years old and had worked perfectly. The Model 300 will not get our dishes clean! We have gone through the troubleshooting suggestions listed in the owner's manual to no avail. Last Thursday we had a service technician come out who advised us that we were using dishwasher detergent that is too low in phosphates. Since becoming "greener" phosphates have been lowered in detergents making the cleaning agents less effective. He suggested we find a supplier of phosphorous and mix into our current detergent. I think the whole thing is a huge lie. Maytag has a lemon on their hands and is refusing to remedy the problem by offering replacements to customers that have paid good money for their products. My suggestion is for us to all join together and file a class action suit against Maytag. This is unacceptable. Until I am satisfied I plan on making a service call everyday for the next year until they make good on their promise.

May 20, 2011
Rating
star
piece of junk, ruined our kitchen floor
by: Anonymous

dishwasher was installed new when we bought the house in 2004. I guess we're lucky it's lasted 6 years - but have had problems from day one. Racks had plastic pieces chip off, got caught in the motor. Dishwasher does not clean dishes well, never has. We just discovered it's been leaking from the bottom due to a faulty seal and has rotted the floor underneath. And the bottom fills up with water due to a faulty check valve. Cannot wait to have our new Bosch delivered this weekend to get this boat anchor out of our life.

May 12, 2011
Rating
star
Dishwasher MDBTT&)AWW
by: Anonymous

Piece of junk. Noisey, don't clean well and the racks are rusting and falling apart.

Mar 28, 2011
Rating
star
going shopping...
by: LK

After my rack wheel broke for a second time & I found out that I have to buy a new assembly to replace the one wheel, I thought I'd see what other people were doing. Wow, I have never seen so many bad comments for one product and I just had to add my negative review as well. We have lived with the blinking light panel for a year now, but it still works (when it wants to)...but for how long? Now, with the upper rack not working, I need to go shopping. I don't want to put in the assembly, only to have the light panel go out the next day. I liked this machine in the store, but disliked it upon use. Feels cheap and has proven that it is. I will not be looking at Maytag products, that is for sure.

Mar 20, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
Its been problem free; Maytag 300 Quiet
by: Anonymous

Its been grerat for my household use. Looking for another one with stainless steal finish now. :)

Feb 11, 2011
Rating
star
piece of crap
by: Anonymous

It was never quiet, I have cleaned the impeller ten times. Putting white vinegar in the rinse aide does help the noise considerably.

Feb 09, 2011
Rating
star
P.O.S
by: Anonymous

We bought this to replace our other Maytag which was wonderful, but was in that recall that it could start on fire. NEVER AGAIN!! The door sticks, the dishes are never clean, usually have to run twice if its a full load, it was leaking for a while then just stopped. Today the door handle broke - the thing is a year and 1/2 old. STAY AWAY

Feb 06, 2011
Rating
star
Shouldn't be called a dishwasher...
by: Anonymous

If a diet pill caused people to gain weight, I don't think it would be legal to call it a diet pill. Yet a "dishwasher" that makes dishes dirty is still allowed to be call a dishwasher.

Last time I put a couple of clean glasses in the dishwasher and they came out dirty. What a magnificent piece of crap.

I think I am going to have to resort to buying disposable cups until I can afford another dishwasher.

Absolutely awful.

And the control panel has crapped out. I can press start but I can't select a setting anymore.

Feb 05, 2011
Rating
star
Awfully Awful
by: Anonymous

We purchased a home that already had a Maytag Quiet Series 300 and it was awful from the beginning. We have experienced the same problems that everyone else has posted on here. It leaks, broken upper tray wheel, it makes grinding noises and leaves dishes filthy.
Tonight it was leaking after the cycle finished because the water did not drain. Luckily I found this site and someone suggested running the cycle "2" setting to drain it and that did the trick. We don't have the owner's manual since it was already in the home we bought. What a piece of crap this thing is.

Jan 25, 2011
Rating
star
worst ever, yes, HATE
by: mike

hate. it is junk. its instructions say NOT to rinse. worked at first, now doesn't work-deposits fine sand-like debris on glasses. suspect discharge valve. have replaced handle and control. soap door hits rack. rack dock flap gone from one pipe, therefore cannot use other top rack setting. Cannot find good advice (like suggestions on what parts to check--or if the 'cleaner' stuff helps) on the internet because SO MANY PEOPLE ARE COMPLAINING ABOUT THIS QUIET SERIES 300 JUNK!

Jan 12, 2011
Rating
star
Hate is a strong word
by: Anonymous

Hate is a strong word in my house. I HATE this dishwasher. It's 3 years old. Half my dishes are dirty when it's done, especially the glasses and the silverware. I swear the dishes are dirtier when they come out than when they went it. HATE HATE HATE. Oh yeah, and it leaks periodically when it's filling with water.

Jan 03, 2011
Rating
star
Quiet series 300 Dont Buy!!!!!!
by: Anonymous

Piece of junk, grinding, wont clean any dishes, top rack broke and handle broke in the first year. Worst dishwasher I have ever owned. What happened to washers lasting 20 years plus. Biggest waste of money I can recall. This washer is only 5 years old...Never buy Maytag again

Jan 02, 2011
Rating
star
Control panel has gone out twice in less than 2 years
by: Jeff M

The only complaint that we have about this dishwasher is that the control panel has gone out twice in less than 2 years of owning it. We bought it in May 2009, and in October 2009 the control panel went out. The buttons began to malfunction and we couldn't get it to run. Of course it was still under warranty. And now, 14 months later, the control panel has gone out again. We didn't buy the extended warranty, and after reading all of the negative reviews about this particular model, I think we're just going to buy a non-Maytag dishwasher. It's a shame we paid a little over 800 bucks for this thing and it hasn't lasted 2 years!

Jan 02, 2011
Rating
star
Worked good for a couple years
by: Anonymous

but now it doesn't clean at all. Piece of crap. Don't buy it.

Dec 18, 2010
Rating
star
Junk
by: Anonymous

Worst dishwasher I've ever owned. Compared to 2 other Whirpools and a Bosch. I have never had a cycle where every dish has come out clean. Some dishes come out dirtier than they went in. I have ran countless dishwasher cleaners with not much help. Absolute garbage from day 1. I have a maytag fridge as well, and I hate that too.

Dec 14, 2010
Rating
star
stinks
by: Hascjl

After reading all the other problems that I could have, I guess I feel blessed with mine. Handle isnt totally broken, just have to slam it really hard to get it to latch. Dishes are very dirty, its very loud, and runs forever. I have a 20+ year old maytag washing machine that is still great, but this is dishwasher is junk. will never buy again!

Nov 27, 2010
Rating
star
Maytag isn't a name you can trust anymore
by: another "dis"satisfied customer

We bought our Quiet Series 300 a few years ago from Home Depot. While under warranty we replaced the upper rack, soap dispenser and door latches.

While off warranty the door latch is broken but we just use our fingers to open the door. The baskets are rusting, glasses do not come clean. I have to run the "2" cycle to get the water to drain after a load, it is super noisy and then la pièce de la résistance last night the upper basket wheel broke off the track (after I had loaded a full load of dirty) So I had to unload and wash by hand.

I am glad to have found this site so my mother can stop telling me I am just hard on things (I am 42 years old but I still get lectured). Christmas is coming and I have a feeling that Santa will be bringing me a new one but it won't be a Maytag.

Their customer service is terrible so I guess the only power we have as consumers is to make sure others don't make our mistakes.
Dividing the cost of the DW by how long I owned it I should have bought a Bosch.

Nov 25, 2010
Rating
star
Quiet Series 300 - DON NOT BUY IT
by: Anonymous

This Machine is just a beautiful piece of JUNK. Maytag should advertise from now on that they are in the business of ripping off people rather than cleaning dishes

Nov 24, 2010
Rating
star
stay away from maytag
by: Anonymous

had to replace our maytag dishwasher with the new 300 series maytag do to a recall. The new 300 series is nothing but junk. Front panel started to fail and just failed completely. STAY AWAY FROM MAYTAG!!!

Nov 18, 2010
Rating
star
Maytag" poor products "
by: Maytag Hater

Not what they use to be,thats for sure,Don't buy one , I guarantee you will be disappointed!

Nov 10, 2010
Rating
star
Maytag Legacy Series - Quiet Series 300
by: Nicole M. Cerro

I have had this dishwasher since Jan. 2006,and in my lifetime of havings dishwashers, I have never had so many problems.

Namely, the computer panel has been replaced at $180.00 plus $125.00, over 3 times already in the past 4 months. Maytag refuses to do anything. Wouldn't this fall under the lemon law?

I would think so. I also found out that this part happened to be on a recall, although customers are unaware of it. My service told me. Doesn't that mean the labor and parts should be free?

Well, heck no! If you multiply $180 times 3 = $540.00 and $125 times 3 = $375.00, it comes to $915.00. Isn't this absolutely insane for the same part to be changed 3 times and on its way now to its 4th time, which would be $1220.00? I could have bought two or three more dishwashers, brand new. People, when someone is defective, the warranty means NOTHING. I am going to school for law. United States Code provides that this appliance SHOULD WORK, AND REASONABLY SO!

Very frustrated Maytag customer.

Oct 17, 2010
Rating
star
Terrible Dishwasher
by: Peeved

Stay away from this dishwasher!! We have a maytag washer (10 years old) and a maytag dryer (17 years old) that work great. So 5 years ago we bout the Maytag 300 model dishwasher thinking it would give us a good dishwasher. It's horrible! The door latch has broken so many times, the plastic pieces that hold up the racks keep breaking. This would still be bearable if it actually cleaned the dishes!! The top rack doesn't clean anything. Today my husband and I went out and bought a new dishwasher, this maytag is going to the junkyard.

Oct 13, 2010
Rating
star
feel your pain
by: Anonymous

have had this dishwasher for alittle of four years and trays rusty. The wheels to run on track for bottom tray fell off!!!!!!!!!!!!

Oct 11, 2010
Rating
star
peice of crap
by: D.Rein

We purchased this dishwasher under the theory that whenever you think "wash" think "maytag" this dishwasher is nothing more than a peice of unreliable junk. It started out whisper quiet and now we have to crank up the television. The top rack rollers have cracked and broken leaving the top rack just hanging, glasses and items on the top rack never come out clean and usually have to be hand washed after, and now just today the latch to open and close the stupid thing has broken apart and jammed up inside the mechanism. Maytag- never again.

Aug 26, 2010
Rating
star
Don't buy this dishwasher
by: Anonymous

Dishes come dirtier than they went in.
Owned this dishwasher for 3 years and want to toss it! Paid $750!!
Maytag will not own up to producing a lemon!!
The door latch assembly has been replaced 4 times, so have all wash arms, docking stations, control panel and cutlery basket.

Dirty water gets in the clean water supply but Maytag A&E service techs can't figure it out.

Aug 26, 2010
Rating
starstar
Maytag 300 recall
by: madinspanaway

After reading the comments below, I don't feel alone. Our 2 1/2 year old series 300 started making a loud noise 3 weeks ago. Had the reapir man out, his first comment was "Hope it isn't a Maytag". He was from the store we bought it from! He thought the noise was from something stuck in the impeller. He advised against fixing it, because he could hear noise indicating the pump was going out. $300.00 to fix. So it cost us $100 to find out we had a $500.00 piece of junk. Then last week, the big recall. I feel stuck that to get anything from the recall, you have to buy another Maytag. We can get $300.00 towards a new Maytag ( $250 from recall and $50 credit from the store). I am not sure it is worth the gamble. Our old Kenmore ,we gave away, is still running fine. Any suggestions on a new great operating long lasting dishwasher?

Aug 23, 2010
Rating
star
Bad Maytag Dishwasher
by: Jane

I have a Maytag Quiet Series dishwasher 1 1/2 years old. It soulds like a train is going through my kitchen, and the grinding noise is awful!!!
Also, the dishwasher never cuts off. It keeps making a static noise and a hissing noise and won't ever stop unless you flip the breaker, then all the other appliances on that breaker have to be reset - ridiculous!!! Of course, there is no warranty left!!!! And for the person who stated people are just hard on the appliances that make them break down, you must work for Maytag and don't want to admit Maytag is a piece of crap, and you don't know what you are talking about.
These problems have nothing to do with being hard on the dishwasher, it just doesn't perform. Wait until you pay high dollar for one and get a lemon, then you will be changing your tune!!!
DON'T BUY MAYTAG!! I have a Maytag refrigerator and a Maytag range the same age as the dishwasher and they are also both crap, don't work right and are made cheap despite of the high pricetag. They are not worth it. Buy cheap appliances - at least you won't lose as much money replacing them, because even if you buy the most expensive Maytags, they WILL break down and Maytag won't repair or replace them.......believe me!!!!

Aug 16, 2010
Rating
star
Stay Away
by: Anonymous

We bought this 1 year ago. We are on the second memory board and now a membrane has gone. Poor rack system, one has to be inventive to fit things into it. We have only used it for 6 months out of the year we've owned it. Buyer beware.

Aug 12, 2010
Rating
star
Maytag Quiet Series Dishwasher (See previous comments)
by: Jane

I did not rate the previous Maytag dishwasher comment as a 5 star, it was already preselected - that is how Maytag keeps their high rating. If you don't notice the rating section, it will give itself 5 stars automatically. I am re-rating it to a 1, which is better than it deserves. Watch the ratings section, I noticed a lot of people have missed it and show 5 stars. I know by the description of the problems that they would not give 5 stars, just missed the rating section. Maytag, you are still deceptive!!!!! If a rating is not selected, it should state "Not Rated", not automatically give yourself 5 stars. Just another way Maytag deceives the public!! Instead of the Quiet Series, Maytag should have named their dishwasher the Quit Series!!!!!!!!!!!!

Aug 10, 2010
Rating
star
Nothing but Problems
by: Anonymous

We replaced our old dishwasher (18 years old)that was still working great..never had to have a repair..with this model..had this 4 years with nothing but problems..door lock has broken twice..water standing in the bottom..had to replace the valve..and I don't know how it got the name quiet..nothing quiet about it!

Jul 22, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
similar model, no problems at all
by: Anonymous

I have the Maytag Quietseries 300 model MDB6601AWW. We've had it for 4 1/2 years now and have had absolutely no problems with it until my daughter accidently put liquid handwashing dish soap into the rinse aid compartment. (They were the same color and she didn't realize they weren't the same.) It still works great, but until the soap clears from the rinse aid compartment, we'll have to rinse by hand to make sure no soap is left behind. When I called Maytag to see what else I could do (I tried pouring water in to flood it out, vinegar in to cut the bubbles, etc.) I was told the only thing that could really be done would be to replace the rinse aid compartment. Sigh. Wish me luck.

Jun 03, 2010
Rating
star
Don't Buy Maytag!!!
by: Anonymous

HERE WE GO AGAIN!!!!!

Maytag recalls dishwashers.Our old dishwasher was recalled and we chose the rebate as the racks needed replacing, $50. rebate. wow.. The old one still worked great the new one, Quiet Series is "Crap" as is the the stove I bought at the same time and washer and dryer, dryer didn't last 18 months. After using Maytag for 25 yrs. I tell anyone I can, don't buy Maytag. They sold to whirlpool and now they make garbage.. Now my 2yr. old Maytag dishwasher has been recalled, they will give me $75. rebate. I'm sure they add the rebate into the price and save it for the recalls. Anyone with MDB or Ny serial#, they have been recalled as of today you are supposed to unhook them. The rebate is only good if you buy another Maytag. DON'T DO IT!!!!!! or you could wait 6 to 8 months for someone to come out and fix it and you still have a crappy dishwasher. Sorry for the rambling, I am soooo mad. p.s. Emailed Maytag about a year ago, nobody replied, they don't care.

May 11, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
POS Dishwasher
by: Anonymous

Absolutely the WORST dishwasher on the market. STAY AWAY!!!!!! Ours lasted less than 2 years and received the run around from everyone involved from the "box store" that sold us this "deal" too Maytag themselves.

If available use your parents almond coloured DW with the push button functions before purchasing this item or get a big hungry dog to help out.

TERRIBLE!!!!

May 11, 2010
Rating
star
A lemon
by: Anonymous

We've only had ours for 14 months, and I am looking to replace it (sigh!). We've had problems with it from the beginning. We take it completely apart every couple of weeks and clean all the parts, and that seems to help some, but I'm sick of it. The dishes come out dirtier than they went in, and it was only "quiet" for about the first two months.

May 03, 2010
Rating
star
Dishwasher has self destructed.
by: 3..2..1...

Problems started when the motor on the dishwasher started making a horrendous noise. Shortly after, I noticed water all over my kitchen floor. Machine was under warranty so the repairman came out and swapped out the motor and the soap dispenser tray (which was also not working). Two months later the handle broke off. A few months after that the wheel that supports the upper rack snapped off so the rack is barely supported now. Then the dishwasher started periodically refusing to turn on...until you open and close the door a few dozen times. And just last week the motor started making the noise again... I have never seen an appliance self destruct in so many ways. I will never, ever buy another Maytag appliance.

Mar 27, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
quiet but not very durable
by: Anonymous

Pros:
- runs very quietly
- no need rinse dishes prior to loading

Cons:
- tends to break down
- poor design of top shelf

I've had my dishwasher for two years. We bought the extended guarantee, and that was the best decision I've made. Some of the things I love about my dishwasher is that it is extremely quiet, and I don't have to rinse the dishes when I put them in. It cleans very well, and I almost never have to run a dish back through a second cycle.

The hum of the washer is very quiet, and I can run it at night without being disturbed. However, I do not like the fact that it has broken TWICE within the two years I've had it. The top rack broke and had to be replaced, then the handle broke.

Luckily my father was able to fix it, but it was a huge pain to have to do all my dishes by hand for almost three weeks while waiting for the part to finally arrive via UPS. Both repairs were covered by my extended guarantee, but I'm walking on eggshells waiting for the next problem. Now that I'm not covered, it could cost me a lot of money.

For the most part, I'm happy with the washer's function, though I don't like the way the top rack is organized. It makes it hard to fit large mugs on the sides. I use my dishwasher at least once a day, so I've received a lot of use from the model so far.

Overall I'm happy with my dishwasher, but next time I'll invest in a bit more durable model.

Mar 25, 2010
Rating
star
Hate this dishawasher
by: Anonymous

The unnecessary "tall tub" design (in the store the dw was up on something so didn't notice that until after dw was installed and started using it) means the open door is practically on the floor and it's uncomfortable to load dishes way down there. I hate the racks - the upper rack is uneven and the tines on the lower rack are only 2 3/4" tall (the old dw had 4 in. tall tines) and don't hold dishes properly, esp. bowls, which just want to fall over and sit there upside down on the rack. The gap along the edge of the rack is too wide and I never feel I'm loading efficiently. One corner of upper rack was a flipdown 'shelf' for more cups but how can any cups get clean when they are right above other cups?? Very unpleasant to load. I don't even want to use it.

Mar 21, 2010
Rating
star
AWFULLLLLLLLLLLL
by: Anonymous

Broken control panel after 2 years ... thousands of complaints all over the Internet. I just joined the group.

Feb 02, 2010
Rating
star
Had ours for about 4 years - it is awful
by: Anonymous

Ours came from Home Depot. Not that it really matters where it came from but Home Depot needs to know has bad this machine is.

At about the 2 year mark, the handle/latch broke and had to be replaced. At about 3.5 years, the motor began making weird noises. At 5 years, the track support wheel mounted to the interior for the upper tray broke - it came apart from the interior wall - now the upper rack barely hangs on. And at 5.5 years, the handle/latch broke - again. And finally, the soap dispenser doesn't work properly leaving a hardened cake of non-dissolved dish soap in the dispenser.

This machine is pitiful. Never again will I buy another Maytag, anything.


Nov 12, 2009
Rating
starstarstar
Door panel and latch
by: Anonymous

This dishwasher gets things cleaner than any dishwasher I've ever had. BUT !!!! It has broken down three times. Door panel and/or latch. Of course now it's 1 month out of the extended warranty, same issue again. And don't even get me started on the extended warranty with Lowe's. Be prepared to be without your appliance for at least a month. Takes 2 weeks to get someone out, 2 weeks to order whatever part they don't have on their truck or in stock. 2 weeks to get back out to your house. Jeez !!!!

Oct 25, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Don't be hatin'
by: Anonymous

We've had ours for 3 years and love it. Cleans well and is quiet to operate. With ANY dishwasher, you need to do a basic rinse to get any food debris off before putting dishes in the dishwasher. If you don't, the debris will just get tossed around and replant somewhere else.
Some of the comments here may be somewhat harsh as I suspect some of these people may also be hard on their other appliances, cars, toys etc. and they often break down as well. You can't blame this one on "Made in China".

Oct 22, 2009
Rating
star
terrible dishwasher
by: Anonymous

I've had this for 3 years and it's broken 3 times. I recently replaced the entire front control board and the latch. 3 months has gone by and now it fails to start again. Maytag man? Yeah, buy one and you'll be seeing him a lot!

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Maytag Dishwashers.