Miele Inspira G2142 Dishwasher

by Carol
(Pennsylvania)

I've had this dishwasher for six months, and can't wait for the day when it's time to replace it. I was choosing between a Bosch and this one, and chose this because the Bosch I had just had, though I loved how it performed as a dishwasher, had needed too many repairs to make me want to trust another one. BAD DECISION!


I paid a lot of money for a dishwasher that leaves glassware cloudy (I often re-wash by hand) and silverware streaky, and items are often not completely clean. I've tried different detergents, with the same results. The configuration of the racks is inconvenient for efficient loading of dishes. The only good thing I can say about the machine is that it is extremely quiet -- you can barely hear it sometimes.

Comments for Miele Inspira G2142 Dishwasher

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Mar 25, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Do Not Buy this Dishwasher
by: Pissed in POCO

I agree with issues already mentioned regarding dishes not clean, especially cups, racks not well designed but the dishwasher is quiet. Neil McRae always went on about how great these dishwashers were in ads when I was driving to work, what a quack. The stupidest most frustrating design relates to the intake/drain. I have dishwashers for over 40 years of various makes, this is the first one that I have had to play around with some badly designed drain apparatus of the dishwasher won't run. I have scooped water 4 times today with no change after removing and reinstalling the stupid, hard to get in and out drain piece. I finally gave up and washed the dishes by hand. I hope the comments about bad service are not true but I will be commenting again if they are, count on it. This dishwasher is quite and the most expensive I have ever owned, should have bought the Bosch.

Jan 13, 2015
Rating
star
Miele dishwasher
by: Owen

Do not consider buying a Miele dishwasher. From the first day I purchased this expensive piece of "quiet" junk I have had filthy dishes and silverware. Nothing will get the dishes clean.
Dishes take forever to cycle and always water residue left behind.


Jan 20, 2013
Rating
starstar
Miele G2142SCi
by: Anonymous

We too have had this dishwasher for over 2 years and is no better than a $300 dishwasher. silverware is spotted, glasses very very cloudy. basically have to hand wash almost everything.

Dec 01, 2012
Rating
star
Defective product no service
by: Carol

We had a Bosch and it worked very well. Then I wanted to do stainless in the kitchen and went with th Meile Inspira G2142. Bad mistake. The money put out for this was high but in less than 3 years the bottom of the stainless tub has turned blue from the heat. This has to be a product defect but service says I have to pay to get it fixed. Great company bad product. Watch out.

Dec 13, 2011
Rating
star
Miele service
by: Anonymous

It has become increasingly difficult to have Miele appliances serviced. I have owned Miele appliances for many years and have replaced them with new Miele versions. In the last couple of years, however, Miele has taken over all the service of these appliances and it is extremely frustrating to schedule a service appointment. I am ,in fact, writing this review as I am at this present time on hold with their service scheduling department for 53 minutes and counting. I used to recommend Miele to all of my friends, but can not any more. I think the appliances, when they work, are wonderful, but service is deplorable. If anyone ever comes back on the phone to schedule my service {the rep said he would only put me on hold for a second and it is now nearing an hour}, I suppose I should be grateful, in Miele's eyes. Is this any way to retain previously loyal customers?

Dec 08, 2011
Rating
star
8 yrs and mine is done
by: Anonymous

I bought a G841 Plus Novotronic just over 8 years ago. Last year the hose leaked and caused a major problem. Over $60 to get a 24 long piece of hose. Now it died. We are a small family of 4 and do not even run it daily. I thought I was buying a quality machine that would last at least 15 - 20 years. That's what their ads say! A friend moved at the same time and bought a cheap machine from Sears and has no problems and no repairs. I paid 3 times as much. No you don't get what you pay for. I will never buy another one. Add on that every time I have called them I am on hold for over 30 minutes at a time!

Aug 24, 2011
Rating
star
Miele Inspira
by: Anonymous

I have never written a review in my life but I felt I had to on this one. Just bought this dishwasher. Thought I was buying the best of the best. The glasses and cutlery never turn out clean. Glasses are cloudy and I have to handwash the cutlery now. Ive tried the different cycles and different detergents. Advice...save your money and buy a different washer.

Dec 28, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Miele dishwasher
by: Anonymous

One of the quietest dishwashers I've ever ownded. Don't make the mistake of buying a Bosch. I was debating between the two and am so happy I chose the Miele. GO FOR IT. BEST DISHWASHER EVER!!!

Dec 23, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Miele, The Best Of The Best.....
by: Anonymous

Just replaced my Kitchenaid with a Miele Inspira Dishwasher. 10 times better, built like a tank and ultra silent. Well though out and worth its weight in gold.

Dec 12, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Recommendations
by: larryg

We are looking @ purchasing a Miele DW model G2142SCU OPTIMA
Does anyone have any comments.The other product is a Bosch model DW.

Dec 08, 2010
Rating
star
we were suckers
by: AFU

We made a mistake purchasing this dishwasher. The baskets are poorly designed and limits the number of dishes you can place in the washer. The top basket, where most of the cups and glasses go is horrible. There are vertical spikes that protrude at angles that make it very difficult to place glasses in them. The top basket is also where we put cereal bowls. It is virtually impossible to place more than 4 to 5 bowls in the top basket along with glasses. We should have gotten the Kitchen Aid that we wanted and waited for it to be ordered. We were steered by the salesman at Pacific Sales to purchase this washer. We were suckers.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Miele Dishwasher Reviews.