Whirlpool - DU1100XTPS

by Joey
(Orlando, Florida)

AMAZING!

AMAZING!

I have always found it somewhat pointless to have to thoroughly pre wash your dishes before being able to run a dishwashing cycle. It kind of defeats the purpose of having a dishwasher at all. Soaking the dirty pans for what seems like forever. Why not just spend the extra 5 minutes hand cleaning them yourself?


For my birthday this year, my husband committed a "marriage no-no" and bought me an appliance. Lucky for him, I really needed it, and love it! It has changed the way we do dishes at our house completely.

The Whirlpool - DU1100XTPS has an amazing automatic purge filtration system, which soaks the pots and pans in the dishwasher itself instead of the sink! It eliminates the need to pre-wash dishes completely allowing my family to cook, eat and wash immediately, instead of having to wait to re-use the dish or pot.

On top of this amazing feature, this dishwasher is equipped with a quiet package, that allows us to run it even if we're watching TV in the family room without being disturbed. As well as 4 dish washing cycles, including this great high temperature wash which I have found to be absolutely perfect for melting the grease and grime off of casserole dishes. This wash cycle, accompanied by the automatic purge filtration is an absolute match made in heaven and cleans the stains that used to be set in for life. Not to mention it does so with the ease of not needing a pre soak or extra hard pre scrub wasting water before being put into the washer for a cycle through.

All in all, It's a great addition to my collection of ever so helpful appliances, and one of the best birthday gifts my husband has quite possibly ever given me.

Comments for Whirlpool - DU1100XTPS

Average Rating starstar

Click here to add your own comments

Feb 22, 2011
Rating
starstar
useless now
by: Anonymous

We have only had this dishwasher five years and now, it's useless! (This is a Quiet Partner 2.)I noticed about a year ago that it didn't clean as well. I wondered what was different. Then, it started making a terrible noise but still cleaned ok. We had it looked at and come to find, it will cost as much to replace the bad parts as it will to replace the whole unit! So disappointed! Maybe a Kenmore next time?...

Dec 01, 2010
Rating
starstar
Disappointing
by: Robin

I too replaced an 18 year old working unit with this DW as part of a major kitchen remodel.
Three years later, I am shopping for another dishwasher because the motor is gone.
This is a pity, because the unit has great features and worked well, for the short time it worked.
I also liked the large capacity and the convenience of the delayed wash feature.
I however will not be buying another, as I between my own experience and the reviews I have read I don't trust the life span of the motor.

May 05, 2010
Rating
star
Another motor problem
by: Snakepudding

After about 2.5 years of use the motor has apparently gone bad. We are a family of two, so usage is maybe 4x per week. After reading a number of sites it seems evident that Whirlpool Dishwashers have a cronic motor issue.The new Consumers Reports rates Whirlpool high, which I don't understand.
Another Whirlpool issue was uncovered while trouble shooting the problem. The plastic unit that covers the food grinder is held in place with Torx Screws making it difficult for DIY to disassemble the unit for trouble shooting. This appears to be done for the purpose of preventing the "average Joe" from doing self repair. In my engineering opinion, there is no good design reason for these 4 + 1 screws in plastic to be Torx. My conclusion is that Whirpool Dishwashers are consumer unfriendly! I don't recommend purchasing this brand.

Apr 05, 2010
Rating
star
doesn't hold up
by: Anonymous

Motor drive shaft rusted after only two years of use. We ran this dishwasher about four times a week, it was very quiet and cleaned the dishes well, however, after only two years the motor needs to be replaced which costs about $130.00 plus the labor. I will never buy another Whirlpool.

Oct 14, 2009
Rating
star
Not meeting expectations
by: Glenn

Motor bearings failed after one and a half years. Bought the dishwasher to replace a 20 year old dishwasher that needed the soap dispenser replaced. Unfortunately they don't make the part anymore.

So I go from a 20 year old dishwasher and buy a new Whirlpool dishwasher that fails after 1 1/2 years. This is the second Whirlpool appliance I've bought that has been subpar. I will try to contact Whirlpool, but the bottom line is this time saving device is already not meeting expectations.

May 07, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great quality and cost efficient
by: Mo

I bought my Whirlpool DU1100XTPS 24" Undercounter Dishwasher (Stainless Steel) from Whirlpool's website, whirlpool.com. I can honestly say it has lived up to its expectations. I bought it about 8 months ago and it has not had a single problem since. My recent experiences with dishwashers have been bad as they typically have some faulty indication within 6-10 months. Yet, this Whirlpool dishwasher is absolutely stellar and is showing no signs of wear or tear.

The dishwasher has some extraordinary features such as the SaniRinse option which is really one of the most successful features I have seen from any dishwasher. Its effectively is unmatched is the feature literally makes your dishes look spotless. My previous dishwasher had a problem that whenever I used to put in dishes they would be clean from the center but the sides and back of the dishes were usually dirty. Not the case with this dishwasher.

Also, the steam and heat features on my previous dishwashers caused a burning odor from the dishwasher to appear; fortunately this is not the case with this dishwasher. This dishwasher’s emits no odor of any kind and is great in the heat mode functions. Also, the dishwasher is one of the quietest dishwashers I've ever purchased.

At first when I purchased the dishwasher I was concerned of whether it was working properly because it was so quiet when it was running. It is also energy efficient and does a fine job cleaning the kitchen utensils.

Overall, I am completely satisfied with this dishwasher. In fact, this dishwasher superseded my own expectations as it was very cost efficient and its quality is incomparable. The value and deal for this dishwasher is great, and I highly recommend this dishwasher to anyone that is willing to purchase a cost efficient dishwasher that's quality is great as well.

This is a great dishwasher with an overall great quality.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Whirlpool dishwasher reviews.