Miele customer service opinions

by Vickie G
(Edmonton)

I moved into a house with an existing Miele dishwasher in the home. It broke down and it took 2.5 WEEKS for a repairman to come in to fix it. It leaked within 2 weeks, wrecking my hardwood and leaking through the roof into my basement (It was not leaking before he came). I called them again and explained my situation being very urgent as I did not know if the leak had stopped, and it took them another 9 days to come. Miele service is HORRENDOUS and I would NEVER recommend them to anyone. My insurance is looking into going after them as the repair was shoddy and I wish I did not have to deal with them ever again. DO NOY BUY THEIR PRODUCTS.

Comments for Miele customer service opinions

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Sep 13, 2015
Rating
star
Horrible parts distribution service
by: Anonymous

Need a drain hose for my Miele dishwasher and finally found out I can only order it through Miele Canada. Customer service told me that they need to confirm the part via email. Said it would be emailed within 20 minutes and she'd call me back so I can order it. She was aware of my frustration in getting a simple drain hose after going to numerous supply stores and parts outlets. The email never arrived until over an hour later, and she never called me back. Once I got the email, I checked it and called back, they were closed for the day. Called the next day which was a Saturday, they were closed for the weekend, but hey, their stupid showroom was open. I give them a -10 for customer service. Never again will I buy a Miele product and will tell everyone I know not to buy Miele. Absolutely horrible distribution service of parts and service. How can Miele run a company with such horrible client support for service and parts? If I ran my company like Miele, I'd have gone bankrupt after the first year. Calgary, AB, Canada

Aug 08, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Update
by: Anonymous

They have offered to replace my dishwasher for £240! Offer rejected

Aug 06, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
What can I expect?
by: Anonymous

I bought a miele dishwasher in June 2012. I also have a washing machine and tumble drier from them. We went on holiday at the beginning of July 2013. When we returned I did 1 load of dishes. All good. When it came to the second load about two days later, there was an error message.

The engineer has been today. The salt has apparently eaten a hole in the steel casing. There is no repair possible. I am now waiting for Miele to contact me as it is still under warranty.

Salt has only been added twice. Once when it was bought and once when it asked for it. Any idea what they will do?

Oct 03, 2012
Rating
star
Thanks for nothing
by: Anonymous

Mile has flatly refused to book a service call for my dishwasher, saying their records indicate they did not install it. I now have a 1600.00 dishwasher, virtually new, which I cannot use. I will never purchase from this company again.

Feb 09, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Miele Parts
by: Anonymous

I live in Canada. I've owned my Miele dishwasher for 6 years. The drain hose has sprung a leak and flooded my kitchen. I pulled it out and tried to buy the correct part locally. No parts distributors are allowed to distribute Miele parts in Canada. If you need something as simple as drain hose, you have to call a national number and they will ship the part. That takes about a week. The price is also about 6 times what the cost of drain hoses are for other manufacturers. You pay a premium to buy Miele. And then they have the arrogance to continue to "hose" you, pardon the pun, for the whole time you own their, not your, machine. Never again.

Unhappy Al in Canada

Jan 10, 2012
Rating
star
Never buy a Miele dishwasher
by: Anonymous

Wow! Reading these comments about Miele's terrible customer service is so true!! My Miele dishwasher is not even a year old and it has been broken for over two weeks. They only have one service provider in all of San Diego and they have been out twice to my house and have not been able to fix it. This company-O.G.'s Installation is a total joke. They are rude and don't return your phone calls. When I told them how important it is that my dishwasher get fixed since my son has severe food allergies, they didn't care. I even offered to pay any amount of money to overnight parts. Miele just apologizes and says they will send their own rep in a week. Are you kidding me? There is nothing else you can do since they won't allow anyone else to service their products.....Meanwhile, my LG washing machine broke and was fixed in two days. I will never buy Miele again!!!!

Apr 20, 2011
Rating
star
TERRIBLE service !!
by: Mr. John Scott

I have owned a Miele dishwasher and washing machine for 10 years now. During that time I have had to the Miele repairman into my home 7 times. Each time I have waited between 7 and 21 days for the technician to arrive. This is RIDICULOUS. I have 3 little kids and to be without a washing machine for 3 weeks is unacceptable. There is only ONE Miele repairman for all of Edmonton and SURROUNDING area. He goes as far as Edson to do repairs. With Miele you pay the MOST for the product and get the absolute LEAST in service. Miele is a total joke and I would NEVER EVER buy Miele again. If you buy Miele you are NUTS.

Mar 15, 2011
Rating
star
laundry set
by: Anonymous

Similar experience. Bought a brand new laundry set.The washer was defective.It took 2 weeks for anyone to respond - I told them to have a repair person there within the week or pick it up and refund my money. They fixed it under warranty but the part took another 2 weeks. I was sold the bases (not cheap given that they are empty boxes) and was told by the repair man that the vibration we could see and hear (in what was to be an ultra quiet washer)was because they were mounted on the boxes. Now, within the 1st year I need another service because the washer has "walked" and literally vibrates to the point of pounding. NOT IMPRESSED!! this is supposed to be "top of the line"

Mar 02, 2011
Rating
star
Do not EVER buy a miele dishwasher
by: Anonymous

If your dishwasher breaks you will have $175.00 repair cost, period, no exception. The small black hose under my sink was kinked and it cost under $1, they charged me $175.00 which is their flat rate and it took 5 minutes. Thieves

Feb 20, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
What kind of new dwasher should I get?
by: Juliette in Edmonton

We've had a Bosch from Trail Appliances for 11 years; it was considered a high-end model at the time. Overall, I guess it's been good but we have had some trouble with it off and on. Now it looks like the motor is on last legs so it's time to buy new dishwasher. Also seems to me that a high-quality German dishwasher should last longer than 11 years.

The Bosch was pretty quiet until few years, then it started to get kind of loud. It hasn't always been the best at cleaning, and I was hoping for better reliability. So now I'm considering other brands as well as Bosch.

I've read dishwashers these days are better than in 2000. But after reading reviews on web all afternoon I really don't know which to go with; if anything, I'm more confused:

Consumer Reports likes Kenmore Elite but I read terrible reviews about this brand/model, also great reviews.

Same with Bosch - people either love them or say they've had lots of trouble and not worth the price.

Then I checked Miele reviews and got scared off quickly by reports they're a rip-off and service is poor.

So here's the question: Which brand actually lives up to its claims and won't have me calling the service dept? I want:
- super energy efficiency
- must be quiet and have excellent loading capacity/flexibility
- has to clean well, all the time

Nov 23, 2010
Rating
starstar
Drain hose is garbage and ruined floor
by: Anonymous

The Miele flexible drain hose cracked and ruined our kitchen floor! I cannot understand how they are allowed to use such a garbage hose! This is the last I want of a quality dishwasher! Only a fire is worse!

Nov 18, 2010
Rating
star
$199 for service call
by: L. Smith

We have a 7 year old Miele dishwasher. The water supply to the dishwasher was, by accident, turned off. Not knowing what the problem was, we called in the Edmonton Miele "special" repairman. He came to the house, saw the supply turned off, turned it on (tap) and proceeded to charge my wife $199. good thing I wasn't home or I would have made it rain. He did nothing but turn a tap. In the meantime (3 months later)the drain hose is spewing water onto my hardwood flooring. The hose is cracked big time! Special Miele hose I suppose. So why didn't the 'special' Miele repairman check the unit over anyways while he was at my house for $199. Is there any good service these days?

Nov 18, 2010
Rating
star
Nightmare
by: Anonymous

I purchased their dishwasher 4 years ago. Ingonito style. It has had three service calls and now the repair needed has been quoted at over $500. I am going to have it disposed of and am purchaseing a Maytag which is what I had before. I no longer care about the "quiet" of a Miele I just want one that works. Should never have spent that much to purchase this machine and recommend to others that they don't buy Miele.

Nov 18, 2010
Rating
star
There is a trend
by: Anonymous

Sorry to hear your service was as bad as mine. I had the tech come out again (9 days after the major leak in my house) and he confirmed that he is the ONLY rep in Edmonton, and that dentist offices get serviced first as they are a business. I even called Miele and never heard back except for them to tell me that it was not intentional (I never said it was, what a dumb statement) and that someone would get back to me...they never did. NO one except MIELE services their porducts and YES $199 to get them in the door, then the $$$ starts increasing. DO NOT BUY THESE PRODUCTS. You will regret it.

Nov 18, 2010
Rating
star
Never buy Miele
by: Anonymous

I had the same annoying experience with Miele. I have a gas cook top. Since we bought this stove from Trail appliances, it has been clicking all the time. I complained the Trail Appliances a few years ago, then a technician came and fixed it. But in a couple of month, it started to click again. The Trail Appliances no longer deal with Miele, so I had to contact Miele directly. what they said was I have to pay $199 just coming to our house. The earliest they can come was about 2 week later. And they never came.
It has been clicking crazy. I phoned customer service, did everything they said, still clicking. Never buy Miele. Their products are good when they are working, but once break, it is a nightmare. I will never, never buy Miele again.

Nov 18, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
hot air
by: L Smith

Previous comment: "Not sure why all these problems,.... After 6 years, the software crapped out, Miele stepped up, replaced the whole dryer at no cost. for anything!"...
This person is not sure "why all these problems"? Well if they read, they will see that the problems are real. And it appears they needed a whole new dryer after 6 years..... DOES THAT NOT INDICATE A PROBLEM...HELLO...ANONYMOUS DUDE!? LOL! Miele strikes again!!

Nov 12, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Miele is great.
by: Anonymous

Not sure why all these problems, I have a Miele washer and dryer. After 6 years, the software crapped out, Miele stepped up, replaced the whole dryer at no cost. for anything!
My dishwasher is flawless.

Nov 12, 2010
Rating
star
what use is this forum?
by: L. Smith

The cracked hose was replaced and the repair fella came in good time and was nice and fair and explained a few things about the service. I have nothing against the repair fella any more. He must be reading the terrible reviews he's receiving...lol. Stainless stell interior dishwashers are not uncommon now and I suggest purchasing a lower make and model. Ask the retailer about parts availability and problematic service(s), etc. I find it rather humerous now when I think of Miele and their attitude and products. I'm tired of being continuously cheesed off with a product. I will just simply buy some other make next time. That may come soon as my Miele is really a lemon from day one. Lifes too short to worry about crap products.

Nov 07, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
Miele Leaking
by: Anonymous

I have found the technical support excellent. They walked me through loosening the drain pump and sela replacement. Part ship for the seal was next day!

It is now leaking still (was not front door bottom seal); maybe real drain hose is cracked as someone says. My wife always uses pots and pans; maybe extra heat cause cracking of hoses over time.

I might be able to get behind it by removing compactor.

So far, tech. support has been excellent. (8-8 pm five days a week?).

May 27, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Never Never Never Buy Miele
by: Anonymous

Our dishwasher hasn't worked for more than a week at a time since November, 2009. Yes it costs $199 to walk in the door after you wait anywhere from 7-14 days for a service appt. We have now been waiting 2 weeks for a part (even though Miele says they carry all parts with them) and Miele won't book a followup visit until they have the part - which means another wait of 7 - 14 days once the part shows up. That will mean it will have taken them 5 weeks to fix our dishwasher. Stay very very very far away from these machines!!!!!

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Miele Dishwasher Reviews.