MDB7600AWW Quiet Series

by Robert Khoury
(Lawrence, Kansas)

Unit was purchased in December 2003 and it will be out the door in January 2009. So far we have had a motor replaced,a broken handle replacement and a control panel replacement.


All of these were covered under the Extended Warranty, however now the motor is going out again...makes enough noise to wake the dead...however the Extended Warranty folks say we won't come until it actually stops working. So as long as the dishes are coming out OK just deal with it.

I did inquire what they would do if I had catarosphic failure and a floor full of water...response was silence.

What is most mysterious is that they came out the first time when the motor made the same noise, now they say....Opps we should not have done that.

Into the FWIW column we also have a Maytag flattop range. Clock doesn't keep accurate time, and a small piece cracked off the one of the plastic trim pieces a week after install....neither covered as they don't affect the stoves performance.

In conclusion there will never ever be another Maytag appliance in this house, and I would recommend others to stay as far away from the Maytag Repair Man as you can.

R. Khoury

Comments for MDB7600AWW Quiet Series

Average Rating starstar

Click here to add your own comments

Mar 29, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Mine still running
by: Anonymous

I have had my Maytag dishwasher since 2005 - 10 years later... stillhumming along like a champ. No repairs yet (knock on wood)... but dishwashers are only expected to last 9-10 years... I've gotten my money's worth.

Jul 05, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
The Worst Dishwasher ever!
by: Anonymous

This dishwasher was about two years old when we moved into our new home. We have had nothing but problems with it-- poor drying, extremely loud, and the overall quality is very poor.The motor has been replaced, the handle has been replaced THREE TIMES! Now it is leaking. Can't wait to get this thing out of my house. I will never purchase another Maytag product again--

For the record, I also have a Maytag clothes washer--- Also a very poorly made product.

Jul 08, 2011
Rating
star
Door latch
by: Colin

Model MDB7600AWW purchased new in '04. Today I replaced AGAIN (did it once before...can't remember which year)the door latch. Fortunately I'm a weekend handyman so I purchased the part for $32.00 and installed it. Generally I'm not happy with the product. It doesn't wash the dishes throughly. Leaves dirty water sitting on the concave upside down coffe cups, and wine glasses. And I'm not about to stop drinking coffee and wine!

Dec 09, 2010
Rating
star
Poor quality
by: Anonymous

Door latch cheap to make and expensive to fix , twice already , now the pump motor assembly needs replaced . Very poor quality .

Dec 09, 2010
Rating
star
maytag down hill
by: Anonymous

Latch has broken three times. Piece of cheap crap, I can't believe Maytag would market something like this.

Sep 24, 2010
Rating
star
Maytag LOW Quality
by: ticked off

mine has had 2 prior repairs to shoddy parts in the door latch , now the pump motor assembly is shot . Maytag and related makers (Whirlpool) are off my list of appliances

Aug 23, 2010
Rating
star
good company gone bad
by: Anonymous

Maytag was a good compay who backed the product and made it good now Whirlpol has it are they going to be like the latter Maytag co. and sell junk and not make them good. I am a reparman I I had less calls for a maytag product the any other. I got call for one that has the same problems that i have read here.
Gilbert

Apr 07, 2010
Rating
star
bad product
by: Anonymous

My wife and I purchased this dishwasher in November 2004. Ever since then we have nothing but problems with it. In particular the control board fails. We have already replaced the 12002709 control board twice since we bought the dishwasher and now it has failed again. We have also replaced the motor and the latch assembly.

I wrote to Maytag and complained about this an they said that it was out of warranty and that there was nothing they could do. To make matters worst they told me that if I bought a new Maytag dishwasher to replace it they would give me a 15% reduction in the price. I told them that I have no faith in the quality of a new dishwasher and that the offer did nothing to change my opinion nor help with customer satisfaction.

Besides the money that I've spent repairing this dishwasher I could have purchased a new one. So much for Maytag quality. They said that they would forward my concern up to their manager.

My belief is that the design is flawed and moisture from the dishwasher is causing the control board to short out. Has anyone else had similar problems?

Apr 07, 2010
Rating
star
looking for new dishwasher
by: R Rivette

Had to replace door latch Jan/12/09.
Service call and parts Cost$127.58.
On March/25/09 dishwasher stop working.
Service call cost$90.35.

Was told a new touch pad Cost$110.00.
And possibly a new board Cost$183.00.
Asked service tech. Are you sure? His reply "ohhhhhh yes".

Our reply was no thank you.
After 8 Months of going without a dishwasher,
On Nov/27/09 I go looking to purchase a new dishwasher
And was told some models had a recall on door latches.
If Maytag reads these reviews may I have some clarification on which Models are recalled for door latches ?

PS I will be following up on my review.
Not so sure about the Maytag Man's assessment of touch pad & board.







Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Maytag Dishwashers.