Maytag Quiet Series 400 MDB7601AWQ

by Pam
(Wisconsin)

This is the worst piece of garbage I have ever bought. I finally got Maytag to pay for the parts, but I have to pay for the labor to have the control panel (Light buttons) replaced. We have had this dishwasher 3 years. JUNK JUNK JUNK! Maytag has went to the wasteside. If anyone starts a suit against Maytag, count me in!

Comments for Maytag Quiet Series 400 MDB7601AWQ

Average Rating starstar

Click here to add your own comments

Sep 06, 2013
Rating
starstar
control panels break
by: Anonymous

bought new. never cleaned well. replacing second control panel. plastic roller wheels break constantly. tines never stay in place. Would have had to have repair man here 10 times by now if i didn't fix everything myself. no more maytags.

Aug 17, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Replace or buy new dishwasher
by: Heather

Inherited this dishwasher in my new condo... needs a new control panel. Was wondering if I should replace it or buy a new dishwasher. After reading your comments I think I'll just buy a new dishwasher.

Aug 15, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
MAYTAG DISPLAY PROBLEM
by: Anonymous

mine is shot after 4 1/2 years. a piece of junk.

Jul 05, 2012
Rating
star
Quiet series garbage mdb7601aww
by: Anonymous

Our control panel is shot after 4 years. From all the comments i've seen, this is obviously a faulty part. Class action anyone?

Jun 26, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
very frustrated!
by: Disappointed Bea!

Thought it was a great idea to buy a Maytag quiet series. Have had it for 5 regretful years! First it won't clean properly, you have to wash the dishes before you load the darn washer , waste of water! The panel went out about 2 years ago, so the selection of "Wash" Is definitely a crap shoot!

Now this little beauty won't drain! Ugh! I also have to say in my opinion the 400 series is pretty loud for supposably being the quietest model!! Nothing but problems! Don't buy! Maytag Virgins BEWARE!!

Mar 23, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Maytag 7601AWW
by: Anonymous

I thought I was buying a quality dishwasher but it has been a money pit! We have replaced the panel twice, the plastic parts have broken and we had to have the recall problem fixed. It is a crap shoot whether or not it will run and then the dishes aren't clean. Never again Maytag! I am disappointed in you!

Mar 10, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Looks like I was lucky
by: Anonymous

Judging from the responses here, looks like I was straight up lucky to get 5 1/2 years from my quietseries 400. Panel was never a problem, but there were often small issues. Now the impeller is trashed. No help from Maytag other than a $30 quote for them to consult. No thanks. Guess I'll be glad it lasted this long and go buy a non-maytag washer.

Dec 10, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Maytag
by: Anonymous

I have a MDB7601AWQ and it's been trouble free for about 5 years, now. We run it with soft water so maybe that is a positive factor in our good luck. We also have the Gemini stove that also operates almost trouble free. We had one issue several years ago when it quit and flashed a message saying to call the repair man, but if you read the manual you can unplug and replug to get rid if that message. that's what we did and there has been no problem since.

Nov 05, 2011
Rating
star
broke 3 times in 1 year
by: Anonymous

had to replace control panel 3 times and just broke again. Will not buy another maytag again!

Aug 14, 2011
Rating
star
Count me in
by: Anonymous

I made the mistake and outfitted my entire kitchen with Maytag appliances (double oven, over the range microwave and 400 quiet series dishwasher). After six months the lights don't illuminate on the washer, the handle broke on the microwave after one year, and the stove caught fire because of a wiring harness inside the stove. If I had the money, all three would be gone.
Count me in when litigation begins.

Jul 04, 2011
Rating
star
Maytag Quiet Series 400 MDB7601AWW
by: Anonymous

It seems now my control panel has failed as well. I will not buy another one.

Jun 06, 2011
Rating
star
Worst appliance I have ever owned!
by: Anonymous

I had this dishwasher 2 years and it is ready to be tossed. It only runs on one cycle and I have no idea what cycle it is because you can't select it. I pray each time that I hit the start button that it is going to run. The handle also broke off so now we resort to using a screwdriver. I can't beleive that I trusted the Maytag name to help me determine my purchase. Never again...

Jan 31, 2011
Rating
star
Worst Dishwasher ever made!!
by: Anonymous

I have had this terrible dishwasher for 5 years and have replaced the control panel board twice and now it is going out again. I thought a Maytag product lasted many years. I will never buy another Maytag again. It does stand by being quiet as most of the time "it doesn't work!!!"

Dec 09, 2010
Rating
star
Maytag Is Junk
by: Val Strong

We bought a maytag quiet series and had trouble from about the sixth month. The electronic board, the tub, the pump were all replaced. Eventually Maytag replaced the dishwasher at about 18 months. Well guess what a year and one month later the electronics board is gone again, Figures, one month after the warranty is up.Three years and two diswashers and I still don's have a dishwasher that works. I will NEVER use another Maytag appliance again......even if it was free!

Nov 20, 2010
Rating
star
Yep,never again
by: Anonymous

Just spent evening trying to dry out my whole kitchen after this piece of junk leaked the water out all over my kitchen. has anyone else experienced this. We had to replace electronic panel after 1, yes 1 year and it has started to go again (after 5 montsh) and now all of a sudden will not drain water out. Spent hour undoing hoses and checking drains but can not find a plug.
NEVER again will I purchase anything MAYTAG!!!!

Nov 18, 2010
Rating
star
SAME
by: Anonymous

Ours is three years old, panel went out. Maytag is going to replace it for free. The store we got it from will put it in as it's considered electric. We only have to pay for the service call from the local store. It's considered a warranty fix so it's going to be a cheaper rate.

Nov 18, 2010
Rating
star
Same problem
by: Anonymous

I have a MDB7601AWW, about 3 years old that no longer works. The panel, when it stays on, blinks 2H. Useless. I will not buy another Maytag dishwasher.

Sep 18, 2010
Rating
star
Maytag 400 Series Junk
by: M Herrera

I've had the dishwasher for about 3 years and we have had to replace the control board 3 times. It is still under warranty, but I have to pay for the labor. I bought Maytag thinking that it was going to be a superior product, but I was WRONG WRONG. I would never buy a Maytag in the future.

Sep 18, 2010
Rating
star
never again
by: Anonymous

I have had the same problem with my Maytag dishwasher and it is only about 3 years old. Maytag should have a recall for their electronics they're junk. Needless to say I just ordered a new machine and it wasn't and never will be another Maytag.

Sep 18, 2010
Rating
star
Doesn't Clean
by: Anonymous

I own the maytag quiet series 400 model MDB9601AWB32661409JE.WE have owned this machine for 3 years now. Well it does't clean the dishes since day one. I have never had a problem with the panel at all just the way it cleans. I have tried every kind of soap and tried different cycles and even my husband gave it a good cleaning once just recently and it still cleans like crap.I am going to have a serviceman come out and take a look at it to see what the problem is before we decide to get rid of it. All of our appliances are maytag and we don't have any problems with those appliances. So I am hoping to get this fixed or get a new one a different model next time though.

Sep 18, 2010
Rating
star
Horrible Cleaning Job
by: Anonymous

I have the same model, except it is the AWS. I just moved into a new place and inherited it. While the controls seem to work fine, it does a terrible job of cleaning. I was going to have it serviced, but after reading all these reviews (and others in the Quiet Series 400) I won't bother. I guess I'll bite the bullet and buy a new one (not Maytag).

Sep 12, 2010
Rating
star
Dishwasher won't start - only had 1 month
by: Barry M

We've had the dishwasher for only one month and already there is a problem with the start switch. It will light up when you push it but nothing happens. Much to my dismay my wife decided to go out and buy a dishwasher without reading any kind of product review or even doing a simple internet search. These corrupt companies target the uninformed and take maxium advantage of peoples trust and good nature.

Jul 07, 2010
Rating
star
maytag dishwasher
by: kelly johnson



we also bought the quiet series 400 mdb 7601 aww, i have replaced the electronics board and the control panel once, that lasted about 1 year, now it is down again. please do not buy a maytag ever , i know we wont. k .

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Maytag Dishwashers.