Maytag--MDBTT59AWW

by Shirley
(California)

I have a Maytag dishwasher that I purchased from Lowes, I have had this dishwasher for two and a half years, the name Maytag stand for quality and dependability. This last year has been nothing but problems, the repairman has replaced a circuit board twice, I think that is what you call it, I should find my receipt to confirm that name. He came back last week and was unable to fix it, will be back next week to try again. My husband called and placed a complaint because I think it falls under the lemon law.


The contract says if that have to work on the same problem 3 times they will replace it. Customer service say they have only worked on it twice under this contract so that not not apply. so I am not a happy camper right now. I have been washing dishes by hand for the last three weeks, which I don't mind but I have a dishwasher that I am supposed to be using but it's unusable.

Comments for Maytag--MDBTT59AWW

Average Rating star

Click here to add your own comments

May 05, 2013
Rating
star
Page 5 star, Matag 1 star.
by: AJ

Have (had), replaced today, a MDBTT60AWW, Matag peace of S**T. Same issues with broken handle as well as control touch panel. I changed the panel 2 years ago (at 100.00) and now again fried. Matag customer service useless. A 5 year old diswasher (Manufactured May 2008) and nothing but problems with repairs that would cost more than the unit. Obviouly these is an issue with these control touch panel as I have read 1000 of reviews where they went bad. Design flaw and Maytag should reimburse everyone at least $300.00. Well I junked that $450.00 dishwasher and bought a new one, OBVIOUSLY NOT A MATAG OR A WHIRLPOOL. NO MORE MAYTAG OR WHIRLPOOL FOR ME, FRIENDS, CLIENTS, OR FAMILY after I tell them MY story.

Oct 17, 2011
Rating
star
PIECE OF JUNK!!!!!
by: Anonymous

I have a Maytag dishwasher, in fact we got all Maytag applianaces in kitchen when we remodeled aboout 10 years ago. I've had problems with all. The dishwasher is the worst! Have had problems since I got it. Just this year I had replaced 2 pumps, 2 control panels, soap tray, water hose, clip at top! I had water lay in bottom of dishwasher and would not drain, would stop in middle of wash and not go on or would stop in rinse cycle and go off, had to start it 3-4 times before it would work properly. Soap would not dispense. I have an extended warranty that I pay per month, they have tried to repair it but I still get water in bottom of dishwasher, repair is coming out next week to look at it again. I've told repair person I need a new dishwasher, he said they won't. I will never buy a Maytag product again and yes I got it at Lowe's.

Oct 17, 2011
Rating
star
P.O.S.
by: eddyline

Once again, control panel goes out. Heck I could of bought 1 new top of the line model for as much money I have put into this P.O.S.

Mar 15, 2011
Rating
star
to pete
by: Tonya

if you will send me your address, i'll pay for shipping...i have one of these pieces of junk in my duplex. it's cracked and i'd like to get the deposit back. my email is todell31@yahoo.com. Thanks!

Mar 03, 2011
Rating
star
POS maytag
by: Pete

In 2003 I bought the maytag so that my wife would have a supposedly good dishwasher. The control panel took a dump when it was six weeks old. Covered under warranty. not long after that, the door latch broke. It was covered under the parts warranty but not the labor. I was sent a new latch and a couple other parts needed with it and spent too much time trying to repair it so the new latch remains in the shipping box. We found that the door could open and close without the latch. Problem is that someone pulled too hard and cracked the plastic panel. I used a lot of super glue on it but it looks terrible. I tried to find out what the decibel rating is because the unit is so loud. We can't have a quiet conversation in the living room because of the noise. We also have to turn up the TV volume when the dishwasher is running. The impellers tend to get plugged up with tomato or pepper seeds and the dishes don't get clean. I have to take them out periodically. Now when the dishes are finished, we are left with about an inch of standing water (gray) in the bottom of the tub. I'm done with this POS and just ordered a new Bosch with a decible rating of 50. It certainly cannot be any worse than the maytag. If anyone needs a door latch, I have one for free.

Feb 11, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Pump never worked
by: Kim - so foolish

I purchased this dishwasher about 1.5 years and it has never worked from day 1. Unfortunately, it was in a rental home so I didn't find out until the 1 year warranty was up. I refused to replace the pump because with the cost of the part and installation its more than what the dishwasher is worth. So, dissatisfied b/c I paid for some dunk that I never used and now I'm looking for anyone to change it out.

Feb 11, 2011
Rating
star
Maytag Quite Serious 100
by: Anonymous

Loews purchase?

Terrible machine...rusting interior and exterior even though it is a stainless steel front. Does not clean the dishes. Dishes come out more dirty than when placed in the machine (white material cooked on). Never purchase anything Maytag or Whirlpool as they are now the same company.

Class Action Suite?

Dec 05, 2010
Rating
star
Junk!
by: Anonymous

We too bought our MDBTT60AWW at Lowes. What junk! The racks have rusted completely through in several places. Now it gets stuck in the wash cycle an will run forever unless you manually stop it. There was a recall on the heating element that casused the washer to go up in flames! We just had that fixed for free. From day 1 the door also made a clunking sound when you lift it from the horizontal position. Luckily I bought it at half price as a scratch and dent. I would never buy a Maytag appliance again!

Nov 22, 2010
Rating
star
Another Lowe's reject
by: Nina-Marie

You can add me to the list. We got it at lowe's about 4 years ago. Our handle hasn't fallen apart but doesn't latch like it should - constantly sticks. But this machine has NEVER washed right. I know darn well the water temps aren't right. I'm constantly cleaning out the bottom mechanisms because its clogged with VERY small debris which it shouldn't do. I will NEVER buy from lowe's again. This is a constant headache!!

Nov 18, 2010
Rating
star
LED flasing
by: Anonymous

I to have the same problem with all the LED's flashing...is it the control pc board?

Nov 18, 2010
Rating
star
all LED flasing
by: Anonymous

The dishwasher flashes all of the LED's and does not respond....I remove the 120 voltage for awhile and it works...but when done, the flashing LED's come back on........any ideas what is wrong

Nov 18, 2010
Rating
star
Door latch
by: Anonymous

I am on my fifth door latch. When this one broken we also ended up breaking the con panel where the latch is located. The con panel is a $100 part. Very poor design.

Nov 18, 2010
Rating
star
Maytag latch breaks every year!
by: Kevin

I bought one of these models and every 1 - 2 years you MUST replace the latch since it breaks. First time, I was able to order just the $10 latch but now, it's a one piece unit for $30. I'm on my third latch now and this has turned me off of Maytag appliances. Just pulling the cover, the inside looks terrible from the dishwasher gel that leaks inside the cover. The last time I replaced the latch, the top two seats for the screws had broken - retapped with longer screws.

Nov 02, 2010
Rating
star
Maytag Quiet Series fro Lowes crap
by: Jim

As everyone else our Maytag quietseries 100 handle brake and now is a super sharp plastic razor. I will not buy another Maytag appliance and honestly there should be a recall or class action against these guys

Nov 02, 2010
Rating
star
Dido
by: Anonymous

Maytag Sucks. THe washer never cleaned as good as our old washer. Now we have the same problem with the control panel not working. Bought it at Lowes.Steer clear of Maytag junk!!!!!!!

Nov 02, 2010
Rating
star
Broken Latch
by: Frederick Louis Maytag

Me too the latch is broken for me the 2nd time. We only used our dishwasher part time as the home was our cottage. Now that we are full time and retired, we should be using the dishwasher full time for 2 adults and occasional company. I put the name Frederick Lous Maytag up in the Your Name spot. I bet today Frederick Louis Maytag would not be impressed. It is ironic how you can get to their website except for the one that says - Contact Us. It comes up server error. I have had many dishwashers over the years, but today marks the day that any Maytag will be my last. Good thing that I can act as consumer review for my children and grand- children who will soon be buying appliances. Surprise - NONE of them will be a Maytag.
I would suppose that today Maytag should review the words of Frederick Louis Maytag. I have included them for anyone who wants to read it.
In 1907, Frederick Louis Maytag entered the washer business with one goal in mind: to build quality appliances from durable and long-lasting materials. That ideal holds true today for Maytag brand's full line of household and commercial appliances, from washers to refrigerators to ranges and cooktops

Nov 02, 2010
Rating
star
piece o'junk
by: Anonymous

same thing here- 2003 Maytag "quiet series", although I bought mine at Home Cheapo...dorr latch is crap, the wire racks are rusted, dishes do not even get cleaned, roars so loud and plastic pieces just fall off of the machine...JUNK! never again Maytag!

Oct 23, 2010
Rating
star
door latch and handlde broke
by: Anonymous

This is ludicrous. Maytag should have to do something about this. I hardly use my washer- bought it at Lowes and the latch and handle broke. This is basically robbery, I will never buy another Maytag.

Oct 23, 2010
Rating
star
bad door latch
by: Anonymous

Lowes in 2007. Our dishwasher has literally fallen apart! The door latch completely broke 3 time in one year. by the way, today makes it 4 time.

Oct 23, 2010
Rating
star
Identical Problem with us, too!
by: Anonymous

We have the exact same Maytag dishwasher--also purchased via Lowe's in 2003--and have been quite disappointed with both the quality of its performance as well as the off/on again, temperamental nature of the problems. That is, sometimes we'll load the dishwasher,latch the door, and none of the control buttons work.

Occasionally, the lights/buttons come on, the machine starts the wash cycle, then turns off part way through the cycle,leaving unclean dishes for me to wash! At other times, the "Rinse" light will mysteriously go off/on for no apparent reason when no one has touched the dishwasher!

These problems first began intermittently in 2007, at which time my husband ran several tests, after which we ordered & replaced the entire dishwasher door latch & handle assembly, since he determined it was linked somehow to the problems we had with the control panel. (Sometimes the latch didn't seem to click or lock into place nor release as it should after the door was opened.)

This step seemed to help for awhile--plus we discovered that if we turned off power to the dishwasher (i.e., at the fuse box) when the lights on the control panel failed to come on, for some reason--but after variable time periods--the dishwasher would then start & run properly--for awhile!

We limped along with the dishwasher in 2008 until the problems gradually got worse, i.e., trips to the fuse box became necessary more often--(which must have been re-setting the control board somehow).

Anyway, in spring of this year (2009) we ordered/installed another complete door latch/handle assembly--since the second one failed us, too! This one only partially helped the problem since, for the past couple of months, the dishwasher has been 'out of operation' more than it's been working, i.e., & we've finally run out of patience with it.

We think it might need a new control board, but read on another blog that even after replacing that, some folks said this dishwasher still wasn't working right. (By the way, some of the plastic parts, e.g., cup clips, were pretty brittle/flimsy; and we couldn't believe how quickly both of the dishwasher racks developed a problem with rust.

We were able to replace both of them while still under warranty, but the second set is already rusty.) Not wanting to throw anymore good money after bad--as my grandmother said--we're going to buy a new dishwasher. I assure you it won't be a Maytag, either!

Actually, we don't plan on buying anymore Maytag appliances after our experience with this dishwasher. (The quality of their products is definitely inferior to what one could expect in years past.)

Oct 23, 2010
Rating
star
Same Problem
by: Anonymous

We have the same dishwasher purchased from Lowes in 2003. Our dishwasher has literally fallen apart! The door latch completely broke off exposing the guts of the control panel which, by the way, no longer works. Sometimes the start button will come on, sometimes it won't. Some of the plastic dish rack pieces have also broken off.

This dishwasher is a wreck, and I would advise anyone thinking of purchasing a Maytag product to seriously think twice. Maytag products are not cheap (pricewise I mean), so you would think you're getting a better product, but you're not!

Jun 08, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Maytag or Lowe"s
by: Anonymous

I am noticing that everyone who purchased a dishwsher from Lowe's. I did too and my dishwasher stinks. My dishwasher is not a maytag, but it was bought at Lowe's .Just wondering maybe it's Lowe's.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Maytag Dishwashers.