Maytag QuietSeries 400, model number MDB9601AWS

by Laura
(Brighton, MI)

I own a Maytag QuietSeries 400, and would not recommend this dishwasher to someone considering a new purchase.


I bought the appliance from a local appliance dealer about three years ago. The seller was not the problem at all, in fact they were very helpful.

However, I feel this appliance was made very cheaply. Within 2 days of installation, the electronics module went bad and had to be replaced. Perhaps it was a fluke - a bad one straight out of the factory. I can overlook that.

Next I started noticing the racks were not installed very securely. The way the racks are configured, dinner plates only fit on 1 side of the bottom rack. Thus the rack tends to get overloaded on that side very easily and soon the mechanism holding the rack on that side was broken. My husband fixed that himself, and ended up fixing the other side of the rack when that broke a while later.

Eventually, the electronics module stopped working again; however, this time it "magically" fixed itself before I scheduled a service appointment. Now just one of the buttons doesn't work and I can work around that, as I do not want to spend any more money on this appliance.

Compared to other dishwashers I've owned, including a seven year old Whirlpool in the basement, this dishwasher is cheaply made and does not clean well. I do not recommend it.

Comments for Maytag QuietSeries 400, model number MDB9601AWS

Average Rating starstar

Click here to add your own comments

Sep 04, 2016
Rating
starstarstar
A 'no brainer'
by: Anonymous

I have this model dishwasher that was installed a few years ago. It cleans like a work horse and is quiet. However, read reviews before buying any Maytag product. I did not...and I am now shopping for a new dishwasher because the 'brain' is failing...it still works when it wants to (the panel lights up flashing that it's ready to go all by itself) and most of the time must be started on the delay cycle. I can no longer set what wash cycle I need.

I am reading reviews in search of a replacement but finding that even Bosch gets its shares of negative reviews. Any suggestions?

Nov 13, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Disappointed!!
by: Anonymous

I am having the same problems, mine is stuck on sanitize, and wont run a full cycle... So disappointed in Maytag! Then they wanted to send a a repair guy out for $300.00, no way!! I can buy a new one for that!!!!

Sep 18, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Only some buttons work...
by: Anonymous

I was looking for an answer to why my auto clean button, sanitize button, and a few others wont work. Now I am a bit more disappointed seeing all of these comments.

I guess its not my not pushing the buttons right, but a problem that a lot of people have. Now that I have read the comments, I'll start saving to replace the computer board. Awesome...

Also, in response to what others are asking, the flashing ' L ' is because your washer has been locked. When you look at the button panel, you will see a picture of a tiny lock with the number 3. Hold down the button it's touching for 3 seconds, and it will turn the light off.

Your problem should be solved. (I only know this because while trouble shooting my own button issues, I accidentally locked mine.)

Jan 19, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Maytag Dish washer
by: james

I've had the same problems with this dish washer.
Replaced the control panel twice. Now none of the setting buttons work. A piece of junk!!!!!!!!!!!

Jan 11, 2014
Rating
star
Control Board Malfunction
by: Coleman Warren

Agree with everyone! I'm disappointed that my dishwasher has stopped working at 3 years old. From what I've read I'll save time and just get a new one from the back room at RC Willey (not a Maytag)!

Aug 26, 2012
Rating
star
Maytag Appliances SUCK!!!!
by: Chris Warner

We purchased a Maytag refrigerator and this quiet series 400. Less then 2 years old and I'm having the same problem. No start/cancel button operation. Upon dis-assembly it's not hard to see why this control won't work. The printed circuit from control board to control module will never last. Shame on Maytag. And when the refrigerator was just out of warranty the ice maker quit. Maytag is not about quality anymore. And forget about customer service and retention. They haven't heard of these words. Never buy a maytag ever again. I'm taking this POS out and buying a Samsung tonight. Hopefully Maytag reads these complaints. They should be held accountable for the junk they build now. They used to stand for quality.

Jul 05, 2012
Rating
star
Maytag Control panel
by: Anonymous

Like everyone else on this page, i now have a faulty control panel. Spread the word: Maytag is garbage. Never again.

May 28, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Maytag Quiet Series 400
by: Anna Valencia

My maytag control panel has lasted 4 years, I am the only owner and only use at least 4 X's a month. Thats probably why it has lasted 4 years. Now I need to decide if I will buy or just do manual labor for a while!!!

Apr 19, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
maytag appliances
by: Anonymous

Will never buy Maytag- fridge, stove, dishwasher all gave / hv problems withing 1 yr of purchase. believe problems are with newer appliances. friends have older 10-12 yr old maytag appliance with no problems. prob last 7-8 yrs the quality of their products have been compromised

Feb 09, 2012
Rating
star
1 Star is too much for this dishwasher
by: Luli Marra, Puerto Rico

I'm at the top...used it 7 times, control panel and electronic board damaged....but it was quiet then!


Jan 28, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Handle broken
by: Anonymous

I had to replace the handle on my QuietSeries 400, after about 2 years.The technician showed me how it was all plastic parts, needless to say it is broke again a year later.It cost $90.00 last time, WILL NOT BY ANOTHER PLASTIC dishwasher from Maytag again!

Dec 06, 2011
Rating
star
Mayday
by: Anonymous

I have the same issues as everyone else has. Maytag or as I call it Mayday. I have nursed this pig along for the last year re-setting it by shutting off the breaker for 24 hrs and would work for a month and then repeat. Now it has had enough as well as I. To good to be called an anchor. I am sure the cheep china labar as well as the low cost design will serve MatTag well in thier future sales. We will never be compensated for the piece of crap and they know it. The only way to get back on them is to spread the good news. Good Luck MayTag!!!!!!!!!

Sep 29, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Control panel has stopped working
by: Anonymous

I have had this dishwasher for about 3 years. It has worked just fine until now, but now the start/cancel button doesn't work, and I get a flashing "L" sign. Does that mean anything? A couple of others reporting here have seen the same thing. From reading through this website, it sounds like it would make more sense just to buy another (NON-MAYTAG) dishwasher than to spend the money to try to fix it.

Sep 25, 2011
Rating
starstar
Start/Cancel button doesn't work...
by: San Antonio, TX

Another Maytag dishwasher with a bad control panel... while it worked OK for the last 4 years, the horror stories I've read here have definitely made me not consider a Maytag for any kind of appliance. I do feel Maytag should bite the bullet and offer a free recall/repair on that problem.

Sep 19, 2011
Rating
star
Substantial Design Issue
by: Electrical Engineer

My dishwasher stopped working yesterday, so I disassembled it to find the root of the problem. Bottom line: the capacitive touch sensors and the LED display are connected to the control board using poorly designed flex circuits. These are replaceable only as a $240 (about $190 on some discount websites) complete sensor assembly.

I don't want to get too technical, but the copper traces used are too thin and are necked down right where it bends and contacts the door frame. This will eventually fail. I worry that this is a consistent flaw in all of the Maytag line. If the rest of the dishwasher weren't so cheaply built, I might repair it. Instead, I will jumper across the burnt traces temporarily while I shop for a better designed dishwasher.

Sep 18, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
More of the same
by: Anonymous

Hi, my maytag is 4 years old. Reading the comments from the preceding reviews I guess I got a good one for it to have lasted for as long as it did. My control panel has quit responding and DW won't start. At first,the delay side of the panel started flashing and I could cycle through the delay hours and get it to start, but it didn't take long before it would quit flashing and start. It sounds like the maytag line has seen its better days

Aug 26, 2011
Rating
star
Control panel not working
by: Anonymous

We have a 4-year old Maytag Quiet Series 400 dishwasher. The control panel (or circuit board) is not working. The possible fix may be as expensive as buying a new machine. Very frustrating to have bought from a formerly reputable company which now seems to be producing trash.

Aug 26, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
flashing 'L'?
by: Anonymous

Help! What does the flashing 'L' mean?

Aug 21, 2011
Rating
star
major disappointment
by: Colleen W

I have the Maytag 400 but I haven't had the same problems as most of the other posts on this site. It hasn't had control panel problems, or soap dispenser problems or heater problems but mine is still a POS anyways. Every single feature that I bought the stupid thing for has been a major disappointment. All of the organizer features are broken...every single lid clip, rack clip, and even the utensil basket has the bottoms broken out of it. I am not some brute that forces things into position and everything in this unit is built with very low quality in mind. My previous Maytag dishwasher was 30 plus years old and went through 3 owners before it was laid to rest but I will never own a Maytag appliance after this experience...things have definately changed over at Maytag and not for the better.

Aug 17, 2011
Rating
star
What a scam
by: Anne

I am renting where they have this dishwasher and it has gone from the 2H which I never selected to a flashing L and it won't work at all. It seems like it will be another control panel issue like the ones talked about here. Has anyone else had the flashing L?

Jul 17, 2011
Rating
star
Control board failure: flashing 2H - again!
by: Rocky

I purchased and MDB9601AWS in replacement for a another Maytag Quiet Series that was recalled.

I have NEVER be so disappointed in a Maytag product before.

This is the 3rd, that's right the THIRD Control board failure: flashing 2H in 3 years. The first two times, they came out and replaced it free of charge. But I was out of a dishwasher for 2-3 weeks while they had to first send a tech out to officially 'diagnose' it, then order the part and dispatch a second time to replace the faulty control board. Meantime, my family of 5 is out a dishwasher.

I am not giving Maytag another chance. I am purchasing a GE.

Sadly, today's Maytag is not the Maytag of our grandparents or even our parents. Another legendary brand known for producing a reliable and quality product gone into history books.

RIP Maytag.

Jun 29, 2011
Rating
star
Ditto and Then Some
by: Anonymous

Yup, our Maytag is only 4 years old and we are experiencing yet another control panel issue after having an authorized service-tech repair it about a year ago. This time it is even better; the morning before we were to leave for a week-end get away the control panel kept flashing like it was going to run a cycle, I would cancel and low and behold about 2 minutes later the little bugger was flashing "2hr" at me again - we had to flip the circuit breaker to feel safe leaving the house.

We just made other large purchases for the home and were planning on replacing the fridge, but I don't feel safe with this thing in the house. Terribly afraid to get another "dud".

SHAME on Maytag; at least I have ruled out one brand NOT to consider EVER!

Jun 17, 2011
Rating
star
Control Panel Crapped Out
by: Phillip

The Maytag 400 is a POS. I barely have it for more than a year and the start/cancel button on the control panel just plain stop working. The same issue occured 6 months prior but I managed to still run the dishwasher by prying the button panel out and press it a few times for it to work. I checked around for a new control panel and it costs half the dishwasher. I figured it's just more cost effective to get a new one and it ain't going to be a Maytag. What happened to their quality...

Jun 07, 2011
Rating
star
Control panel issue
by: Sheila

We bought our house about 2 years ago with the dishwasher brand new. About 8 months after we bought the home the dishwasher started acting up. The Start/Cancel button would not start the dishwasher. We had a home warrenty so I called the problem in. The deductable was $75 so I was delighted when the dishwasher magically started to work the night before the repair man showed up. It happened again after our 1 yr warrenty was up on the home, but again it magically started after 2 weeks. Now it is our 2 year anniversary in the home and the stupid dishwasher decided to quit 3 weeks ago. I am waiting for the magical day when it begins to work again. Today I was going to bite the bullet and call the repair man, but after seeing all of these other problems with the stupid thing, we might be buying a new one instead especially if no repair man can guaranty it won't happen again or give me a 3 year warranty on the control panel. Thanks for starting this page, it saved me a lot of headache. Sheila aka "Hopeful in Madison".

May 23, 2011
Rating
star
Does not deserve even a 1 star rating!
by: Not a happy customer

We had the same problem everyone else has had with their Series 400 Maytag dishwasher . . . bad control panel. Paid over $200 to have it repaired several years ago. It's been running fine until this morning. I walked up to our dishwasher to unload and the counter top above it felt unusually warm. I opened up my cupboard door next to the dishwasher and it felt like a furnace inside the cupboard. Apparently, the heat/dry cycle stayed on all night long. My dishes were very hot and I had to let them cool before putting them away! Opening the dishwasher door didn't seem to stop the heat, so I ended up unplugging the stupid thing! I'm lucky (and so is Maytag) that this appliance didn't catch fire and burn my house down in the middle of the night! DON'T buy this piece of crap dishwasher . . . you will be sorry if you do!

May 14, 2011
Rating
starstar
controle pannel garbage
by: Anonymous

I had the same problem as every one else with the controle panel. just went out and bought a new one
for 35 bucks put in in . and kinda messed with it till i got it working. and finally it works 4 now
well see how long this lasts falty cheap companies.

May 11, 2011
Rating
star
This thing is a hunk of junk!
by: Berliners

We bought our Quiet Series 4 years ago. It's already been repaired twice, and I have CONSTANT control panel issues. Right now it only washes in light wash, but with tough scrub and heated dry options on whether I want them or not.

I think Maytag quality has gone off the deep end.

This is NOT my mother's Maytag for sure. THAT dishwasher lasted at least 12 years.

May 06, 2011
Rating
star
Fire Hazard
by: Anonymous

A little over four years old: broken handle, broken and unavailable for replacement blue plastic clips on the interior. Dishes don't get clean. Stopped running Saturday. I pulled off the panels and the wire nuts were literally melted, with properly sized feeding wires. I offered to pay extra to the deliverer of a new dishwasher to see this one blown up or thrown off a cliff. No Maytags again for us.

Apr 22, 2011
Rating
star
Another Control Failure
by: George

As the comments here show, the control panels are clearly defective. Our s was always 'flukey', but now has just plain stopped working. Only the 'Rinse' cycle will run. Unless Maytag steps up to address this, we will replace with another manufacturer.

Apr 12, 2011
Rating
star
Control Panel
by: Anon.

Quiet Series 400, 4 years old, two failed control panels to date. Last one has failed so I will try the rubber band fix before buying number 3 - we have contacted Maytag service but are not expecting any luck. Worst thing is that the dishwasher doesn't even do a decent job of cleaning dishes when it is functional. Last Maytag appliance for us - don't even ask about our old fridge !

Apr 05, 2011
Rating
star
Don't forget to complain
by: Nadine

Everyone Please submit a complaint to the Better Business Bureau:
https://odr.bbb.org/odrweb/public/GetStarted.aspx
Obviously we all have been ripped off.

Apr 05, 2011
Rating
star
Piece of junk
by: Buck

Nothing but problems with this thing! Have had it for 4 years and the control head has went out twice. On top of all the plastic dish holders breaking and the bad internal design. And after dealing with Maytag support I will NEVER buy another Maytag product again!!

Mar 31, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Love it
by: Anonymous

I bought this dishwasher Just over 4 yrs ago, have not had a problem with it, stacks great, love the rising top shelf for tall items on the bottom, and all the features on it. The only thing that is wrong is the door as my children (ages 2 n 4) have triped and fell on it while I was loading it and the door bent down and now its out of align, so on to figure out how to fix my self created problem, would and will by Maytag forever regarless of what others say, Nothing is made perfect, errors will happen, but love what you spend your money on. Thank you Maytag.

Mar 29, 2011
Rating
star
Quiete series 400 Junk
by: Jeff unwashed dish

This Amana/Maytag is the worst ever. The first light to go out on our panel only took 14 months to blow. Now if I push any cycle buttons the dishwasher will not start. I have to turn off the breaker after attempt to start does not work. I am looking for another brand.

Mar 25, 2011
Rating
star
twice bitten
by: Anonymous

After my dishwasher stopped working after the last recall in 2007 I was offered the mdb9601aww as a replacement model. This year when calling about a barely functioning control panel I was informed this was also under a recall but not for the control panel. Funny thing is when you call the "recall" line as I did a year ago when the recall was first announced and again yesterday...the automated voice told me mine was not part of the recall. However, Maytag came out to fix the recall item...but not the part that should be under recall from all the comments here and around the internet. I suppose unless it blows up or causes a fire the Maytag/Whirlpool corporation has no conscience and feels no responsibility for clearly faulty craftsmanship. Shameful.

Mar 25, 2011
Rating
star
Control Panel on the blitz
by: Anonymous

We have a frozen control panel and a broken handle that cost $35.00 for the itsy bitsy plastic piece. We will not fix we are going to go buy a different brand.

Mar 03, 2011
Rating
star
Quiet Series 400
by: Anonymous

My control panel has frozen up too. It does weird things and the autowash does not work anymore. My washer is two years old. It has never cleaned dishes very well.

The Maytag brand used to be good 10 years ago but it is rubbish now!

Buyers beware!


Feb 19, 2011
Rating
star
Joined the club
by: Mr. dirty dish

I guess I'm part of the Maytag Quiet series 400 club. Same problem with the control panel. I will cut my losses and go get a 'real' dishwasher.

Feb 11, 2011
Rating
star
Maytag Dishwasher - Model MDB 6601 AWS
by: Idahotom

Circuit Board problem, dishwasher washes will not wash in the 3 major cycles. It appears from the information I gather the circuit board should be recalled and Maytag should stand the cost.

Jan 26, 2011
Rating
star
400 Quiet Series Buttons stopped working
by: Anonymous

We just bought a home with matching MAYTAG (I mean junk) appliances. Within 1 month of being in the home which was built New in 2006, the dishwasher starting choosing it's own cycles.

Now the Start button will not work and the 2H just flashes on the front. After reading this, I am thinking we will get a new dishwasher instead of fighting it. I will check for the possible rubber band fix first on the Jun 5, 2010 posting.

Jan 16, 2011
Rating
star
Would not buy again
by: Anonymous

I purchased the 400 series because it was one of the few that fit my space (wasn't too tall to fit where my previous dishwasher had been). It was recommended by my local installer/repairman. However, the basket bottoms broke and the plastic on the racks wore very quickly. Also the adjustable racks sliders had trouble staying up and in place after a very short period of time. I would not buy another Maytag dishwasher when this goes.

Dec 16, 2010
Rating
star
No more Maytag
by: Anonymous

I purchased my QuietSeries 400 3 years ago at Menards. I hadn't experienced any problems with it until 2 weeks after the heating element was replaced by Maytag under the recall. The first thing that we noticed was a fair amount of water left in the bottom of the dishwasher at the end of the cycle. I thought that some debris may have gotten into the drain system but when I pressed the start/cancel button again it drained out just fine. Two days later, the display on the control panel for the time remaining was not properly illuminating and by the third day, the diswaher would no longer run a cycle. I called a repair center to schedule someone to take a look at it, but when I heard how much the repair was going to cost, I decided to do the work myself. In a brief internet browsing session, I found the part number for the control board and ordered it online for $112.00. If this does not solve the problem, the control panel is also available for $175.00 from the same source. Even if I have to purchase both items, it is still less expensive than having the Maytag man pay me a visit!

Dec 14, 2010
Rating
star
Maytage QuietSeries 400 Poorly made
by: Joanne T

I have the same problems stated by other reviewers about the panel problems...twice the panel was replaced w/in a few weeks a couple of years ago, and each technician acted like they knew what they were doing..now it is happening again...only I can only use the heavy duty cycle..no other button works. Shame is that I bought all the matching appliances for my kitchen at same time..over $4,000..and this dishwasher (the cheapest has caused most issues) is truly made the cheapests, yet it was not cheap in $. I wonder that a lemon law needs to be applied here...what a shame.....I have warned friends about this...Maytag is not a prestigious name any longer.

Dec 05, 2010
Rating
star
Worst dishwasher ever!!
by: Anonymous

This dishwasher belongs in Bin Ladens cave. He probably built it to continue his reign of terror over us infidels. If it has a leg it would kick me in the nuts.
I hate this dishwasher. Maytag, you should be ashamed.
I will never by a Maytag dishwasher again.


Nov 18, 2010
Rating
star
Msytag dishwasher quiet series 300 cntrol board
by: Anonymous

I'm having the same problem with mine, stuck on normal wash and the front panel doesn't light up, how much is it to replace and what part needs to be replaced. Mine is only 2 yrs old. Thanks for any help out there.

Nov 18, 2010
Rating
star
Maytag Crap
by: Anonymous

I have read 50 comments all saying the same thing about this worthless appliance. I called Maytag and they acted as if I was the only one who had such a problem with this model. They offered to sell me the repair parts. When I replied that they should send me the parts at no costs since this was a known design flaw they refused and told me that the best they could do was to deduct 25% off the retail cost of the part. All told with tax and shipping it would have cost me $40 more to do it their way than to buy the part online! Apparently they care little about customer retention.

Nov 13, 2010
Rating
star
TERRIBLE
by: Sherry

I can't believe it!!!! Same problem with our quiet series. The panel has been replaced twice, and it's gone again! Now it seems to be just rinsing. Doesn't wash well at all, WAY too loud, and it is all together CRAP!!!! Never EVER buy a MayTAG

Nov 02, 2010
Rating
star
What a Rip-off
by: Anonymous

We bought this model because it was the only one that would fit under our counter. Now the panel has one cycle that will not work, and the stand up racks for dishes is broken because the brackets that hold it are busted. We have to tape/tie them up until we can find the brackets to replace. I will never purchase a Maytag again. I agree the configuration for dishes is not conducive to loading the dishwasher.

Nov 02, 2010
Rating
star
300 series
by: Anonymous

Panel doesn't work at all. Quit for a while then worked then quit on and off until it quit entirely. JUNK! Going to buy a new one tonight and will look at anything BUT Maytag. It's obviously a design flaw that they will not stand by.

Nov 02, 2010
Rating
star
Maytag quietseries 400
by: Shary

If you are considering this machine, don't.
I replaced our dishwasher of 18 years with this one and it has lasted maybe 2-3 years.

It takes way to long to clean the dishes, and now the pump sounds like it is gone.

I have not been happy with it at all.
This page is great, this dishwasher, is not.

Nov 02, 2010
Rating
star
Maytag appliances
by: Anonymous

We also purchased this dishwasher. The maytag repair man has been to my home so many times the dog doesnt even bark at him anymore! All of the appliances have had repairs, infact the microwave only lasted 1 1/2 years and fire came shooting out of it. I will not purchase maytag ever again. I am going to do alot of research before I purchase again!

Oct 29, 2010
Rating
star
Control Panel Broken
by: Jim

This dishwasher was advertised as an above average machine. During the first year I had to replace the dish rack plastic holders twice. Now after about 2 years the control panel has gone on the blink. The authorized Maytag rep. came and it will cost $369.06 if I let them repair it. I'm Very disappointed in the quality of a Maytag Product!

Oct 27, 2010
Rating
star
This product sucks
by: Byron

I wish there was a lower rating one star, as this Maytag product is terrible. As many have posted before me, the electronics and the control panel are a joke. I bought this thing new and it has never run well.

The panel just powers off, it blinks weird codes, it creates its own wash patterns, it wont let me turn the heated dry off, etc, etc, etc. And it does all this randomly, which means of course whenever the repair guy gets here it works fine - until he leaves:(

My recommendation - short Maytag stock, because their reputation for quality products is now nothing more than a marketing phrase. Based on sites like this it wont be long before the market catches up with the "real" maytag.

Oct 13, 2010
Rating
star
Disappointing dishwasher
by: Anonymous

I expected a Maytag to be better than this. My control panel no longer responds and the door handle is starting to behave erratically, too. I was quoted almost $350 to fix it, so I think I'll just have to replace it. The next one will NOT be a Maytag!

Oct 13, 2010
Rating
star
TOTAL CRAP
by: Anonymous

I give a 0 Star to this piece of garbage. I had to repalce its circuit board once, it went bad again. it worked with new board for sometime, now it is not working again.

Oct 10, 2010
Rating
star
Terrible piece of junk
by: Anonymous

We have had service people out twice. We changed the panel because it wasn't working.
Now it is stuck on Lock. I can't unlock it and run the mashine.
It's Sunday too.
Never again.
Maytag people, read us and fix your product.

Oct 04, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
Maytag Quietseries 400 Dishwasher?
by: Pissed off in Oakville

We own one of these dishwashers purchased along with the house last year. Little did I know that the dishwasher had a mind of it's own. Press light wash and you get something for 2 hours running and wasting scalding hot water! Try to select another wash cycle and it could be running longer. Our control panel is shot and we watch the digital display count up to 9 hours delay start and all the lights flashing in sequence on the control panel like something out of an early Star Trek episode! The machine doesn't wash well and I've tried most dishwashing liquid, gel packs and powders. The dishes come out cloudy, dirty and the rinse water is dirty. I'm assuming it doesn't drain properly either. The ONLY product that works are the Finish power tabs but they are also the most expensive to buy. I'm not going to bother to have it repaired for $350 so I can replace it next year with another $500 unit. I'm just going to call Sears and ask them to take their piece of crap away and dump it somewhere.
Thanks everyone for your previous comments. Very helpful and saved me the $350 repair bill!

Sep 18, 2010
Rating
star
OMG
by: Anonymous

I am listening to my Quiet Series 400 run as I write this, it is not quiet! The DAY AFTER the 1 year warranty expired the top rack broke on the left side. I called Maytag and they MADE ME PAY FOR A NEW PART ...one day over. I repaired the top rack and within a year the other side broke in the same place. Of course I had to buy the entire mechanism to replace one lousy screw- I don't remember exactly but it ran like $50. I wonder why they used a PLASTIC part on a rack that will and can hold heavy glasses and bowls? Who's the genius that designed this?

Now two years later I am having the control panel issues too. I don't even know what cycle it is running anymore it just runs. (I hope) Sometimes it is the rinse only cycle and I keep my fingers crossed I can get a Normal cycle out of it some how. I came across this site looking to see if others have had this problem too and to see how much a new control panel will run....BOY! Who knew...obviously not any of us! I am so angry I will not ever buy another Maytag either...Oh and the handle that unlocks the door after a cycle broke before the first year was up and I found that the washer still ran and locked somehow so I never even tried to repair it...a total waste of 400-500 dollars, I feel violated.

Sep 18, 2010
Rating
star
MAYTAG
by: Anonymous

I had an expensive stainless steel Maytag dishwasher. It was recalled in 2007 and replaced (at my expense) with a plastic piece of junk (I only had a few models to choose from to get the rebate) Now, the junk Maytag dishwasher is being recalled. So, I am expected to go and buy a third dishwasher, which I will be given about $100 toward (probably about 10% of the price). It seems to me, like there is a scam going on; I would love to own a business where I could expect my customers to buy my product over and over every 2 to 3 years.

Sep 18, 2010
Rating
star
control pad gone
by: howard

I have had this machine for less than two years
when you touch the control it automatically goes to delay and then counts down random numbers .
The cost to repair it is 85 to have a person look at it . 19 per hour to diagnose and if it is the control panel another 150 .
We have decided to trash the machine .
what ever happened to concept of quality

Sep 05, 2010
Rating
star
Wish I did not purchase the 400
by: Anonymous

Sense owning the 400 we have had the lock mech. repaired, recalled work, tray problems, and now, dish soap door problems.....we just went out and purchased a new disher washer...its was not MAYTAG. No way will be buy a maytag again.

I guest the Maytag Repair guy is busy.

Sep 01, 2010
Rating
star
Filthy Dirty Dishes
by: Natalie

This dishwasher is terrible. Even before the recalls, this dishwasher ran awful. Nasty crud left on all the dishes on my top rack. I tried everything: cleaned the whole thing out (taking out most parts, and cleaning them too), I prewashed the dishes (they came out dirtier), I changed soap, I added water softener, I ran the hot water in the sink and upped the water temp. in the house. I did all the suggested Maytag fixes on this thing. And nothing changed. I contacted Maytag several times and only received their generated email, telling me once again to do all the things I had already done. I called Maytag, and was told that there was nothing they could do. Even when the recall repairman came out (I was not going to fork out any more money for another Maytag) he told me the same list of to do's to fix. What a joke. This dishwasher is just a bad machine. Finally I found the only thing that works, other than handwashing, is to run the stupid dishwasher at 1/3 capacity. If it is mostly empty the dishes come out clean. That just goes to prove the dishwasher is mechanically poor and cannot function at full capacity. I would never recommend this dishwasher to anyone.

Aug 30, 2010
Rating
star
Control Pad issues
by: manda

Had this dishwasher installed in our new house three years ago and have been doing dishes by hand for the last two, because the control panel is not working. Had the free repair scheduled hoping it was the control pad, but no. Now I'm reading here that lot's of people have been having the same control pad issue. Before I order the parts to fix ($150+), has anyone been satisfied with a fix?

Thanks,
MANDA

Jul 27, 2010
Rating
star
Maytag Fire Danger Frightens Handicapped
by: Texan

My QuietSeries 400 was also a serious error in purchase. I don't want their free repair and I don't want to buy from Maytag.

Maytag, you have brought fear of fire into a disabled person's house. A Maytag dishwasher is unwanted in this house.

I will propose that we take an average of 4x the check amount being offered. This would give us a better start on deciding from whom we should purchase a replacement dishwasher.

I also propose that the businesses from whom we purchased the Maytag dishwashers come to our houses and remove the dishwashers at zero expense to us. That way the Maytag dealer can gain a few good parts and we do not have to pay pickup and disposal fees. Maytag may reimburse them for their efforts.

Maytag needs to be called on the carpet. Consumers should not have to put up with purchasing from the same company or using their technicians on this kind of dangerous technical issue.

A Judge's Wife

Jul 19, 2010
Rating
starstar
I agree on Maytag 400 Quiet Series
by: Pam

I also have this dishwasher. Before one year, the rinse agent compartment needed to be replaced. Now 3 years old, some of the buttons don't work. Also have several other Maytag appliances and after 3 years, you guessed it....Most needed major repairs. I will never buy Maytag again!

Jul 19, 2010
Rating
star
maytag CRAP
by: texasrigdiver

I can't believe what a piece of crap this "high end" dishwasher is. my $250 8 year old dishwasher from sears is quieter and gets the dishes so much cleaner. This maytag belongs in a trashbag. all this thing does is disperse the dirt evenly across all the dishes. I seriously think we should bring a class action suit against Maybeahighpricetag for this piece of crap. It can't even be repaired successfully, your only hope is to replace it.

Jul 19, 2010
Rating
star
LED Lights not working
by: Anonymous

Same problem as others.

worked for awhile, then the lights don't glow when cyclce completed...

Jul 19, 2010
Rating
star
400 Quiet Series - Junk!!!!
by: Anonymous

Same story here. Have had the dishwasher for three years and it has been junk since day one. Within the first three months the control board had to be replaced twice. The dishes, particularly the glasses, often come out with caked on crud inside, and now the control panel operates completely as it sees fit. We have no control over which cycle and features we want. We have to use the heavy wash with heated dry and sanitizing feature whether we want them or not. Never again a Maytag!!

Jul 19, 2010
Rating
star
Same problem
by: Angelbutter

Yep same problem here. first it was stuck on "light wash" then it randomly got stuck on "heavy wash" now we are stuck on " rinse only" and none of the lights work. I've owned mine for 2 years, It seems that we get one year of being stuck in a type of cycle then it switches. Now since it is only rinsing, I have to prewash all my dishes. ARRGH!

Jul 19, 2010
Rating
starstar
Electronic Panel
by: Anonymous

My mother and I both have the series 400 and within 1 month of our 3 year aniversaries, both electronic panels were shot. It did not work properly for a year and now it just won't turn on. $250 plus labour to fix it. Garbage machine. Thanks Maytag.

Jul 19, 2010
Rating
star
NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS
by: shannon

We've had repairmen out here 3 times to tell us that nothing is wrong, the drying cycle is drying- but our cups and dishes were covered with water. When you turn it on, it is sooo loud, you can hear it upstairs.

Our "quiet" series sounds like it's dying and won't cycle. It will blink and the electric panel will shut off.

We bought a new home and paid EXTRA for this "upgrade" and it is the WORST diswasher we've had. If I would have known this, I would have taken our 8 year old dishwasher from our old home with us!

Jul 19, 2010
Rating
star
Uggghhhh...
by: Anonymous

Same issues. Two to three years things started to break down and now it doesn't even start. Regrets? Yeah...didn't find this website before I purchased. I'm going to replace it (heck with getting it repaired).

Jul 19, 2010
Rating
star
I will never buy a Maytag again
by: Anonymous

This dishwasher is pathetic. I bought it 3 years ago and have had lots of problems. First the door spring gave away. Then the LCD display stopped showing the full content.

Now, after 3 years the touch pad is dead and the Maytag service tech recommended a replacement - it costs around $200! Wow, I will NEVER buy Maytag again. On a side note, I had bought a Maytag fridge 4 years back and its door handles are also broken..this is one the top of the line stainless steel models......Maytag u r dead...goodbye

Jul 19, 2010
Rating
starstar
Is anything being done?
by: Pam

Is there anything that any of us can do to make them do a recall and replace our dishwashers????

Jul 19, 2010
Rating
star
maytag has been bad news
by: Randal Neely

I went through the recall on a perfectly good working good at least dishwasher. The recall said that it could catch on fire if the recall fix was not done. Appl repair person on maytag list came to do the fix. He literally burned it up. We argued with maytag for 6 months. They finally said they would give us a new dishwasher through one of their dealers. Nothing would take the cabinet front like the others so we had to pay $100 difference. We got the quietseries 400. It has never cleaned like the old one and now is causing major problems. It does not work for any length of time. i should have bought the extended warranty on a Maytag product.

Jul 03, 2010
Rating
star
Dishwasher sucks!!!
by: Anonymous

Yes this dishwasher sucks, and I will never buy another Maytag dishwasher again after having the control panel fail for the THIRD time in less than two years. Purchased with a 5 yr extended from BRANDSMART, they finally gave up and gave me a store credit for what I paid for the machine.


Jun 05, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Possible Fix for Control Panel
by: Anonymous

Our Maytag Quiet Series 400 experienced the same problem: control panel buttons stopped working consistently and then did work (similar to the above writer: while waiting for the Sears repair man). Quoted $300 to fix panel; I actually bought another washer. But before installation, I decided to give it one more try and observed that the problem was with the thin ribbon connector between the control panel and the washer. Specifically, when I put it under tension (pulled on it), all buttons worked and worked consistently. So I attached a rubber band to the ribbon to put it under continuous tension and reassembled the washer door. Returned the still crated "replacement". The Maytag has worked perfectly for 2 years; clean dishes; no complaints. Now for that pesky recall...

May 26, 2010
Rating
starstar
Worked for 2.5 years Never buy Maytag Again
by: Anonymous

This Maytag worked for us for amost exaclty 2.5 years, then the button to start stoped working. The people we bought it from who also sevrvice them said it would be 290 to fix it and the part needed was 175 from maytag. However after seeing all the problems they have with this I will probably just buy a different one from another company. I do not think I will ever buy another Maytag again

Apr 26, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
MAYTAG 400 QUIET SERIES
by: PAULA

MY MAYTAG 400 QUIET SERIES DOES NOT CLEAN THE DISHES THERE IS DRIED SOAP AND FOOD IN GLASSES AND THE SILVERWARE HAS A FILM ON THEM. IT IS VERY NOISY AND TAKES 2 HOURS TO COMPLETE CYCLES. THE AUTOMATIC CYCLE DOES NOT WORK SINCE I CHANGED TO A NORMAL CYCLE ONCE.

Apr 08, 2010
Rating
starstar
Frustrated
by: Anonymous

I have gone through 4 control panels on this dishwasher over one year and only after the fourth panel went out would they offer me a replacement. When I asked Maytag about any issues with this model they said that didn't know of any issues, that was a lie. I had to explain that dishwashers are supposed to last more than a year to the Maytag manager that I spoke with and how I should discuss this with the BBB. I also now someone else who has the same model with the same issues, go figure.

I guess I know why that Maytag repair guy is so bored, his phone was made by Maytag and it doesn't work.

Oct 22, 2009
Rating
starstar
Our New Maytag Quiet Series 400
by: Anonymous

Pros
- it does clean the dishes well
- the buttons that need to be pressed to start the machine are on the top of the door

Cons
- the length of time it takes to wash dishes
- the layout of the interior of the dishwasher


Recently, we purchased a new dishwasher since our old one, which we loved, had a missing part that would cost more to replace than purchasing a new dishwasher. We chose to purchase the Maytag Quiet Series 400 dishwasher. Although we had a Maytag dishwasher in the past, we are not nearly as satisfied with our new dishwasher as we were with our old one.

The negative aspects of the dishwasher are the length of time it takes to wash dishes and the layout of the interior of the dishwasher. The dishwasher has the container for knives, forks, and spoons located in the bottom drawer as opposed to being located on the door. This makes it very difficult to fit very much into the dishwasher.

Also, it seems to take a very long time to wash the dishes. Drying also takes a long amount of time. That added to the fact that barely any dishes fit into the dishwasher, causes us to ALWAYS have dishes in the sink waiting to be loaded into the dishwasher once it is finally done washing the dishes. In addition, the top shelf is not low enough to fit large cups into it without them hitting the top of the dishwasher.

Cups then have to be put on the lower shelf, causing even less plates to fit into the dishwasher. In terms of positives, they do not outweigh the negatives of the machine. The only positives are that it does clean the dishes well and that the buttons that need to be pressed to start the machine are on the top of the door, so from the front, you cannot see any buttons.

Oct 18, 2009
Rating
star
Maytag quiet series 400
by: NM bought at Baillio's

I too have been having a problem with the lighting panel, with its being stuck on heavy wash. I cannot do the rinse cycle or sanitize. Mine is 3 years old and my family hates the way it loads, they cannot figure it out, and frankly I have trouble because it sits so low to the ground.
I am pleased to have found this site, because I was going to call a technician to come look at it. Now I won't since it does function somewhat. When it goes completely, I'll buy another brand. But this is very inconvenient. I would be happy to participate in a class action lawsuit, as this problem seems to be a design flaw.

Oct 18, 2009
Rating
star
Maytag quiet series 400
by: NM bought at Baillio's

I too have been having a problem with the lighting panel, with its being stuck on heavy wash. I cannot do the rinse cycle or sanitize. Mine is 3 years old and my family hates the way it loads, they cannot figure it out, and frankly I have trouble because it sits so low to the ground.
I am pleased to have found this site, because I was going to call a technician to come look at it. Now I won't since it does function somewhat. When it goes completely, I'll buy another brand. But this is very inconvenient. I would be happy to participate in a class action lawsuit, as this problem seems to be a design flow.

Aug 23, 2009
Rating
star
pile of junk
by: Anonymous

MAYTAG? NEVER AGAIN! WHAT A CRAPPY PILE OF JUNK. CONTROL PANEL FAILED JUST AS THE WARRANTY EXPIRED. NO RELIEF FROM MAYTAG. PURCHASED AT HOME DEPOT.

Aug 20, 2009
Rating
star
Front Panel + Buttons busted
by: Anonymous

My first Maytag dishwasher is just 2 years old and the front panels and buttons don't work. It is stuck on normal wash.

Maytag wants to come in and "inspect" my dishwasher at $80 travel time plus $25 per 15 minutes + parts + Labor.

It is not worth it to me. Don't ever buy anything Maytag!

Jul 26, 2009
Rating
star
Faulty control panel and buttons.
by: Anonymous

I have also had the same problem with the control panel not working only after a year of use. I don't know what to do. I wish I would have never bought the piece of junk. Would not recommend to anyone.

Jul 16, 2009
Rating
star
deluxe model...budget pieces
by: Colleen W

We purchased this dishwasher to replace a 40 year old maytag that performed well but sounded as if a jet plane were landing in our kitchen...I will take the noise over this hunk of junk anyday.

I will say the 3rd lower rack is a nice feature but the rest of the interior isn't good. I really liked the fact that the wire racks would collapse if needed and now that is all they do...the things all broke within 6 months. I also thought I would like the different "areas" for different pieces however we don't always have the right mix of dishes to fill the dishwasher to capacity and often end up running it unfull. I also don't care for the silverware rack, I often have to clean the silverware by hand because there is stuff all over the place. I wish I would have gone for the basic model.

Jun 14, 2009
Rating
star
Maytag Quiet Series 400 MDB9601AWS
by: Anonymous

I had this dishwasher for approximately two and a half years. Under a year warranty, it went through two control boards and three front panels where buttons and lights were located. Now the buttons do not respond and is stuck on "Normal" cycle. There is no way to change wash cycle or change settings such as heated dry, pots and pans wash.

Maytag had the nerve to send me junk mail offering extended warranty after it expired. They continued sending it for about 9 months. I chose not to send Maytag any more money.

I was disappointed with Maytag because I had Maytag appliances for 40 years and never had a problem until I got this dishwasher. Do not buy anything from Maytag or any appliances with electronic controls. According to my reseach on appliance blogs and repair websites, I noticed a pattern... electronic control boards and front panels do not last long.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Maytag Dishwashers.