whirlpool ADP5540

by Billy
(Warnbro WA Australia)

We purchased our first dishwasher approximately 4 years ago, it was a whirlpool adp 5540.

it wasn't the cheapest but not the dearest either but still payed $699 for it on special.

after a few months the repair man was called as the control panel passed out, luckily under warranty.

last year it kept tripping the house power out when turned on, a costly exercise no warranty no care and no customer service from whirlpool.
now the motor has gone, quoted $250 for a new one plus labor. again no customer service from whirlpool at all, every time called i got a message service asking me if i wanted spare parts etc... i pressed one being yes, then the message tells me they don't sell parts to the public only through licensed authorised dealers. $65 for half hour call out + minimum one hour call out + cost of pump, i know what is wrong and can fix it but is it worth it, not likely. the machine was never abused, infact my wife rinsed all of the plates and dishes prior to washing them to avoid clogging i often said she might as well just wash the damn things by hand as she did such a good job of rinsing them, but still have problems. what a sham, my mum has had a bosch dishwasher for over 10 years without some much as a flutter, whirlpool you have got my money once, but never again. i will now look for an Australian made machine or similar with parts readily available for purchase to the public and one that will hopefully last longer the the rubbish i bought. i only hope 1000's of people read this to prevent them going through the same problems i have had..... and yes i am peeved....
NOT HAPPY JAN !!!!

Comments for whirlpool ADP5540

Average Rating starstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

May 29, 2011
Rating
star
Whirl..pool of water on the floor ADP5540
by: Don

Ours was brought new, had 2 callouts under warranty, then noticed water dripping downstairs into room below when washer was on. repair guys say nothing wrong, leaked again (obviously) then seemed to settle down. Then one day gib in ceiling below collapsed and water everywhere. repair guys say nothing wrong. went ok for a while (i had ceiling removed below so any leaks obvious), then leaked, repair guys says nothing wrong. then ok for 2 weeks, insurance paid for repairs to ceiling, then within 1 week water dripping underneath. pulled Whirlleak out to find a pile of water under it. Emptied it by tipping back and forth as advised by repair guy. lots of water in it. Whirlpool is made by Fisher and Paykel is it not? Prior one was an F&P double drawer that had 13 callouts and no interest from F&P, in the end we junked it which i will now do with this thing. I'm not going to sell it as I do not believe in passing on problems to someone else ...

Jan 07, 2011
Rating
star
ADP 5540 Does not work
by: Anonymous

The dishwasher does not work, constantly breaking down, you have to reach in and click the bottom arm back in 2 to 3 times through each cycle. This dishwasher requires 2 cycles to get the dishes clean that is with clean filters and using decent powder (not homebrand). DO NOT BUY THIS MACHINE... STAY FAR FAR AWAY.

Dec 29, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
7 Years and still going well!
by: Happy customer

I was really surprised to read some of the comments on here but maybe some people have not been as lucky as myself with this model?? I purchased an ADP 5540, 2nd hand of the web, about 4 years ago. I have never had a single problem with mine and it's nearly 7 years old now! The only one time the lights started flashing and it wouldn't drain, my partner unhooked the hose and there was a blockage, cleared it out and it has worked brillantly, for 3 years since. Maybe I just had a good one but usually anything made in Germany is of good quality? Just my opinion, being the owner of one of these machines.

Nov 10, 2010
Rating
star
Whirlpool SUCKS
by: Anonymous

I used to be all Whirlpool appliances in our home but after almost 10 years we have replaced the dishwasher 3 times so far and now this one is crapped out. I will never ever buy another Whirlpool product period, not ever again. I am convinced they are junk.

Nov 10, 2010
Rating
star
Absolute Rubbish
by: Grant

My machine is a piece of garbage like most other purchasers who were stupid enough to purchase this product (no offense intended) i too now have worthless unit that is only good for the tip. Absolutley disgusted with Whirlpool.

Nov 10, 2010
Rating
star
Dissatisfied too
by: Nina

We moved into a house 3 and a half years ago. The dishwasher was clearly new. It worked OK. We had to be fairly dilligent about rinsing plates and sometimes for no apparent reason plates or glasses just didn't get clean.
Then about 6 months ago. It developed a clunking noise but there seemed no way to stop it. Shortly afterwards it stopped moving through the cycles. It just stuck at the beginning of its cycle (regardless of the program chosen) and churned water. A fabulous situation in Water Restrictive Canberra!
We have unsurprisingly bought another brand of dishwasher.
Like Billy, I hope people do a little due dilligence prior to spending money on Whirlpool dishwashers!!!

Nov 10, 2010
Rating
star
ADP 5540
by: Tony H

Totally agree, our's packed in after 3 years

May 27, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
absolute GARBAGE
by: starlo11

we have had this dishwahser whirlpool dishwasher for 6 months. It consistently stops working on the wash cycle and the green light flashes.We took it for repairs and after $300 dollars spent guess what it leaks water DO NOT BUY THIS MACHINE!!!!!!!

Apr 13, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Whirlpool adp5540
by: Anonymous

This dishwasher should not be purchased under any conditions, it is absolute garbage it has not worked properly from the get go. The motor burned out happily before the warranty ran out but even after it was replaced I've had nothing but trouble....never buy a Whirlpool

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Whirlpool dishwasher reviews.